India proposing second railway route of Rs 7000 crore through Bangladesh bypassing Chicken's Neck

Hopefully that witch Hasina don't do this deal.

If you want this railway then you have to give me Shraddha Kapoor as my wife as a compensation.
Sure.
Build, operate, and transfer!
People do leasehold improvements all the time. All the major grocery chains kinda work like this in USA.
1683776904006.png

Look at the location of proposed railway line. It will pass through the narrow waist of the north Bengal which connect Rangpur division with the rest of Bangladesh. With this railroad, India will bisect Bangladesh in this strategically and militarily sensitive area. In 1971 war, India attacked from Hilli border, the Indian bulge in the left side to cut off Rangpur division from the rest of East Pakistan. They could not do that because of fierce Pakistani resistance and because the war was over in mere 13 days. Because this proposed rail-line run east-west axis, it will be little use for Bangladesh, as our transport link generally run north-south axis. We will have to provide huge amount of land to build a railway solely for Indian benefit, it will bisect our Rangpur division from the rest of the country.

Most worrisome would be, in any hypothetical military conflict with India in future, Indian army will get tremendous logistical support to capture Rangpur division because of this railway connecting two Indian cities bisecting Bangladesh. Any military planner of Bangladesh, even with a iota of brain should dread such a prospect, especially with a much more militarily powerful neighbor like India, where majority of people and govt have bad attitude towards Bangladesh. Go to social media, tons of Indians are lamenting, why India did not capture Rangpur division in 1971 to widen siliguri corridor to solve the chicken neck problem. Many are advocating military conquest or giving ultimatum to Bangladesh to handover that territory or at least swap land for it. I am sure, many BJP leaders also think in a similar line. After all, leaders come from common people.

Only a shortsighted traitor and military-strategically illiterate person of Bangladesh can think of giving India rail corridor in that sensitive and crucial area of Bangladesh.

Sure.
Build, operate, and transfer!
People do leasehold improvements all the time. All the major grocery chains kinda work like this in USA.

Ashol uddeshho to Rail transport na.

Unara chicken neck nia mushkil e aasey. Ekta alternate rasta ready rakhtey hobey.

@Homo Sapiens bhai hit the nail on the head - see above.

If they can get the control of that East-West transport line, they can cut off and use entire Rangpur Division to transport war materiel, Chicken's neck becomes irrelevant.

Eibar buijha lon.

View attachment 928930
Look at the location of proposed railway line. It will pass through the narrow waist of the north Bengal which connect Rangpur division with the rest of Bangladesh. With this railroad, India will bisect Bangladesh in this strategically and militarily sensitive area. In 1971 war, India attacked from Hilli border, the Indian bulge in the left side to cut off Rangpur division from the rest of East Pakistan. They could not do that because of fierce Pakistani resistance and because the war was over in mere 13 days. Because this proposed rail-line run east-west axis, it will be little use for Bangladesh, as our transport link generally run north-south axis. We will have to provide huge amount of land to build a railway solely for Indian benefit, it will bisect our Rangpur division from the rest of the country.

Most worrisome would be, in any hypothetical military conflict with India in future, Indian army will get tremendous logistical support because of this railway connecting two Indian cities bisecting Bangladesh. Any militray planner of Bangladesh, even with a iota of brain should dread such a prospect, especially with a much more militarily powerful neighbor like India, where majority of people and govt have bad attitude towards Bangladesh. Go to social media, tons of Indian are lamenting, why India did not capture Rangpur division in 1971 to widen siliguri corridor to solve the chicken neck problem. Many are advocating militray conquest or giving ultimatum to Bangladesh to handover that territory or at least sale it to India. I am sure, many BJP leaders also think in similar line. Afterall, leaders come from common people.

Only a shortsighted traitor and military-strategically illeterate person of Bangladesh can think of giving India rail transit in that sensitive and crucial area of Bangladesh.
Advantages
1. Infrastructure improvement of 7000 crores which can be used by BD railways which includes a bridge over Jamuna.
2. Royalty from the transportation.

Zero benefit to us of course.

You cannot use the sovereign terrain of another country to extend your railroad.

Sheer lunacy.

