El Sidd
Shahbaz Sharif is overrated.
TMI
My vote is reserved for PTI.
Quality wise Chinese are not far.
Ofcourse it will not make much sense to you, it needs grasp of geopolitics.
Japan has to direct beef with us ofcourse but when it comes between them and Chinese, ofcourse the projects will go to Chinese. Those who are alligned with our enemy, needs to understand that there will be conseqences in some shape or form. There are no free lunches anymore.
Just my 2 cents from experience, Japan was investing in India for a bridge around 1996-1997, They were to make the bridge in 4-5 years and the cost was upwards of 600 Crores (That time amount). It WON the bid and started working on it and finished the same in around 9-10 months. They even got the completion certificate under 1 year. Remember there was babu-raj and that itself takes over months and/or bribes. At the end they finished the project, gave contractors the knowledge, technology and equipment to use and bureaucrats what to expect in terms for quality and construction time. With-in next 7 years Delhi and surrounding areas were infested with bridges, over-bridges and new roads.Japanese are miles ahead of China in critical aspects of engineering.
Japan planned to make the KCR a lot more extensive with more lines and extensions to other parts of the city. China is just redoing the existing line and "modernizing" it by building overhead or underground tracks where on-grade are no longer feasible. The existing KCR route was outdated all the way back in the 1990s. The city has expanded far beyond it's covered area.
Kejriwal effect .My vote is reserved for PTI.
If the bidding is fair, why not?
Usually when proposals are evaluated, following aspects are assessed:
1 - Quality of Service/ Product
2 - Cost/ Price
3 - Post Acquisition Services and Warranties
4 - Previous Experience
5 - Adaptability
6 - Possibility of Establishing Local Servicing Centers/ Mechanical Workshops
Above is not an exhaustive list, but some very key aspects which are evaluated.
If China has beaten Japan on the above aspects, why not? China is running one of the largest (if not the largest) rail networks without any issues.
More importantly Japan isn't coming to invest anyway even without China.
Rising costs are not an indication of a better plan, necessarily. In-fact, this is a bad analogy to assess a plan.Now cost is Rs270b which is around $2.5B and likely will be better then Japan plan.
I don't think China is much behind in technology specifically in railways.. More importantly, Japan has experience of dealing with the issues we face in Pakistan as it has recently faced similar issues in China (talking about the bad infrastructure etc). Japanese don't have experience of working in areas like Karachi..
Japanese will have to first learn how to deal with Mafias in Pakistan.. Chinese are already experts in dealing with mafias.. In my honest opinion, even if we give the project to Japan, there is a risk of their departure at a later stage..
Have you been to Tokyo?
Lol
I would be very careful in saying Japanese don't know how to deal with the Mafia.
Saiko!!
Mafias tou kab ke khatam hochukay... I mean agar hain bhi, tou Karachi ke mafias main aur Japanese Mafias main zameen aasman ka farq hai.. Japan has no clue.. Chinese have been dealing with them for years now..
I live in Karachi, I know what they will go through..
Ever wondered why Japanese consulate in Karachi is the most secured than the rest.
Simply because they are hardworking people who trust Pakistan.
in 2 jumlon main rabt nazar nahi aaraha..
Yaha pareshan hojate hai k kisse deal Karen.
Few Points ,Costs are an important factor no doubt, but having several "Suppliers" for example, helps mitigate some risks involved with having just one supplier/party. All respect to China, but personally as a businessman, I would never ever rely on one party to provide everything. It gives it far too much leverage over me, apart from the previously mentioned issues. It also provides a wider range of channels from which to procure goods and services, creating competition between different companies and service providers, and ensuring a higher quality of work and end product.
And more importantly, it provides an incentive to other foreign companies that we are open for business and investment from a much more diverse source, instead of showing bias to one over another.