Peshawar Jangla Metro using Punjab metro as prime model and case Study

I agree, and personally i don't see anything wrong with this Project. I would not be surprised if PTI manages to build this project at half the cost of Lahore Metro, just like PTI was able to build a much bigger flyover at half the cost of Lahore. The biggest bone of contention is corruption, as every Project the PML-N undertakes is steeped with corruption and kickbacks. And sadly, PML-N supporter whether on this forum or offline don't find anything wrong with corruption.
No doubt about it. In any mega project first of its kind is always expenisve but later that follow are always at a relatively reduced cost but we saw it in ISB-RWP metro project cost went up which is very fishy. No doubt PMLN is corupt to core but lets see if khatak is any better in management and able to reduce costs.

With Metro atleast people will reach their destinations in comfort and on time. A peon has the utmost responsibility in increasing the economic efficiency if he can utilise the 30 mins that he had to waste travelling. Healthcare and education is over rated anyway. What comes out of education and its better to die young rather than of old age pffftt everyone knows that. Well whole Pakistan is about Ptians and Patwaaris, one has to be right isn't it? Rest are all goofs.

Dear kid, Use burnol.
I know you can't defend anti infrastructure logic of pti, the hats why you are just trolling and hasn't said a single word on topic.

Totally baseless allegation.
U jab gov. Can't spend any such money which is collect under federal umbrella. They can only spend money from their provincial budget.

Lahore and pindi metro were completed using provincial budget of punjab.
Even orange line metro has zero finance from Federal gov.

I am no one to level allegation against anyone but apparently China had to float an offer to finance the whole $2 billion LNG project after that. Plz spare few min for first few paragraphs.

http://tribune.com.pk/story/1103009...ese-offer-to-finance-whole-2-billion-project/

Having said so I am one of the guys who want that PML(N) shud perform so well that they shud shut the mouths of all critics bcz if they perform well its Pakistan who is benefiting. Have a good day.

No doubt about it. In any mega project first of its kind is always expenisve but later that follow are always at a relatively reduced cost but we saw it in ISB-RWP metro project cost went up which is very fishy. No doubt PMLN is corupt to core but lets see if khatak is any better in management and able to reduce costs.

I hope they are wrong but apparently they aint:

http://dunyanews.tv/en/Pakistan/345788-Alarming-increase-in-expenses-of-Orange-Line-proje

peshawar hogaya ab quetta bhi banna lay akhir may saeen sarkar ko bhi khyal aaa he jaana hai karachi keh liye!

Lets not be jealous freaks like PTI ppl....we should appreciate that Metro bus that works successfully now in Lahore should be also brought into Peshware ...both help Pakistan grow.

but biggest question is when will Peshware Metro Bus would be completed??? no sign of it ...KPK govt ..other than talk left far backwards in Project completion.

Look at the per KM cost of new flyovers in Peshawar compared to cost of similar flyovers in Punjab.

Hospitals are rotting in Punjab whereas these are improving rapidly in KPK. Public schools are thriving again in KPK whereas in Punjab they are dying a horrible death.

All this in 3yrs of PTI governance.

Every infrastructure project in Punjab cost 3+ times more than it should. That says it all really.

@AsianUnion: Don´t worry PTI will complete their project to a much lesser cost than any similar project in Punjab. If not ppl will kick them out.
But my question to u .. if project completed to a much lesser cost will you then be advocating for your Nooni govt+s departure???

@AsianUnion: Don´t worry PTI will complete their project to a much lesser cost than any similar project in Punjab. If not ppl will kick them out.
But my question to u .. if project completed to a much lesser cost will you then be advocating for your Nooni govt+s departure???

yes i would be ...am no fan of pmln..i didnot vote them....but what Punjab Govt have finally given to Punjabi awam and Lahore metro bus with so nominal price ticket has been a great facility....Lahoris are very happy..poor people love this fast a/c transport...Punjab govt under CM Shahbaz Sharif has deleivered.....unfotunately with weak PTI punjab ministries and nil performance of PTI in KPK for big ticket projects in Paktunkhawa....PTI has been a grand failure after 4 years in power....PTI has not lived up to the demand of KPK, this worry everyone alot...can PTI clinch 2018 elections???....will you now advocate PTI depart KPK, if in the end of 2017 PTI has little to show as compared to PMLN??

Can u tel the status of completion of KPK Peshawar Metro bus???

yes i would be ...am no fan of pmln..i didn't vote them....but what Punjab Govt have finally given to Punjabi awam and Lahore metro bus with so nominal price ticket has been a great facility....Lahoris are very happy..poor people love this fast a/c transport...Punjab govt under CM Shahbaz Sharif has delivered.....unfortunately with weak PTI punjab ministries and nil performance of PTI in KPK for big ticket projects in Pakhtunkhwa....PTI has been a grand failure after 4 years in power....PTI has not lived up to the demand of KPK, this worry everyone a lot...can PTI clinch 2018 elections???....will you now advocate PTI depart KPK, if in the end of 2017 PTI has little to show as compared to PMLN??

Can u tel the status of completion of KPK Peshawar Metro bus???

Lahore is not all of Punjab. And roads is not "development".

Development is Education, Health and Employment.

I lived in Malaysia during Mahatir years. There was no motorway to Singapore and drive was 8+hrs one way. Mahatir wouldn't build that motorway because he wanted to spend on education and health and setting up industries. And at that stage, Malaysia was ahead of any South Asian country in every way (other than defence).

Motorways and roads do not bring prosperity!

Lahore is not all of Punjab. And roads is not "development".

Development is Education, Health and Employment.

I lived in Malaysia during Mahatir years. There was no motorway to Singapore and drive was 8+hrs one way. Mahatir wouldn't build that motorway because he wanted to spend on education and health and setting up industries. And at that stage, Malaysia was ahead of any South Asian country in every way (other than defence).

Motorways and roads do not bring prosperity!

well motorways may b not but access of road does bring prosperity, roads play vital role in economy. from education to hospital you need a road to travel.

If you neglect existing hospitals and schools then roads leading there will have little to no benefit.

questions is ... if they execute the project with same facilities under low budget ..it will raise many questions upon the Punjab govt for the miss use of funds

One word... price of land

KPK Government is also Taking Loan of 25 Billion Rupees from World bank for this HALAL METRO & HALAL LOAN

ADB to provide $250 million loan to KPK
Asian Development Bank (ADB) has said it will extend a soft loan of $250 million to the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa government for construction and rehabilitation of all highways in the province.

The bank made this announcement at the Peshawar meeting of a high-level delegation of the Bank with the Adviser to the Chief Minister on Communication and Works, Akbar Ayub Khan.

Initially the bank will provide $150 million for the reconstruction of up to 300 kilometers of provincial highways.

Later the bank will extend a $250 million soft loan upon successful and satisfactory execution of the 1st Phase.

To implement the commitment, a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) was also signed between ADB and KPK Government.

KP govt to build Metro in Peshawar at RS18 bn cost (News of 2015 now cost gone up to 25 bn)

The Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) government led by the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has made the final decision to build a metro in Peshawar at a cost of Rs18 billion (or $180 million) through the Asian Development Bank (ADB) loan and plans to complete it in 30 months, documents show, writes Tariq Butt.

It will be a Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) just like Lahore and Rawalpindi-Islamabad metros except for one major difference that it will have no elevated section, rather whole of it will be at grade (street level) with designated fenced bus track.

The PTI has repeatedly accused the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) of massive overspending on the Islamabad-Rawalpindi metro and stressed that it can complete this project in just Rs5 billion.

Documents, available with The News, disclose that the KP government sent a concept paper of mass transit or BRT (metro) to the federal Planning Commission (PC) informing that it has decided to construct a 27-kilometer BRT through $180 million ADB loan and sought concept clearance from the PC.

