NATO: It was Turkey which offered to host radars

None of these countries has any plans to join E.U,except the Greeks and they are already part of it. Besides no country/people scared Europeans as much as the Turks did, tell me how far did Persians with their conquests managed to conquer European soil and hold it?

Turks came with Ottomans until Vienna.. And even before burned down mighty Rome to the ground with Atilla the Hun.

Mate, give the rest of us some credit too. The Ottomans weren't just you guys, the Ottoman Sultan was our Caliph too and what a sign of unity he was for the Muslim World, even if the system had gone from being exemplary under Suleiman to what was decadent and corrupt at the time of Mr.Ataturk. Thats why Muslims from the Indian subcontinent helped Turkey out either politically or financially, we weren't Turks were we ? But religion united us and besides I'm not sure that the Ottoman Empire ever emphasized Ethno-Nationalism ever.

Wrong. The Ottomans never reached to what is today Pakistan. We were always left out of many empires, including Persia. We were like that lone wolf.

And I must add - the Ottomans were a Muslim caliphate, so, in all honesty, if you're a true Muslim, you'd know that of course it had to be strong.

Wrong. The Ottomans never reached to what is today Pakistan. We were always left out of many empires, including Persia. We were like that lone wolf.

Please re-read what I said. When we mention our former glories why is that we talk about Al-Andalus or the Reign of the 4 Rightly Guided Caliphs or Saladin or even the Mughals as Our Empires. Why is it that we say that in the past Muslims were really something special and now we've been reduced to the place we have been ? When we, as Pakistanis, haven't s**t to contribute to any of those Empires. And I dunno about you, but I'm neither an Arab nor a Kurd nor a Central Asian...so I can't even claim them as my ancestor's empires even from an ethnic point of view, and yet I am fiercely proud of the Ottoman Empire and of Saladin and of the glorious civilization of Andalusia. Why ? Because, Islam transcends all of those ethnic, linguistic etc. barriers - we are one. I said this in an other thread : If Saladin was asked about an Azad Kurdistan or Suleiman the Magnificent about Turkish Nationalism or the Mughals about a Pakistan, they'd wouldn't know what the heck we're talking about. Because, their politics varied greatly from our politics - they didn't work around the concept of a nation-state and modern day notions of nationalism. We're Pakistanis, we're Turks, we're Arabs etc. but our ancestors are the same and they belong to all of us. Avicenna and Averoes are just as mine as Baba Bulleh Shah (Punjabi Sufi poet) or Rumi belongs to an Arab.

So I stand by what I said, I take great pride in the Ottoman Empire and Suleiman was my Caliph too.

Please re-read what I said. When we mention our former glories why is that we talk about Al-Andalus or the Reign of the 4 Rightly Guided Caliphs or Saladin or even the Mughals as Our Empires. Why is it that we say that in the past Muslims were really something special and now we've been reduced to the place we have been ? When we, as Pakistanis, haven't s**t to contribute to any of those Empires. And I dunno about you, but I'm neither an Arab nor a Kurd nor a Central Asian...so I can't even claim them as my ancestor's empires even from an ethnic point of view, and yet I am fiercely proud of the Ottoman Empire and of Saladin and of the glorious civilization of Andalusia. Why ? Because, Islam transcends all of those ethnic, linguistic etc. barriers - we are one. I said this in an other thread : If Saladin was asked about an Azad Kurdistan or Suleiman the Magnificent about Turkish Nationalism or the Mughals about a Pakistan, they'd wouldn't know what the heck we're talking about. Because, their politics varied greatly from our politics - they didn't work around the concept of a nation-state and modern day notions of nationalism. We're Pakistanis, we're Turks, we're Arabs etc. but our ancestors are the same and they belong to all of us. Avicenna and Averoes are just as mine as Baba Bulleh Shah (Punjabi Sufi poet) or Rumi belongs to an Arab.

So I stand by what I said, I take great pride in the Ottoman Empire and Suleiman was my Caliph too.

