No money, no aircraft carrier !

India's First Indigenous Carrier Faces Delays, Cost Growth

India's First Indigenous Carrier Faces Delays, Cost Growth | Defense News | defensenews.com

NEW DELHI — While India claims that its first home-built carrier, the Vikrant, will be fully operational by 2018, Indian Navy sources say that date is closer to 2020 since the ship is only about 30 percent complete.

On Aug. 12, India’s first indigenous aircraft carrier (IAC-1) will be launched nearly four years behind schedule. The ship is being built by state-owned Cochin Shipyard Limited at Kochi in southern India.

The aircraft carrier will be floated out of dry dock, then redocked in order to mount the propulsion system. Work will then begin on the deck and the weapon systems before sea trials. And while Defence Ministry officials say those trials will begin by 2016, Indian Navy sources say it will not be before 2018-19.

“Launch merely means they will float the IAC-1 from the dry dock [to outfit the interior],, which includes laying of pipes, and after that it will be dry docked again for integration of propulsion systems,” an Indian Navy source said

Not only will Vikrant’s induction be delayed, but sources add that the total cost of the carrier will be more than US $5 billion, including the aircraft and weapons systems. When the project was approved in 2003, the ship was estimated to cost around $500 million. Sources said the construction of the carrier, minus the weapon systems and aircraft, will cost more than $2.2 billion.

Indian Navy spokesman Cmdr. P.V. Satish insisted that IAC-1 will be inducted in 2018.

“First and foremost, it needs to be understood that constructing an aircraft carrier is a very complex task. At the time of keel laying of the IAC in 2009, it was estimated that the ship would be delivered by 2014-15,” he said. “However, due to delays in arrival of some machinery from foreign sources, which are essential prior to the launch of the ship, the Phase I launch of the ship has been delayed by around three years. There have been certain other delays also in finalizing the detailed design aspects due to uniqueness of the systems. Things are now in place and we look forward to a targeted delivery by 2018.”

Indian Navy sources countered that at the time of the launch, only the hull and the outer structure will be completed, about 30 percent of the total work needed for the carrier.

After laying piping, the carrier will be redocked to mount the gear box, hydraulic systems, generator systems and propulsion system.

Work will then focus on the hangar deck for aircraft, berthing spaces for 1,400 sailors, boiler room and the flight deck.

Before sea trials, workers will install the Israeli-made Barak air defense system, multi-function radar system, A630 close-in weapon system and combat management system, the sources added.

An Indian Navy official said this ship will be able to stop attacks from enemy aircraft and will have anti-submarine defense systems. All systems on board will be integrated through a combat management system.

The Vikrant will be 262 meters long and be able to accommodate around 30 aircraft, including helicopters.

“IAC-1 features a STOBAR [short take-off but arrested recovery] configuration with a ski-jump. The deck is designed to enable aircraft such as the MiG-29 to operate from the carrier. It will deploy up to 20 fixed-wing aircraft, primarily the Mikoyan MiG-29K and the naval variant of indigenous Tejas Mark 2, besides carrying 10 Kamov Ka-31 helicopters,” the Indian Navy official said.

The Navy plans to have three aircraft carriers; a final decision is awaited on the IAC-2, which would be another homemade carrier but would displace more than 60,000 tons, 20,000 tons more than Vikrant. IAC-2 is still in the design stage but will have a catapult deck.

“IAC-2 is currently on the design board. Various feasibility options for the carrier are presently being pursued. Detailed study on the type and complement of aircraft and the ships’ propulsion options is being progressed to further narrow down design options,” Satish said.

Despite the delays and ballooning cost of IAC-1, defense planners, Indian Navy officials and analysts agree that India must build — not import — its carriers.

“Getting modern carriers in the open market is not easy. Our experience with Vikramaditya [Russian-made Admiral Gorshkov] is evidence,” said Probal Ghosh, senior fellow, Observer Research Foundation, adding that the Navy should now concentrate on IAC-2 and begin construction as soon as possible.

“Personally, I don’t think India should look toward procuring an aircraft carrier from abroad. Indigenous development with foreign collaboration, transfer of technology in certain areas where we may not have the expertise as yet would be far more prudent,” said Anil Jai Singh, retired Indian Navy commodore and vice president of the National Maritime Foundation.

Having three carriers allows one to be stationed on each of India’s coasts, while the third would undergo repairs or perform other duties such as training.

