Indian Motion Pictures Producers Association retains ban on Pakistani artists

BY NEWS DESK

FEBRUARY 23, 2018

News Desk |

Indian Motion Pictures Producers Association (IMPPA) on Thursday, refused to lift the ban anytime soon that was imposed two years ago on Pakistani artists working in the Bollywood industry citing the strained diplomatic relations between the two countries.

T.P. Aggarwal, President of IMPPA, said that the organization was against Fawad Khan being paid INR 5 Crore for his work in Karan Johar’s ‘Ae Dil Hai Mushkil’. He added that they are “against the view of allowing Pakistani artists in Bollywood”.

Recently, the members of the association raised objections on hiring services of Pakistani singers like Atif Aslam and Rahat Fateh Ali Khan in ‘Tiger Zinda Hai’ and ‘Welcome To New York’, respectively.

Read more: PEMRA and the fate of Indian shows

Singer-turned-politician Babul Supriyo stormed Indian media with his statements in which he openly objected to the selection of Atif Aslam for ‘Dil Diyyan Gallan’ in Tiger Zinda Hai and Rahat Fateh Ali Khan for ‘Istehar’ in Sonakshi Sinha’s ‘Welcome To New York’.

“Dil Diyan Gallan is a nice song. There is another nice song sung by Atif in Bajrangi Bhaijaan. My morals as an artist or sensibilities agree that artists have no boundary”.

He went on to add, “I definitely want to believe that but having said that our soldiers are being killed. At a time when we have cornered Pakistan, if we can stop Pakistani players playing in the IPL, maybe it would have been nice if Bollywood showed solidarity and took a stand”.

A music composer from ‘Welcome To New York’, Shamit Tandon expressed his disappointment on the organization’s decision to retain the ban on Pakistani artists.

Read more: Indian Minister demands ban on Atif and Rahat for being Pakistani

“Pakistani artists like Rahat Sahab, Ghulam Ali are gifted and all of us in India love their voice. It’s sad that we may have to stop working with artists across the border despite our respect for them as vocalists and knowing them individually as good human beings and friends”.

Tandon says, “For us, the nation comes first so we will stop working with Pakistani artists to respect sentiments in India. And I would also like to add that I have the greatest respect for Rahat Sahab. This is in no way to say we are against Pakistani artists at all”.
https://www.globalvillagespace.com/...tists/?amp_markup=1&__twitter_impression=true

Shameless Indians of Pdf will celebrate this ban LMAO as their tiny ehos revolve around their pron bollywood industry but same shameless peopel will not eff from this Pakistani forum. Ghairat ka lafaz is not found in their vocab.

Keep the ban please.
Why we should say keep the ban or Oh thanks for the ban? Jab yehi banned actors pakistan may beth kay sara din apnay twitter and isntagram say bollywood actors, directors and movies kay baray may promotional tweets kartay rehtay hain aur rally for their films releases in pakistan.

So bottomline is these india appeasing actors are absolutely worthless whether india bans them or not and also despite the ban they will support indians from social media , like when sajal went to india and got banned , recently she was seen instagramming wishing sridevi daughter on her first movies first look release and she was sharing the poster on her insta.

I have stopped following many india lover artists like atif aslam ,rahat , saba and many others,

When they will stop playing with us in CT & WC ?

I have to say the fact - Pak is run by morons with no dignity or respect. Why would you want Pak actors and actresses to go to these indian basta** is beyond comprehension? Pak should have an exchange program with Turkey, Iran and Central Asian states. This is where it belongs NOT the monkey-land called india. There needs to be an immediate BAN on ALL indian movies and TV channels.

It's an advisory, not a ban. It is not a Govt. body which can declare or enforce a ban. Feel free to correct me if wrong.