Asia's Worst Performing Currency

Bahi Sahib, Naqal ko bi Aqal ki zaroorat hoti hey, thori aqal sey naqal karen aur Pakistani Rupees ka eik thread start kar ley;

Since, this thread is about the Indian Rupees. :)

When the title says "Asia's Worst Performing Currency", Pakistan is automatically involved. Your trend of starting topics on India with zero knowledge, graced generously with your low-IQ banter can only make your post about Aqal ki zaroorat hoti hey, ironic.

Stop posting new threads to garner attention when several already exist on the same topic. We all know you are not capable of any intelligent discussion but your links are useful.

Thanks!

Come on Jay - Lets be on topic and talk about the worst performing currency at the mo which is clearly the indian rupee. Anything else would be off topic.
BTW for your geographical info China is still in Asia mate - in fact its leading Asia. :azn:

correct

but not in every sector

any way posting that would be off topic

on topic > friends recession and economic slowdown is hitting world again

add to that political chaos in our nation and anti FDI stance of opposition

the result is depreciation of Indian rupee

but our businessmen who import from abroad can book the rate of dollar at current position so even if rupee depreciates further it wont affect them too much

so don't worry

long live the 9th biggest economy of world

PKR is fluctuating from 85 to 90 from past 3 years ...

means you are performing worst then any other from last 3 years...still posting here..while our just went down in a slowdown..which happens in a global economy..and look at you..as if your currency has become equivalent to pound.

yes our currency is down and we will bring it back to more stable rate..we promise..and please can you promise the same abt your currency ..in foreseeable (2-3 decades) future.

hmmmm.......lots of "Experts" here.....

Can anybody help me understand whats the problem if Rs hit 60 mark....yeap our import will become costly...what does this mean...that we will be "forced" to consume less of imported stuff...bringing the import bill down....
for POL which are major part of our import will become costly...but crude getting weak due to europe crisis means that its impact will not be game changer.

Now the other part...export will become competitive....giving a leg up to export fig...net-net this will bring down the trade deficit down.....

Do anybody here understand the org called "RBI"...

I was worried lot when Rs was hovering near 40 mark.....thank god we were not stuck there for long time....

Any idea guts why Euro is flawed concept....figure that and you will know why RBI is not bothered about rs slide...

We are still some off regarding real worth of our currency v\s G11 currency.

Small request with Indian members...pls don't drag PK or CN in this discussion...this is blessing in disguise for us...

We have a vibrant economy which can take advantage of sliding Rs while paying competitive compensation to its workforce....what else do we want....

I dont think u got any clue how forex works. India has very high interest rates as compared to west to keep growth and hence inflation in check. India can fix this just by decreasing their interest rate slightly and hence encouraging the purchase of rupee , making it stronger. NBD.

---------- Post added at 01:36 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:36 PM ----------

Again completely clueless to how economies work. refer to my earlier post.

The part in bold is 100% wrong. High interest rates strengthens one's currency, unless it's too high from printing money. Think Zimbabwe dollar. The carry trade and fx forwards insures this relationship.

Guys...when value of any particular country's currency is depreciating, that does not necessarily reflecct that their economy is doing very bad or they are into big mess.....

Just a simple example, US & Western Powers are mounting up pressure on China for long time to appreciate Yuan, whereas China purposely keep it low....why??...this helps them to keep their products and services competative....

In case of India, it does not artificially appreciate or depreciate the value of its currency...and for any reason, if the rupee is depreciating and when India is sitting on hundreads of billions of foreign currency reserve, it does not need to worry..it is just blessing in disguise...

Good time ahead for for Indian service industry.....and as one of my country mate replied earlier....our major import is crude which is getting cheaper due to euro crisis...so no big pain for india....even with a Zandhu balm we can manage this pain...;-)

if that makes you happy, then please wish for it.
3 meal a day and a place is good for any human being, so we indians can manage if the Economy is to spiral out, that goes to any country, so please wish for suffering of fellow human beings just because we are born in a different country and not in China.
Why should anybody feel sorry for the government of india? Your government doesn't even feed the poor but uses all its money to buy weapons, brag about "shining india superpower" and try to bully its neighbors.

