Indian Ocean Peaceful Geo-Political Pivot Or Contentious Source of Hedging

Oho. Oye kya bilkul unparh hai tum. I was talking about navy and you are replying air force and that too american. Yaar navy aur air force mein farq hota hai. Thori si aqal ka istimal to kar liya karo jawab dene se pehle.

operation trident was a operation executed by Indian navy which successfully destroyed fuel storage tanks in Karachi and caused massive fire in city.

i gave example of abotabad because you were saying this

Hindustan (good use Ticker) are a hegemon but only against small neighbours.

Come finger pakistan and China - we have sharp teeth in our behinds as well and we will chop off your fingers.

operation trident was a operation executed by Indian navy which successfully destroyed fuel storage tanks in Karachi and caused massive fire in city.

i gave example of abotabad because you were saying this

There were a couple of missile boats that sneaked in and fired missiles that by chance hit those two tanks. So. You are talking about Operation Trident as if it was Allied Landings on French beaches. ha ha ha

Ahhhhhhh ........... you forgot Dawrka which was completely destroyed by Pakistan Navy. Yes you navy's missile boats sneaked in and the missiles hit a couple of fuel storage tanks.

Explain the old man in a big house ....... didnt get it

Lol , you are one ignortant fanboy ... you mean this :

Operation Dwarka - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

The mission objectives of Pakistan Navy are listed below. None of the objectives were achieved.
To draw the heavy enemy units out of Bombay for the submarine to attack.
To destroy the radar installation at Dwarka.
To lower Indian morale.
To divert Indian Air Force effort away from the north.

Lol , you are one ignortant fanboy ... you mean this :

Operation Dwarka - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

The mission objectives of Pakistan Navy are listed below. None of the objectives were achieved.
To draw the heavy enemy units out of Bombay for the submarine to attack.
To destroy the radar installation at Dwarka.
To lower Indian morale.
To divert Indian Air Force effort away from the north.
[edit]

Oh My My .... Wikipedia now replaces Pakistan Army's Operation's Department. Mr know-all, why dont you read the actual Indian accounts when Indian navy's underpants were turning green. :cheers:

First of all , it was PN that was involved , not PA.

So Mr-Seem-to-know-all , so why dont you show us the true face of Operation Dwarka via a neutral source ?

Seems you guys are fed a lot of BS about fake victories. And you ask me to trust "Pakistan Army's Operation's Department" over Wiki ?

We all know whose underpants were turning green / yellow in '71 : PNS Khyber , PNS Muhafiz , PNS Ghazi : Read up kid !

Yes we got damaged as it happens in all wars. So whats the big deal. But you got damaged bigger cuz you are India a big powerful growing world power which can fire missiles to hit Mars and other constellations in the universe. Therefore Gen Night_Raven McIndian rave and rave ......... koi farq nahin parta yahan tumhari in no-good rants pe.

Dont post rubbish.

Read up Operation Dwarka ( by PN ) in 1965 and Operation Trident , Operation Python ( by IN ) in the 1971 war. It will clear up your mind ! :cheesy:

Dont post rubbish.

Read up Operation Dwarka ( by PN ) in 1965 and Operation Trident , Operation Python ( by IN ) in the 1971 war. It will clear up your mind ! :cheesy:

I will just quote this post by Nassr in response ...........................
A recent report by the Indian comptroller and auditor general states that by 2012, the Navy may retain only 61, 44 and 20% of the envisaged force levels of frigates, destroyers and Corvettes respectively. And that there will be further delays. Only 48 per cent of India's submarine fleet is available for waging war.

What are the Indian posters are so pepped up about the depleting strength of Indian Navy.

Oh I know ....... they must be busy buying golf carts

I hope this clears up your mind

Indian Ocean bridge between ASEAN & India: Salman Khurshid | ummid.com

New Delhi: Salman Khurshid, Union Minister for Minority Affairs & Water Resources, has termed the Indian Ocean as the bridge between ASEAN (Association of South East Asian Nations) and India. It is the medium of water through which trade between the 10 countries of ASEAN and India has been going on which should be further focused to increase the volume of trade in line with Look East Policy which Government of India has been following.

Khurshid was inaugurating the three-day International Conference on “INDO-ASEAN TRADE AND INVESTMENT” organized here from Friday under the aegis of Institute of Objective Studies, (IOS), in collaboration with the Indo-Arab Economic Cooperation Forum at the India International Centre.

He said water in the Indian Ocean is of strategic importance which can tilt the world’s power center. He gave food for thought to ponder over the triangle of SAARC, ASEAN and the Indian Ocean as to who could become the pivot or the stepping stone to bring about a revolutionary change in trade and commerce activities. The deliberations in the conference in the next two days should think over this aspect and draw up some action plan, he added.

