16th December 1971: From East Pakistan to Bangladesh

2ecdlol.jpg

:blink::blink::blink:

what about india if they have professionals like you??:lol:

Read the post.

What has professionalism to do with it?

I hope you understand English.

You come out to be highly deficient in comprehension and your mind appears to be footloose in the coherent coordination factor.

Enjoy with the childlike mind!

And with a moniker as Goebbel what can one expect from a clone of the Nazi Propaganda Minister?!!

1971 related threads on PDF:

http://www.defence.pk/forums/bangladesh-defence/84875-december-16-1971-east-pakistan-bangladesh.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/bangla...adesh-urges-pakistan-apology-1971-crimes.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/milita...egations-massive-propoganda-sarmila-bose.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/bangladesh-defence/41456-battles-1971-a.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/curren...mran-demands-apology-pakistan-bangladesh.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/military-history/26732-atrocities-1971-civil-war.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/bangladesh-defence/52353-advantages-creation-bangladesh-pakistan.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/military-history/20918-separation-east-pakistan-1971-a.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/military-history/1870-creation-bangladesh.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/bangladesh-defence/107635-myth-busting-bangladesh-war-1971-a.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/bangladesh-defence/50079-truth-1971-war.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/bangla...our-226-indians-role-1971-liberation-war.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/bangla...-apology-over-armys-wrongdoings-1971-war.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/bangla...nts-war-crimes-trials-indian-perspective.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/bangla...k-evidence-pakistan-usa-war-crime-1971-a.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/military-history/104532-bangladesh-war.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/bangla...-search-fact-about-killing-pakistan-army.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/strate...al-book-accuses-bengalis-1971-war-crimes.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/strate...nt-view-war-crime-trial-s-not-right-time.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/strate...onsible-1971-break-up-pakistan-musharraf.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/milita...-responsible-1971-east-pak-fiasco-says-d.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/bangla...971-war-hasina-expresses-gratitude-india.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/curren...ng-taught-about-separation-east-pakistan.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/bangla...-1971-war-pakistan-vs-india-untold-story.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/bangladesh-defence/19050-book-review-india-doctrine-1947-2007-a.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/bangla...ologise-bangladesh-atrocities-imran-khan.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/milita...story-exposing-propanganda-telling-truth.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/world-...-raw-involvement-east-pakistan-secession.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/bangladesh-defence/110495-mujibs-confusion-bangladeshi-deaths.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/bangla...desh-name-major-road-after-indira-gandhi.html

http://www.defence.pk/forums/bangla...ni-soldiers-during-operation-searchlight.html

what about india if they have professionals like you??:lol:

Well such professional liberate East Pakistan.

Not a mean task, actually.

since you wish to bring in infructuous point, do allow me the same courtsey.

speaks volumes of the professional on the other side, right?

Questions?

-I want to know why so many people gathered on 7th March's speech and cheered to Mujib so spontaneously. Was that because of the Bangladeshi people were so much angry and fed up with GoP? Or Mujib was campaigning for long time to gather many people on 7th March?

-Exactly how much were the level of discrimination in economy and job, and misrule that Mujib called for Independence on 7th March suddenly? Could he have waited more?

-Was 25th March's mass killing by PK army due to 7th March speech to suppress the situation? I mean, was the 7th March's call for independence responsible for 25th March's killing?

............................................................................................................................

-If in 7th March speech that people were so united against misrule of GoP, then why not now? Why don't they wipe out Hasina league, and then if necessary BNP?

-And if so-called AL protested against the misrule of GoP in 71 then why not the same party does not speak any thing against India's harmful policies and border killing? Is that due to any secret relationship between so-called AL and India from 71?

Sheikh Mujib and the Six Points

2011-08-15__pcp01.jpg

"O judgment! thou art fled to brutish beasts,
And men have lost their reason. Bear with me;
My heart is in the coffin there with Caesar,
And I must pause till it come back to me."
--- (Mark Antony in Shakespeare's Julius Caesar, Act 3. Scene II)

On this day, I am reminded of Mark Antony's passionate eulogy for the fallen Julius Caesar, who was assassinated in a conspiracy hatched by some of the people he trusted. In a similar fashion, thirty six years ago, under the cloak of darkness, a group of misguided disciples of Brutus rubbed out the life of our Father of the Nation. In his speech, Antony alludes to some of the charges brought up by Caesar's detractors, and he laments:

“The evil that men do lives after them;

The good is oft interred with their bones;

So let it be with Caesar.”

As Antony aptly reminds us, good deeds are often buried with the fallen heroes. I write this short memoriam as an offering of admiration for the Six Points manifesto, one of Bangabandhu's many achievements and legacy, and offer a personal perspective on its influence on young economists like myself in our formative years.

