Government gives green signal to build naval ships worth over Rs 20,000 crore

ravinderpalrulez

NEW DELHI: In a major move to ramp up naval strength, the Defence Ministry has given an in-principle approval for construction of four amphibious assault ships, also called the Landing Platform Docks (LPD), in the private sector at a cost of over Rs 20,000 crore.

It will be the largest ever naval project involving the private sector and the ships will be the biggest to be built in India after the under-construction aircraft carrier INS Vikrant.

The ships are used to transport troops and equipment into a war zone by sea, primarily using landing craft.
The long-pending project was given green signal by the Defence Acquisition Council, the top decision-making body of the Ministry, at its meeting yesterday, informed sources told PTI.

The meeting was chaired by Defence Minister Arun Jaitley. Earlier, the Ministry had indicated that two LPDs will be built by state-run Hindustan Shipyard Limited, Visakhapatnam, while select private firms will be awarded contract to construct two others.
Reliance Defence and Engineering Limited (RDEL), Larsen & Toubro (L&T) and ABG Shipyard -- were in race initially for the mega project but ABG was disqualified on account of poor financial health.

The sources said RDEL and Larsen and Toubro will be asked next week to submit fresh commercial bids for the four LPDs.

L&T has tied up with Navantia of Spain whereas Reliance Defence has tied up with French firm DCNS, considered a global leader in construction of LPDs.

Each of the ships are likely to be in the range of 30,000 and 40,000 tonnes.

The Navy has been strongly pushing for firming up the project as soon as possible.

A top Navy official last month had said the contract for procurement of the four LPDs will be finalised by the end of this year.

ET Business Listings
List your Business on Economictimes.com for Free & Grow your Business.

http://m.economictimes.com/news/def...-over-rs-20000-crore/articleshow/58775978.cms

It will have flat top or not?for landing provision for future f35s

I always loved the concept of light aircraft carriers, they are like pocket knives, are helpful in invasions, and iam sure pakistan will not nuke Karachi, If Indian navy lands tanks and infantry from LST after domination.... we need LHD's not LPD's
and how will your LPD reach Karachi ? Will u teleport your LPD cause if u come by sea , they will be blown up by our sub's . the stuff like ac or LHD is only for power projection and useless if u are going to fight a conventional Navy .

the P8i's
so u are going to risk the lives of your crew by sending slow moving and highly vulnerables P8 in Pak air space . dude , it is an excellent platform but to monitor subs movement in friendly space not in hostile environment . P8 is a piece of cake for even AD let alone PAF .
ASW Corvette
good for detecting subs in friendly space . remember PNS Hangor sunk your ASW INS Khukhri in your own waters .
then neutralize your coastal defences and then air superiority
good luck with that .we have enough to deter your dreams of air superiority .
Wow you have been brainwashed so much,
I think it is the other way round . Ask anyone . Aircraft carriers and LPDs are only for power projection and useless in case of fighting conventional enemy .

so u are going to risk the lives of your crew by sending slow moving and highly vulnerables P8 in Pak air space . dude , it is an excellent platform but to monitor subs movement in friendly space not in hostile environment . P8 is a piece of cake for even AD let a

P8Is doesn't have to enter Pak Airspace. They would be over the seas with mig 29 K escort.

good for detecting subs in friendly space . remember PNS Hangor sunk your ASW INS Khukhri in your own waters .

INS Khukhri was hardly a capable ASW vessel. Never ASW Corvette like INS Kamorta are really good at ASW warfare.

good luck with that .we have enough to deter your dreams of air superiority .

While engaging both IAF & Indian Naval Air Arm ?

I always loved the concept of light aircraft carriers, they are like pocket knives, are helpful in invasions, and iam sure pakistan will not nuke Karachi, If Indian navy lands tanks and infantry from LST after domination.... we need LHD's not LPD's

Hahaha is me bhi Pakistan as gya hud he bhai lol.

P8Is doesn't have to enter Pak Airspace.
it cant . any sane admiral will never send his men in vulnerable aircraft like P8 in enemy space for slaying .
While engaging both IAF & Indian Naval Air Arm ?
there are many factors . first of all , u cant deploy all of IAF aircrafts to counter us . u will have to take into account china . 2nd , serviceability of Russian aircrafts are very low with whom bulk of IAF and whole IN is composed of . 3rd , u have lost element of surprise after entering of AEW&Cs in scene . we have 7 of them which are enough to cover india ( for comparison IAF has only 3 ) . so invading ACs will be detected in time and due measures will be taken

it cant . any sane admiral will never send his men in vulnerable aircraft like P8 in enemy space for slaying .

there are many factors . first of all , u cant deploy all of IAF aircrafts to counter us . u will have to take into account china . 2nd , serviceability of Russian aircrafts are very low with whom bulk of IAF and whole IN is composed of . 3rd , u have lost element of surprise after entering of AEW&Cs in scene . we have 7 of them which are enough to cover india ( for comparison IAF has only 3 ) . so invading ACs will be detected in time and due measures will be taken

Seems like you will make the same mistake of having all your assets deployed near your coast like you did in 1971. But cant blame you as you do not have any air asset with the range to reach out and strike.

And what makes you think why we cannot deploy all our assets against you? That is just an assumption. The same assumptions that clouded your decision making in previous wars.