I've read it perfectly the first time, we may have contributed to previous empires, but certainly not the Ottomans.

And so what? Why is it that you want to claim to have contributed? We as Pakistanis, created 1947, have done so much in so little time until just recently (2005) where we started going downhill.

Its quite funny...
The world is moving away from NATO bases, but Turkey is moving in...:blink:

Most Pakistanis are misguided. Mughals were our enemies not friends. The killed many of our prominent leaders belonging in Pubjabi tribes...

I've read it perfectly the first time, we may have contributed to previous empires, but certainly not the Ottomans.

And so what? Why is it that you want to claim to have contributed? We as Pakistanis, created 1947, have done so much in so little time until just recently (2005) where we started going downhill.

If you think that 'I want to claim to have contributed' something to any of those Empires is what you got from that, then I'm afraid I can't articulate myself well enough. I apologize of course.

Most Pakistanis are misguided. Mughals were our enemies not friends. The killed many of our prominent leaders belonging to Pubjabi tribes... Yet, we have named our missiles after them i.e babur, etc...

This.

Nicely said.

We were never part of any empire. We had empire influence from the Ottomans, Arabs, Persians, Monguls.

For example the name "Khan" is very common in Pakistan - and it came from the Mongolian leader Gengis Khan.

"Urdu" - is a Turkish word.

We have many Persian words in Urdu.

And Urdu is written with Arabic influence.

Most Pakistanis are misguided. Mughals were our enemies not friends. The killed many of our prominent leaders belonging to Pubjabi tribes... Yet, we have named our missiles after them i.e babur, etc...

The Mughals were the embodiment of Muslim Civilization in this part of the world; just as the Delhi Sultanate, the Ayubid Dynasty were. They may have killed many leaders belonging to the Punjabi tribes but thats what I was trying to emphasize, in those times no one thought along these lines. There wasn't anything close to Punjabi or Sindhi nationalism. Ahmed Shah Durani was a Persian but he didn't bring with him an idea of Persian nationalism just as Abdali being an Afghan was an Afghan patriot but he didn't further the cause for Afghan nationalism, at least, certainly not in the sense we understand nationalism in todays world.

Look at Umar al-khatab of the Ummayd Dynasty. He expanded Islamic empire, but, never he made rest of other humans living there muslims. Jews and Christians were allowed to practice their own practices. my point is, this dynasty like many out there was not about religious expansion.

They (Mughals) have done loot mar. muslim or non-muslim thing has nothing to do with this. Considering them as thieves back in the day, we have now changed the perspectives. People now days probably consider them as heroes for the wrong reasons. Its funny how the world changes. Our warriors in Punjab sacrificed a lot back in the day, avoiding to get ruled. Certainly, there are still many people out there that don't know the truth.

Whats next? well, i see us Pakistanis considering Indians as saints in the future. People will either forget or probably will never learn from history from how our ancestors sacrificed in 1947 to make Pakistan from Hindu and Sikh pressure.
Some things are already changing Pakistani minds out there. Due to some of our artists, and cricketers going there to make money, we call them (Indians) 'not so bad people'. What more can Indians want this from us. They are smart people and according to Indra Ghandi, former Indian Prime Minister, she had said that they will try to break Pakistan and Pakistanis internally in the future. It is evident now to what was relevant to her intial plan.

Mughals were nothing to Pakistan. They had a lot to do with Indian business. They tried gain resources. They failed in other Pakistani regions and it was only punjab, they found easy to gain access from Indian border.
These people were neither in Pakhtunkhwa, Baluchistan, and nor in Sindh. For what reasons do we say that they belong to our part of history?

So please for god's sake, its not just you i'm talking to, but to rest of Pakistanis who read this. Keep in mind of all these things i have mentioned. Just 'don't forget the past!'

This.

Nicely said.

We were never part of any empire. We had empire influence from the Ottomans, Arabs, Persians, Monguls.

For example the name "Khan" is very common in Pakistan - and it came from the Mongolian leader Gengis Khan.