It will not be an exaggeration to assert that the Six Point programme, first enunciated by Bangabandhu in 1966, played an important role not only in the political landscape of Pakistan, but also in the education of economists of a whole generation. Many, like us, went through four years of economics in high school and college in the late 1960s, learning about market equilibrium, factors of production, and the structure of the economy of Pakistan. But none of the textbooks offered us any idea on some of the fundamental questions on our minds:

1. Why is the industrial sector growing faster in the West than in the East?

2. What are the mechanisms through which resources are transferred from the East to the West?

3. If jute and jute products are the main exports of Pakistan, what accounts for the publicized “foreign exchange constraint” that is blamed for the low rate of investment in the East?

4. Last, but not the least, if Pakistan is accumulating such huge foreign debts, why is this influx of “foreign aid” not improving the lot of the masses in the East?

The Six Points opened up the learning opportunity for those of us entering Dhaka University at the end of the so-called Decade of Development foisted on us by the brutal Ayub Khan regime. It opened our eyes to the degree and extent of the exploitation of the East in the name of national integration. The columns in the weekly journal Forum and the Sunday newspaper Holiday spelled out how the two wings of Pakistan had really become two economies. And we understood how this had happened within the short span of twenty years of Pakistan's existence.

I remember that my fellow classmates in the Economics Department of Dhaka University --- Taki, Nisar and Shamim --- were fired up by the ongoing discussion on economic issues in the national arena prior to the 1970 elections, and worked tirelessly to revive the departmental journal, Optima. When they asked me to submit an essay, I did not hesitate and wrote my first analytical paper on the genesis of the “two economy” theory and the ever-widening disparity between the two regions of Pakistan. I hardly need to mention that I borrowed heavily from the literature that stemmed from the Six Points manifesto.

In his comments on the Six Points, M. Rashiduzzaman noted in a paper in 1970 that “Sheikh Mujibur Rahman gave a new turn to Pakistan politics when he put forward a six-point program which would allocate maximum power to the province, and at the same time reduce the strength of the Central Government”. However, it would not be too far-fetched to assert that the Six-Point program also changed the national discourse in the economic forum in the dying days of Pakistan. Points Three through Five brought the issues of capital flight, foreign exchange earnings, and single currency to the fore, and forced the ruling coterie to recognize that the struggle of Bangladesh's people was not just about political power, but also about economic emancipation. Bangabandu's goal was not only to take back political power from the ruling clique of the West, but also to give the people of Bangladesh better control over their economy, job prospects, and their own pocket book.

Dr. Abdullah Shibli lives and works in Boston, USA.

Sheikh Mujib and the Six Points

Mujeeb’s 6 points could have created four mini-states: expert

3-18-2011_36720_l_akb.jpg

Islamabad

Shaikh Mujeeb-ur-Rehman’s six points could have converted West Pakistan’s four provinces into four mini-states as the centre would have lost the power to levy taxes, said former vice-president of the Islamabad Policy Research Institute (IPRI) Dr. Imtiaz Bokhari.

He was presenting a paper on the ‘US Policy During the 1971 Crisis’ at the Area Study Centre for Africa, North and South America, Quaid-i-Azam University, here on Thursday. Dr. Rukhsana Qamber, director of the centre, conducted the proceedings.

Dr. Bokhari said that the success of a policy lies in the implementation of economic, diplomatic, political and military

instruments. He claimed that

the public spending was more

in East Pakistan and mentioned the national leaders in-built weakness in running the federal government.

He pointed out wide dichotomy between what was happening in the White House and at the US Department of State. The objective of the US policy was humanitarian and prevention of the 1971 Indo-Pak war, which could not be accomplished.

He said that the US failed to compel India to peacefully settle its issues with Pakistan because of lack of adequate instruments. During the conflict, India aimed not only at disintegrating but also crippling Pakistan.

The United States wanted to prevent war and opening of a second front in West Pakistan, which was certain to have a negative impact on their process of normalising relations with China through Pakistan.

Lacking its own instruments to influence India, the US used the Soviet Union’s economic, military and political ties with India to stop it from attacking West Pakistan by informing the Soviets that if they failed to do so the US relations with them would be at stake in the light of the forthcoming Super Power Summit on detente. In such a context, it was a wise decision of Pakistan to have the third option of closer ties with China right from the start in spite of the American wrath.

Air Commodore (r) Muhammad Ayaz-ul-Haq Quddusi said that a wise enemy is better than a

dumb friend and questioned

Henry Kissinger’s ability to

influence the White House before July 15, 1971, when he visited Beijing under the garb of Nathiagali visit.

Dr. Bokhari said that the break-up of Pakistan and emergence of Bangladesh was a significant and painful event in the recent history of the subcontinent from which we could draw important lessons for national integrity that we were forgetting today.

Dr. Qamber said that besides the cloak and dagger aspects during the 1971 crisis, this civil war leads us to compare the unresolved consequences of the American Civil War.

She stressed that everyone, especially academics, must resolve problems through debate, dialogue and other means, such as the pre-1971 Pakistani policy of encouraging marriages between East and West Pakistanis.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/TodaysPrintDetail.aspx?ID=36720&Cat=6

310176_268989496462283_174212562606644_1038254_6299343_n.jpg

301168_268994046461828_174212562606644_1038317_5987499_n.jpg

Caption in the book -- "Indian Troops Grimly round up villagers suspected to be Pakistani spies they peer into Lungi in search of weapons."

