Sea control against Pakistan

I didn't underestimate it.Agosta is good sub.but writer implied way too much significance about it.Indian Navy's ASW capability is quite good.its true that we can't rely much on our sub as fleet is small,but we've enough to protect CBGs.Pakistany Navy may use their Hit and Run Tactics again,but its not easy now as we've decent ASW capabilities.

so,you're implying that its just speculation what PN might get.as you can see,it'd take some years now to produce these subs and entering into service.so,its better not to include into discussion as we don't know whether PN will go for Qing or Yuan type Chinese subs or much mature western subs.

I don't think its Indian Opposition as you guys had no problem to secure JF-17 which also has Russian engines.it has more to do with fund.while your opponent is moving towards 5th gen,wasting money on J-10 would be foolhardy.PAF should secure fund for J-31.plus,China didn't approve exporting J-10 yet.

Pakistan Deal for Chinese J-10 Fighters Uncertain | Defense News | defensenews.com

J-10 fighter not yet approved for export - People's Daily Online
AL31 required minor modification to convert state of the art TVC. AL31 is running in all Russian and Chinese top of line fighter, including PAKFA.
Plus , Pakistan lost a big avionic agreement for JF17 with France over Indian defence deal.

The french Avionics would not have been any better then what we have for block 1

@Rashid Mahmood - AOA, Rashid Bhai kiya haal hai aap ka ? :)

Rashid Bhai what do you make off the article ? Are we really that vulnerable ? :(

Aoa Bro,
No we are not. :azn:
I would only mention one aspect, in the presence of missile subs, IN would never make any such attempt. Even if they do, we have plans to......

AGM-84s have a range of 120+ kms, not 50 km.

The article is based on a simple theory that every thing goes as planned by Indian Navy. It does not include the part that Pakistan Navy has a counter plan. In peace time it is easy to prepare theories and plans but there effectiveness is only evident during war. Not every thing goes according to plan. There are counter plans and unthinkable happen.

PAF has a dedicated squadron to help out navy and it would not hamper PAF's other roles as pointed out by some member.

Just one example of the unthinkable Argentinian Super Attendards and other vintage technology fighters did manage to dent the mighty UK navy.

India only looks for quantity, where as Pakistan looks for quality even if the hardware is lesser in number as compared to India.

You have actually stated the opposite. India buys and builds better technology while Pakistan buys and builds lesser technology because it is more economical.

In this case, Indian Navy is substantially above Pakistan Navy in asset technology as well as numbers.

If there is any sense left in our babus, they shud buy a dozen subs asap.

Are you sure? Your best warships are hardly comparable to our oldest ones while out best warships are way way ahead in both quality and quantity. For SSK fleet, Yes we lack quality there presently coz of lack of AIP but then addition of scorpenes and nuclear sub's will make us ahead in quality too. Not to forget that our ASW capability is also very strong with best MPAs in the world.

Though once we heard that if PN will going to get 12+ OHPs from US along with some 10+ Corvettes from Coast Guards then Pn might sell out their 4 F-22Ps to other country.

But the most amazing thing is that 3 Agosta-90Bs are on loan and France can easily take it away from PN.

Which Indian fleet member not qualify your definition of quality India have and having of 140 ship and 41 coming ?

Pakistan also fields sub launched Harpoons and all of our subs have AIP modules. The new deal for 6-8 subs also includes AIP.
As far as my memory serves, PN's only three Agusta 90s are AIP ones while older Agusta 70s are still without. Care to explain on this part when did Pakistan navy upgraded older boats to AIP boats? Thank you.

The article rely too much on "if all goes well" scenario-
If migs27 can deal with PAF-
Subs will manage to cut supply route
Too many assumptions

In reality any thing that could go wrong will get wrong-

and Pakistan has the advantage defending-

We should consider anti ship tactical nukes-
Make the fate of this supposedly Sea Start just like Cold Start-:lol:-

is there any scenario where u wont use nukes.:D