Judge rejects minor girl's plea to skip swim class on religious grounds

The girl's family needs to move back to Morocco... ever heard of assimilation? If it was a 16 year old it would have been different, but she's just 12!

have you seen a girl in a western country? they usually mature at thirteen thats when teenage begins

That will be unfair to the boys. She has a right to choose for herself - not for others.

Separate testing means they have to have a separate class. Separate teacher and so on.

What the boys do is up to them, they are not touching her, or in some sort of contact sport. They are swimming in their own line, she in hers. This is something illogical and she won't be able to win.

She already got a big win for her and others when the court said in its statement that she can wear the burkini. Trust me, there was a pseudo-secular argument to be made against that - its a religious symbol - ban it!. So its a win, nonethless, take it and end the matter.

Its female nature.
Some girls simply dont feel comfortable in the presence of men in knickers.
She shouldnt be forced or it will take down her confidence and overall accademic performance.
If it was me i had asked to school to prove to me how swimming is an essential part of carricurum,because not all subjects are essential,students can take some subjects and leave other.

She does not have to leave germany, she can leave school and be home schooled. (not sure if that is considered child abuse in germany)
Also, not knowing local law before taking citizenship(or even living there) is not something you can use in court of law as defence.
That applies to present as well as any future law. Only the law should not be applied retrospectively.

For an example, a nordic country took child on an Indian couple to care for child abuse. By desi standard the parents were doing nothing wrong. (was a big news in India)

Babes, wohh baat nahin mein kar rahha ! I was specifically commenting in the context of 'assimilation. Wouldn't it be better if these things were known before & explicitly so in that the immigration office under question mentions this explicitly so that 'Some of your values maybe wholly unacceptable to us & in the cases they are...ours trump over yours for we are the original people of the land & it is our prerogative not yours to define what the dominant culture of the land is going to be !'. Legally, to the best of my knowledge, there is no such; whether it is socially or not is something that I'm not to sure about because just as there are inherent contradictions in our narratives they are there in theirs too & at least to my ears the meaning of what the mean is sometimes lost in the terminology they use for they take Liberalism, Egalitarianism etc. to mean one thing whereas I, you or even someone else from amongst them may take it to mean something else ! And over here the 'social aspect' of course doesn't figure in the Neo-Nazis, the White Supremacists or even the Ultra-Nationalists.

You might wanna reconsider that.

List of lakes in Switzerland - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

And this are just the 'big' ones. Were not even talking about the numerous ditches, pools, creeks and rivers.

And whenever a child unfortunately drowns, it often happens to be a child of asylum seeks who has never learned to swim. Yes, not only does withholding your kid from swimming lessons go against the educational order of a country, such far fetched religious ego's of the parents could also endanger the lives of children as a consequence.

On all counts, this was a good decision of the court.

You will be surprised if i post a list of big mountains and meadows in switzerland.
Its more logical to make mountainerring compulsory instead of swimming,if your are taking that route of argument.
I would also introduce sheep herding and bull fighting in schools of switzerland for that being a ranching country,and you are more likely to be attacked by a bull than drown in a lake.

You will be surprised if i post a list of big mountains and meadows in switzerland.
Its more logical to make mountainerring compulsory instead of swimming,if your are taking that route of argument.
I would also introduce sheep herding and bull fighting in schools of switzerland for that being a ranching country,and you are more likely to be attacked by a bull than drown in a lake.

If you want to make a caricature of the situation, then by all means, but the argument of the Swiss court still stands. :agree:

Firstly a citizen of a landlocked country will not necessarily stay in the same country all his life.

Next, to know how to swim helps in self confidence and helps the swimmer to possibly even save a life in a dangerous situation as a good citizen would.

Its a skill that can do no harm.

Firstly a citizen of a landlocked country will not necessarily stay in the same country all his life.

Next, to know how to swim helps in self confidence and helps the swimmer to possibly even save a life in a dangerous situation as a good citizen would.

Its a skill that can do no harm.

But here in these cases it is doing harm.
Girls being forced to swim with boys while they dont want to.
Putting them under mental stress.

and in india it must be necesary as carricurum of schools to learn how to cross roads without getting run over by a vehicle or a donkey.

But here in these cases it is doing harm.
Girls being forced to swim with boys while they dont want to.
Putting them under mental stress.

Waiting for your POV on post No 64

One possible solution:

The Muslim community should make arrangements with a private facility where Muslim girls can take swimming lessons. The facility should be accredited with the authorities so the school can accept the lessons as valid alternative. The cost of these lessons should be borne by the Muslim community.

One possible solution:

The Muslim community should make arrangements with a private facility where Muslim girls can take swimming lessons. The facility should be accredited with the authorities so the school can accept the lessons as valid alternative. The cost of these lessons should be borne by the Muslim community.

The whole world is integrating and we want to isolate ourselves..

Lets not pass our prejudices to the next generation. They have the brains to assimilate & decide for themselves.

We only need to bring them up right & have faith in what we did.

One possible solution:

This can be a solution where anti muslim sentiments arent high.
The best solution is to be smart and use the law of the land in your benifit without mentioning religion.
For example we dont get eid holidays in UK,but we are off on eid day anyway. Either by booking annual leave or just not turning up for work, both conditions are allowrd under british law upto certain limits.
But saying that,during christmas,you see only us muslims working,and we cover for those who celebrate christmas.

Swimming is part of PE, which is a replaceable part of carricurum.
You dont have to play football for PE,if you dont want to,there are alternatives,or should be alternatives.
Same for swimming..
PE,is compulsory part of carricurum,swimming isnt.
Schools can be argued on these grounds,and can be made to comply purely on legislative basis.

muslims of europe need to wisen up.

The family of the girl needs counseling.

Muslim girl cannot skip swim class - thenews.com.pk

BERLIN: A German court on Friday refused to allow a Muslim student to skip swimming lessons after she said she was uncomfortable being so close to bare-chested boys.

The 12-year-old, originally from Morocco but going to school in the southern German city of Frankfurt, had refused to take part in swimming lessons and had been marked down accordingly.

She filed to be given the right to skip the classes, her lawyer arguing that according to the Koran, she was not only forbidden from showing herself to boys but also from seeing the topless boys.

An administrative court in Kassel, western Germany, rejected her application.

It said in its ruling that she could wear the full-body swimsuit, known as the "burkini" already used by several girls at her school, which would be enough to guarantee her religious freedom.

The family had chosen to live in Germany where mixed swimming classes were the norm, the court pointed out.

One of the aims of the school system was to promote integration and tolerance, the court added, citing a ruling by Germany's constitutional court.

The applicant would have to put up with the sight of her classmates in their swimming costumes, the court said.

The most stupid part of lawyers argument ..."Islam prohibits girls from looking at boys in swim suits" so in order to make them feel comfortable....everyone should start wearing Tuxedos to swimming pool....

The best solution is to be smart and use the law of the land in your benifit without mentioning religion.
For example we dont get eid holidays in UK,but we are off on eid day anyway. Either by booking annual leave or just not turning up for work, both conditions are allowrd under british law upto certain limits.
But saying that,during christmas,you see only us muslims working,and we cover for those who celebrate christmas.

Sarfriz babes....you sneaky little basterd ! :cheers:

Aur Pakistan kubbb aarahaa hai dost ?

Siddi Gal nahin karna

ABC - Avoid , bypass, confuse.