"Urdu" - is a Turkish word.

We have many Persian words in Urdu.

And Urdu is written with Arabic influence.

Urdu=Ordu=Army

Khan=HAN=Leader

They have done loot mar. muslim or non-muslim thing has nothing to do with this. Considering them as thieves back in the day, we have now changed the shift. people would probably consider them as heroes. Its funny how the world changes. Our warriors in Punjab sacrificed a lot back in the day, avoiding to get ruled. certainly people will never understand this until you start reading history from non-pakistani perspective.

Whats next? well, i see us Pakistanis considering Indians as saints in the future. People like you will probably either forget or probably will never learn the fact that how our ancestors sacrificed in 1947 to make Pakistan from Hindu and Sikh pressure.

Mughals were nothing to Pakistan. They had a lot to do with Indian business. They tried to come in so they can get our resources. They failed in other regions. It was only punjab, they tried to gain control easily on our side.

First off, you don't know s**t about me so don't try to classify me as 'people like you'.

Secondly, I wasn't born yesterday so I do know that history is always written with a certain bias, either subtle as in the best of cases or out right revisionism in the very worst - So please spare me the pedagogic pep talk.

And Thirdly, I couldn't find any example of atrocities committed by the Mughal Army on the Punjabi people barring the ones the Sikh were subjected to. In fact, we the Punjabis and we the Pathans were called Martial Races even before the British and Jhelum is not a 64 year old prime recruiting ground.
But even if we take this, what appears to be, a fallacious argument on its face value : So what ? None of them were saints, name a single Empire in which such things didn't happen ? In fact, talking about perspectives, there is ample literature out there to suggest that human right abuses also happened during the reign of Our 4 Rightly Guided Caliphs. And yet we idolize them, why ? Because the world got a taste of civility, modernity and liberalism under these same Caliphs. Similarly, while we can level a truck load of assertions against the Mughals we must also historically contextualize all human rights abuses and also look at what they gave us :

Unity to the Indian Subcontinent.

Unprecedented Economic growth (they didn't call India the Golden Sparrow for nothing) due to a unified currency and extensive trade routes as far as Arabia and Central Asia.

A truly tolerant and harmonious society under Akbar and his immediate son.

Metallurgical expertise unheard off.

And I haven't even touched on the Arts.

They officiated the Urdu language and opened centres of its development and learning.

As for the Pakistani bit: Sort of paradoxical that you'd ignore the Mughals when it was there Empire - Our Empire - that gave us the opportunity to be at the helm of things for a 1000 years. When Muslims, by and large, weren't persecuted and there was communal harmony for huge swathes of time. And that the fall of the Mughal Empire precipitated our fall from privilege, that our centres of learning went from excellent to obsolete and that Muslims became such a forgotten race that Ghalib, Mir, Sauda, Zafar - all of them, couldn't write anything but of despondency.
And the Mughal Empire was much more about what they gave us, but rather what they stood for, what they represented - Freedom for the Muslims to live their lives without fear of persecution or second-class citizenry.
As for me never learning the fact that our ancestors were slaughtered like pigs in '47 - I am well versed with what happened, me, being a Kashmiri knows first hand what could happen and what did happen. Entire villages in Kashmir of my extended family were reduced to nothing, with the women defiled and the men butchered. I remember that, I also happened to have a grandfather who was in his early 30s at the time of the partition and hence had an adults view of what did and did not happen.

The only thing that I was trying to emphasize in my previous posts more than anything was not to espouse the greatness of the Persian, the Ottoman, the Arab or the Mughal Empire - but simply that the ethno-nationalism that we so very fondly evoke every now and then and claim such and such an empire as ours because they were Turks or Arabs or some other nationality would be historically fallacious because Suleiman the Magnificent, Saladin or Umar bin Khattab or even Akbar, would have thought us mad if we had talked to them about present nationalism and how each of us claim these great man exclusively as our own simply because one of them is a Turk, the other a Kurd, one an Arab and the last a Central Asian/Indian.

