Bhagavad Gita Must Be Declared National Scripture: External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj

I follow only one rule of Gita which is shorter version of Nike Ad. Nike Ad "Just do it". Gita says "Just do it and do not expect for any results" If you expect it will bring sorrow!!
It is very difficult to implement, isn't it dada? When a human has no expectation in life he has achieved salvation.

This part might be tricky and I will not be surprised if the ministers and the RSS block appear to contradict each other in this matter. While the core Hindutva quarter might have expect to visualize Gita as a holy book representing the general Indian national life, some others like the Haryana chief when calls it above constitution wants Gita by comparing it with constitution, to be seen as a code of law of governance. Quite different from the RSS version, the later might have aimed to see it in line with Arthashastra or Magna Carta There is off course these two versions of 'national scripture' available so far.

It is definitely not. On the contrary, principles of life and the path to salvation are regarded to be vital and central issues of philosophical discussions for thousands of years in this country and what can be more relevant other than Upanishadas and Gita in this regard? But the problem is India as an institutional democracy can't afford to overlook opinions from other non-Hindu communities and sects. Also, the voice of educated middle class who even if a firm believer of principles of Hindu scriptures in private life, might not be interested in India becoming an orthodox theocracy. It is a crisis of misplaced priorities and gimmicks unfortunately.
So declaring Gita a national scripture would mean nothing?? just like declaring tiger our national animal or hockey as our national game means nothing (sorry for the tautology but it happens to me often).
Well the point to be noted is that today Tiger is an endangered species and Indian hockey team is in shambles.
So whats the harm in declaring Gita our national scripture?? is it because we fear Gita would meet same fate as Tiger and Hockey?? (There! I tried my hand at sarcasm... but now it sounds like a PJ :sick: )
Jokes apart..frankly its high time Uniform civil code is introduced in India. You will agree that the so called minority in our country would object to UCC as that would be the end to all their privileges. Simultaneously they would be against anything that favors the majority in our country (like in this case making Gita our national scripture. Is that even fair?

Is there a hotline to Modi's office??
I think its high time I nudged him. He has completely forgotten about UCC.
Or i think i'll stalk him on FB (heights of desperation!).
But seriously I cant take this embarrassment any more.I dont want our politicians uttering mendacious (religious) nonsense. They not just embarrass themselves but also all the other "secular"/liberal minded hindus.
No religion in this country should get any special privilege!

bas jee raha hoon... :D
true... and i sincerely avoid any nationalist/religious threads... have you ever seen me in any india/pakistan war thread?? :-)
once or twice i come to such threads, i seem to become the most flammable fuel... :D
i will avoid such threads from today, and go back to bringing al-hasani and hazzy to account... :D :D
I just read one of your posts quoted by @DRAY (that was posted just below yours) and I think you make slanderous posts on hinduism and Indians. I understand that you want to spread socialism but that should not be done at the cost of hurting other's religious sentiments. JMHO!

Composed by ancient pakistanis to become the national scripture of india

awesome

Farhan please stop making such blunders of gargantuan proportions (again and again).
Yesterday it was "all sikhs 're Pakistanis" and today you say "Gita was composed by ancient Pakistanis".
I mean seriously??? I can make a joke book out your posts now.
Please prove what you just said, dont you think such irresponsible posts should be backed up by some proof??
Now stop embarrassing yourself and dont repeat such blunders,if not anything you 're a badge holder (and your posts should show that you're worth it).

I follow only one rule of Gita which is longer version of Nike Ad. Nike Ad "Just do it". Gita says "Just do it and do not expect for any results" If you expect it will bring sorrow!!

That is a wrong interpretation of that verse. It only means the fruits of your karma are not in your hands. So without fear or hesitation perform your duty. Worrying needlessly as to its outcome is not gainful. We all perform our karma because of expectation and without expectation there is no karma.

Jokes apart..frankly its high time Uniform civil code is introduced in India. You will agree that the so called minority in our country would object to UCC as that would be the end to all their privileges. Simultaneously they would be against anything that favors the majority in our country (like in this case making Gita our national scripture. Is that even fair?

Popular argument in favor of UCC is that it would bring every person of the country under a single umbrella of legal codes and it will help to bring an unified national essence. But, why I find this claim absurd is except personal law, the Muslim community is already under a common civil and criminal jurisprudence. And the notion that having a separate marriage law is actually a special privilege guaranteed to the Muslim community equally makes no sense to me because legalizing polygamy, I interpret as an unjust privilege offered to the Muslim men and it is grossly unfair for the Muslim women. The Muslim personal law definitely needs urgent reforms but the general arguments against it are not sufficient if not absurd completely to me.
Simultaneously, the argument that declaring Gita to be national scripture would be a privilege to the majority Hindu is not correct in my opinion. It does not guarantee, if declared as a national emblem any constitutional benefit to any Hindu other than moving the country one step closer from being an orthodox theocracy, isn't?

Post Edit: Did I jump into troubled waters by making the first paragraph?