K. Rahman Khan, Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha, who presided over the inaugural function said the signing of ASEAN-India Trade in Goods in 2009 will pave the way for the creation of one of the world’s largest Free Trade Areas, (FTA), - a market of almost 1.8 billion people with combined GDP of US $ 2.8 trillion. This will fulfill the dream of rise of Asia, he added.

He pointed out that the 19th century belonged to Europe, the 20th century to the United Sates as both the powers gave the “gift” of wars to the world while the 21st century will belong to Asia with peace and tranquility. The ASEAN and SAARC nations should join hands wherein it would show to the whole world its contributions as how to maintain peace and prosperity with dignity of humankind. He lauded the topic of the international conference which is of great importance to India where still a lot has to be done.

Faisal Hassan Trad, Ambassador of Saudi Arabia in India; Mr. Ronald B. Allarey, Ambassador, Embassy of Philippines & Chairman, ASEAN New Delhi Committee; Dato Paduka Sidek Ali, Ambassador of Brunei Darussalam in India; and Ms Hendra Henny Andries, Minister Counselor, Embassy of Indonesia in India; were guests of honour on the occasion.

Dr. Mohammad Manzoor Alam, Chairman of IOS, speaking on the occasion said: “Like any fast rising power, we are in need of immediately reorienting our foreign policy, aligning it with our growing prosperity and influence, addressing our economic and security concerns in the fast-changing new environment. We have to think less of the West and more of East, that is Asia. It is time for the Look-East policy initiated with our becoming a sectoral dialogue partner of ASEAN 19 years ago”.

Dr. Alam said that the sectoral dialogue partnership with ASEAN was upgraded to a full dialogue partnership in 1995. It grew further with an Indo-ASEAN summit in 2002 at Phnom Penh, and after that Indo-ASEAN summits became a regular annual affair. The relationship has been working at summit, ministerial and secretarial levels across a broad array of sectors: trade, security, culture environment and the whole gamut.

He said that the trade volume grew by 11.2 percent annually between 1993 and 2003, from $ 2.9 billion to $ 12.1 billion. In 2008, the two-way trade stood at $ 47.5 billion. In 2008, India’s foreign direct investment (FDI) in ASEAN states was $ 591 million (1.2 percent of the total FDI in the ASEAN states, which rose to $ 970 million in 2009 (2.5 percent of the total).

India stood as the seventh largest trading partner of ASEAN and the sixth largest FDI investor there in 2009. At their summit last year, India and ASEAN reaffirmed their commitment to bring the volume of mutual trade to $ 70 billion by 2012, he added.

However, Dr. Alam lamented that apart from this positive side, there is problem side which is trade in services. India is rightly demanding the same terms in services sector as the ASEAN offers to its members. Australia and New Zealand enjoy more advantageous terms in services trade with ASEAN, he pointed out.

Ronald B. Allarey, Ambassador, Embassy of Philippines & Chairman, ASEAN New Delhi Committee, while expressing his happiness over the conference said since India became a Dialogue Partner of ASEAN, the collaboration has transcended the realm of functional cooperation to cover political and security dimensions. He said that ASEAN and India will mark the 20th anniversary of their dialogue relations in 2012 with a Commemorative Summit to be held in India. A number of commemorative activities have been planned to signify the expanding and deepening of the dialogue partnership.

Allarey said in 2008, the total volume of ASEAN-India trade was US$ 47.5 billion ASEAN’s export to India was US$ 30.8 billion – a growth of 24.4% in comparison with that of 2007. ASEAN’s import from India was US$ 17.9 billion – a growth of 44.5% in comparison to that of 2007. In 2009, the two-way trade between ASEAN and India stood at US$ 39.1 billion. As for foreign direct investment (FDI), the inflow from India to ASEAN Member States was US$ 591 in 2008, accounting for 1.2% of total FDI in the region. In 2009, the FDI inflow from India to ASEAN was US$ 970 million, accounting for 2.5% of total FDI in the region. Despite impact of the global financial/economic crisis, India remained the seventh largest trading partner of ASEAN and the sixth largest investor in ASEAN in 2009.

Referring to Khurshid's triangle Allarey said this conference is a fitting example of trilateral cooperation between India, Saudi Arab and ASEAN countries.

Prof. (Dr.) Vinaysheel Gautam, Founding Director IIM (K) ;Prof. & First Head, Management Studies IIT (D), in his special address stressed the need that since India is emerging as an economic power there are many avenues for the ASEAN countries which must be attracted for the benefit of both.

Ravi Kishore, Secretary General (Hony.), IAECF and Advocate, Supreme Court of India, New Delhi, while welcoming the guests said since the 1990s, when India was looking to build new alliances in the wake of the Soviet Union's collapse, ‘Look East' has been a mantra with successive governments in New Delhi. But India's economic, political, and strategic relationship with the region was slower to develop than with the United States or Europe. The economic setback the Asian Tigers suffered in the closing years of the 20th century slowed it down further. The last few years have seen Delhi hastening to inject more purpose to its engagement with the East Asian countries. That India is now a major economic power has made this equally meaningful for the countries in the region.

