Smriti Irani Stops 70,000 Students of KV From Learning German, Makes them Switch to Sanskrit

He is a proud product of Maculay's education system and Nehru's secularism. Everything he knows is through the rose tainted glasses of a truly "British" education system.

What he is struggling to suggest is that Indians were not "scientifically minded" enough to have understood science correctly. For that matter, neither were the Egyptians or anyone else except the Europeans.

His prejudice is quite deep rooted and just as old.

He must be suffering from some deep-rooted inferiority complex to speak such nonsense.

"The issue is not about which language, Chinese or German, but about the freedom to learn and explore opportunities. Learning a foreign language, besides an Indian language and English, is very common in schools across India.

French has been a favourite for years and in the recent years, other languages such as German and Spanish have become standard options. Perhaps Smriti Irani, our education minister, hasn’t visited any of these places and is not aware of the foreign language craze children have. What she should also realise is that learning foreign languages is not a recreational activity, but a desperate attempt to improve one’s educational and professional possibilities. Indian undergraduate (nearly 50 percent of them engineering graduates) choose Germany as their fifth favourite destination because of the opportunities.

The issue is not of German, French or Mandarin, but of avenues of higher education and better life. By removing the German option, the minister has foreclosed the opportunities of about 70000 students in about 500 Kendriya Vidyalaya schools.

Now, the question of Sanskrit.

What do the children gain by learning Sanskrit? Is it a medium of useful higher learning anywhere - perhaps other than some Vedic studies and astrology? The three language policy is about Hindi, English and an Indian language. So why Sanskrit and why not Tamil or Telugu?

The three language policy itself is flawed. Why should children in non-Hindi states compulsorily learn Hindi? Let learning languages be voluntary. Education and learning are so central to the progress of a nation. Playing politics with it is an unpardonable mistake."

Firstpost.

Foreign languages should be kept optional. And learning German makes no sense at all. This should never have been NEWS at all.

And if German is studied because engineering aspirants want to move to Germany then should it not be taught in engineering coaching institutes? What about those planning to join MIT?

French is the second language of Canada, soon to be replaced by Punjabi it seems and Spanish is the second language of America - the two most preferred destinations for Indians. Good luck trying to find German language schools and colleges in England and especially in France.

The writer is clearly not in his/her correct frame of mind. The only good thing the article mentions is that Hindi should not be made compulsory because Hindi is only a regional language.

Teach Spanish, French, Mandarin in schools if you are talking about world stage. German is an obscure language outside Germany.

Foreign languages should be kept optional. And learning German makes no sense at all. This should never have been NEWS at all.

And if German is studied because engineering aspirants want to move to Germany then should it not be taught in engineering coaching institutes? What about those planning to join MIT?

French is the second language of Canada, soon to be replaced by Punjabi it seems and Spanish is the second language of America - the two most preferred destinations for Indians. Good luck trying to find German language schools and colleges in England and especially in France.

The writer is clearly not in his/her correct frame of mind. The only good thing the article mentions is that Hindi should not be made compulsory because Hindi is only a regional language.

Yup. It should be optional apart from regional language and English.

If it makes sense or not is upto the guy who has the option of choosing .

Disagree with the second comment. Teaching German in schools is a waste of resources. Teach something worthwhile instead. The teachers are paid a salary to teach which means money has been invested. Invest the money in something more meaningful. If you want to go to Germany then attend a language institute for 6 months.

Supply= Demand.

If its not worth they will learn other languages and no teachers required.

One of my friends studied French in school, all he know was a broken French and useless in the job market.

What should he had studied instead?

I like to learn spanish...

Spanish is easier to learn. If you can devote an hour or 2 apart from your classes for six months, you can master it. :)

I have been trying to learn and its quite easy language to learn. but you have to continue not leave in the middle when you get bored.
I get bored very easily. :(

You will get some proficiency in Spanish and later on you will get a googly that the Spaniards you meeting already know English and will tell you to talk in English, this sort of things happened with so many guys. :rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl:

Sidak is a female? Oye kudi inni pyar se bol rahi hai ki Punjabi ban jao and you Jats refuse. Oye sidak ji, don't worry. Ab se sanu bhi Punjabi si.

They are Punjabi by Birth. Don't have to tell them to became Punjabi. Years of Congres's brain washing would not go in days. :cray:

Supply= Demand.

If its not worth they will learn other languages and no teachers required.

There is a demand for German language in which part of the world? Spanish is spoken in Europe, USA and South America. Who exactly speaks German other than Germany?

Classes???? :(

No pain, no again...Classes :agree: 3 classes of an hour and a half, alternate day + same amount of time each day for 6 months & you can be a proficient Spanish Speaker.