Exactly....
Unless there is a benefit to BD, I do not expect BD to have any reason to accept the proposal. But i feel, there should be something mutually beneficial proposal should be there in this project.

Day by day I am loosing hope of long-term prospect of Bangladesh surviving as an independent, sovereign country with territorial integrity intact. We have such a treachrous and short-sighted leadership who will appease India at any cost just to cling on to power. This is why such an audacious proposal of India as if Bangladesh solely exist for the benefit of Bharatmata. It has to reap apart its chest to give India advantageous transport corridor.

BNP is not much better, they have no vision to protect Bangladesh from geo-political vulture or strengthening national security. If they get support what BAL is getting from India, they will also not hesitate to appease India harming Bangladesh's national interests. Common people are ignorant, complacent, living day to day existence, huge and influential section of them believe, India is our forever friend and protector because of their ''help'' in 1971.
Bangladeshis are not united as one people, everybody is bloody selfish and thinks for themselves.

One of the problems is that the current politicians are old hags that are loyal to India. The youths of Bangladesh needs to take responsibility to keep Bangladesh as an independent country.

Bangladesh needs to help India in this regard, kindly remember our help to liberate Bangladesh from the evil clutches of the Pakistani military.
We are just asking for transit, the land and infrastructure will always belong to Bangladesh.

Bugger off, it was one the easiest wars a third part got involved in that century. With Russia aiding you. You lost little to none personnel in bdesh.

Once paks were defeated , to stripped bdesh f what ever useful industrial machinery.

The ammunition that was donated all over from the world , India kept the best, gave the worst one's to bdesh.

Your that has benefitted , as you don't have a hostile nuclear armed nation on left. Other wise you would have cluster aimed with nukes and aircraft, from left, right & North China.

Go and take your violins somewhere else.

View attachment 928930

Most worrisome would be, in any hypothetical military conflict with India in future, Indian army will get tremendous logistical support to capture Rangpur division because of this railway connecting two Indian cities bisecting Bangladesh. Any military planner of Bangladesh, even with a iota of brain should dread such a prospect, especially with a much more militarily powerful neighbor like India, where majority of people and govt have bad attitude towards Bangladesh. Go to social media, tons of Indians are lamenting, why India did not capture Rangpur division in 1971 to widen siliguri corridor to solve the chicken neck problem. Many are advocating military conquest or giving ultimatum to Bangladesh to handover that territory or at least swap land for it. I am sure, many BJP leaders also think in a similar line. After all, leaders come from common people.

Only a shortsighted traitor and military-strategically illiterate person of Bangladesh can think of giving India rail transit in that sensitive and crucial area of Bangladesh.
India knew Hasina Bibi would accept the Indian proposal with a broad left-to-right smile as if she has been waiting for it.

Hili is strategically important. IA troops could not just capture this land because somehow the PA troops found it or made it invincible.

After the 1971 war ended, IA sent a few survey teams to understand/ research why the IA troops failed to capture Hili after making continuous attacks.

I read one account written by Brigadier Malik of PA. I forgot the details. But Malik told of the very strategic importance of Hili.

Malik lost his way to the Camp and was captured by the Muktis and villagers. He was handed over to India.

I believe Hasina Bibi does not understand a thing about the strategic importance of any area. She is now giving up our strongest border card to our eternal enemy with a smiling face.

BD needs a fair election to change India-centric policies.

View attachment 928930

Only a shortsighted traitor and military-strategically illiterate person of Bangladesh can think of giving India rail corridor in that sensitive and crucial area of Bangladesh.
It all depends on how much the PM needs India, not the other way around.

One question - what substantial benefit will we get in return?

Good question, I really don't see any. Neither substantial nor even insignificant.

The realization hasn't come in the Bangladesh side that this is not something Indians can bargain for.

Hili (like @bluesky and @Homo Sapiens bhai has mentioned above in this thread) is geo-strategically super important.

You cannot give that away so Indians will have an easier time with moving their troops and warmachines to Assam and NE regions.

@Beast, @beijingwalker and @etylo brothers your thoughts.

I will reuse @Homo Sapiens bhai's wonderful map here (hope he doesn't mind), so everyone can see what this rail route entails. It will cut off the entire Rangpur region from the rest of Bangladesh. Later Indians will ask to have free access to this region (or even forcefully take it).

