27 million out of schools

Count me in.

Awesome!

did you get a chance to ask the farmer, the black-smith, a carpenter, the mechanic, the tailor, the carpet-weaver as to "what kind of young workers would you need next year and how should our education system make sure we provide you with top quality workers".

did you get to ask the apprentices working with the farmer, the black-smith, a carpenter, the mechanic, the tailor, the carpet-weaver,

as to what do they really need to become top quality farmers, or black-smith, or carpenter, or mechanic, or tailor, or carpet-weaver?

peace

This figure of 78% out-of-school children in Baluchistan is not a surprise given that these are pre-school children aged 3-5 years. Early childhood schooling don't really exist in most of the developing world including India.

An important point to note in Barro-Lee dataset (Barro & Lee are Harvard University researchers) is that Pakistan has been increasing enrollment of students in schools at a faster rate since 1990 than India. In 1990, there were 66.2% of Pakistanis vs 51.6% of Indians who had no schooling. In 2000, there were 60.2% Pakistanis vs 43% Indians with no schooling. In 2010, Pakistan reduced it to 38% vs India's 32.7%.

Out-of-School%2BChildren%2BUN%2B2011.png

Haq's Musings: Educational Attainment in India & Pakistan

Get out of here,Barro lee index on India is BS.They them selves admitted it.

Some countries have extremely low or high county specific primary/secondary completion ratios. As these imply unusual trends in the completion ratios, we replaced them by the regional specific primary/secondary completion ratios. These countries include: Afghanistan, Algeria, Austria, Botswana, Democratic Republic of the Congo (only F), Hungary, India, Malta, Myanmar, New Zealand, Portugal (only MF), Sierre Leone, United Kingdom and Zambia.

2011. April 2013 Update

This figure of 78% out-of-school children in Baluchistan is not a surprise given that these are pre-school children aged 3-5 years. Early childhood schooling don't really exist in most of the developing world including India. But most of these are very likely to enter primary school at the age of 5+.

An important point to note in Barro-Lee dataset (Barro & Lee are Harvard University researchers) is that Pakistan has been increasing enrollment of students in schools at a faster rate since 1990 than India. In 1990, there were 66.2% of Pakistanis vs 51.6% of Indians who had no schooling. In 2000, there were 60.2% Pakistanis vs 43% Indians with no schooling. In 2010, Pakistan reduced it to 38% vs India's 32.7%.

Kam se Kam aesey sensitive topic pe toh baat ker liya kero riaz sahab . Yaha bhi apni blog ka link de diya traffic badhane ke liye .

Poori zindagi beet gayi aapki India ke saath D**k Measuring competition me .

Lenkin manna padega aapko . Kitni bhi bleak situation ko aap riaz sahab rosy paint ker saktey ho .

agar pakistan itni quickly sab kuch magically , without much investment of percentage in GDP gain ker raha hai toh kuch kerne ki zarurat hi nae . By 2020 only 8 percent Pakistani kids will be out to school .

Rather than singing about India , i will discuss the topic at hand .

There are two ways to go about it . Agar madrassas , where quite a huge number of pakistani kids are enrolled , science , english and apprenticeship( to a specific skill set) padhane lagey toh situation can be turned about in a decade . I know some madrassas are already doing it ( correct me if i am wrong) but its too little and too late .

What have Education ministers Ahsan Iqbal and Mir Hazar Khan Bijarani been doing for a living since 2008? Can the ministers own up responsibility for this state of affairs?

I'm sure the new government would look into this and make efforts to improve the situation.

Free lunch for kids did wonders for India...and now India has 75% literacy...

yes it did.. My mother being a teacher in a government school I know it very well.. They are now providing students milk and egg also.. Not only that.. When the school is closed for Onam and Xmas vacation, each kid will be given 5kg of rice for home.. It was a good initiative..

But on the flip side, teachers are having hard time.. They were given the responsibility to collect rice from the center and distribute it among children:omghaha:

I will share my story.. There was a news paper guy in ma area.. His son and I am of same age.. He was very good at studying.. On 10th std he scored around 80%.. BUt his father had to stop his studying because he had no money to send his son for higher learning.. I see him every day now working as a news paper guy.. Makes me think, he had a great future but he coudnt fulfill his dreams because his father didnt give much importance to learning..Same happens to many kids around South Asia.. Many drop out of school so that they can earn some money and buy some food.. School should provide free food along with education to these kids.. Thus we can stop drop out to an extend..
Similar story with me. There was a boy in my batch in school who came from poor family. Although it was govt school, he needed to stay in hostel(he was from remote village) and his family could not support him. As he was above average in studies, teachers tried to make special case for him. He did complete his 10th but not sure what happened after that.
He was from backward caste, but not tribal. Tribals have free school and hostel (free food as well) but not others.

@RiazHaq mere yaar we are not competing in this matter.. 27 million is a worrying number.. Its the future of your country.. Do not bring d**k measuring contest here..

If their is any hope of a substantial increase in education spending by any govt,Pakistan first needs to cut a substantial amount of defense spending.This is inevitable.Now the question is who is gonna bite the bullet??

@farhan_9909

budget-edu-apr12-2.jpg

Exactly my point Sir. If either of these leaders truly believed in their own visions for a better future for the country, they would come together over education since education is so vitally important. But, like you said, not gonna happen, because both will put their own political goals above Pakistan's future.

I won't be too sure about that. THe statements till now coming out of both sides suggest that both these parties are willing to sit down together and move forward on issues of national importance like energy, education, health etc.

PTI has said that it will laud the good efforts, and oppose the wrongdoings of the government. Imran Khan has also said that they will sit together with PML on core issues.

So even though they may not be in a coalition or come together in the form of a cabinet member, they can still work together in alot of ways.

Time will tell.

I won't be too sure about that. THe statements till now coming out of both sides suggest that both these parties are willing to sit down together and move forward on issues of national importance like energy, education, health etc.

PTI has said that it will laud the good efforts, and oppose the wrongdoings of the government. Imran Khan has also said that they will sit together with PML on core issues.

So even though they may not be in a coalition or come together in the form of a cabinet member, they can still work together in alot of ways.

Time will tell.

One of the curse of South Asian politics is that opposisation opposing blindly to what ever move Government is making.. They do not wanna know whether it is good or bad.. If PTI has courage to stand by the government for good policies then it is a welcome change indeed..