Your economic problems come from your own moral defects. Your country borrows, spends, and then proceeds to delude itself that india has joined "an exclusive club." india's favorite phrase is joining the "exclusive club" of the western colonialists who used to run india. LOL.

Maybe a total economic crisis would finally bring indians to overthrown the GOI. india is too big a country. It's better if there were smaller states where people live more harmoniously with each other. Hindustan could be just a free trade zone, not a country.

^^^
OMG, Hondwu and his theories.. God give us a break!! plz.. :rofl::rofl::rofl:

Abhi kuch post ke baad India pe nuclear bomb gira dega aur Delhi pe kabza kar lega.. kya hai yeh lagta hai kisi ne mazak peda kar diya...

Why should anybody feel sorry for the government of india? Your government doesn't even feed the poor but uses all its money to buy weapons, brag about "shining india superpower" and try to bully its neighbors.

Your economic problems come from your own moral defects. Your country borrows, spends, and then proceeds to delude itself that india has joined "an exclusive club." india's favorite phrase is joining the "exclusive club" of the western colonialists who used to run india. LOL.

Maybe a total economic crisis would finally bring indians to overthrown the GOI. india is too big a country. It's better if there were smaller states where people live more harmoniously with each other. Hindustan could be just a free trade zone, not a country.
brother if that is what makes you happy, pray for it every day before you go to sleep and every time you wake up.
we have survived the the last 64 years. even in times that were more dificult than what it is today.
we have been into starvation in 1960 until 1980s. we will sure come out of it and your idea of disintegrating INDIA into smaller trade zones so that your idea of excersizing your powers on us is never going to happen.
I was expecting more good from your as i thought you were smart and friendly, i belive some day youll be friendly. until then we wil have our constructive dialogs besides some of your BS.

I have a question for mods

Why threads on Indian Economy initiated by Indian members gets deleted ????? and threads like these are left
This forum is filled/run by bunch of hypocrites

Pakistani rupee flat; stocks, o/n rates end lower | Reuters

Dec 13 (Reuters) - The Pakistani rupee ended almost flat on Tuesday and dealers expect the pressure on the local unit to ease in the short term because of increased remittances from Pakistanis living abroad, dealers said.

However stocks ended lower as a U.S Congressional panel froze $700 million in aid to Pakistan until it gives assurances it is helping fight the spread of homemade bombs in the region.

The rupee ended at 89.10/20 to the dollar, compared with Monday's close of 89.10/15. It dropped to a record low of 89.45 on Wednesday.

For Q+A on the Pakistani rupee, click on

"The rupee in the short term may stabilise but in the medium term we are likely to see a slow depreciation because of a bleak outlook for the economy," said a bank dealer.

Remittances from Pakistanis working abroad rose 18.33 percent to $5.24 billion in the first five months of the 2011/12 fiscal year, compared with $4.43 billion in the same period last year.

However in November $924.92 million was sent home by overseas Pakistanis, compared with $926.89 million in November last year.

Pakistan's bleak economic outlook could further punish the rupee in the medium term.

The International Monetary Fund forecasts economic growth for the 2011/12 fiscal year at 3.5 percent, lower than the government's target of 4.2 percent.

Pakistan's current account deficit stood at $1.6 billion in July-Oct compared with $541 million in the same period a year earlier.

Islamabad has to start repaying an $8 billion IMF loan in early 2012, and without additional sources of revenue, its foreign exchange reserves may come under pressure, analysts say.

Foreign exchange reserves fell to $16.68 billion in the week ending Dec. 2. They hit a record $18.31 billion in the week ended July 30.

The Karachi Stock Exchange's (KSE) benchmark 100-share index ended 1.73 percent, or 199.10 points, lower at 11,278.02 on turnover of 41.08 million shares.

"Selling was witnessed in stocks across the board at KSE after reports that leaders of U.S. Senate agreed to freeze $700m in U.S. aid to Pakistan," said Ahsan Mehanti, director at Arif Habib Investment Ltd.

In the money market, overnight rates closed lower at 9 percent, compared with Monday's close of between 9.50 percent and 10 percent amid increased liquidity in the interbank market. (Reporting by Sahar Ahmed; Editing by Ruth Pitchford)