Would the creation of a new national language work for Pakistan?

The way Bollywood culture is coming to Pakistan...She needs another language to associate herself with the people of common religion. Arabic and Farsi.

Ahlan wa sahlan yar habibi ..

So instead of focusing on streghthening our own culture and media, we should completely change our language? Way to go, chief.

Plus it will help greater economic and regional ties between the brotherly nations.

Going by this logic, why not Chinese, Japanese, German, English or Klingon (for inter-galactic trade).

Ahlan wa sahlan yar habibi ..

So instead of focusing on streghthening our own culture and media, we should completely change our language? Way to go, chief.

Going by this logic, why not Chinese, Japanese, German, English or Klingon (for inter-galactic trade).

So you consider Urdu as your language and ignore the languages of your ethnic group?
In Europe people also learn as secondary language English. But speak German, French, Italian, Spanish etc. as mother tongues.
They consider these as their languages because these are the languages of their ethnics and their pride.
Nobody considers English as their language and it could be easily replaced.

Thats very unfortunate and should be stopped.

Please understand that no one in particular is doing this to us. This is a natural process.

We Pakistanis are Pashtuns, Punjabis, Sindhis, Balochis, Kashmiris etc. They are our languages and our identity.

True that. Accepting diversity is a positive thing. But we also need to find a common ground. Urdu is exactly that.

But people want to get rid of foreign words in their languages all the time.

Natural process. Name one language today that doesn't borrow words from other languages. Please don't say Arabic or Farsi, unless your family is from one of those countries that use these languages.

Urdu in Pakistan is only secondary language and is of course easy to replace.

Dear, Urdu is the primary language. Go to any corner in Pakistan (well most corners) and you'll be able to use it. Same can't be said for regional languages. Regional languages are fine and should be preserved, but Urdu should always have priority.

Anyways, what we are discussing here is interesting, but too far fetched and impossible. Not to mention completely useless.

Dear, Urdu is the primary language. Go to any corner in Pakistan (well most corners) and you'll be able to use it. Same can't be said for regional languages. Regional languages are fine and should be preserved, but Urdu should always have priority.
Anyways, what we are discussing here is interesting, but too far fetched and impossible. Not to mention completely useless

Well, no.
Most people are able to understand and speak Urdu. But only as secondary. Many people who didn't visit school can't even speak Urdu. Which happens mainly in rural areas.
Thats like going to Germany, Italy or Spain. And nearly every corner understands and speaks English because it is taught in school.
Doesn't mean it is primary language. Primary stays German, Italian and Spanish etc.
And for us Pakistanis Pashto, Punjabi, Sindhi etc.

So you consider Urdu as your language and ignore the languages of your ethnic group?

Yes and very proudly I consider Urdu as my national language. And no I don't ignore other languages.

In Europe people also learn as secondary language English. But speak German, French, Italian, Spanish etc. as mother tongues.
They consider these as their languages because these are the languages of their ethnics and their pride.
Nobody considers English as their language and it could be easily replaced.

Don't know about Europe, but you can't survive / trade without English almost everywhere else.

Many people discussed whether Urdu should be replaced with Persian or Arabic etc.
Because to be honest Urdu has nothing to do with Pakistan and the British made Urdu to the national language of Pakistan since occupation before occupation it was Persian.
Still today Urdu remains national language and English official language of Pakistan. And our mother tongues (Pashto, Punjabi, Sindhi, Balochi and Kashmiri [languages spoken in Kashmir region]) are only regional languages.

Making our mother tongues to national languages of Pakistan is the right direction in my opinion and necessary.
But Pakistan being a multi ethnic state also needs a unity language like Urdu today.
Replacing Urdu with Arabic or Persian brings its benifits but it is also not our languages to be honest.

So what if we create a new national language and it replaces Urdu.

One example would be:

Grammar: Balochi (for example)
Vocabulary: Punjabi (20%), Pashto (20%), Sindhi (20%), Balochi (20%) and Kashmiri/Koshur (20%) = 100%
Name of the language: Pakistani (P=Punjab, A= Afghania, K= Kashmir, S= Sindh, TAN= Balochistan)

I know it is not realistic. It is more realistic if Persian or Arabic replaces Urdu.
But what do you think?

Creating a language is not enough. You need to create history and literature too. How much do you know about linguistics? My guess would be that you know next to nothing to make such a bold and &^%$# claim.

Totally NOT needed. Nobody would support this thing.

Creating a language is not enough. You need to create history and literature too. How much do you know about linguistics? My guess would be that you know next to nothing to make such a bold and &^%$# claim.

Totally NOT needed. Nobody would support this thing.

What does &^%$# claim mean?
Yes you are right about history and literature.
But by creating a pakistani language (like I said in my first post) you can use history and literature of all 5 ethnic languages of Pakistan.
Point is mixture of all the mother tongues of Pakistan. And also literature and history of all mother tongues.

It is not a claim but rather a suggestion or an idea.
Of cource Urdu could be replaced by a real language like Arabic or Parsi.
Urdu has nothing to do with Pakistan and should be replaced. English should be also removed as official language and only be taught in a voluntarily basis.
Also mother tongues of Pakistan should be made national languages of Pakistan.
We could use Switzerland as a model. Switzerland - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

@Ishaq I think you are slightly confused. Urdu is part of an identity. Changing languages will have no real benefit apart from making Pakistan seem intellectually bankrupt.

Go read some urdu poetry and educate yourself.

@Ishaq I think you are slightly confused. Urdu is part of an identity. Changing languages will have no real benefit apart from making Pakistan seem intellectually bankrupt.

Go read some urdu poetry and educate yourself.

Identity of whom?
For sure not of Pashtuns, Punjabis, Sindhis, Balochis, Kashmiris etc. = Pakistanis

the language in which every pakistani should be able to converse is English. In europe some centuries ago students learned Latin because all knowledge was written in it. These days that language is English. So if pakistan is to progress fast then use of english must be spread.

Official language should be English. But Persian is way better...:p:

Well Pakistanis are Punjabis, Pashtuns, Kashmiris, Sindhis and Balochis.
Which is also the meaning of Pakistan (P=Punjab, A= Afghania, K= Kashmir, S= Sindh, TAN= Balochistan = Pakistan = land of the pure)
The 5 mother tongues should be made to national languages of Pakistan.
The unity language/ secondary language of Pakistan which is Urdu should be replaced by Arabic or Parsi or something else.
English should be not official language of Pakistan. But nevertheless be taught in school as a voluntarily subject.

Yahan bijli nahi hai, 1/3 bachay school se bahar hien, HDI mien Nepal hum se agay nikal gaya hai abh sirf kuchh afreeki mumalik reh gai hien hum se pechhay, who bhi agar halat aisle hi chalte rahe tau agay nikal jainge. Aur mausoof nai language banane ke khwab dekh rahay hien.

Talk about misplaced priorities. Reminds me of PPP who's only priority seemed to be to rename everything after benazir.

Yahan bijli nahi hai, 1/3 bachay school se bahar hien, HDI mien Nepal hum se agay nikal gaya hai abh surf kuchh afreeki mumalik reh gai hien hum se pechhay. Aur mausoof nai language bananay ke khwab dekh rahay hien.

Talk about misplaced priorities. Reminds me of PPP who's only priority seemed to be to rename everything after benazir.

Yes there are couple of issues with priority first.
But that doesn't mean to ignore everything else.