Featured Pakistan Navy Type 054AP Frigates - Update, News & Discussion

Nave%20Federico%20Martinengo%20FREMM%20frigate%20courtesy%20of%20OCCAR%201280x640_0.jpg

Italian navy is also making good stuff

4 of these babies would do well for navy

Nave%20Federico%20Martinengo%20FREMM%20frigate%20courtesy%20of%20OCCAR%201280x640_0.jpg

Italian navy is also making good stuff

4 of these babies would do well for navy
Let's say we had such resources, it'd be far better put in taking 4 Chinese 4,000-ton export frigates and then re-arming them with the Russian Redut (i.e. 9M96E2 SAM w/120 km range, 9M96E SAM w/60 km range), Chinese CM-302 supersonic-cruising AShM, the an AESA-based OTHR and APAR, South African Cheetah C-RAM/PDMS, etc.

In fact, the four Type 054A already give the PN the basis, they just need to save up for the subsystem and weapon upgrade.

It would be a better option to buy 4 additional Type 054A's after a few years instead of more light frigates.

PN needs to expand its FAC/FAC-M fleet which currently includes 3 Azmat-class (+1 under construction), 2 Jalalat and 2 Jurrat class ships. 2x MRTP-33 FAC's are unarmed.

At IDEAS 2016, a PN official said the service was looking to acquire a squadron (4-6 ships) of FAC's for protecting the Gwadar port.

http://epaper.brecorder.com/2016/11/25/12-page/821265-news.html

Whatever the outcome (12 light frigates or 6 heavy frigates) there are a few things PN needs to invest in.

1) Acquisition of a quad packed medium range missile. Ideally indigenous/indeginized vs license manufacturing. The best source is obviously China and they should be approached regarding modification of DK-10A to that purpose. Other sources could be S. Africa (modification to Umkhonto/Marlin), and S. Korea (with KSAM). Such a missile enables Type 054A to go from 32 medium range missipes to up to 128 medium ranged sams (or more likely 16 HQ-9 and 64 medium range missiles).

2. The acquisition of a longe range SAM like HQ-9 or its future derivatives (HQ-19/HQ-26)

3. The modernization of F-22P. The Tiger class shows us it is absolutely possible to put a 12 cell VLS, with some modifications, in place of the FM-90. That coupled with a quad-packed sam (48 missiles) would be huge for the F-22P.

future should be to stick with FAC, type 54 and Milgem

FAC can be upgraded to light covertte of around 1000 ton with a RAM self defence package and if needed a helicopter and towed sonar..SWIFT would have been a breather but it seems thats out of question

i think the most cost effective upgrade of F-22 will be to add a RAM instead of its close in guns...

Whatever the outcome (12 light frigates or 6 heavy frigates) there are a few things PN needs to invest in.

1) Acquisition of a quad packed medium range missile. Ideally indigenous/indeginized vs license manufacturing. The best source is obviously China and they should be approached regarding modification of DK-10A to that purpose. Other sources could be S. Africa (modification to Umkhonto/Marlin), and S. Korea (with KSAM). Such a missile enables Type 054A to go from 32 medium range missipes to up to 128 medium ranged sams (or more likely 16 HQ-9 and 64 medium range missiles).

2. The acquisition of a longe range SAM like HQ-9 or its future derivatives (HQ-19/HQ-26)

3. The modernization of F-22P. The Tiger class shows us it is absolutely possible to put a 12 cell VLS, with some modifications, in place of the FM-90. That coupled with a quad-packed sam (48 missiles) would be huge for the F-22P.

There are also 'rumors' that PN might be interested in Type 052D destroyers. I don't know if this is true since these were first reported on SinoDefence, but it would very interesting if true.

may I know the member who initiated that rumour ....??

Let's say we had such resources, it'd be far better put in taking 4 Chinese 4,000-ton export frigates and then re-arming them with the Russian Redut (i.e. 9M96E2 SAM w/120 km range, 9M96E SAM w/60 km range), Chinese CM-302 supersonic-cruising AShM, the an AESA-based OTHR and APAR, South African Cheetah C-RAM/PDMS, etc.

In fact, the four Type 054A already give the PN the basis, they just need to save up for the subsystem and weapon upgrade.
i think HQ9b SAM with 220KM range will be the best choice.

i always suggest Pakistan shall induct type 52D, it will provide real regional air defense capabity for PN.

I will PM you.
I think PM option is not active anymore so may post on my profile page ....
Does his name starts with a Z and ends with an N? o_O
:angel::angel:
usual suspect ...... but I think there are many others who have same traits ....
tamam karamat Hazrat se mansoob na kare ....aur bi kai Allah ke bande hai kramat wa kashf wale ... ;)

usual suspect ...... but I think there are many others who have same traits ....
tamam karamat Hazrat se mansoob na kare ....aur bi kai Allah ke bande hai kramat wa kashf wale ... ;)
I have absolutely no idea who you are talking about,,,, kon hazrat?? :o::o:
:astagh:

:angel::angel:

Mein ny marna ha? :P BTW, once you get that name can you please share with me as well :P

Yes the PM is not working. The fellows talking there were timepass, and weig2000 on the 054 thread, and some other bloke on another thread who I can't recall the exact username.

seriously .... timepass ... :tsk::tsk:

PN is short with decent air defence frigates and he is making claims about destroyer that too Type-52D .... does it even sound logical ... the max we can expect is a repeat order of Type-54A and refit/upgrade of F-22P.