Lastly, my friend, I'm afraid that I'd still not get through because I've probably muddled up the whole post because its hardly well articulated, so in that case, I think I'd let Iqbal give it a try :

(Bang-e-Dra-102) Wataniyat (وطنیت) Patriotism
Wataniat
(Yani Watan Bahesiat Aik Siasi Tasawwur Ke)

NATIONALISM
(As a Political Concept)

Iss Dour Mein Mai Aur Hai, Jaam Aur Hai Jam Aur
Saqi Ne Bina Ki Rawish-e-Lutf-o-Sitam Aur

In this age the wine, the cup, even Jam is different
The cup‐bearer started different ways of grace and tyranny

Muslim Ne Bhi Tameer Kiya Apna Haram Aur
Tehzeeb Ke Azar Ne Tarshawaye Sanam Aur

The Muslim also constructed a different harem of his own
The Azar of civilization made different idols of his own

In Taza Khudaon Mein Bara Sub Se Watan Hai
Jo Pairhan Iss Ka Hai, Woh Mazhab Ka Kafan Hai

Country, is the biggest among these new gods!
What is its shirt is the shroud of Deen (Religion)

Ye But Ke Tarashida-e-Tehzeeb-e-Nawi Hai
Gharatgar-e-Kashana-e-Deen-e-Nabwi Hai

This idol which is the product of the new civilization
Is the plunderer of the structure of the Holy Prophet’s Deen (Religion)

Bazu Tera Touheed Ki Quwwat Se Qawi Hai
Islam Tera Dais Hai, Tu Mustafavi Hai

Your arm is enforced with the strength of the Divine Unity
You are the followers of Mustafa, your country is Islam

Nazzara-e-Dairina Zamane Ko Dikha De
Ae Mustafavi Khak Mein Iss Butt Ko Mila De!

You should show the old panorama to the world
O Mustafaa’s follower! You should destroy this idol

Ho Qaid-e-Maqami To Nateeja Hai Tabahi
Reh Behar Mein Azad-e-Watan Soorat-e-Mahi

The limitation to country results in destruction
Live like the fish in the ocean free from country

Hai Tark-e-Watan Sunnat-e-Mehboob (S.A.W.)-e-Elahi
De Tu Bhi Nabuwwat Ki Sadaqat Pe Gawahi

Renouncing the country is the way of the God’s Beloved (PBUH)
You should also testify to the Prophethood’s Truth by similar action

Guftar-e-Siasat Mein Watan Aur Hi Kuch Hai
Irshad-e-Nabuwwat Mein Watan Aur Hi Kuch Hai

In political parlance country is something different
In Prophet’s command country is something different

Aqwam-e-Jahan Mein Hai Raqabat To Issi Se
Taskheer Hai Maqsood-e-Tajarat To Issi Se

The antagonism among world’s nations is created by this alone
Subjugation as the goal of commerce is created by this alone

Khali Hai Sadaqat Se Siasat To Issi Se
Kamzor Ka Ghar Hota Hai Gharat To Issi Se

Politics have become bereft of sincerity is by this alone
The destruction of the home of the weak is by this alone

Aqwam Mein Makhlooq-e-Khuda Batti Hai Iss Se
Qoumiat-e-Islam Ki Jar Katti Hai Iss Se

God’s creation is unjustly divided among nations by it
The Islamic concept of nationality is uprooted by it

P.S Iqbal isn't in any way anti-country, as some might misconstrue it to be, but rather that our countries are our homes and we should love them and be proud of it, but not to the extent that we become fascistic and walk about with such a stiff rod up our a**es because we're somehow better than others or have a deeper history than others. Also as Muslims we should stick together.
A good example of what Iqbal is saying is the United States. A truly egalitarian, plural and liberal society as envisioned by our fore-fathers - thats what an Islamic concept of country is. And the same United States that goes about f**king other nations simply because its in their national interests - thats what nationalism in political parlance is.

