India beefs up defence along China-India border

Ahmm why are they doing this btw?did China did something like this on their side of border?

Yes.
China has developed extensive military infrastructure on their side of the border. During the Kargil conflict the Chinese had moved some personnel along the border, but India countered that with strategic airlift of our personnel. The Chinese didn't expect India to have such Strategic airlift capability. They then started developing extensive military infrastructure - roadways, railways, small airfields etc. And that is why India is doing the same. BTW very few Chinese frontline airplanes can operate out of the high altitude airstrips in Tibet. A major drawback.

They do have extended runways in Tibet to offset the altitude problems. But it still doesnt change things much there. The road and rail network are a much bigger threat.

I hope the connectivity to Arunachal increases. As of now, the only way to goto Arunachal is using a chopper from Assam, or a 7 hour road trip from Guwahati to Itanagar.

They really ought to fast track the airport building and trans arunachal highway network there.

Yes.
China has developed extensive military infrastructure on their side of the border. During the Kargil conflict the Chinese had moved some personnel along the border, but India countered that with strategic airlift of our personnel. The Chinese didn't expect India to have such Strategic airlift capability. They then started developing extensive military infrastructure - roadways, railways, small airfields etc. And that is why India is doing the same. BTW very few Chinese frontline airplanes can operate out of the high altitude airstrips in Tibet. A major drawback.

Just to add some more: India got caught off guard during 1962 conflict and India does not want to be in that position again. India is not going to war with China, but there is nothing wrong with being prepared for the worst.

I proved what I posted, so it looks like you just got your *** whipped in public.

Like I said, just another idiot.

The fist link provided shows a video in mandarin - which shows no crash landing or anything at all. It looks more like a propaganda video where the Chinese seem to be claiming that the J-10 has been crash landing certified or something like that.

Now in the second link is of a blog/forum. Now when did blog's or forums start qualifying as media outlets. What ever they say is unreliable at best. Show me one Chinese news agency that reported on problems being faced by the J-10 program or likewise.

Lastly the third video is again in mandarin which i do not understand and i am sure that you too don't. The video shows a PAF officer attending some kind of ceremony - hardly the place that the Chinese will admit that the J-10 is a 3rd generation fighter and it crashed during trials, since they have to sell these toys to your air force.

A rather lame attempt i would say. Come up with some like to a Chinese news agency, kid. No some blog where people talk about their dreams. And come up with some video in English, so that we all can understand what is being said.

And ya you seem to have very conveniently ignored my question about the news blackout about the Tianmen anniverseary in the Chinese media? Having to eat your own words now kid. Leaves a bad taste in the mouth doesn't it?

Tianmen mein kya hain? Aapse kya matlab?

Please stick to the topic, otherwise I will start posting India's Operation Bluestar and other dirty incidents like temple stampede mass killing etc after taking a permission from the mods.

Do you want me to do that?

Tianmen mein kya hain? Aapse kya matlab?

You don't know what happened in Tianmen?? Mujhe se matlab hai, matlab sirf mujhe se nahi matlab insiniyat se hai jise haiwano ne waha kuchal diya tha. Samjhe.

Please stick to the topic, otherwise I will start posting India's Operation Bluestar and other dirty incidents like temple stampede mass killing etc after taking a permission from the mods.

Do you want me to do that?

Go ahead post abut Blue Star and don't be surprised if some Sikh from India defends it. For your kind information the Commanding Officer for Blue Star was a Sikh officer of the Inidan Army. The president of India during bluestar was a Sikh. We have a current Sikh prime minister who has just been elected for a second term. The last army chief of the Indian Army was a Sikh. And you where saying?

As for temple stampedes worst stampedes have happened during the Haj. If you are ignorant of that i would gladly provide a few links.

You don't know what happened in Tianmen?? Mujhe se matlab hai, matlab sirf mujhe se nahi matlab insiniyat se hai jise haiwano ne waha kuchal diya tha. Samjhe.

Thodasa apne woh bahu kathit insaniyat agar apne kuchhle huye asprishya dalits, tirbals, shudras aur dusre minorities se dikhate toh behtar hota.

(If possible, please show your so called humanity to your own untouchable low castes and minorities)

Go ahead post abut Blue Star and don't be surprised if some Sikh from India defends it. For your kind information the Commanding Officer for Blue Star was a Sikh officer of the Inidan Army. The president of India during bluestar was a Sikh. We have a current Sikh prime minister who has just been elected for a second term. The last army chief of the Indian Army was a Sikh. And you where saying?

As for temple stampedes worst stampedes have happened during the Haj. If you are ignorant of that i would gladly provide a few links.

If there anything called Tianmen occurred in China at all, the premiere of China must that time have been a Chinese and also the army men were Chinese too.

Conversation ended, and please do not provoke me.

