Senators criticise ‘remarks over Gwadar protests’

Then he should be open about it. Say that he is controlling and that he threatened or warned or gave an ultimatum. Perhaps, normal civil codes or laws are suspended for some reasons etc.

Anyway, locals need basic amenities and mustn't be expelled from the lands. Either solve it politically or by investment or by force, overtly or covertly but TAKE the responsibility.
Don't make it his problem when some members shamelessly choose to ignore what the Army has to say about the matter. There is nothing hidden about this security responsibility assigned to our nation's military (both the Army and the Navy) to safeguard and secure Gwadar. People want to demonstrate, they are absolutely free to go to the provincial or national capital to engage in such democratic practice. No country in the world, including the US, will stand for protestors blocking their strategic areas e.g. imagine Black Lives Matter protestors blocking the port(s) of New York.

Oh come on people stop pretending this 'Haq do Tehreek' is all natural, especially if they are flashing the Chinese. The scale of these protests is equivalent to PTM gatherings. BLA/BLF must be waiting within the crowds to strike....
This is because some in our awaam and here have become ultra-woke suddenly.

There is nothing hidden about this security responsibility assigned to our nation's military (both the Army and the Navy) to safeguard and secure Gwadar. People want to demonstrate, they are absolutely free to go to the provincial or national capital to engage in such democratic practice. No country in the world, including the US, will stand for protestors blocking their strategic areas e.g. imagine Black Lives Matter protestors blocking the port(s) of New York.
1. Then why secretly call the office and threaten the leaders.. Just state this law/article under this section, and therefore protestors must stop or face the consequences.
2. That will be Karachi, but yes, there are strategic areas everywhere. Lastly, they can protest locally (suitable place) and have no need to go to the capital.

Senators criticise ‘remarks over Gwadar protests’​

Imran Mukhtar

January 18, 2023

ISLAMABAD - A treasury lawmaker on Tuesday in the Senate objected to the unconfirmed remarks, doing the rounds on social media, of a top military commander in Balochistan about the recent protests led by Haq Do Tehreek in Gwadar, the port city of Balochistan. Speaking on a point of public concern, JUI-F Senator Kamran Murtaza said that protest was the right of everyone and the demands of people of Gwadar were neither unconstitutional nor illegal. Earlier this month, some unconfirmed social media reports had attributed a statement to Commander of XII Corps Lt Gen Asif Ghafoor that anyone who protested in Gwadar would be put behind the bars. Former president of Supreme Court Bar Association Senator Murtaza further said that he was appalled by the remarks of an officer, who heads the security issues in Balochistan, when he reportedly said that anyone who resorted to protest in the port city would be sent to jail. “Is Gwadar some occupied territory?” he questioned. The lawmaker said that the officer had no right to talk in such a manner and threaten the people to send them in jail. “We reject such behavior and threats,” he said without naming anyone. However, Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) Senator Danesh Kumar opposed the remarks of the treasury lawmaker and said that he was astonished that some unauthentic social media reports were being discussed in the house. He said that Jamaat-e-Islami Senator Mushtaq Ahmad, a day earlier, had also raised his concerns over such unverified statement. He questioned why the Pakistan Army was being dragged into such matters unnecessarily when the institution itself was saying that it wanted to remain apolitical. “We should talk in the house over some confirmed statements or incidents,” he said. Senator Ahmad on a point of personal explanation said that the corps commander should give an explanation about the remarks attributed to him. “If he clarifies, then I will withdraw my statement, “he said and warned that any member of the house should not become spokesperson of a military officer. He also said that the demands of the people of Gwadar were genuine and Maulana Hidayatur Rehman, the leader of the Haq Do Tehreek, was the voice of the poor people of Balochistan. Senator Murtaza also got the floor on a point of personal explanation and said that the statement attributed to the military commander was widely reported and he should have contradicted it if the same was untrue. I would apologize if the commander contradicted it, he added. Earlier, Senator Naseebullah Bazai, opening the debate on the issue, said that Maulana Hidayatur Rehman was using the people of Gwadar for his vested interests.

