Suzuki to meet Gujarat CM Narendra Modi post Manesar violence

Those who thrived politically on rioting, now planning to steal projects from neighboring states....Hitler in the making, Murderer Modi.

Clearly he is failing in this front. Maruti is expanding and not shifting. Gujurat is a long term plan, perhaps 2015.

[video]http://www.ndtv.com/video/player/news/maruti-no-plans-to-shift-manesar-plant-will-continue-expansion/240069?pfrom=home-topstories[/video]

:rofl:

clearly jealousy is in the air.....

news channel vale bolte kuch hai aur hota kuch aur hi hai :)

remember they said Nano will go to AP & now it's in Gujarat (think NaMo & Nano were always made for each other....:D).

Ford has opened it's plant also at the same location as Nano.

& now it has become an automobile hub, i am of no doubt Maruti will shift it's plant there.

+ which link are u giving - NDTV, bhai voh toh launch hi hua he in 2003 to start bashing of Modi....:lol:

+ why he said may be 2015?? 2014 me sarkar badlne vali hai kya (he also knows that) :azn:

Forget about TN - it has problems like power shortage, labor union issues, labor shortage and high real estate prices. Why do you think that Gujarat is over-hyped? The facts which the executives tout as benefits in Gujarat are reduced bureaucracy, no shortage of power or water and also tax incentives. Do you think Maharastra can match that?

Still with all those issues you mentioned .......... why is Maharashtra still no. 1 in "actual" industrial investment? .........why is Gujarat still behind? ........... why is that Maharashtra is struggling to meet the demand for land from industries? .......Remember MIDC has the largest land for industries in the entire India ............ no other Industrial Body in any other state of India comes anywhere close to MIDC .........

hmmmmm ........ it seems the industries are fools to have invested in Maharashtra ..........

Maharashtra has always been the top destination for industries.
Only in recent years when Gujarat has developed that they are going there.

Still with all those issues you mentioned .......... why is Maharashtra still no. 1 in "actual" industrial investment? .........why is Gujarat still behind? ........... why is that Maharashtra is struggling to meet the demand for land from industries? .......Remember MIDC has the largest land for industries in the entire India ............ no other Industrial Body in any other state of India comes anywhere close to MIDC .........

hmmmmm ........ it seems the industries are fools to have invested in Maharashtra ..........

Maharashtra was an attractive destination and still is. The major reason for Maharashtra getting the investments is excellent infrastructure especially for transportation including a large port in Mumbai. But look at what Gujarat has been doing meanwhile. It is the only state with surplus energy and even provided Maharashtra with energy. That is one item which is very attractive for companies as they need not spend money for generator power which is expensive(especially for ancillary units). If companies invest in Sanand they get benefits including shorter project lifecycle through less bureaucracy and gets other fiscal/non-fiscal benefits. Mundra port is being developed in a big way. Add to that, the Delhi - Mumbai corridor will help Gujarat in a big way. If I am not mistaken, Maharashtra's industrial region is concentrated around Pune which may not benefit by the Delhi-Mumbai corridor.
It is projected, in 2 years Gujarat is going to overtake Maharashtra as the car manufacturing state second only to TN.

Huda or Chautala will not be able to do much against these mafia trade unions backed by the commies. Now CPM is supporting these workers as CITU is affiliated to CPM and will provide a political tone to the whole issue if the government starts to handle things in a strict manner. For that matter, if Commies are powerful in Gujarat, Modi will not be able to do much.
Your statement is right, but the whole picture is big. Actually, apart from labour unions, its rivals and Political goons who also want to destabilize faith of Investors in Haryana to malign the image of Haryana Govt. I am a person centric voter , not partywise. Here at my place, I feel, Hudda govt is much much better than Chautala gundaraj(Though it was Chautala Govt , which cause the rise of Gurgaon). For me, equal distribution of wealth, development and opportunities is a better option than a specific area centric development program.

in the interview today eve the maruti management and its chairman clearly stated they are not going to close the manesar plant .

Maruti declares lockout, but won't shift Manesar plant

New Delhi: Violence-hit Maruti Suzuki on Saturday declared an indefinite lockout at its Manesar plant but firmly ruled out the possibility of shifting operations to Gujarat. "There is no possibility of removing the plant from Manesar. Such reports are absolutely fictitious," said Maruti Suzuki India (MSI) Chairman RC Bhargava said at a press conference in New Delhi.
The company said it was completely overtaken by the 'Tsunami-like' violence that it had not anticipated and announced they would not employ casual labour from next year.
"There is now a lockout. To me, what is more important is safety of my colleagues than producing some cars to make some money," said Bhargava.

