Calculus created in India 250 years before Newton: study

It's real funny, none of you Indians could understand such a simple word meaning, hubris and its distinction from arrogance. Well that explains why you're so full of it.....

The word hubris is not part of your culture. I discovered this fact 17 years ago and have never been proven wrong.

Yeah similarly words like Dharma and Moksha are part of Indian philosophy with no equivalent in any other culture?

And wtf are you are so proud about, are you a Greek?:omghaha: What culture are you part of anyways, the kind of low self esteem and identity crisis you are displaying here, it can only be associated with one "culture". No prizes for guessing which one.

That person is a muslim with a very poor self esteem and zero knowledge of his culture or heritage. He is grasping at american straws to form a sense of Identity and running away from his roots forms a large part of that identity.

It is classic case of Narcissistic Personality Disorder or NPD. This is usually defenses against a deep feeling of inferiority and of being unloved.

In short, you are arguing with a Nut. :cuckoo:

Common don't bring religion into this...:astagh: Well I do appreciate that he still considers India to be his mother country, however on the other hand he has time to spare some BS on the very same country...

Yeah similarly words like Dharma and Moksha are part of Indian philosophy with no equivalent in any other culture?

And wtf are you are so proud about, are you a Greek?:omghaha: What culture are you part of anyways, the kind of low self esteem and identity crisis you are displaying here, it can only be associated with one "culture". No prizes for guessing which one.

Is it the alternate id of a think tank here by any chance?

The similarity (arguing with no basis and with no known goals) is just too striking. ;)

Yekeen jaaniye, yeah identity crisis bahot gehra hain aur gandi zabaan uska aam chehra hain!!!

Waah waah!

An academic report in foreign media. and these forever condemned people are sh!!ting brix that their identity crisis just got worse!!!

Actually Madhava of Sangamagrama (now cochin suburb) in 1350 wrote extensively on the sine, cosine, tangent and arctangent functions and the value of Pie. He explained the traditional algebric concept of finite processes to include infinite series.

The infinite series is what we traditionally know as Integration and Differentiation. He also connected the infinite series with geometry and trigonometry, which are today the foundation of calculus.

He demonstrated that, by successively adding and subtracting different odd number fractions to infinity, he could arrive in on an exact formula for pie (this was two centuries before Leibniz was to come to the same conclusion in Europe). Through his application of this series, Madhava obtained a value for π correct to an astonishing 13 decimal places !!

Madhava went on to use the same mathematics to obtain infinite series expressions for the sine formula, which could then be used to calculate the sine of any angle to any degree of accuracy, as well as for other trigonometric functions like cosine, tangent and arctangent. Perhaps even more remarkable, though, is that he also gave estimates of the error term or correction term, implying that he quite understood the limit nature of the infinite series.

In astronomy, he discovered a procedure to determine the positions of the Moon every 36 minutes, and methods to estimate the motions of the planets.

Now Madhava was not the first Kerla mathematician, but he was the most famous. However he was a student of Indian mathematics and studied mathamatical works by Sankaranarayana (866 AD) who first defined algebra and Euclidean algorithm, which he called kuttakara ("pulveriser"). Sankaranarayana himself only expanded on the work of Aryabhata (480 AD) which included trigonometry and algebra. Aryabhata published work on indeterminate equations and calculations of summation of series of squares and cubes.

Even today diophantine equations which are used in cryptology is solved using something called Aryabhata algorithm.

Common don't bring religion into this...:astagh: Well I do appreciate that he still considers India to be his mother country, however on the other hand he has time to spare some BS on the very same country...

Why not ? He is a muslim .....if his actions bring shame on Muslims then he should be more careful...don't you agree?

In any case his disconnect from his root and culture has everything to do with his muslim identity and background that did not provide him with an opportunity to learn about it.

It may very well be the root of his problem.

If you take a look at the temples,old buildings and their architecture,you can see the marvels of the engineering and the sophistication.

Even many natural dams,reservoirs have been built and all this without smelting any iron and steel,all stones.

whats the big deal with calculus?

Actually Madhava of Sangamagrama (now cochin suburb) in 1350 wrote extensively on the sine, cosine, tangent and arctangent functions and the value of Pie. He explained the traditional algebric concept of finite processes to include infinite series.

The infinite series is what we traditionally know as Integration and Differentiation. He also connected the infinite series with geometry and trigonometry, which are today the foundation of calculus.

He demonstrated that, by successively adding and subtracting different odd number fractions to infinity, he could arrive in on an exact formula for pie (this was two centuries before Leibniz was to come to the same conclusion in Europe). Through his application of this series, Madhava obtained a value for π correct to an astonishing 13 decimal places !!

Madhava went on to use the same mathematics to obtain infinite series expressions for the sine formula, which could then be used to calculate the sine of any angle to any degree of accuracy, as well as for other trigonometric functions like cosine, tangent and arctangent. Perhaps even more remarkable, though, is that he also gave estimates of the error term or correction term, implying that he quite understood the limit nature of the infinite series.

In astronomy, he discovered a procedure to determine the positions of the Moon every 36 minutes, and methods to estimate the motions of the planets.

Now Madhava was not the first Kerla mathematician, but he was the most famous. However he was a student of Indian mathematics and studied mathamatical works by Sankaranarayana (866 AD) who first defined algebra and Euclidean algorithm, which he called kuttakara ("pulveriser"). Sankaranarayana himself only expanded on the work of Aryabhata (480 AD) which included trigonometry and algebra. Aryabhata published work on indeterminate equations and calculations of summation of series of squares and cubes.

Even today diophantine equations which are used in cryptology is solved using something called Aryabhata algorithm.

Why not ? He is a muslim .....if his actions bring shame on Muslims then he should be more careful...don't you agree?

In any case his disconnect from his root and culture has everything to do with his muslim identity and background that did not provide him with an opportunity to learn about it.

It may very well be the root of his problem.

Arre mere bhai... He is not bringing shame to any religion...He is instead bringing shame to himself...Whatever he is I am sure he is not Indian

If you take a look at the temples,old buildings and their architecture,you can see the marvels of the engineering and the sophistication.

Even many natural dams,reservoirs have been built and all this without smelting any iron and steel,all stones.

whats the big deal with calculus?

LOL, india aren't exactly known for engineering marvel. Africans could make carving on stones too. Most of your great monuments are built by muslims.

The best monument of your "engineering marvel" is wiping the IPad screens with n-Hexane. ;)

This shows very clearly you dont know anything about the old Temples,they are 100 times more sophisticated than 4 pillars and a dome,i want you to show me anything that rivals The temples of India and the Angkor Wat is also a hindu temple.

The best monument of your "engineering marvel" is wiping the IPad screens with n-Hexane. ;)

The list is quite long, I'll just name one, the Great Wall of China. Any dispute :)

This shows very clearly you dont know anything about the old Temples,they are 100 times more sophisticated than 4 pillars and a dome,i want you to show me anything that rivals The temples of India and the Angkor Wat is also a hindu temple.

LOL, Angkor Wat is built by Khmer people in Cambodia. :omghaha: :omghaha:
The same reason why Calculus was created in India, even though Newton came up with the most complete algorithm of Calculus.

The list is quite long, I'll just name one, the Great Wall of China. Any dispute :)

The great wall of china is not an engineering marvel ....... it is just a long wall made out of stone, mud, grass, and a lot of blood and sweat :lol:

Its is a product of slave labor and not any sophisticated engineering marvel :P

BTW Angkor Wat is a Hindu temple, laied out and built using Hindu architectural principles and guidelines.