5 Pakistani Soldiers Martyred in Attack by Terrorists from Afghanistan in Kurram District

Wo to ho gayi hai.. Nazar nai araha??
On a serious note, people might not be looking correctly on the sudden rise of attacks.
Our conclusion to the question "why attacks have increased lately" is being answered by "because IEA is giving them a free hand"
Another answer could be, dogs when corned will lash out. BLA, TTP etc are being corned so there going out with a gung-ho
Woh ho gai hai tau aik aur bana do? Who in time can turn against us and form another addition to the witch’s brew. Deal with them the way Gen. Tariq stated, no darh hoshiyari…

These terrorists seems to be enjoying a better space with Taliban in government.

This is because they may have different names but they follow the same ideology, with the Afghan Taliban in charge the TTP has become stronger, even if Taliban arrests or kills some of their leaders, more leaders will come as they recruit from the same people/ideology. Will the Taliban start a full scale war against TTP for the sake of Pakistan? I highly doubt it. Pakistan needs to stop relying on others and make close contacts with the Uzbekhis, Hazaras, Tajikis, let the Taliban know they have alot to loose if they don't take action against the TTP, then make counter attacks on TTP leadership in Afghanistan, kill them where they breath. They need to fully support the anti TTP Lashkars/groups and take the war to TTP areas, including Afghanistan and finish them and their khawarij ideology.

Somebody gets it.

Pakistan long lost the class of officer/govt official who could conceive and execute any bold, daring, or even common sense strategy.

Instead we have an institution with vested interests that --- despite all existing strategic literature, the historic record, current affairs pointing in the need for deterrence-based peace --- insists on a defensive, denial based posture that invites more and more trouble.

With a defense establishment as dovish as this, a country can't survive.

Mohtaram

Uttarkhand in india was nepali territory, Manipur in india was Burmese territory taken by the british. When hindu india became independent, Nepal and Burma signed treaties of friendship and never claimed their territory in fact made strong relations.

Why did Afghans not do that? If Durand line is a problem why didn't they settle it peacefully with a treaty?

In 40s and 50s and 60s, it was King Zahir Shah who was in charge. Why were they so anti Pakistan?

The reason is ethno-fascism, they are more ethnically proud than being muslims. Simple. Rulers are the reflection of people even in islam the concept is explained.

Now, Pakistani state as of now has no choice but to develop relations with Afghan Taliban. But whoever supports anti Pakistan elements whether its ghani or bunny or Afg talibs - message should be tough.

If Afghan Taliban are unwilling or unable to stop attacks from its controlled areas, Pakistan should have the right to strike inside Afghanistan. This like I said happened before after APS.

It does not matter, if its iran or afghanistan, anyone striking Pakistan ideally should be treated the same way either overtly or covertly- no exceptions.

All those enemies became friends by good policy. I guess u misunderstood what i meant by not attacking openly, as one gentleman suggests here to strike and kill thousands. That sort of stuff creates more hatred and long term enmity. Operations in FATA did help TTP increase its cadre, its something we have to deal with now. A cost benefit analysis should be done before taking any drastic step.
If we ascertain that elements attacking Pakistan from Afghanistan are not state sponsored then we deal with it differently, in a sense cooperate with the afghan govt in taking them out, which Pakistan is actually doing.

Yeah war is dirty and bloody and no one here is denying that however what is yet to be seen is that what is Pakistan going to do about it!

We have shared proofs of India using all kind of proxies to target our military, civilian and financial hubs and we all know that no one gives a jack because it is our problem only.

We know Baluch terrorists continue to use Afghan and Iranian territory with or without respective countries' support and everyone knows it yet we are the ones who continue to come under the threats of "Free world".

We have seen how our genuine efforts to increase our capability of COIN has been actively hampered by our "strategic partners" and we all have seen how they are using FATF as a political tool to coerce us to submission.

State of Pakistan has to realize that national interests cannot be forsaken for any reason and no one is gonna come to help her so better be on an offense. The future course of action will determine where do we stand.

Shiekh Rasheed already warns yesterday, a massive wave of TTP attacks are coming ...

Pakistan 'strongly condemns' use of Afghan soil by terrorists after 5 soldiers martyred in Kurram

Naveed Siddiqui | Dawn.comPublished February 6, 2022 - Updated about 3 hours ago

Five Pakistani soldiers were martyred after terrorists inside Afghanistan opened fire on troops in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa's Kurram district, the military's media affairs wing said on Sunday.
"Terrorists from inside Afghanistan, across the international border, opened fire on Pakistani troops in Kurram district," a statement by the Inter-Services Public Relations (ISPR) said, adding that Pakistani troops responded in a "befitting manner".
"As per intelligence reports, due to fire of [our] own troops, terrorists suffered heavy causalities," the statement said.
However, five soldiers were martyred during exchange of fire. They were identified as 34-year-old Lance Naik Ajab Noor, 22-year-old Sepoy Ziaullah Khan, 23-year-old Sepoy Naheed Iqbal, 18-year-old Sepoy Sameerullah Khan and 27-year-old Sepoy Sajid Ali.
"Pakistan strongly condemns the use of Afghan soil by terrorists for activities against Pakistan and expects that [the] interim Afghan government will not allow conduct of such activities against Pakistan in future," the ISPR statement said.
The Pakistan Army is determined to defend Pakistan’s borders against the menace of terrorism and such sacrifices of our brave men further strengthen our resolve, it added.
The banned Tehreek-i-Taliban Pakistan (TTP) claimed responsibility for the attack.