Yeh generals abhi tak 1857 main jee rahy hain...

not long ago people on these forums were giving this man virtual blowjobs just for saying a few lines. Reality is all of these Generals believe they are kings and the people are bloody civilians
People that are misguided and being "used" cannot be given carte blanche.
1. Then why secretly call the office and threaten the leaders.. Just state this law/article under this section, and therefore protestors must stop or face the consequences.
2. That will be Karachi, but yes, there are strategic areas everywhere. Lastly, they can protest locally (suitable place) and have no need to go to the capital.
Do you think these "leaders" don't know the military's mandate, as per the law and the NAP, in Gwadar? These "leaders" are not simpletons. They are pretty cunning and conniving because they know they can use the public perception to put more pressure on the military to get their way. There are restricted zones in Gwadar with warnings/security which is what led to the confrontation in the first place because these "leaders" egged on the cannon-fodder to go and confront the security apparatus around the port.

Agree with #2, except that they can go to Quetta which is the provincial capital closest to Gwadar. ;-)

Do you think these "leaders" don't know the military's mandate, as per the law and the NAP, in Gwadar? These "leaders" are not simpletons.
perhaps it is good for 1-2 times, but if the Lt has merit, he should play front foot.
Agree with #2, except that they can go to Quetta which is the provincial capital closest to Gwadar. ;-)
poor to tatters.. how can they travel that far and sustain protests.

Yes, ask these tough questions of the ones ruling the interior of Sind first. Your selective questioning betrays bias.

Where was all the questioning of the servants and outcry when hundreds (possibly thousands) of kids died (and may still be dying) in Sind on account of malnutrition? Where has this questioning been when so many Hindus have been force converted or harees have been kidnapped? Where has this questioning been over hundreds of private jails being run all over Sind? Where has this questioning been about why interior Sind has dismal literacy rates comparable to Balochistan's? Where is this questioning when the entire of interior Sind grinds in poverty under Waderas? I did not see either PTI or PPP turning the fortunes (I should say misfortunes of these people) around so please, don't lecture me about asking "tough" questions.

Ask questions about the relief work and not the politics of the country of an officer who is engaged in relief work. Instead of making an issue out of everything and accusing the military, mauqa, maqam hota hai har cheez ka.

For the record, again, the security of Gwadar port and corridor is within the area of responsibility of the Pakistan Army, with security specifically assigned to Army's Southern Command (under Lt Gen Asif Ghafoor) as per the National Action Plan. Special Security Division is a subservient formation under the Southern Command dedicated for this purpose.

So for all the nary-baazi about what gives Lt Gen Asif Ghafoor the right to threaten arrest, he is doing what he is mandated to do as per the law of the land! Just like Karachi was cleaned up earlier by the Army, Rangers and ISI, the same applies to Gwadar.
We aren’t stupid. You with your own words admit army interference in politics by saying they brought IK to power. We question the army which interferes and politics and enables wadera rule in sindh. When people of interior sindh fight against brutal terrorist wadera rule, it is army that comes and saves them labelling us as terrorists. If army stayed in its lane and didn’t interfere in things outside it’s jobs description, we wouldn’t go question then first. The rulers of sindh win elections due to wadera rule and rigging which is enabled by army. So who is the main culprit?

For the record, again, the security of Gwadar port and corridor is within the area of responsibility of the Pakistan Army, with security specifically assigned to Army's Southern Command (under Lt Gen Asif Ghafoor) as per the National Action Plan. Special Security Division is a subservient formation under the Southern Command dedicated for this purpose.

So for all the nary-baazi about what gives Lt Gen Asif Ghafoor the right to threaten arrest, he is doing what he is mandated to do as per the law of the land! Just like Karachi was cleaned up earlier by the Army, Rangers and ISI, the same applies to Gwadar.
Do you even know what the people of Gwadar were protesting over? People like you create turn patriotic Pakistanis into enemies. The people of Gwadar have totally legit demands but the more you neglect them the more their movement becomes hijacked by anti state elements. People don’t protest over nothing. Go open your eyes and see the real injustices that happen and try to solve them instead of your general threatening innocent protestors.
As I said before, when you make peaceful opposition impossible, violent opposition becomes inevitable. Go use force against the people of Gwadar and go kill Mawlana Hidyat ur Rehman but then don’t complain when yje people of Gwadar give him Bugti level status and start a new wave of separatist insurgency.
You shouldn’t get over confident on your fighting ability. Yes Pak army is stronger but for how long can it manage this many insurgencies?

