Hagel warns Pakistan to resolve drone strike protests, open shipping routes

...and how far would you take that respect of "Pakistani" opinion? What if the U.S. didnt stop? What if they did stop but warned you that Pakistan will be the main target in case of a terrorist attack on the U.S. originating in Pakistan? What if the U.S. imposed sanctions? Got other countries to do the same? Easy to talk, a lot harder to back it up.

READ the last bit "people of PAKISTAN and their interest's" :azn:

if doing so is in the interest, then go ahead....Im not asking nawaz to play politics by keeping his brain at raiwind !!!!

but I am insisting him to use all diplomatic means :)

peace V

Has Pakistan benefited from allowing the American military into the region?

How many suicide bombings were there before 2001? Not many I think.

If Afghanistan wants to destroy itself, just landmine the entire border and leave them to themselves.

No one bomb their own house until house refuses to provide safe shelter.

The story is datelined Riyadh and thats where Nawaz strings will be pulled.

But this time its not PPP in opposition with whom they can play behan bhai. This is PTI and inshallah it will hold its ground.

Has Pakistan benefited from allowing the American military into the region?

How many suicide bombings were there before 2001? Not many I think.

If Afghanistan wants to destroy itself, just landmine the entire border and leave them to themselves.

US military is in the region for its own interests despite what sugar coating they offer on its occupation.

As long as US presence is in the region it will remain unstable.

Pakistan has no say in how long US wants to stay. It did not come here at our invite. It wanted to come here all the time but in 90s supporting Taliban backfired. So 9/11 was just an excuse. So if it wants to stay here, then Pakistan must not facilitate its stay. Its a mischief maker and a total outsider.

No matter what it does, its not a trustworthy partner as is clearly illustrated by 80s Afghan war and its aftermath.

Is that the best Hagel could come up with? "we will stop aid" - OTOH, i think it was enough - GOP has already promised to do it.

what would you expect GOP to say, no we cant do anything
its politics and let the politics play out here.
Imran himself will eventually end the dharna, he knows our problems

[
Meanwhile: NA passes anti-drone resolution urged US to halt drone attacks

If US wants safe exit via Pakistan then they must respect the resolutions of our elected representatives and must respect our people's sentiments.

BTW where are the geniuses who were saying nothing will happen if Nato Supply will be blocked. It will have no effect on US because they have other routes and cost is not an issue? Bullsh!t??

If anybody needs to show respect to your people is your own Govt. of Pak. But they choose $$$ over your people.

If Pak was determined to stop drones it was easy as cake. But you know you need to think what after that !!!! Economically & politically.

Meanwhile: NA passes anti-drone resolution urged US to halt drone attacks

If US wants safe exit via Pakistan then they must respect the resolutions of our elected representatives and must respect our people's sentiments.

BTW where are the geniuses who were saying nothing will happen if Nato Supply will be blocked. It will have no effect on US because they have other routes and cost is not an issue? Bullsh!t? @cb4 @hasnain0099 @arushbhai @Fracker @xyxmt @W.11 @batmannow @FaujHistorian ??
"Beggers can't be choosers." Firstly develop our own economy so that we don't have to depend upon US. Its ironic that we would speak against Pakistan's biggest military financier, biggest development donor and biggest investor of FDI.

I would love to see all of them fuming anyways its only the likes of Musharaff that scares his people into becoming slaves. Leaders who have a little "ghairat" in them don't.

mushi only give you a image of reality , if you dare to resist USA and Nato after 9/11 , we wont be slaves but to be destroyed ... he saves us .. and after 9/11 all world was watching us , if we dont we will have nothing today ..

what would you expect GOP to say, no we cant do anything
its politics and let the politics play out here.
Imran himself will eventually end the dharna, he knows our problems

Ideally the drone strikes and the NATO supply issue must be dehyphenated by policy within Pakistan...protest again drone strikes or any other intrusions seperately and let the supply route carry on or stopped as a seperate policy.

The reason being that drone strike issue is a complicated one what with Pakistan and US admitting that the drone strikes were allowed by Pakistan and also most killed were actually taliban with very few civilian casualties as per a Pakistani report. Another factor is the drone strikes are equally taking out TTP leadership as well. The new ttp leader is more scared of drones rather than Pak fauj.

Besides nato is a group of countries and such blockades creates bad blood with all off them - Nawaz Sharif came up with a statement that all European countries should side with Pakistan against drones (he must be day dreaming of support especially when drones are saving lives of nato forces in Afg).

"Beggers can't be choosers." Firstly develop our own economy so that we don't have to depend upon US. Its ironic that we would speak against Pakistan's biggest military financier, biggest development donor and biggest investor of FDI.

Beggers? So what that aye tahir-e-lahooti uss rizk se mout achi and kashkol thor dain ge stuff before elections??

Why is the US worried, weren't they opening new routes from Iran.....which was supposed to be "cheaper" & "shorter".......

I guess there bluff didn't work......

huh , US routes from Iran. Is the latest conspiracy in Pakistan? if you were unaware- US has severe sanctions in place in Iran. there is no love lost between the two.

Beggers? So what that aye tahir-e-lahooti uss rizk se mout achi and kashkol thor dain ge stuff before elections??

yaar Jazz bhai

There is no kashkol. America+Afghanistan are using the mutually agreed logistic route through Pakistan and paying "tax" for using the roads.

If I go to motorway and the toll plaza guy charges me xxxxx rupees, is he begging?

Why on earth we self deprecate ourselves?

Why oh why we $hit upon ourselves.

who will get hurt first Imran's ego or Pakistani economy?:rolleyes:

Ego must survive.

Economy can go to hell.

Taliban Khan has an option to go live in the servant quarters of Jamaima Khan's flat.

Rest of the Pakistani nation doesn't have that luxury.

peace