Indian Ocean Peaceful Geo-Political Pivot Or Contentious Source of Hedging

to bully and to look out for our strategic interest is totally different did our navy bully or harass your navy?????

we are looking for global stage hence all this weapon system.....China can do it but we can't do it in our own little way huh!!!!!!!
Except for USA,China and Russia there is no country in this world that can match us in military capabilities....Pak has nuclear weapon hence yes real pain in the neck but our armed force are more in no., better equiped then pak so don't try to match us

ha ha ha ha ............ don't post mumbo-jumbo. Take a deep breath, absorb what I said above and post an intelligent and analytical reply rather than a mere bull-crap. ha ha ha ha

ha ha ha!!!!!!! did i crack a joke and whats with mumbo jumbo?????? typical reply given by someone who has no points to argue!!!!!!!!!
Bull crap is smeared across your PC hence you have no idea what i am saying!!!!

we are dealing it with trade and creating enough military deterence for China so that both country can weigh the advantage and disadvantage of going into a war - STRATEGY

O Bhai,
It is India who has publicly declared China as her number one enemy. To create deterrence you need to show that you can deter. 80% of your army is deployed against Pakistan and you are deterring China. Have a heart yaar. Kya baat kar rahe ho

@ Ticker :

China's stakes with India is much much higher than with Pakistan : trade.

Plus did you take into consideration our EEZ size and coastline length before rambling off the numbers of the ships ?

Also, tell me what % of PN inventory is of Chinese origin , you guys are still using ex-British and American ships and also American weaponry till date.

So much so for the affection for China.

O Bhai,
It is India who has publicly declared China as her number one enemy. To create deterrence you need to show that you can deter. 80% of your army is deployed against Pakistan and you are deterring China. Have a heart yaar. Kya baat kar rahe ho

By saying 80% of our army is deployed against pak you want to make yourself feel important sorry i won't burst your bubble go ahead bhai!!!!!!!!!

If you know whats going on in our NE areas you will know what defence capabilities we are building to counter China through militarily apart from that there is no serious issues with leaders of both the country even when WEN JIABO came to India he wrote INDIA CHINA FRIENDS/BROTHERS(not sure) in mandarin what should we Indians take it up for????????????????

O Bhai,

80%? Seems you're still stuck in 90s. More than 70% of our armed forces is placed along the eastern border. There are hardly a third of our military present in the western border. There's barely any militancy there to continue the presence of so many troops. Majority of our troops are present in the eastern command.

It is time you Indians also learn about India duplicity. You think we here don't know stuff and you can come here and lie in this flagrant manner. Whatever I have mentioned below has been taken from Indian web sites.

Indian border with China including the LAC is about 3380 kilometers. With Pakistan the border including the LOC spans for about 2012 kilometers. To defend this vast space Indian Army’s current deployment posture and the increase after new raising still indicate a heavy bias towards Pakistan.

Commands (less Training Command)
Indian Army Deployment Against Pakistan - 5
Against China (Current Deployment) - 1
Against China (After New Raising) - 1

Corps
Indian Army Deployment Against Pakistan - 10
Against China (Current Deployment) - 3
Against China (After New Raising) - 4

Armoured Divisions
Indian Army Deployment Against Pakistan - 3
Against China (Current Deployment) - 0
Against China (After New Raising) - 0

Mechanised Divisions
Indian Army Deployment Against Pakistan - 5

Infantry Divisions
Indian Army Deployment Against Pakistan - 17

Mountain Divisions In case of war with Pakistan, most are moved to Pakistan borders
Against China (Current Deployment) - 7
Against China (After New Raising) - 11

Artillery Divisions
Against China (After New Raising) - 1

Independent Armoured Brigades
Indian Army Deployment Against Pakistan - 7

Independent Mechanised Brigades
Indian Army Deployment Against Pakistan - 2

Independent Infantry Brigades
Indian Army Deployment Against Pakistan - 2

Mountain Brigades
Against China (Current Deployment) - 1
Against China (After New Raising) - 3

Independent Artillery Brigades

Independent Air Defence Brigades
Indian Army Deployment Against Pakistan - 12

Out of the current 6 Army operational commands (each comprising 2–3 Corps) 5 are deployed against Pakistan. Eastern Command touted to be deployed against China, also looks after the Bangladesh and Myanmar borders.

Out of thirteen Corps’, ten are defensive, while three are Strike Corps. The three strike Corps consist of 3 Armoured, 4 Infantry, 5 Mechanised and 3 Artillery Divisions. The only country against whom these mechanised components numbering over 3000 tanks and armoured personnel carriers could be employed, is Pakistan and not China due to the mountainous nature of the terrain. Ten out of the thirteen Corps are deployed against Pakistan.

