Sikkim stand-off: Indian troops unlikely to pull back

• India is not likely to consider a pullout without some clear terms being arrived at first
  • China's unilateral move violates agreements with India and impacts Bhutan's sovereignty
59480990.jpg

File photo shows Indian flag flows next to Chinese national emblem

NEW DELHI: Despite rising stridency in Chinese demands that India pull back+from the confrontation near the Sikkim-Tibet-Bhutan tri-junction, Indian troops are digging in to protect the strategic topography that is just 30 km from a hydel project and overlooks the Bengal-Assam road link.

The hydro-electric project is located at Jaldhaka river at Jhalong which is not far from the border with Bhutan and is also a bridge for crossing over to the landlocked hill kingdom. The Jaldhaka, along with Torsha river, flows into the Brahmaputra and is part of a tract of land that could come under pressure if the Chinese build the road they are planning through Doklam plateau in Bhutan+ .

The Siliguri corridor, and the town itself, will be vulnerable if China gets to dominate ridge lines which will allow its troops to literally sit astride Indian territory. The road to Assam also runs through the narrow strip of territory that connects West Bengal to the northeast and any threat to it can snip the surface link from Bagdogra to Guwahati.

Given the importance of holding the current alignment and preventing China from altering this to its benefit, India is not likely to consider a pullout without some clear terms being arrived at first. Though the Chinese are clearly annoyed at Indian troops stalling road work in an area that is near the tri-junction, Bhutan has strongly protested the intrusion on its territory. Even if the area is considered disputed, China's unilateral move violates agreements with India and impacts Bhutan's sovereignty.

As the full significance of the Chinese move becomes apparent, it is clear that the road project and movement of troops was more than the "usual" intrusions by which China tests India's defences and responses. The realignment of ground position was intended to grasp a decisive advantage in the region and went beyond the "needle and nibble" attempts to reset parts of the unsettled boundary between India and China.

With matters grinding to a stalemate and India holding its ground and comments, the stage could be set for more serious diplomatic engagement. Though the tough talk on part of Beijing continues, ejecting Indian troops is not an easy prospect and neither side would be keen to let matters get out of hand.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...ition-uk-prosecutors/articleshow/59478625.cms
Looks like Indian Authorities have decided to call Chinese Bluff of Shadow Boxing... Its upto China now to either scale down the rhetoric and face embarrassment or escalate and face retaliation by world community... ball is in China's court now... LOL

Now, here should be the quick remedy for Pakistan and China:

Beijing’s large fleet of conventionally armed ballistic missiles could be used to bombard Indian territory and compel India to a ceasefire.

China has ways to asymmetrically attack India and fight across multiple domains of conflict to entice India to back down.

I am not generally not a warmonger, but this has gone too far. We should strike. Do something. I only wish something be done about taking back Indian Occupied Kashmir remaining part because we can’t see our Kashmir’s freedom fighters brothers are been tortured and can’t see coward 7 lakh indian soldiers doing atrocities there, and bring back remaining Indian Occupied Kashmir to Pakistan and also China should then take back Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim may be.

Take on India by both China and Pakistan. Maybe. Can we? I don't know what we should do. Hopefully our hands aren't tied and someone is coming up with a plan to hit them. Hopefully.
Bappa ka raj hai bhai... right...

Somehow Chinese and Pakistani posters believe that India will cow down to couple of missile strikes and will not retaliate with bigger strikes.. just like Pakistan thought that there will be no full scale retaliation in Kargil or India will not cross over International border in 1965....

Good China is a paper tiger and its military US riddles with thousands of problems.
70% of their equipment works only on paper .

Looks like Indian Authorities have decided to call Chinese Bluff of Shadow Boxing... Its upto China now to either scale down the rhetoric and face embarrassment or escalate and face retaliation by world community... ball is in China's court now... LOL

Bappa ka raj hai bhai... right...

Somehow Chinese and Pakistani posters believe that India will cow down to couple of missile strikes and will not retaliate with bigger strikes.. just like Pakistan thought that there will be no full scale retaliation in Kargil or India will not cross over International border in 1965....

By continuing to increase deployment of troops at the border, India once again underestimates China’s capability and determination to safeguard its territory. It also fails to estimate the cost of confrontation, and India will lose more like they have lost in 1948, 1965 and in 1999 Kargil war to Pakistan and in 1962 to China.

Since you insist on off topic remarks .. What do you suggest Pak should do which has already not been attempted with failure over the last 70 years ?

The issue with fan boys here is they assume China to fight a war on behalf of them..... If not they look china to fight a war and expecting a result that can give them an opportunity to celebrate...... But these guys do not have a clue about our eastern side and how both nations are placed..... They have no clue what is indo chinese relationship and what is at stake for both the nations..... We are neither friends nor enemies (last least for past 4 decades )..... Yes there is a strain in the relationship, but not worth a war, and both the nation knows it..... Normally the same trolls would have had field day if it was chinese who crossed over, now since it is the other way around, they are resorting to war mongering.....

All of you will be disappointed.....