I follow only one rule of Gita which is shorter version of Nike Ad. Nike Ad "Just do it". Gita says "Just do it and do not expect for any results" If you expect it will bring sorrow!!
waah!
Nike ad and Gita??
Poor Lord Krishna must be getting a lil uncomfortable in "swarg". :lol:

My fav lines from gita 're "ends justify the means".
Though I dont know its sanskrit. @Indrani could you help me here:ashamed:
thesolar65 said:
BTW I love "Geeta"!!...:D
why not upnishads and veda??? :P
(I'm reporting this to your wifey right now :devil: )

Popular argument in favor of UCC is that it would bring every person of the country under a single umbrella of legal codes and it will help to bring an unified national essence. But, why I find this claim absurd is except personal law, the Muslim community is already under a common civil and criminal jurisprudence. And the notion that having a separate marriage law is actually a special privilege guaranteed to the Muslim community equally makes no sense to me because legalizing polygamy, I interpret as an unjust privilege offered to the Muslim men and it is grossly unfair for the Muslim women. The Muslim personal law definitely needs urgent reforms but the general arguments against it are not sufficient if not absurd completely to me.
Simultaneously, the argument that declaring Gita to be national scripture would be a privilege to the majority Hindu is not correct in my opinion. It does not guarantee, if declared as a national emblem any constitutional benefit to any Hindu other than moving the country one step closer from being an orthodox theocracy, isn't?
I don't know why should this be seen as being a step towards orthodox theocracy?

The Gita was composed in this land, significant people follow it and has more to do with values than religion. I would have had no problem if Quran was revealed in Bharat and if there was a demand to make it a national scripture/heritage.

However, keeping in mind our secular values, we can elevate some things of major religions as national heritage which originated in this land.

'Tum kuch nahi janat ho, John Snow babuya'

Uncle ji, aap Pooja, Archana, Aarti to bahut karte ho gay ? :D
Imagine this "Shishira aa rahi hai, babuya"

:rofl:

I don't know why should this be seen as being a step towards orthodox theocracy?

The Gita was composed in this land, significant people follow it and has more to do with values than religion. I would have had no problem if Quran was revealed in Bharat and if there was a demand to make it a national scripture/heritage.

However, keeping in mind our secular values, we can elevate some things of major religions as national heritage which originated in this land.

Sorry,no need to bring religion into education, period.I don't care whether its gita,purans,upanishads,vedas,granth sahib,quran,mahabharat,bible.

waah!
Nike ad and Gita??
Poor Lord Krishna must be getting a lil uncomfortable in "swarg". :lol:

My fav lines from gita 're "ends justify the means".
Though I dont know its sanskrit. @Indrani could you help me here:ashamed:

why not upnishads and veda??? :P
(I'm reporting this to your wifey right now :devil: )

Sorry, I cannot help here. I know less Sanskrit than you probably. But from what I know there is no such line in the Gita. That line was given by Prabhupada as a mean of explanation.

This was his quote: "Nothing is bad... Nothing is good if it is not purposeful. That is the whole purpose of teaching Bhagavad-gītā. Nothing is good; nothing is bad. Everything is good, everything is bad, in this material world, but we have to see. Just like the common phrase goes, "The end justifies the means. The end justifies the means." So that is Kṛṣṇateaching here that He has nothing to gain. He is full in Himself. But just to set examples in the world He was taking part in the fighting because He wanted to establish it that fighting for good cause should not be avoided. That was His mission."

PrabhupadaBooks.com -- Srila Prabhupada's Original pre-1978 Books Online

Is it not? When government promotes divine principles as codified by a certain religious faith or pursuits its doctrines specifically, it can be termed as a theocratic one. While not denying that, Gita is perfectly indigenous and inseparable from generalized Indian identity should we not keep it away from governmental affairs if we really want to call ourselves institutionalized secular democracy? Kindly do not assume I am all against it but don't you think it can not be achieved unless a major constitutional change takes place?

I'll send my kids to the school which teaches the life and times of Batman in the curriculum. :D

Right UCC would cover the personal laws.
But take the haj subsidy for example this is what our courts had to say
"A very large majority of Muslims would not be aware of the economics of their pilgrimage and if all the facts are made known a good many of them would not be very comfortable that their haj is funded to a substantial extent by the government".
And this subsidy has been given regardless of the economic standing of the pilgrim and has been slammed even by many leading Muslims.
Its not fair that a religion whether minority or majority should enjoy any special treatment in India thats all I demand and if UCC helps in achieving that goal then I would support UCC.
scorpionx said:
Simultaneously, the argument that declaring Gita to be national scripture would be a privilege to the majority Hindu is not correct in my opinion.
I didnt mean declaring Gita a national scripture would be a special privilege to hindus (wrong choice of words actually :) ) I just meant that if a national scripture in no way effects our constitution then whats the harm in declaring Gita a national scripture?
India does have a hindu majority and Gitopnishad at its best teaches path of knowledge,action and renunciation of attachment to the fruit of our actions. Its a very harmless text which teaches us way of life. And gita's teachings 're not just for hindus but any human being. You know it more than I do.
But just because its associated with hindus and hinduism, ppl object to it being declared a national scripture. Isnt it??
I would 've supported quran/bible or just any text had it been just about teaching us human values.