Over 29,000 AK-47s procured for India's forces

A difference of opinion then, this is why NATO adopted the 5.56 - and the indians did the same.

We just moved on with the world but it seems Pakistan just want to stick to their heavier G3 with heavier bullets.

Apparently the Americans are not happy with the 5.56 and might move to a heavier 6.8 round.

Yeah I heard, but it will take a long time before that happens. Anyways the 7.62 bullet in a battlefield rifle is an outdated concept.

Apparently the Americans are not happy with the 5.56 and might move to a heavier 6.8 round.

IA is looking for a similar option. Next gen IA rifle to come online in next 3-4 years will be able to fire 5.56/6.8 calibre.

Why post a picture of an airsoft gun rather than the real thing??!

Yeah I heard, but it will take a long time before that happens. Anyways the 7.62 bullet in a battlefield rifle is an outdated concept.

Not really, the PA is looking at
pof_g_3s-tfb.jpg

HK_417.jpg

A difference of opinion then, this is why NATO adopted the 5.56 - and the indians did the same.
Apparently any contact with enemy occurs within 100-200 mts. At these ranges, a 7.62 round is actually overkill. There are reports of many NATO soldiers getting away with a hole in their bodies with the tali AK47 7.62 rounds. Stop the bleeding in the field and evacuate the injured, the fellow lies to tell his tale! A 5.56 round otoh, once it enters the body, due to its slower speed tumbles around in the flesh causing extensive damage, which is why you hear a lot of tali casualties.

one query...aren't we buying some 25000 rifles from foreign vender (most probably tar) to replace our INSAS???

No. The foreign purchase of tavors is for the para commandos and the ghataks. The regular infantry will continue to use INSAS until another rifle will be selected for the F-INSAS programme. That has not been selected yet, but will certainly be an Indian product. The Trichy assault rifle is one of the contenders.

Jo huqam sir jee !

*looks towards the guy squatting on his left* 'Oye Chootei zaraaa GHQ ja aur keh Gernail sahib ko keh RazPak ne kaha hai keh Pakistan AK-74s lei lei' ! :woot:

You are funny man... :woot:

Why AK47...why not something more advance

You mean like those 60,000 new fancy Beretta carabines for the BSF which were totally crap ?
AK series is still the preferred CT weapon by our Military and non-Military forces