The introductory remarks about the IOS were given by Prof. Z. M. Khan, secretary general of the IOS. At the outset Maulana Abdullah Tarique recited verses from the Holy Quran to herald the beginning of the international conference.

Meanwhile, it may be mentioned here that the opening conference of the Silver Jubilee celebrations of IOS was held here with a three-day international conference on “Towards Knowledge, Development and Peace – Outlining Roadmaps for the Future” from April 15 to April 17 at India Islamic Cultural Centre here in New Delhi. A number of renowned scholars from within the country and abroad besides prominent government officials and ministers of India participated in the conference.

Mr. EjazR,
Could you please tell us, instead of posting the above diatribe, if India is vying to enhance trade with Southeast Asia, why is it that India is militarizing the choke point of Malacca Straits. She has a tri-service command over there, stationed ballistic missiles on the islands, has one airbase with SU30s and constructing another one to place more air force assets. OOOOhhhhhhhhhh don't tell us that it is for protection against piracy and shipping lanes as such militarization is far too much for mere anti-piracy and sipping protection. Sooner than later some of the ASEAN states will start asking about it and some are showing concern even now.

There is no apparent reason but to dominate this area through aggressive deployment of your military assets and basically bares your hegemonic intent.

@Tinu

Its not a diatribe, it is a event organized by a prestigious Indian think tank Institute of Objective Studies on the Indian Ocean and ASEAN trade. This is an example of how Indian Ocean countries are peacefully co-operating and how India is playing a role in that. Security will always be a part of it so Indian Navy along with its partners will always be policing this region to allow free trade.

@Tinu

Its not a diatribe, it is a event organized by a prestigious Indian think tank Institute of Objective Studies on the Indian Ocean and ASEAN trade. This is an example of how Indian Ocean countries are peacefully co-operating and how India is playing a role in that. Security will always be a part of it so Indian Navy along with its partners will always be policing this region to allow free trade.

Sir,
There is adifference between protecting shipping and militarizing. Arming Andaman & Nicobar by placing ballistic missiles, long range Su 30 aircraft etc goes beyond provision of shipping safety. I am sure you understand that. For allowing free trade through Malacca, you dont have to militarize Andaman & Nicobar in this manner. Unless of-course India intends to intrusively project its offensive power in this peaceful shipping zone. The target here is Chinese and Pakistani shipping. But you have to remember, these are international shipping lanes and any intrusive intervention in this sensitive area would result in massive response.

@Tinu

This is what peaceful India has planned for peaceful trade in Andaman & Nicobar Zone. And then you people say we are not hegemonic neither our military preparedness is against any nation.

To counter the growing Chinese influence in the Indian Ocean, the Indian government has planned to turn the Andaman and Nicobar islands into a formidable military cantonment replete with Indian air force and navy bases.
By 2020, the islands will have:

A nuclear submarine base in south Andaman
A permanent Sukhoi-30 base at Car Nicobar
A permanent tactical aerial recon base at Campbell Bay
A permanent aircraft carrier base
Expansion of INS Kardip advance naval base in Nicobar

A dedicated 250MW nuclear power station on the islands is also proposed to come up on the islands. The facility will feed the enormous power requirements that the ambitious island militarisation programme will ultimately demand.

We should have nuclear tipped ballistic missiles which could take out their facilities in Andaman & Nicobar islands if they try to interfere with our shipping in the area.

I will just quote this post by Nassr in response ...........................
A recent report by the Indian comptroller and auditor general states that by 2012, the Navy may retain only 61, 44 and 20% of the envisaged force levels of frigates, destroyers and Corvettes respectively. And that there will be further delays. Only 48 per cent of India's submarine fleet is available for waging war.

What are the Indian posters are so pepped up about the depleting strength of Indian Navy.

Oh I know ....... they must be busy buying golf carts

I hope this clears up your mind

You sure have a habit of deviating from the topic.

Hope now you know the reality of Operation Dwarka! :cheesy:

This is the list of ongoing projects for the Indian Navy :

1. Admiral Gorshkov / INS Vikramaditya + MiG29K Fighters
2. IAC-1
3. INS Arihant
4. P8I Poseidon submarine killers
5. P15A Frigates
6. P17A Destroyers
7. Fast Attack Crafts
8. Talwar Class Frigates
9. Fleet Tankers
10. Scorpene subs

:yahoo:

Not to mention the integration of Brahmos / Barak systems.

You would very well see the new-look Indian Navy in a few years .... just wait and watch ! :azn: