Pakistan to acquire six submarines from China

Wow just when the news was getting better we all spoke to soon no subs for awhile.. offcourse the nation needs to stand on its feet first and kick out this courpt gov.

Politicians are smart.

If their happens war (just imagine) they want themselve to be secure in underground tunnel. Wo din door nahi jab underground airport (in parliament) ka bhi project announce ho jaye ga.

Just one question how can a retd army guy head a senate committee making decisions for the navy on its future procurement.

Latest news - by federal information minister Mrs Ashaq Awan - confirms that the cabinet has approved negotiations for purchase of 6 Chinese Submarines :)

SLAMABAD, Mar 14 (APP): The Federal Cabinet was informed on Monday that inflation rate during the past three months has fallen from 15.6 per cent to 12.9 per cent. Briefing media persons after the Federal cabinet meeting chaired by Prime Minister Syed Yusuf Raza Gilani, Minister for Information and Broadcasting Firdous Ashiq Awan said that the cabinet was also told that external financing during past six months has fallen from 375 billion to 80 billion which is 79 pc reduction. The minister said that Secretary Finance briefed the Cabinet about reasons of inflation which include global recession and price hike of food and non-food items.

“Ministry of Information in collaboration with Ministry of Finance would share detailed information about increase in consumer price of commodities with media soon,” the minister said. To a question, the minister said that PPP leadership always followed politics of reconciliation.
She said that President Zardari not only telephoned Mian Nawaz Sharif to inquire about the health of his spouse, but also directed the Pakistan High Commission to receive him at the airport. She said that despite political differences, we have to keep national interests over political interests.
“No doubt there are hurdles in the way of politics of reconciliation, but we have to overcome these hurdles”, the minister said.
To another question, she said that Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) has given sacrifices for the sovereignty of institutions and restoration of superior judiciary was part of the party manifesto. Ruling out chances of collision among state institutions, she said that all institutions should work under their parameters.
The minister said that China has offered to sell six submarines to Pakistan, and the Cabinet has given go ahead to the Ministry of Defence to hold talks however before preparation of feasibility report no further comment was possible.
About Mutahhida Qaumi Movement (MQM), she said it was an ally of the PPP and the government was trying to take all political forces along, and MQM cannot be ignored.
They are not quitting Sindh government and at Federal level they have some reservations, which would be removed soon and the nation would hear good news in this regard.
While replying to a question she said that Prime Minister has said that in the changed scenario in Punjab, the PPP will get a chance to play constructive role as opposition.
She said that protest over horse-trading in the province was a democratic right.
She said that all institutions are in the process of evolution and no person believing in democracy can think of insulting other’s mandate.
On the issue of US citizen Raymond Davis, she said that court will decide the matter of immunity and no discussion was held on the matter as it is subjudice.
Dr Firdous Ashiq said that PPP was as patriotic as any other party, and would continue to represent the masses sentiments.
About President’s address to the Joint Sitting of the Parliament, she expressed the hope that all political forces would follow the parliamentary traditions.
Associated Press Of Pakistan ( Pakistan's Premier NEWS Agency )

Pakistan should go ahead with this deal only if they have money to pay and should not go for soft loans because it will increase the burden on state. It has already taken soft loans on several other projects and it may affect the future prospects
and the whole deal may be worth 3-4 billion $ and more than half of the Entire Pakistan defense budget

so it means its approved or atleast planned plz reply!!!

yes its approved
The minister said that China has offered to sell six submarines to Pakistan, and the Cabinet has given go ahead to the Ministry of Defence to hold talks

Pakistan should go ahead with this deal only if they have money to pay and should not go for soft loans because it will increase the burden on state. It has already taken soft loans on several other projects and it may affect the future prospects
and the whole deal may be worth 3-4 billion $ and more than half of the Entire Pakistan defense budget

No. Because as i read it chinese subs are far more cheaper than germans. I think i would be 1.5 to 2b maximum. I may add that Germans were offering 3 U-214 for 1b $, So even if Chinese subs are as expensive as U-214, then it would cost at maximum 2b$.

Great news
Do we go for 6 subs with only one class or should we choose mix'n' match with Song class. I would prefer PN buy 4 Song class subs and 2 yuan class.:china::pakistan::yahoo:

I would prefer PN buy 4 Song class subs and 2 yuan class

Why this mix? What capabilities do you think our navy should be pursuing that the mix you suggest would achieve

The Yuan is a much more capable sub but is probably more expensive.

Come on now, are these capabilities, whatever they are, known to the public? So since we do not know the capabilities, we can't comment on them - However, if I read the published report correctly, it says Pakistan and China hope do arrive at an agreement about the capabilities and design a new vehicle -- so, it seems it's neither the Song nor the Yuan

So its a go then mashallah good news... we need this deal bad. However , then why the mix of news in another thread that states the cabinet refused PN request?