The Indian Navy is equipped with over 140 surface ships, 17 submarines and 119 aircraft/helicopters, divided in 4 Naval Commands with bulk deployed against Pakistan. Out of 16 Indian Navy bases, only 4 are deployed on its eastern coast against purported Chinese intrusion in the Bay of Bengal whereas 12 naval bases are on its western coast against Pakistan.

Indian Air Force consists of 5 operational commands. It has 44 Operational Squadrons and 12 Transport Squadrons. 29 Indian Air Bases are deployed against Pakistan as compared to 6 against China, which India calls it enemy number one.

Please do not come here and spread your lies. Thank you.

It is time you Indians also learn about India duplicity. You think we here don't know stuff and you can come here and lie in this flagrant manner. Whatever I have mentioned below has been taken from Indian web sites.

You seriously think that whatever the runaway media says is true? Most of the media is given over-freedom in our country and they naturally like to grab the news for everything by blowing things out of proportion. I have immediate family in armed forces here with people posted in J&K, Rajasthan, here in Sikkim and in Arunachal Pradesh. You seriously think they're drunk on duty when they talk? The problem from your country has shrunk drastically and we don't need to keep 7 lakh soldiers in Western border. The shift was seen after 2008 when attacks from Kasab-like lunatics was considered as a likely threat than tanks rolling into our side of the border. That is why I said we have moved thousands of soldiers from western to eastern command.

Indian border with China including the LAC is about 3380 kilometers. With Pakistan the border including the LOC spans for about 2012 kilometers. To defend this vast space Indian Army’s current deployment posture and the increase after new raising still indicate a heavy bias towards Pakistan.

Only armored divisions and strike corps are positioned in western command (which is well, a sizable part of our armory). It is done because we cannot use battle tanks in himalayas so naturally deserts and rocky plains are much more suited areas for tank and armored deployment. LOC has been secured to a large extent but LAC is an issue still. we need more troops here rather than near your border. Why do you think Kayani gambled removing PA troops from LOC in first place? Do you think with his India obsession he would have taken such a risk had there been so many soldiers as you mention present there? The reason why Kayani gambled this is because we removed a lot of troops from LOC since 2008.

Out of the current 6 Army operational commands (each comprising 2–3 Corps) 5 are deployed against Pakistan. Eastern Command touted to be deployed against China, also looks after the Bangladesh and Myanmar borders.

Again, misinformation can be a very dangerous thing. The eastern command has significantly more troops. As you calculated our border with Chinese is longer than yours and needs more mountain divisions to see what's going on. Burmese border is managed by a handful units like SF-21 (along Naga border) while Bangladesh border is managed by BSF. That's not my own story; it is IA's doctrine.

Out of thirteen Corps’, ten are defensive, while three are Strike Corps. The three strike Corps consist of 3 Armoured, 4 Infantry, 5 Mechanised and 3 Artillery Divisions. The only country against whom these mechanised components numbering over 3000 tanks and armoured personnel carriers could be employed, is Pakistan and not China due to the mountainous nature of the terrain. Ten out of the thirteen Corps are deployed against Pakistan.

So what are you telling? We should not deploy tanks at all? Obviously the armored divisions are in western command. But almost entire divisions of mountain are in LAC.

The Indian Navy is equipped with over 140 surface ships, 17 submarines and 119 aircraft/helicopters, divided in 4 Naval Commands with bulk deployed against Pakistan. Out of 16 Indian Navy bases, only 4 are deployed on its eastern coast against purported Chinese intrusion in the Bay of Bengal whereas 12 naval bases are on its western coast against Pakistan.

That is because we would know of PLAN's intrusion long before they are able to get into BoB. While Navy's western command has to be on high alert not only because of you but because of pirates. Since last month, we've been catching boatfuls of pirates and illegals off-coast Lakshadweep. That's not a good sign. Hence Navy needs a heftier presence in Western command. There are already enough radars and watch stations in Andaman and Nicobar to check any intrusion from the east. However, immediate requirement due to multiple threats is in western theatre.

Indian Air Force consists of 5 operational commands. It has 44 Operational Squadrons and 12 Transport Squadrons. 29 Indian Air Bases are deployed against Pakistan as compared to 6 against China, which India calls it enemy number one.

You're telling me statistics of 1999. Why are you posting ancient figures and trolling here? :blink:

Please do not come here and spread your lies. Thank you.

I'd tell you to stop being so freaked out day and night about Indian military on our border. The military deployments are kept in secondary bases far behind frontlines as BSF manages all the borders during peacetimes. That's a GOI policy. Not my own story. Got it? :hitwall:

The bias of Indian armed forces deployment is Pakistan centric. If you mark the peace time locations of your armed forces on map, you will see the bias and you would understand where does it pose threat. If the forces located closer to Pakistan borders are moved to China, it will take a lot of time and the war may be over by the time these forces can be employed along India-China border. One of the major reasons your cold start doctrine was put in place was to reduce mobilization time, which the Indian newspapers said was about a month. Essentially this was for the forces deployed either far away from Pakistani border or were part of eastern command which took more time to reach their war time locations. Therefore India is raising some more troops for China front so that they could react in time and be deployed early.