This is where you guys go wrong. You are suppose to PREVENT INSURGENCIES from ever forming. You are suppose to keep everyone UNITED. You are suppose to PREVENT WAR in these situations. You and NOT suppose to add fuel to the fire which is what Asif Ghafoor did.
You guys are literally playing into Indias trap but then blame us awaam for your incompetence and shortsightedness. It is people like you who india wishes Pakistan was full of.

Your PDM and fauj is destroying Pakistan as we speak. What has your PDM and fauj done ever since taking charge? Name one success.

Your fauj is agitating people of Balochistan and specifically Gwadar. Don't get frustrated with us. Ask your generals to behave and stop agitating the locals.
You dimwit, read my post again where i said that i HATE pdm

Where exactly did u read that you’re putting the pdm to me?
Are you on drugs like your former playboy pm ??
The one who’s begging Gen Asim now to make him pm again.

I hate em all politicians but ofcourse a “dalit” can’t understand that.

We have given these PMA paindus too much respect. Now, we need to put them to place. We need strong army no doubt but its top leadership has abused our sentiment for them and taken us for granted.

People that are misguided and being "used" cannot be given carte blanche.

Except, of course, when they are being paid with envelopes of cash for participation in an approved dharna. :D

Do you even know what the people of Gwadar were protesting over? People like you create turn patriotic Pakistanis into enemies. The people of Gwadar have totally legit demands but the more you neglect them the more their movement becomes hijacked by anti state elements. People don’t protest over nothing. Go open your eyes and see the real injustices that happen and try to solve them instead of your general threatening innocent protestors.
As I said before, when you make peaceful opposition impossible, violent opposition becomes inevitable. Go use force against the people of Gwadar and go kill Mawlana Hidyat ur Rehman but then don’t complain when yje people of Gwadar give him Bugti level status and start a new wave of separatist insurgency.
You shouldn’t get over confident on your fighting ability. Yes Pak army is stronger but for how long can it manage this many insurgencies?

This is where you guys go wrong. You are suppose to PREVENT INSURGENCIES from ever forming. You are suppose to keep everyone UNITED. You are suppose to PREVENT WAR in these situations. You and NOT suppose to add fuel to the fire which is what Asif Ghafoor did.
You guys are literally playing into Indias trap but then blame us awaam for your incompetence and shortsightedness. It is people like you who india wishes Pakistan was full of.

Come on bro your not fooling anyone. People have had enough of ummah chummah. Pakistanis today know our enemies from miles away.

WHO ARE THESE PEOPLE OF GWADAR WHO ARE PROTESTING??? PLEASE EXPLAIN TO ME DO THESE PEOPLE ONLY KNOW PROTESTS AND NOTHING ELSE???

They have been provided endless opportunities compared to people of other provinces. ARE PASHTUNS OF BALOCHISTAN COMPLAINING? ARE PUNJABIS BLOWING UP FACTORIES IN SIALKOT OR FAISALABAD DUE TO UNEMPLOYMENT??? ARE SINDHIS BLOWING UP MALLS IN KARACHI DUE TO BEING LEFT OUT BEHIND MUHAHIRS??? ARE KASHMIRIS BLOWING THEMSELVES UP DUE TO INFLUEX OF AFGHANS TAKING THEIR JOBS????

BHAI PLEASE DONT MADE PEOPLE HERE IDIOTS ANYMORE. THESE SO CALLED "PEOPLE" CAN GO LEARN MANY SKILLS, THEY CAN TAKE EMPLOYMENT IN BILLIONS USD WORTH OF PROJECTS, THEY CAN START A NEW BUSINESS IN ORDER TO BE COMPETITIVE IN THE MARKET.. YET WHAT DO THEY DO??? TAKE SUPPORT FROM IRAN/AFGHANISTAN/INDIA TO DO BOMB BLASTS AND BITE THE HAND THAT FEEDS THEM???