“The Navy has a clearly spelt-out capability plan which factors a balanced growth and includes a plan to have two carrier battle groups,” Satish said. “This will naturally entail having three carriers with requisite support ships to form a battle group. All the components are equally important.”

This Article should Please Pakistani & Mard -E-Momeen Clan........
You should be Happy and Pray for More Delays...

Did you know because of IAC Cochin Ship Yard, MAZAGON ship yard Garden Shipnyards added 300 Ton Cranes from exisitng 60 Tons and moved to Modular Construction.....welding titanium allows was introduced which was never there...

Let this ship come in 2020 it has already revolutionised our ship Building.....

Not sure, if you know Charles de Gaulle Aircraft career took 14 years to make...this means by far we are progressing well.....

Hope Pakistan is Pleased with assembling 2500 Ton Corvette aka "FRIGATE"
& Malaysians you first build a Fleet service Getty then talk --forget about Ship Yards..............

There is a Saying When you Dont Now a Sh.It, its Better to Keep Shut

I am searching on the map where is this Malaysia is. :lol:

Looks like a recent pic..
ship.jpg

@Hafizzz

Like some Indian said earlier....India need it because of China but Pakistan doesn't need one since India is just next door.

Hero go and check the world map, China is next door too. Bakchodi bandh kar aur thora kitab pad le...

This Article should Please Pakistani & Mard -E-Momeen Clan........
You should be Happy and Pray for More Delays...

Did you know because of IAC Cochin Ship Yard, MAZAGON ship yard Garden Shipnyards added 300 Ton Cranes from exisitng 60 Tons and moved to Modular Construction.....welding titanium allows was introduced which was never there...

Let this ship come in 2020 it has already revolutionised our ship Building.....

Not sure, if you know Charles de Gaulle Aircraft career took 14 years to make...this means by far we are progressing well.....

Hope Pakistan is Pleased with assembling 2500 Ton Corvette aka "FRIGATE"
& Malaysians you first build a Fleet service Getty then talk --forget about Ship Yards..............

There is a Saying When you Dont Now a Sh.It, its Better to Keep Shut

he is not malaysian.he is a false flagger pakhana who is afraid to show his true identity

"Cost". The article say India is suffering from the rising cost.

Cost = money.

No money = no aircraft carrier !!!

UNDERSTAND ???

Indian Navy dreamed to become a blue water navy.

Who Dreamed about it: INDIAN.
Who is working to fulfill this dream : INDIAN.
Who is paying money for this: INDIAN.
Who is getting stomach pain : A Chicha PAKISTANI... You are nothing more then a TAMASHBEEN.

So...In short...You will never understand the value of a dream....UNDERSTAND....U BETTER UNDERSTAND.

Pakistan has enough missiles to keep Indian AC far away from her shores.

Dear You misunderstood the concept of Aircraft career. They are design and build to operate away from shore. That is why they have aircraft on it to reach the destination and hit target.

Kashmir needs peace, not an aircraft carrier.

Control your 27 separatist movements first before thinking about conquering the waters.

Released words of anger and frustration!!:lol:
Good go have a break and some sleep, come back tomorrow if you have something to talk on topic.:wave:

lol @ another b@tthurt pakistani.

atleast he is not ashamed of hi identity like his brother haizzzz.

suna hai karachi mein dhamaay hue kal ya parso.wait a minute karachi mein ya lahore mein???
jahan pe bhe aap to theek ho na bhai jaan :lol:

Hey Pakistani Friends,

Do you know that steel to be used in IAC 1 was supposed to be imported from Russia at a cost of Rs 9 lakh/ Ton. Due some problem It didn't realized. SAIL developed the required quality of steel in their Plant and supplied for IAC 1 at a cost of Rs 4 LAKH/ton resulting in saving of steel cost about Rs 1000 crore. This steel quality further modified to be used in other naval ships. Now Essar also produces NAVAL GRADE steel. There are savings and savings. Elecon Engineering has supplied Gear box. So do not worry bros, there will not be much cost over run. The skill development of building Aircraft career and infrastructure development of ship yard along with so many other technologies developed in process is a bonus.

Cheers!!!!!

Bangladesh also thinking of building its own carrier. India can wait till rupee stabilized and BD gets its first carrier so that they dont have to run around the globe for technology transfer. We can always help..

INS vikrant played an important role in creation of your country. We are exporting bicycle parts to Bangladesh. Hum Bachho ki bat ka boora nahi mante. Pl check the link.

Bicycle Accessories India export data & Bicycle Accessories shipment data of India