You need to learn more about army deployments and movement before commenting like a novice, which you are. Please dont bang your head against the wall, the sound of emptiness is creating noise pollution. Thank you. :)

The bias of Indian armed forces deployment is Pakistan centric. If you mark the peace time locations of your armed forces on map, you will see the bias and you would understand where does it pose threat. If the forces located closer to Pakistan borders are moved to China, it will take a lot of time and the war may be over by the time these forces can be employed along India-China border. One of the major reasons your cold start doctrine was put in place was to reduce mobilization time, which the Indian newspapers said was about a month. Essentially this was for the forces deployed either far away from Pakistani border or were part of eastern command which took more time to reach their war time locations. Therefore India is raising some more troops for China front so that they could react in time and be deployed early.

You're right about cold start. No doubt on that. What peace time bias are you talking about? The forces closer to Pakistan are essentially a part of Western commands and are kept in secondary bases while BSF patrols the border for intrusion rather than Army directly. Only during wartime is the IA supposed to come to the borders. This is a part of the procedure. The closest base to Pakistan is 100 km away from international borders where Brazen Chariots was conducted last year. I think 100 Km for a secondary base is a decent distance away in international context.

What can we do if we have a huge Army? We're a big country which means we need more people to man the stations in case things become unpleasant. Even the Arjuns are based in reasonably far away and well within the limitations of peacetime placement regulations. As I said, BSF does the patrolling; Not IA.

You need to learn more about army deployments and movement before commenting like a novice, which you are. Please dont bang your head against the wall, the sound of emptiness is creating noise pollution. Thank you. :)

I think having a family full of military personnel, I would know better than Zaid Hamid and Shuja Pasha about Indian Army and its deployments during peace time as well as war time apart from its procedures and doctrines. The majority of our armory is in western command but there's a rapid movement of troops from west to east. Face it: we will never completely remove our troops from Western side even if it is the most peaceful time. The Army's job is to stay and be ready in case of something goes wrong.

Stop living in a false-world which has already brought your country to ruins and the more paranoid you get, the faster your ship is sinking by the day. Rather than approaching the light at the end of the tunnel, you're think it is a train and running in the opposite direction into further darkness. Your generals' false notions against us to keep them in power and in people's good books is the reason that has brought so much destruction to your country. Your policies of nurturing militant groups whether against us or some other country as "backups" is the reason why there's a virtual war going on in your country.

Rather than accepting the problem, you're further blaming everyone else for the chaos reigning in your country. Trust me mate, it will get worse the more hardline you get with your uncalled fears and needless paranoia created by your Army that is more of a culprit than common Pakistanis.

Stop spreading bull-crap and rhetoric instead of answering with appropriate reasoning. Ask some guys from your family who are in Indian Army before expressing your opinion, which shows the fact that you do not have an idea and is merely getting emotional. Get educated before analysing just because you have an internet connection.

Such is the hatred for Pakistan that you people can't understand or don't want to understand the reality and the truth. Cheers :)

Stop spreading bull-crap and rhetoric instead of answering with appropriate reasoning. Ask some guys from your family who are in Indian Army before expressing your opinion, which shows the fact that you do not have an idea and is merely getting emotional. Get educated before analysing just because you have an internet connection.

Tsk tsk... I pity your ignorance. Denial after all has been an effective weapon of Pakistan since its inception. I rest my case since you do not wish to learn of something on ground and build theories in the air. Giving me numbers of 90s won't change the ground reality. You need to understand the movement of units from west to east has been taking place in the last 2 years very swiftly compared to previous decades.

Such is the hatred for Pakistan that you people can't understand or don't want to understand the reality and the truth. Cheers :)

Such is your paranoia and delusion of India that you will deny what we tell you which is right in our territory and in front of our eyes. Happy denials. After all, that's what you've been doing and taking your nation down. I would encourage it.

If you think you know everything, in your next post bring the statistics as posted by Ticker or just move on instead of just writing english because you know to.

Lets see if you can do that. If you can't just shut up please:) and dont waste the bandwidth here.

To say Indian Ocean will be dominated by the Indian navy is delusional and idiotic.
China can easily arm Pakistan.

To think China will have same influence as India when it doesn't even have a base in Indian ocean is beyond delusion.

To say Indian Ocean will be dominated by the Indian navy is delusional and idiotic.
China can easily arm Pakistan.

And she is doing just that as we can see from the slew of arsenal that you got from them. but dominating and controlling another's territory especially an ocean is not that easy when you don't have a base there or any part of land that is legally under Pakistani governance. On the other hand, we just happen to have southern part of our country right into the IOR heartland.

Please know the difference between getting armed to defend a coastal territory and having the arsenal, supply chain and logistics to enter another's territorial waters.