302137_268992769795289_174212562606644_1038315_1886286_n.jpg

The picture is from a book by an Indian photographer called Kishor Parekh, called "Bangladesh- A Brutal Birth"

If that was a PK army then how could an Indian journalist/photographer take picture in front of Pk army during that lungi search? I think PK army was not likely to give permission to take picture. So I think that was an Indian army so that was possible for an Indian photographer take picture during the lungi search by Indian Army.

^

Still there are lot of secrets.

-Agartala conspiracy?

link1: http://www.defence.pk/forums/military-history/50095-truth-1971-sheikh-haseena-wajid.html
link 2: http://bdnews24.com/details.php?cid=2&id=155271&hb=top

-I want to know how much was to level of dissatisfaction in East Pakistanis actually? Or there was added propaganda that made them dissatisfied?
-How much incitement were added by India and local dalal intellectuals?
-How many were killed? I have not seen any limbless fighter in my life directly.

-And right now, I want to know why and when Pk army decided to kill Bangladeshi people in 25th March. Was that decision taken just due to 7th March's Mujib's speech for freedom to make the situation stable? And whether the decision of 25th March's killing was taken before or after 7th March by PA?

I have not seen any limbless fighter in my life directly.

This is the question al zakira also keeps repeating everywhere, albeit for civlians. When armed forces arrest you (civilians), then round up and then shoot you, how is one supposed to be limbless??? And the proportion he claims is for one prson dead more than one limbless!!!

I've never shot anyone, but when two people in captivity are shot, one becomes limbless and the other dies? Is that how it is, maybe some military professional can shed some light. Maybe that video where pakistani army is rounding up people in Dhaka university and shooting them needs to be analysed closely to see any flying limbs...

301168_268994046461828_174212562606644_1038317_5987499_n.jpg

Caption in the book -- "Indian Troops Grimly round up villagers suspected to be Pakistani spies they peer into Lungi in search of weapons."

If that was a PK army then how could an Indian journalist/photographer take picture in front of Pk army during that lungi search? I think PK army was not likely to give permission to take picture. So I think that was an Indian army so that was possible for an Indian photographer take picture during the lungi search by Indian Army.

In a disturbed zone, are there no journalists?

If so, how do books of various countries show that famous prize winning (Pulitzer) photo of the Vietnamese girl, running nude down the track with having been napalmed by the US/ South Vietnam?

In a disturbed zone, are there no journalists?

If so, how do books of various countries show that famous prize winning (Pulitzer) photo of the Vietnamese girl, running nude down the track with having been napalmed by the US/ South Vietnam?

It was a room/closed room. Not under the open sky or in the road. I do not think that entry of an Indian photographer in there is possible to take the photos of torture/lungi search by PA. Here matter is the presence of an Indian journalist in a room before PA and during action. Possible??? Can PA allow?

It appears that you have missed the subtlety.

Indian journalist?

Could the photo not have been taken by a US journalist?

The US was pro Pakistan.

And when have journalists looked beyond a 'scoop' in troubled waters or given a twist to conform to the flavour of the moment?

Tears in my eyes and pain and hatred in my
my heart..........

Oh! deathly cold December, thou shall always be in mourning.
If it was not happened , was not better but best,
but,separation occurs.here in bd when I personaly talk with pakistani brothers,hang with them..asa lagta hi nahi kay vo pakistani hai.bhutto ,muzib,india jo kia yeh log kay lia toh zahannum bhi kam hi hein.

if they were with us than must be working for bhartis. traitors. what happened is good for pakistan and wish of allah.
addressing all the bangladeshi traitor is just like what some kind of brainwashed people (mujib's supporter) say about pakistan.they say that all the pakis are thieves ,criminals also said that people who support pakistan or pakistani people that is a crime.but not all of us like them.we create muslim league ,we create pakistan,then how can we wish to destroy it ?? it was mujib,india and their brainwashed student wings and indian trained "mukti".and this mukti was brutal more then anything.if mujib and his daughters political party not get support from india we would threw them out of our nation.and yes,we dont consider you our enemy but brothers but yes we hate bhutto,we hate yahya,muzib and india above all. and yes we respect jinnah.and what happened was not allah's but a traitor named mujib and his friend india's wish and conspiracy.and if we were traitors,indian agents ,we would never treat u'r people as our brother,we would never arise against india and muzibs perty.what we just need is to restore our brotherly relation ,coz it's not quaids dream but according to our islam ,all the muslims are brother.so why we hate each other instead of sorting problems . from my point of view for ones crime why would we punish others member of his/her family , they are innocent.so yes, I love pakistan and pakistany people xcept 71's war criminal from both side.coz crime is a crime,but for that innocents mustn't be punished.sorry ,if say something hursh or wrong