The time is now to have enhanced armed forces reinforcements in that area, given current Indian govt. plans and machinations.

1683776904006-png.928930

One question - what substantial benefit will we get in return?
@leonblack08 bhai , ei type benefit hote pare! 🤔

Although we could have earned billions of taka if we were independent entity!

@leonblack08 bhai , ei type benefit hote pare! 🤔

Although we could have earned billions of taka if we were independent entity!

I believe a lot of Bangladeshis suffer under the misconception that you can make money from giving transit (any transit) to India.

You can't.

I am against giving transit to Indian govt. and businesses. Once you set a precedent it becomes a strong argument for Indians.

There are several reasons why this is a very bad idea.

a) It is a security issue geopolitically.

b) You cannot make money from Indians, they can't afford proper transit rates, they will complain forever, in fact they are complaining even before transit is even given.

c) Economically we have nothing to gain by making things cheaper to buy Indian products in the NE states of India. They should be buying Bangladeshi products which is a natural.

d) NE states including Tripura, Manipur, Assam and other states should ideally supply raw materials (lumber, clinker, minerals) for further processing and value addition in Bangladesh, we gain nothing by industrializing these states which they can't do anyway, they hardly have any people to man (or woman) them with.

Hopefully that witch Hasina don't do this deal.

If you want this railway then you have to give me Shraddha Kapoor as my wife as a compensation.
She will if India really wants it. India has AL by its balls, thats a fact. Only India can really shield Hasina from being ousted. Thats a huge leverage for Bhartis.

But AL has only itself to blame. By being extremely accomodating to India, in exchange for international (western) support (indian lobbying), they have reduced the strategic flexibility of BD.

This a major blunder that may harm BD national interest for decades. BD should have strengthened its relationships directly with EU and US, without using proxy Indian leverage there.

BD should have bougth more Weapons from USA long time ago. Go by the example of Qatar. A small nation that withstood immense pressure from its larger neighbors like SA and UAE. Pakistan is a autonomous country precisely because of its policy of close Military connections with both China and the US.

Hasina is a women, can't expect much from her other than violence against her own people.

The time is now to have enhanced armed forces reinforcements in that area, given current Indian govt. plans and machinations.
Bangladesh army have one division at Rangpur and another one in Bogura. But this is not enough, there should be 4 division strong troops deployment in and around Rangpur division. One division can be raised at Thakurgaon and another near hilli, Dinajpur. But even this 4 division would be meaningless, if we ourselves, invite crocodile by digging canal (খাল কেটে কুমির আনা).

Rangpur division is at huge risk of Indian forceful capture. Already there is enough consensus among general bharati public that Indira Gandhi did a big blunder by not capturing northern portion of Bangladesh and solving chicken neck problem in 1971, which was a golden opportunity. I think Indian govt. also think in a similar line. They are waiting for a future opportunity. In any future war, India will invade Rangpur and Chattogram (another Indian target to eliminate land-lockedness of their north-east).

A popular Bharati consensus is, India should annex Rangpur and Chattogram region of Bangladesh to remove geographical problems of their country and turn rest of the Bangladesh into a mega slum for Bangladeshi Muslims and dumping ground of all those unwanted Muslims in India. A high electrical fence should install all around it and BSF will exercise shoot to kill policy for any Bangladeshi come near the border. The rump Bangladeshi state will run by a puppet govt, will not have any military, only some paramilitary forces to mow down ''Islamic terrorists''.

Hindu nationalist Bharat is the mortal enemy of Bangladesh, but most of the Bangladeshi people want to deny it. They are blissfully ignorant. I know it because I have enough exposure with what bharatis think about Bangladesh.

This sort of corridor demand may itself become their excuse to launch an invasion of Bangladesh in the future when more extremist hindu comes into power in Delhi (yogi adityanath type). Hitler started WW2 for Danzig corridor demanded from Poland, which Poland refused. All the Indians think, capturing Bangladesh would be very easy because it has no military power worth mentioning. Unfortunately they are largely correct. We are 170 million ship lead by a power hungry leadership with no vision, no patriotism. They will flee to 'Begum Para' abandoning the country when first Indian bullet will be fired.