Wow some obscure agency is your proof lol, Still waiting for those serials

ok umm u said that the serials stopped at sb-50 for Russian made planes and resumed at sb-100 for HAL made planes, well look at this pic.

sb-052 and sb-122 both together

btw u might need to zoom in a little.

link:

VKSL8245-780215.JPG (image)

i think this proves that there's at least 122 mki's in service.

ok umm u said that the serials stopped at sb-50 for Russian made planes and resumed at sb-100 for HAL made planes, well look at this pic.

sb-052 and sb-122 both together

btw u might need to zoom in a little.

link:

VKSL8245-780215.JPG (image)

i think this proves that there's at least 122 mki's in service.

Gucci your logic is flawed. There will be a few more IRKUT aircraft remember? 40 more (probably where the aircraft from the new sqaudron are coming from.)

We have all discussed this on a previous thread.

I suggested 100 planes.

Some one else said only 60 may have been a mod not sure.

Others took the Bhrat Raksha website nos of 80.

We all know for definite there are 5 Squadrons the last being no31..

We also know because we can see SERIEL NO going up SB122...

Ans very importantly SB52...

So we know now SB NOS went beyond 52 but did they go right upto 100

Do they go beyond SB122 yet???

Chinese state media runs documentaries calling the FC-1 a 2.5 generation fighter and J-10 a 3rd generation fighter. They basically admit China is at least a generation behind the USA in combat aircraft design. Recently they also reported that a J-10 crashed due to engine problems and China's first high performance turbofan engines have quality and reliability problems after leaving the production line.

What were you saying again? Idiot.

Remind us why China isn't buying so many Russian SAM systems these days?

Yeah, you Indian (and Russian) kids just keep showing how insecure and stupid you are.
Dude very well said:pakistan::china::usflag:

Thodasa apne woh bahu kathit insaniyat agar apne kuchhle huye asprishya dalits, tirbals, shudras aur dusre minorities se dikhate toh behtar hota.

(If possible, please show your so called humanity to your own untouchable low castes and minorities)

As goes the popular saying "ignorance is bliss". Dude educate yourself about India. Ranting about past evils will do you no good, except making everyone recognize your stark ignorance.

If there anything called Tianmen occurred in China at all, the premiere of China must that time have been a Chinese and also the army men were Chinese too.

Conversation ended, and please do not provoke me.

Your attempt at dragging bluestar in the discussion was clearly to portray India as anti-minority, but you got a mouthful there didn't you. And your ignorance about things like Tianmen is clearly what i am talking about.No logic and only ranting seems to be your style. Go get yourself educated first then come and talk.

Consider the discussion ended.

hey guys

see the red thing below the intake of SB 122 .....

d285b11a3baeb7469b778b3ade5accab.jpg

its supposed to be IAI ELM-2060 Recce Pod...this might not be new to some experienced professionals but it is certainly new to me...here is the full description

Since its formation in 1953 Israeli Aircraft Industries (IAI) has developed considerable expertise in developing airborne reconnaissance equipment, generally tailored to meet the specific requirements of the Israeli Air Force. Often to prevent the capabilities of the systems they employ becoming known by the belligerent Arab nations that surround Israel, they make little public comment on them and generally don’t offer them for sale. Sometimes the specialist equipment they deploy is American and this is only sold or loaned to Israel with specific limitations on the transfer of technology. However, in a global market with many competitors, the Israeli government and IAI know that to raise revenue and remain in business whenever possible IAI must now its technology offer for sale and one item they have recently sold is the EL/M-2060P reconnaissance pod.
IAI ELM-2060 Recce Pod

The IAI EL/M-2060P is a high performance Synthetic Aperture Radar (SAR) with Ground Moving Target Indicator (GMTI) reconnaissance system. The complete system consists of the SAR/GMTI and a C, X or Ku band data link mounted in a 590 kg pod that can be carried externally on a variety of fighter aircraft, together with a Ground Exploitation Station (GES). The EL/M-2060P is capable of producing images of near photographic quality in all weathers, day or night and transmitting the images in near real-time via the data link over a range of over 250 miles to the GES. The SAR/GMTI can operate in either STRIP Mode, for coverage of very large areas at stand-off ranges, or SPOT mode to obtain a high resolution image of an area of interest. The data is also recorded on-board allowing it to also be interpreted once the aircraft has landed. The GES can be installed in either a fixed or transportable location and is equipped with a variety of workstations to allow rapid data reporting and exploitation.
IAI ELM-2060 Recce Pod
3a6e7d7e7a134aeda2243c6099c77edd.jpg

So far the only export customer that IAI have found for the EL/M-2060P is the Indian Air Force. In the summer of 2005 it was announced that the Indian Air Force had ordered a number of EL/M-2060 pods in a $150 million deal. The pod will be different from the version operated by the Israelis as it will also incorporate an electro/optical sensor provided by Elop. Exactly how many pods and associated ground stations have been acquired by India is unknown, however, when this system becomes operational on their Mirage and Su-27 aircraft it will provide the Indian Air Force with a huge leap in capability. However, India has also had very close defence links with Russia for many years and because the Russians would be very keen to get their hands of the very latest Israeli SAR/GMTI technology, I imagine the version of the EL/M-2060 exported to India will be rather less than ‘state-of-the-art’.
fb5fe14b87caad2e50ddf9b7ac76922d.jpg

link: IAI ELM-2060

so IAF is planning a fast survey of the Chinese buildup along the border with the pod so counter moves can be initiated

so we seem to be standing up to the dragon at last :toast_sign:

:cheers:

Yup,that's the way to go.Friendship comes with equality and not the other way.