P.P.S The Iqbal bit was supposed to be an answer to an earlier bit and not necessarily yours. a

First read my edited post to answer about mughuls.

-Just to add more stuff, go and read about Dulla Bhatti and his rebellion against Akbar. If Akbar made Lahore its capital, then the mughals would have been ruling us instead of India.

In the Chardah (East) Punjab-now India-during the Lohri bonfires that mark the end of the deep winter and the start of spring (Capricorn Constellation-Makar appears over the horizon) all the Sikh and Hindu families mark Dulla Bhatti's social and humanitarian contribution made to rescue and then reintegrate the abducted children and girls from the Moghul forces. The Lohri Song is sung upon the birth of a baby boy- for the agricultural community this marks continuation of the family land occupation.

The version of Lohri Song that best describes this contribution of Bhatti and the immense respect with which this rebel is held in the eyes of all Punjabis is:

Sunder mundriye hoe!

Tera kaun wicahara hoe!
Dullah bhatti walla hoe!
Dullahe di dhee vyayae hoe!
Ser shakkar payee hoe!
Kudi da laal pachaka hoe!
Kudi da saalu paatta hoe!
Salu kaun samete!
Mamhe choori kutti! zamidara lutti!
Zamindaar sudhaye!
bade bhole aaye!
Ek bhola reh gaya!
Sipahee pakad ke lai gaya!
Sipahee ne mari eet!
Sanoo de de lohri te teri jeeve jodi! (Cry or howl!)
Paheenve ro te phannve pit! ”

(Rhyming: beautiful one like a ringlet one!)
Who will save you poor one (to a rescued girl)
Dullah Bhatti is here for you (He rescued the girls who were abandoned and rejected after kidnap!)
The Duallah married off his daughter (the rescued girls were adopted by him as his daughters)
He gave a measure (sher about a kilo)of sugar!
The girl is wearing bridal red dress!
But her shawl is torn (poor and soiled-girl has been raped?)!
Who will stitch her shawl(repair her reputation)?!

The maternal uncle made sweet ghee bread (choori)! (maternal uncles were responsible to vouch for chastity of the girl)

The landlords ravished it (meaning the girl kidnapped by rich moghul landlords!)!
He made the landlords eat a lot!
Lots of innocent guys came (poor grooms)
One innocent boy got left behind (the poorest of poor!)
The soldiers arrested him! (Indicated that he was in collusion with Bhatti the rebel)
The soldiers hit him with a brick! (tortured him)
Cry or howl!
Give us lohri (gifts) ..long live you couple!”

- Look and read about Babur. During Mughal-Rajput War in 1525, he invaded Punjab many times. Is that something to be content about?

-Ahmed Shah Duranni was the founder of Durranni empire and using his pashtun tribes, he pushed mughals eastwards from ruling

- Shah hussain, a Punjabi sufi poet was Dhudha clan of Rajputs.
Shah Hussain approved Dulla's revolt against Akbar as,
Kahay Hussain Faqeer Sain Da
Takht Na Milday Mungay
.[3]

- Ali Malik had to report to Akbar and tell him last words of Dulla Bhatti after it was over. “Dulla Bhatti kept calling names and abusing you,” Ali Malik reported to Akbar who was infuriated with Ali Malik on repeating every thing exactly. Akbar ordered Ali Malik to be nailed.

Just to let you know, I am also a Kashmiri. My ancestors were the first ones to start the Kashmiri movement aka JKLF. In fact, they hijacked an Indian plane, and some were hanged by Indians, and some by Pakistanis.... I have had few ancestors as well that came from Indian punjab. Some in 47 did not come alive.

First read my edited post to answer about mughuls.

-Just to add more stuff, go and read about Dulla Bhatti and his rebellion against Akbar. If Akbar made Lahore its capital, then the mughals would have been ruling us instead of India.