The KP government had earlier estimated its flagship Peshawar metro project to cost Rs51.67 billion, but the cost was colossally scaled down after severe criticism, by making fundamental changes in the design, totally eliminating the elevated section.

The provincial government has now proposed to spend $10 million (Rs1 billion) on project preparation and remaining Rs17 billion on construction. This is a tentative estimate and final cost will be firmed up after project design and technical details are concluded. The corridor chosen by PTI government stretches from Chamkani to Karkhanoo market.

The decision of KP government to address the growing need of urban transport has generally been appreciated. It is good that PTI has started focusing on people’s problems in line with the mandate given to it by the KP electorate. The Peshawar metro has many similarities with the first-ever famous Lahore system and some strong differences. Like Lahore, Peshawar metro is also spread over 27 kilometres; and it follows the BRT approach, meaning provision of a designated bus track.

A major difference is that the Lahore metro has 8-kilometer elevated bridge while whole of Peshawar metro will be street level track. The Lahore project took 10 months to complete whereas Peshawar metro is proposed to be completed in 30 months. Punjab built the first metro from total local resources while the KP government is seeking $180 million ADB loan. The Lahore metro did not go through a project preparatory phase while the KP administration will spend Rs1 billion under this head.

The PML-N and PTI have now apparently entered a healthy competition of projects. The political opponents of the Lahore metro have been ridiculing it, dubbing it as a “jangla bus”. The KP government’s decision signals a change of heart.

The Punjab government is completing the Rs40 billion Rawalpindi-Islamabad metro, which was started 10 months ago. Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif has decided to build a metro in Multan, which is about to be started.

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has provided funds for a metro in Karachi. However, the Bahria Town has also announced to build another metro in Karachi through a loan to the Sindh government. Thus, after a long debate all major political parties have decided to build metro systems in major urban centres. It will be interesting to compare costs and completion timings of these projects sponsored by the PTI, PML-N and Pakistan People’s (PPP).

According to the minutes of the Central Development Working Party (CDWP), the concept clearance proposal of the KP government envisaged development of Mass Transit Facility for providing efficient, safe, secure, comfortable, reliable and environmentally sustainable transportation system to the residents of Peshawar region. The proposal was based on the Pre-Feasibility Study conducted by the KP government jointly with assistance of Cities Development Initiative for Asia (CDIA).

The study recommended prioritizing the development of BRT on corridor 2 (Chamkani to Karkhano via GT Road) as most viable option based on available information and generic estimates. Feasibility study as well as construction of Corridor-2 was proposed to be carried out under this proposal through the ADB loan.

The provincial government highlighted the objectives of the proposed system and stated that Peshawar, the hub of the KP, has no safe, secure and economic transportation system for public. The urban population of KP is increasing at a very fast pace and traffic problem is undoubtedly one of the biggest problems faced on daily basis.

The KP government said it has realized the important role of Public Transport System in improving the city environment, and raising its social and economic conditions. It has investigated all options for Mass Transit System, and will construct the most viable mode of mass system for the general public with foreign assistance and loan.

The PC secretary enquired from Economic Affairs Division (EAD) about the status of the proposed financing and loan. The EAD representative stated that they are on board and on their advice the proposal was placed before the Economic Coordination Committee (ECC) for seeking its approval prior to finalization of ADB loan, which was accorded.

Instead of making useless fly overs and overhead bridges .. It's better to widen the roads and dedicate a lane for these buses... Or better yet .. Invest in local transportation system .. Make it efficient .. Buy more buses from HinoPak or other reputed manufacturers.

So called "metro buses" are a waste of precious (limited) public resources.

Sad that Pakistanis like you don't appreciate the positive work being done by Nawaz Sharif ji :hitwall::hitwall:
If only we had someone like him in India

Sad that Pakistanis like you don't appreciate the positive work being done by Nawaz Sharif ji :hitwall::hitwall:
If only we had someone like him in India
What is your definition of positive work? Is using majority of budget on roads positive work?