EXAMPLE TOMORROW IF ROADS ARE BUILT WILL BRICK LAYERS BE ABLE TO CONTRIBUTE TO SUCH A ROAD PROJECT? OF COURSE NOT IT REQUIRES A WHOLE DIFFERENT SKILL SET... LIKEWISE IF TODAY A PORT IS BUILT AND FISHERMAN CANNOT BENEFIT FROM THIS AND HAVE TO STAY 5 MILES AWAY FROM WHERE THEY COULD FISH BEFORE DUE TO THE SECURITY SITUATION WHICH THEIR OWN PEOPLE CAUSED THEN HOW IS THAT A BURDEN TO THEM???????

THERE ARE TRILLIONS OF FISH IN THE SEA BETA GO FISH ELSEWHERE OR LEARN A NEW SKILL WHERE IT WILL NOT IMPACT YOUR ECONOMIC POTENTIAL...

AGAIN HOW MANY BILLIONS USD HAVE BEEN INVESTED INTO THESE PEOPLE SINCE LAST 20 YEARS THAT THEY HAVE AUDICITY TO EVEN PROTEST??? THESE PEOPLES APATITE AND LOOT IS BEYOND ENDLESS. THE TAXPAYERS OF PUNJAB PAY FOR THIS FILTH. TAX PAYERS OF KARACHI AND PUNJAB PAY FOR THEIR OWN DESTRUCTIONS IS THE TRUTH.

I AM NOT EVEN TALKING ABOUT SECURITY SITUATION YET BETA... TELL ME 1 ETHNICITY OUT OF HUNDRES IN PAK THAT BLOWS THEMSELVES UP OTHER THAN PATHAN/BALOCH??? YET EVEN PATHANS ARE 30-40 MILLION YET BALOCH ARE ONLY 7-8 MILLION... YET AGAIN BALOCH ARE BACKSTABBERS WHEREEVER THEY LIVE WHETHER IRAN OR AFGHANISTAN OR PAKISTAN. ANY NATION WHICH HAVE BEEN UNGRATEFUL TO HAVE BALOCH AS CITIZENS HAVE SUFFERED THEIR CURSE. NOT 1 NATION HAVE BEEN ABLE TO LIVE IN PEACE WITH THESE PEOPLE YET HERE YOU HAVE AUDACITY TO BLAME GENERAL GHAFOOR WHOSE FOOT IS NOT EVEN WORTH YOURSELF.

Let me tell you 1 thing if these BALOCH ARE IN IRAN/UAE/USA/CANADA/WEST/INDIA THEY WILL NOT EVEN DO 1% OF THE FITNAH THEY DO IN PAKSITAN. THERE SARDARS HEAD WOULD NOT EVEN BE LEFT INTACT ON THEIR BODY. PAK ARMY AND STATE HAS BEEN FAR TO GENEROUS AND LENIENT TO THESE TRATIORS. THAT IS A FACT.

LOL at the human rights activists in this thread

These people have no real concerns they are just mad as fucking shit all the time. There are pockets of society all over Balochistan who are just separatist in nature - nothing more, it has nothing to do with rights.

I've spoken to many people from Balochistan and they tell me the same, these people have always been poor and suddenly they blame Pakistan that their areas are not like Dubai or something when Pakistan itself is broke? Still work is being done to develop these barren lands.

These are the same people who cheer on BLA/BLF, etc that literally destroy and destabilise their areas - their complaints are not to demand rights from the state but simply separatist by nature no matter how much you give them.

1) Chinese are very committed people. When they say CPEC is flagship of BRI, then they mean business.
2) Chinese loans are given at ~2% IR.
3) The loan term is 20 !!!!!!!!!!! years.
4) The 17% IPP return rate (in $) was not exclusive to Chinese. It was open to any investor, local or westerner or and gulf state.
5) IK solved many problems under CPEC and the Chinese were happy. @Irfan Baloch @ghazi52