In the Chardah (East) Punjab-now India-during the Lohri bonfires that mark the end of the deep winter and the start of spring (Capricorn Constellation-Makar appears over the horizon) all the Sikh and Hindu families mark Dulla Bhatti's social and humanitarian contribution made to rescue and then reintegrate the abducted children and girls from the Moghul forces. The Lohri Song is sung upon the birth of a baby boy- for the agricultural community this marks continuation of the family land occupation.

The version of Lohri Song that best describes this contribution of Bhatti and the immense respect with which this rebel is held in the eyes of all Punjabis is:

Sunder mundriye hoe!

Tera kaun wicahara hoe!
Dullah bhatti walla hoe!
Dullahe di dhee vyayae hoe!
Ser shakkar payee hoe!
Kudi da laal pachaka hoe!
Kudi da saalu paatta hoe!
Salu kaun samete!
Mamhe choori kutti! zamidara lutti!
Zamindaar sudhaye!
bade bhole aaye!
Ek bhola reh gaya!
Sipahee pakad ke lai gaya!
Sipahee ne mari eet!
Sanoo de de lohri te teri jeeve jodi! (Cry or howl!)
Paheenve ro te phannve pit! ”

(Rhyming: beautiful one like a ringlet one!)
Who will save you poor one (to a rescued girl)
Dullah Bhatti is here for you (He rescued the girls who were abandoned and rejected after kidnap!)
The Duallah married off his daughter (the rescued girls were adopted by him as his daughters)
He gave a measure (sher about a kilo)of sugar!
The girl is wearing bridal red dress!
But her shawl is torn (poor and soiled-girl has been raped?)!
Who will stitch her shawl(repair her reputation)?!

The maternal uncle made sweet ghee bread (choori)! (maternal uncles were responsible to vouch for chastity of the girl)

The landlords ravished it (meaning the girl kidnapped by rich moghul landlords!)!
He made the landlords eat a lot!
Lots of innocent guys came (poor grooms)
One innocent boy got left behind (the poorest of poor!)
The soldiers arrested him! (Indicated that he was in collusion with Bhatti the rebel)
The soldiers hit him with a brick! (tortured him)
Cry or howl!
Give us lohri (gifts) ..long live you couple!”

- Look and read about Babur. During Mughal-Rajput War in 1525, he invaded Punjab many times. Is that something to be content about?

-Ahmed Shah Duranni was the founder of Durranni empire and using his pashtun tribes, he pushed mughals eastwards from ruling

- Shah hussain, a Punjabi sufi poet was Dhudha clan of Rajputs.
Shah Hussain approved Dulla's revolt against Akbar as,
Kahay Hussain Faqeer Sain Da
Takht Na Milday Mungay
.[3]

- Ali Malik had to report to Akbar and tell him last words of Dulla Bhatti after it was over. “Dulla Bhatti kept calling names and abusing you,” Ali Malik reported to Akbar who was infuriated with Ali Malik on repeating every thing exactly. Akbar ordered Ali Malik to be nailed.

Just to let you know, I am also a Kashmiri. My ancestors were the first ones to start the Kashmiri movement aka JKLF. In fact, they hijacked an Indian plane, and some were hanged by Indians, and some by Pakistanis.... I have had few ancestors as well that came from Indian punjab. Some in 47 did not come alive.

Mate, the Mughals, like any dynasty of that time, committed countless atrocities but you have to look at it from a historical perspective - everyone did it and yet it most certainly wasn't institutionalized. At the same time they stood for excellence in a whole host of fields and the Muslims by and large were all right...plus the Pakistan movement was about Muslim Political Revival, if there hadn't been Muslim Dynasties in the past in the Indian Subcontinent we wouldn't be reviving anything ? We looked at ourselves and saw ourselves become paupers from kings or at-least by and large whatever could be considered as the Civil Society or the Educated Elite of those ages. Our Urdu poets weren't lamenting our demise for nothing - we, even in the Indian subcontinent, were really something before the British came.

I think the both of us have derailed the thread enough and we should probably continue this in our respective visitor message areas.

P.S JKLF hmmmn, Independence for Kashmir ehh ?