Yes chinese seems to have learnt from Indian media houses that is one positive i see....Now they have similar headlines :)

By continuing to increase deployment of troops at the border, India once again underestimates China’s capability and determination to safeguard its territory. It also fails to estimate the cost of confrontation, and India will lose more like they have lost in 1948, 1965 and in 1999 Kargil war to Pakistan and in 1962 to China.
Get your facts right.. Its China that is trying to capture Bhutan territory and India Army is fulfilling its agreement to protect Bhutan... India is protecting its neighbor from a bully..

By continuing to increase deployment of troops at the border, India once again underestimates China’s capability and determination to safeguard its territory.

Allow GOI the same level of intellect you give yourself. They know what they are doing .

India is violating an 1890 border agreement between Britain and China that previous Indian governments pledged to uphold, Indian troops crossing onto the Chinese side were in violation of this historical agreement and a United Nations charter.
Chinese Violating By Not Considering Arunachal as india territory has It don't Consider Same agreement in Machmohan line

The issue with fan boys here is they assume China to fight a war on behalf of them..... If not they look china to fight a war and expecting a result that can give them an opportunity to celebrate...... But these guys do not have a clue about our eastern side and how both nations are placed..... They have no clue what is indo chinese relationship and what is at stake for both the nations..... We are neither friends nor enemies (last least for past 4 decades )..... Yes there is a strain in the relationship, but not worth a war, and both the nation knows it..... Normally the same trolls would have had field day if it was chinese who crossed over, now since it is the other way around, they are resorting to war mongering.....

All of you will be disappointed.....

Yes chinese seems to have learnt from Indian media houses that is one positive i see....Now they have similar headlines :)

Armed conflict between the two is unlikely, but says the harsh language and scale of the mobilization in the remote but strategically important area, where the borders of China, India and Bhutan intersect, is unprecedented in recent years. :-)

Don’t forget, China still claims a section of the Indian state of Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim. :lol:

Regarding Pakistan’s cheer leading? Because of this statement of your army general “Though India says its troops in Bhutan are in “non-combative mode”, the rhetoric on both sides is growing increasingly pugilistic. India’s army chief, Bipin Rawat, has said that India is ready to fight a “two and half front war” – referring to Pakistan, China and against the country’s various internal insurgencies.” :sarcastic::cheesy: :rofl:

Name Pakistan is mentioned, so India let prepare yourself for two front wars, who knows when we both iron brothers are coming. :dance3::enjoy: :china::pakistan::smitten::cheers:

Don’t forget, China still claims a section of the Indian state of Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim. :lol:
Nope, you are wrong. China quite unambiguously told that there is no border dispute between India and China in Sikkim border and China and India have agreed to accept 1890 era treaty about Sikkim border.

Now, here should be the quick remedy for Pakistan and China:

Beijing’s large fleet of conventionally armed ballistic missiles could be used to bombard Indian territory and compel India to a ceasefire.

China has ways to asymmetrically attack India and fight across multiple domains of conflict to entice India to back down.

I am not generally not a warmonger, but this has gone too far. We should strike. Do something. I only wish something be done about taking back Indian Occupied Kashmir remaining part because we can’t see our Kashmir’s freedom fighters brothers are been tortured and can’t see coward 7 lakh indian soldiers doing atrocities there, and bring back remaining Indian Occupied Kashmir to Pakistan and also China should then take back Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim may be.

Take on India by both China and Pakistan. Maybe. Can we? I don't know what we should do. Hopefully our hands aren't tied and someone is coming up with a plan to hit them. Hopefully.

Well, you just made it to CCP think-tank list.
Congrats

if this is what they teach you in Pakistan that India lost to Pakistan in 48, 65 and 99 then my dear friend you need to start rebellion and ask for real education, which Might help you all come out of this tyranny of being governed by a master always.

Nope, you are wrong. China quite unambiguously told that there is no border dispute between India and China in Sikkim border and China and India have agreed to accept 1890 era treaty about Sikkim border.

No, you are mistaken or not well informed and completely wrong at this, China had mentioned that Donglang is being considered in their territory since “ancient times”. and, what India is doing between two parties? Historically, Bhutan and China have a dispute over the area, Donglang or Doklam. However, China had mentioned that Donglang is being considered in their territory since “ancient times”.

It is stated in Article one of the Convention Between Great Britain and China relating Sikkim and Tibet (1890) that ‘the boundary of Sikkim and Tibet shall be the crest of the mountain range separating the waters flowing into the Sikkim Teesta and its affluents from the waters flowing into the Tibetan Mochu and northwards into other rivers of Tibet, so Sikkim also belongs to our iron brother China.

Armed conflict between the two is unlikely, but says the harsh language and scale of the mobilization in the remote but strategically important area, where the borders of China, India and Bhutan intersect, is unprecedented in recent years. :-)

Regarding Pakistan’s cheer leading? Because of this statement of your army general “Though India says its troops in Bhutan are in “non-combative mode”, the rhetoric on both sides is growing increasingly pugilistic. India’s army chief, Bipin Rawat, has said that India is ready to fight a “two and half front war” – referring to Pakistan, China and against the country’s various internal insurgencies.” :sarcastic::cheesy: :rofl:

Name Pakistan is mentioned, so India let prepare yourself for two front wars, who knows when we both iron brothers are coming. :dance3::enjoy: :china::pakistan::smitten::cheers:
J15pZQy.jpg