Asked how long the lockout will continue he said, "Maruti is not closed...we will be very inefficient if we take six months. I don't think we are that bad...we will start at Manesar ".
The company's decision of declaring the lockout follows large scale violence on Wednesday when General Manager(HR) Awanish Kumar Dev was burnt alive and about 90 officials and supervisors were injured after suspension of an employee.
Calling the violence "shattering", Bhargava said that the Maruti was doing its best to tackle the mess. "What happened was a shattering incident. We are tackling the mess," he said.
Bhargava said that the company never imagined its own workers would indulge in violence. "There was no victimisation of workers at the unit. Problems can be sorted out if there is goodwill at both sides. There should be communication from both sides. We have always been ready to communicate with the workers." Bhargava added that the communication lines with the workers were still intact.
The Maruti Chairman added that all the major issues at both the Manesar and Gurgaon factories had been resolved. "These issues stand no more." However, he said that negotiations on wages were ongoing. "The Union does not want quick settlement of the wage issue. They want to prolong it," he said.
When asked about its policy on non-contract workers, Bhargava said they were used in "non-valuable work" and would not be involved in production. The number of contract workers has been reduced, he added.
He further said that the company would not start production till "things were okay". "We cannot risk any more damage to both the management and the workers. That's why it is necessary to do the complete investigation by the Haryana Government to know who is behind the incident. We have to correct what went wrong so that such incidents are not repeated. We are not in a position to start production till the things are okay and there is no risk to the people," he said.
"People are ready to go back to work but I cannot risk people's lives. The safety of my company comes first, not the production of cars," he added.
When asked whether Maruti would disband the Union, he said, "We have not disbanded any union. We are not in a position to disband any union. This issue is not even under consideration at this point."
He also denied that tough Japanese work norms could be the reason behind the violence, saying similar rules have been in vogue in the company's Gurgaon plant for nearly 30 years and there have been no complaints.
In Chandigarh, Haryana Labour and Employment Minister Shiv Charan Lal Sharma supported Maruti saying the lockout was "appropriate" keeping in view what the workers have done.
It is also learnt that state Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda would soon meet with MSI Managing Director and CEO Shinzo Nakanishi to address company s concern.

Being an outsider to Gujarat politics, just a question ... if Modi moves to Central scheme of things in 2014 who would replace Modi as the CM of Gujarat ?

Who is the Ideal candidate to continue Modis legacy ...

Being an outsider to Gujarat politics, just a question ... if Modi moves to Central scheme of things in 2014 who would replace Modi as the CM of Gujarat ?

Who is the Ideal candidate to continue Modis legacy ...

There's bound to be someone who's in his patronage and his caliber... like a teacher-student sort of relation you know. When he takes the central command of the country, I am sure he'd have someone worthy in mind to continue his legacy in Gujarat. Although I'd say that our Gujarati fellow countrymen would not be wanting to share NaMo with rest of the country so easily. :D

Narendra Modi to visit Japan from Sunday, meet top bosses of Suzuki

AHMEDABAD: Gujarat chief minister Narendra Modi will be on a five-day tour of Japan from Sunday to expand business ties with that country and will also meet auto major Maruti Suzuki's top brass, official sources said.

Modi, who will be accompanied by a business delegation will visit Hamamatsu to meet Maruti Suzuki Corporation managing director Shinzo Nakanishi.
His visit comes in the wake of the violent incidents in Maruti Suzuki's plant at Manesar in Haryana.

Even though the Modi-led delegation will not pitch for expanding the production capacity of the company in Gujarat, if the company on its own decides to expand its production capacity, it is welcome, Gujarat officials said.

"The view of the Gujarat government is very clear on attracting corporates in the state. We do not want to harm anybody's interests. However, whosoever wants to come here and expand his production capacity is welcome," Gujarat principal secretary (industries) Maheshwar Sahu told PTI.

Modi's visit to Japan, however, has sparked off speculation that during his meeting with the Maruti Suzuki representatives, he would try to convince them to expand the carmaker's production capacity in Gujarat from the proposed 2,50,000 units annually.

Maruti Suzuki has already proposed to invest Rs 4,000 crore in Gujarat to set up a green field project, having an annual production capacity of 2,50,000 cars near Becharaji in Mehasna district.

"Modi has been officially invited by the government of Japan. Normally, they invite the head of country, but Modi being the chief minister of a state in India, is going to Japan as a state guest," official sources said.
Besides Hamamastu, Modi will be visiting Tokyo, Osaka, Nagoya and Kobe prefectures of Japan. He will be addressing three seminars, one round-table and also interacting with top functionaries of Japanese government during the visit, they added.

Modi will also be travelling by a bullet train and study the reconstruction done by that country following the earthquake in Kobe prefecture, they added.

This is likely to be Modi's last foreign trip before the state elections scheduled to be held in December this year.

The purpose of the visit is to expand business ties between Gujarat and Japan, they said adding that the large area of Delhi-Mumbai Industrial Corridor (DMIC) passes through Gujarat and the state sees huge potential of investment from Japan.

http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes.com/2012-07-20/india/32763169_1_gujarat-chief-minister-maheshwar-sahu-shinzo-nakanishi

Modi is trying to show how mismanaged our administration is and how to rectify. Modi has proved the working style of state government in other states is nothing more than a BS and needs to be changed.