Only in Pakistan

Trains in the subcontinent are horrible. even the inside of the trains are so ******** dirty. i think that people in the subcontinent generally don't have a sense of environmental cleanliness.

The problem is that there are too many people and not enough infrastructure to support them. And the population is increasing faster than infrastructure development in most areas.

Trains in the subcontinent are horrible. even the inside of the trains are so ******** dirty. i think that people in the subcontinent generally don't have a sense of environmental cleanliness.

The problem is that there are too many people and not enough infrastructure to support them. And the population is increasing faster than infrastructure development in most areas.

Lack of education and awareness my friend.

To be honest i love train travel, especially on the longer journeys such as travelling to Karachi on Chenab Express ;) or Lahore or Margalla Express, love it! Har addey pe ruk ke khana test karney ke bath he koi aur hai! (But you need a rock solid constitution) ;D

well, many of the express trains in Pakistan are air conditioned, and quite clean. you can book your cabins, and berths. it's quie an enjoyable experience. but travelilng on third class in local trains in the summer, can be quite harrowing.

What happen when it rains? must be tough for them.

it doesn't rain much in pakistan, and when it does, people actually go out into the rain, some dance, some play football, some just stand there and enjoy getting soaked. For them, its a blessing.

Let's not also forget when the train performs an emergency stop or a sudden braking. This would be very dangerous. Why is this allowed?.

the sorts of trains that this happens on, don't go very fast anyway. And their braking speed is even slower. i dare say, you can drink a cup of hot chai while sitting on the top.

well, many of the express trains in Pakistan are air conditioned, and quite clean. you can book your cabins, and berths. it's quie an enjoyable experience. but travelilng on third class in local trains in the summer, can be quite harrowing.

Nahi yar, i know you will find this hard to believe but i never go air-conditioned if i am alone, where is the fun in that? Chenab Express is a joke amongst Pakistani's, it always has the worst diesel engining driving it, has the crappiest cabbins and takes almost 3 days to get from Khi to Rwp.

Whenever i feel adventerous i swap a Shaheen Airlines ticket for Pak Railways, it is so much fun. And trying to use the toilets when you really need to go! :devil:

This picture is from the Chenab Express Taken sometime in 2005:
http://img514.imageshack.us/my.php?image=s3700008rj1.jpg
http://g.imageshack.us/img514/s3700008rj1.jpg/1/

Refreshing isnt it...

Anyway enough balsting our national railway serivce, here is a nice and clean image from Pakistan: Margalla Express heading to Lahore, AC Car:
http://img375.imageshack.us/my.php?image=1359827bytrainlahorech5.jpg
http://g.imageshack.us/img375/1359827bytrainlahorech5.jpg/1/

Sorry about that, it should have come with a disclaimer! My apologies! :)

The UK health and safety would have a field day if they saw this.

I recently read a story where due to such laws a 16 year old was sacked from his job as a cleaner because he had to use a hoover and was deemed unqualified to use it.

There is a name that conserative American call of what you have explained. It is called WOOSAFACTION of western culture. This is like the panic button for everything.

it doesn't rain much in pakistan, and when it does, people actually go out into the rain, some dance, some play football, some just stand there and enjoy getting soaked. For them, its a blessing.

OK, but I was referring to when they are on the train and in motion.

the sorts of trains that this happens on, don't go very fast anyway. And their braking speed is even slower. i dare say, you can drink a cup of hot chai while sitting on the top.

Sounds like a relaxing time.

Yes, the toilet picture was disturbingly sick...don't they know how to use the flush or something?.

Brings back memories yaar. We used to celebrate the arrival of moonsoon every summer in Karachi. Women usually rushed to the kitchen to bake pakora's, phulki's and pakwaan with chai as the kids get all soaked in the first rain...damn I miss that!