Basant celebrated in Rawalpindi

Here the only retarded one is You. Just refer to reply 11#, I have mentioned the same in quotes
"Jamaat e Islami and the mullah brigade had always opposed it terming it a Hindu festival
Keeping it banned also appeases them"
Are jamaat e islami appointed by god to label anyone kaffir? they're a joke in this country. Basant is rooted deep in Lahore's heritage, heck even we us in KPK used to celebrate it.

Butt Sahib you can even live with one naan and one plate cholay. But still Butt hazarat eat 50% of Pakistan's food. We should first regulate your meal intake of your community to keep prices of food within reach of poor :lol:

Bhai tou phir kiyaa abbb bhookeiii murrr jain Butt loggg ? :o:

Your points on marriage are all valid and it's really a social evil, we need to change attitude of society but it's not comparable with festivals like Basant which is totally optional, only people who loves it and can afford go for it. You are looking at Basant as waste of money, while i look it as economic opportunity for less privileged people. Thousands of poor families were directly/indirectly benefiting from Basant festivals. We should have more this kind of festival to generate economic activities, to keep money flowing and trickle down wealth to lower class rather than letting it stuck in bank accounts.

There are better economic opportunities to be had; imagine if the Government opens a couple of companies managed by thorough professionals where the skill set of these poor families is utilized ? Imagine having a chain of factories where all the workers are single moms, divorcees or widows and the textile products built there are exported to the world with most of the earnings invested back into employee welfare. The world will buy these products if they know that some widow somewhere is genuinely living a better life and so are her children because someone bought the shirt she helped make.

Imagine if we start doing something like this across the board; companies that own thousand of acres of farms where the farmer gets a large portion of the profits and has a portion of the land ownership.

Imagine if the Government opens an accountancy firm that hires thorough professionals from the industry who make an enthusiastic effort to soak up all the accounting and finance jobs that out-sourced from the developed countries to the developing world and builds a name for itself as a reliable, competent and timely provider of services. Imagine if most of those earnings are used not only for employee welfare but community welfare at large.

The sky is the limit janaaab.....all we need is good will to kick start economic activity....nothing more.

This wastage of resources on something as flimsy as a kite that brings little tangible benefit to a person's life or the economy at large out to be discouraged. If a ban isn't in place than at the very least it should be very heavily taxed so that people only waste money on a dozen or so kites instead of the hundreds upon hundreds I know people used to hoard up in anticipation of basant in the process wasted hundreds of thousands of rupees. I look upon this sort of wastage in the much the same way I see gambling.....the society decides that we're not going to allow someone to waste away their hard earned money on a game of poker or some other nonsense likewise we ought to stop the wastage here too.

Butt Sahib, aap ne phir lahore ki basant daikhi hi nahi. In fact ap abhi jammay e nai oo.

Lahore is wherever His Excellency Armstrong the Great chooses to walk ! :smokin:

Inner City is too congested ! :fie:

There are many ways to prevent these, but hey! who gives a damn about culture and heritage? let's jump the bandwagon and erase our history and traditions.

There are better economic opportunities to be had; imagine if the Government opens a couple of companies managed by thorough professionals where the skill set of these poor families is utilized ? Imagine having a chain of factories where all the workers are single moms, divorcees or widows and the textile products built there are exported to the world with most of the earnings invested back into employee welfare. The world will buy these products if they know that some widow somewhere is genuinely living a better life and so are her children because someone bought the shirt she helped make.

Imagine if we start doing something like this across the board; companies that own thousand of acres of farms where the farmer gets a large portion of the profits and has a portion of the land ownership.

Imagine if the Government opens an accountancy firm that hires thorough professionals from the industry who make an enthusiastic effort to soak up all the accounting and finance jobs that out-sourced from the developed countries to the developing world and builds a name for itself as a reliable, competent and timely provider of services. Imagine if most of those earnings are used not only for employee welfare but community welfare at large.

The sky is the limit janaaab.....all we need is good will to kick start economic activity....nothing more.