New Delhi June 17, 2009,

Exactly a year after the Indian Air Force landed an An-32 transport plane at Daulat Begh Oldhi, a mere 8 km from the Sino-Indian border in Ladakh, the IAF on Monday operationalised four nuclear-capable Sukhoi-30 MKI fighter jets at a newly refurbished airbase, some 3,000 km away in Tezpur, Assam.

Two weeks earlier, J J Singh, former army chief and now Arunachal Pradesh governor (how many of you guys actually knew this?? :azn:), had announced that the Centre would soon add two divisions (about 50,000 troops) to the 10 mountain divisions that already exist for defence against China. The heightened deployment, said Singh, was intended to meet “future security challenges” posed by China. The two additional army divisions, along with artillery, medical, signals and engineering support, will be placed along the disputed Line of Actual Control between India and China, he said.

Soon after, a defence ministry team from Delhi was in the state capital of Itanagar to sign an agreement with the state government for the transfer of eight airfields in Arunachal to the IAF.

The IAF’s sweep, from Ladakh in the north-west to Arunachal Pradesh in the north-east, combined with the additional mountain divisions, form the core of New Delhi’s response to the realisation that defence preparedness against China has to be upgraded.

Last November, the IAF landed aircraft in Chushul and Fukche, two airfields in Ladakh just off the Aksai Chin, which last saw action during the 1962 border war with China. Defence sources also say the first of three AWACS (airborne warning and control systems) planes will also soon be in the region, to act as a “potent force-multiplier” that will monitor the movement of Chinese aircraft and troops across the LAC.

Meanwhile, there is increased activity on the border. India’s heightened patrolling has detected 270 “intrusions” by the Chinese over the past year, compared to 60 the year before.

So, even as Delhi and Beijing prepare to celebrate 60 years of the establishment of diplomatic relations in 2010 — with a visit by President Pratibha Patil to China and a return visit by Xi Jinping, China’s vice-president and the man expected to succeed President Hu Jintao – Manmohan Singh’s government intends to complete the upgradation of the defence and civilian infrastructure that it embarked upon in 2005 along what had been a neglected border.

In April 2008, defence minister A K Antony traveled to the north-east, noted with surprise the superior infrastructure on the Chinese side of the LAC, and promised troops would be armed with the latest equipment “so that our armed forces can be among the best in the world.”

While the decision to build a motorable road to Daulat Begh Oldhi was taken during the Vajpayee government’s tenure, in 2001, it was UPA-I which decided to build a network of roads in Arunachal Pradesh, to accompany the upgradation of the military infrastructure.

Shyam Saran, foreign secretary at the time, proposed that the Centre change the colonial manner in which it treated border areas, with its “buffer zones and Inner Lines”, and better integrate them with the rest of the country. Saran told Business Standard this week the need existed to “multiply opportunities across the border as well”. So Nathu La in Sikkim was opened to border trade in 2006, while permits to visit border areas in Ladakh (e.g Chushul) were relaxed. It was also decided to add 1,000 km of roads in Arunachal, including 13 strategic roads that connected the entire trans-Himalayan region, with feeder roads right up to the LAC.

China has been even busier than India, upgrading its own infrastructure by building 22,000 km of roads in the Tibet region (including more than 6,000 km of roads in Nagari prefecture that adjoins Ladakh), as many as 15 airfields in Tibet, Yunan and Sichuan provinces, and a network of roads and railway lines connecting Lhasa, including a highway from Kunming (in Yunan province adjoining Arunachal), its feeder roads almost touching the LAC or the British-era McMahon Line.

Meanwhile, unlike the defence brass (like the just-retired IAF chief Fali Major), who have spoken of the Chinese threat, Indian diplomats decline to talk on the subject. In fact, the defence brass has been reprimanded by Antony for speaking out of turn.

“India has to speak softly, but remain focused on its priorities,” a diplomat said, pointing out that despite 12 rounds of talks between Indian and Chinese representatives, the resolution of the border dispute is very much a “long haul” issue. Refering to the June 11 editorial in China’s People’s Daily (“India can’t actually compete with China in a number of areas, like international influence, overall national power and economic scale…India has not realised this…”), the diplomat pointed out that Beijing was signalling its intent to keep the border issue alive.

Military upgradation plan along China border finally takes wing