Suicide bomber killed during Tank IBO​

Meanwhile, security forces conducted an intelligence-based operation (IBO) near Dial road in Tank, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and killed a suicide bomber, the ISPR said.
Security forces conducted the operation on "confirmed intelligence reports of presence of" terrorists belonging to the proscribed TTP. "During the operation, a suicide bomber has been killed," the statement added.
The ISPR said the operation to eliminate the terrorists' abettors and accomplices "was continuing".
In a separate statement on Saturday, the military's media wing said the security forces conducted an IBO in Sarwakai village in South Waziristan and arrested a TTP terrorist identified as Allah Noor.
According to ISPR, the TTP terrorist was trying to escape while clad in a burqa, however, the forces caught him.
A cache of weapons recovered an intelligence-based operation in the Sarwakai area of South Waziristan. — Photo by ISPR

During the IBO, a huge cache of arms, ammunition, explosives, improvised explosive devices, mortars, grenades and communication equipment were recovered from the hideout.
In another such operation in Makeen area of South Waziristan, law enforcement personnel recovered M-16 rifles and ammunition.
Four individuals who were transporting weapons and ammunition to Dara Adam Khel were also arrested, the military said.

Additional reporting by Tahir Khan

A Buffer Zone Needs To Be Implemented ASAP. 1 Mile No Mans Land On The Afghan Side Of The Border. Lay More Land Mines & Provide Drone Surveillance Flights Everyday Along The Border. No Other Way!!!

Of course, we don't know exactly, what happened in security-related meetings, held on Feb 26, 2019; but, a commonly reported narrative is that General Bajwa was against giving any response, to India; but CJCSC, Chief of Air Staff, Asad Umer etc. prevailed and a proportionate retaliation was decided upon. May be, there is some weightage, in what Ayaz Sadiq told.

Agreed.

TTP is the strategic depth of TTA inside Pakistan, a fence is a band-aid solution at this point.

What people miss are the glaring connections to crime that TTP and TTA have. These are crime syndicates. And extortion money is their ideology.

Yeah war is dirty and bloody and no one here is denying that however what is yet to be seen is that what is Pakistan going to do about it!

We have shared proofs of India using all kind of proxies to target our military, civilian and financial hubs and we all know that no one gives a jack because it is our problem only.

We know Baluch terrorists continue to use Afghan and Iranian territory with or without respective countries' support and everyone knows it yet we are the ones who continue to come under the threats of "Free world".

We have seen how our genuine efforts to increase our capability of COIN has been actively hampered by our "strategic partners" and we all have seen how they are using FATF as a political tool to coerce us to submission.

State of Pakistan has to realize that national interests cannot be forsaken for any reason and no one is gonna come to help her so better be on an offense. The future course of action will determine where do we stand.

These are dirty wars.

The people US army paid to keep the peace are now seeking ransom from Pakistan. It is that simple.

Wish Zia ul haq listen to Wali Khan at that time, even Wali Khan was a socialist but he advise Zia not to jump into the Afghan war. I have seen the destruction of Pakistani society with my own eyes, massive heroin in society, people show Klashkov with pride, corruption flourish like goodwill gesture and then Zia uncle gave us the gift of Nawaz Shariff ..... and afer all those social frustrations we end up in USA.... bass ji afsoos he kar sakta haan ... or kia karan..

Truer words never spoken on PDF as far as where Pakistan was in 1979 vs what it became by 1989. No majorly populated country in the world changed in just a decade as Pakistan did then.
Oh, you fools!!! You don't know unless you saw the transformation of Pakistan then!! You blame Zulfi Bhutto for the so-called 'Islamization' of Pakistan but Zulfi did only cosmetic changes and Pakistan--even into early 1980s--was a tolerant Sufi society. Zia used the Western backing to only prolong his Proto Taliban rule!!
AND... Imran Khan and any thinking Pakistani should condemn Pakistan's joining the war against the Soviets in the 1980s! Him and hypocritical psuedo-closet-jihadists in Pakistan blame Musharraf for helping America in the 2000s while Musharraf had no choice while Pakistan HAD a choice in the 1980s. An Afghanistan under the Soviets would have been FAR better than it turned out to be.
I know what I am saying here is perhaps blasphemy but it better be said than not unsaid.

Inna lillahi wa inallah-e-raji'oon, its high time Pakistan goes on the offensive against terrorists, sadly casualties have been too high, being on the defensive, Pakistani army is a sitting duck for terrorists, SSG death squads need to hunt down these blood thirsty animals.

Mohataram
lets not bring the past now, after all siachin was captured during his time and the only retaliation was a rigged referendum in which he elected himself as president with full support from sharifs, watoos and chattas. Not to mention the ojri camp, karachi riots, Gilgit riots where countless were killed.

Anyways, every war has a price whether it was afghan war in 80s or 2000s. The elite ruling this country whether bhutto, zia, musharraf regime just doesnt want to change things since day one. Simple.

Siachin was a no mans lands. Indians got badly stuck there, still getting screwed and now wants to get out.

Zia singlehandedly took on the red army and kept Indians in check by keeping them busy in internal issues exploiting their fault lines. This is something which has been adondoned by those who followed zia and we are paying the price for this stupidity. Get India off the hook, it will come to bit in your arse, that the nature of this heyna.
Pakistan nuclear program actually took off during his time. We became nuke power during his time.