But we can also become super power by imagining, you have to be realistic and keep in mind the capabilities of people we send to assemblies. In case of Basant other than controlling and punishing the trouble Administration don't need to do much. And tourism itself is an Industry.

This wastage of resources on something as flimsy as a kite that brings little tangible benefit to a person's life or the economy at large out to be discouraged. If a ban isn't in place than at the very least it should be very heavily taxed so that people only waste money on a dozen or so kites instead of the hundreds upon hundreds I know people used to hoard up in anticipation of basant in the process wasted hundreds of thousands of rupees. I look upon this sort of wastage in the much the same way I see gambling.....the society decides that we're not going to allow someone to waste away their hard earned money on a game of poker or some other nonsense likewise we ought to stop the wastage here too.

Butt Sahib, when it's about entertainment than it's not easy to draw line what is good and what is waste of money and what is not. For example i can also say than going to Murre in summer, ridding a cable car, going to watch cricket match, going to music concerts etc. is also waste of money and resources. Why not donate that money to some noble cause or invest in some business. So, It's better to regulate things and let people decided what they want to do with their money. About inclusion of it in tax net, yes why not.

There are many ways to prevent these, but hey! who gives a damn about culture and heritage? let's jump the bandwagon and erase our history and traditions.

Haha, we can't even provide good schooling and you expect us to curb this sort of stuff.

Are jamaat e islami appointed by god to label anyone kaffir? they're a joke in this country. Basant is rooted deep in Lahore's heritage, heck even we us in KPK used to celebrate it.
Correctly said,thanks for yr reply,but there is another by Winchester who is a Pakistani origin which I had in Quotes

"In 2005, an advocate MD Tahir of Lahore High Court, Pakistan, contended that Basant was purely an event of Hindu community who observed it as part of their religious rituals. He said that forefathers of Pakistani Muslims had never taken part in Basant celebrations, though they also deemed it a part of their culture.

Well I cannot Understand an Advocate MD of Lahore High court,Pakistan saying that Basant was a purely Hindu community which was observed in religious rituals,why this Non sense.

Correctly said,thanks for yr reply,but there is another by Winchester who is a Pakistani origin which I had in Quotes

"In 2005, an advocate MD Tahir of Lahore High Court, Pakistan, contended that Basant was purely an event of Hindu community who observed it as part of their religious rituals. He said that forefathers of Pakistani Muslims had never taken part in Basant celebrations, though they also deemed it a part of their culture.

Well I cannot Understand an Advocate MD of Lahore High court,Pakistan saying that Basant was a purely Hindu community which was observed in religious rituals,why this Non sense.
Wtf are you trying to prove? so what..?

More than that people die in road accidents. Shall we ban driving? No, simply follow the traffic rules.

Make the rules and regulations about it as well.

BC my blood boils when I come to know that people in other places like Gujranwala, Faisalabad, Pindi were able to celebrate Basant, while we in Lahore have been banned from this.

Its banned in Pindi as well bhai, but we celebrated it anyways ;)

Khair maybe having designated areas where there are wide open spaces so that no one ends up with a slit throat or a power outage, could be a good alternative to a ban.

Having designated areas will not help. People get hurt when the kite gets cut and the string flies away with it and passes on someones neck on a high speed bike (feels weird writing about it in English so here is is in Urdu: patang jab kat jati hai aur door kisi bike walay ki gardan pai phir jati hai). So no matter where you fly it, when it gets cut you have no control over the kite.

More than that people die in road accidents. Shall we ban driving? No, simply follow the traffic rules.

Make the rules and regulations about it as well.

Driving is a productive activity. People don't usually drive for fun, but drive to work.

Basant used to be the highlight of the year when I was a kid in Lahore in the 90. Shame the modern generation is not able to enjoy this event but i guess if the government cant take steps to ensure the safety of people then the ban is justified. Part of me is really annoyed though over how incompetant they are. Maro chape, drag those who make shishe wale door out of their houses and make an example of them. But instead they took the easy way out, with the blessings of the 'basant is a kafir festival' brigade of course.