100% price escalation on Rafale fighter aircraft to Rs 1.75 lakh crore likely to dent IAF's strike c

well Rafale is coming..... higher costs or not but IAF is getting them Period

but in case if that dosent happens plan B is already in pipeline and that is more MKIs(50-60) + MOD just might buy a few Mig 35s(arpound 60) with latest engines and ASEA + LCA MK2 will be hurried
(Period ) you speak like you are the decision maker. If decision makers think like that our country will be robbed.

well its already being robbed and its not just netas its the beurocracy and top millatarry brass aswell if Kickbacks warent there the cost of each plane might come down as low as almost 40%

I am just waiting .. when the contract eventually goes to the USA.
no sir India will never invest in F18s as the latest encounter (devyani case) as bolstered it thought F18 is most potent and economically sound alternative ... but Indians dont trust US

All this after world's most elaborate & expensive selection procedure? We should have bought the Mirage production line long back when it was on offer.

Was it not bought because it could have killed the LCA, apart from the corruption fear? What do you think? @janon @Abingdonboy @sancho

$30bn for 126 jets? save the money and put it into your economy.

If we use this thumb rule then rough figures could be ( for 30 billion $ ) the lifetime cost could be 240 million $ per plane and if we consider the flyaway cost then it could be 240/3 = 80 million $, which I feel is not bad for this bird. it looks like GOI is dragging its feet looking at 30 billion $ commitment which looks OK in general sense.
Pl comment.

Also we use the same rule then MKI would cost us 260 to 325 million $ over its life time, considering 400 crore as its flyaway cost. so where are we saving money on MKI and wasting on Rafale.
@ Sancho, Abingdonboy

well its already being robbed and its not just netas its the beurocracy and top millatarry brass aswell if Kickbacks warent there the cost of each plane might come down as low as almost 40%
Well, Sir If we are looting our own country so you don't care about Outsiders? That 40% is outrageous when we don't even know if that is happening. It is usually not that high, in range of 5-10%.

That's a different issue. But my point was that the USN is not replacing super hornets any time soon. They will serve for a quarter century more, at least.

As to this point, you do realize that the US supplies arms to almost every country in the world, right? They would not be such a friggin big defence supplier if nobody trusted them. Our own primary threat from Pakistan are their US supplied F-16s.

contradiction in your post is quite evident .

Just as you correctly mentioned that our Primary threat from Pakistan emanates from US supplied F-16s which were essentially supplied under pretext to help Pakistan to fight against terrorism despite it being well known fact that it will be actually used against India....
Us has directly and indirectly armed Pakistan against India. we must not forget that . Now it may be ready to trade weapons with India to counter China . But its policies and stance can change quite overnight . We have seen that well with Devyani affair , how much US really cares about any such strategic relationships...

India should not make mistake of entering US trap .

whole world may buy equipment from US but we should not unless US intrusive policies and restrictive regulations change !

Also we use the same rule then MKI would cost us 260 to 325 million $ over its life time, considering 400 crore as its flyaway cost. so where are we saving money on MKI and wasting on Rafale.
Lifecycle cost is to consider total cost of project. That is not accurate anyway, it is a guesstimate provided by manufacturers( cost of their product by themselves).
Unless reporter is totally out of mind, that would not be considered. It is the cost that India pay initially that matters for now.

You are right. there is no problem in delivery.Even they supply C-130J 6 months earlier to us.
But most of countries that buy US system is either their NATO or outside allies.
Do you want India also drag in to that side?
Countries that buy US system is suffered by their pressure on international pressure.

US is a totally unreliable country . In event of Indo-Pakistani conflict US is unlikely to take sides ...we can't be sure of spares supply ... forget about TOT ....

The diplomatic cost of any such weapons bought from US can be substantial than the obvious monetary cost !

Lifecycle cost is to consider total cost of project. That is not accurate anyway, it is a guesstimate provided by manufacturers( cost of their product by themselves).
Unless reporter is totally out of mind, that would not be considered. It is the cost that India pay initially that matters for now.
Yes makes sense. tx

Muhaha, if India go with JF-17, we will TOT the paint job and some paint color mixing, so Indians can draw a nice flag on the tail fins :rofl:
How much will it cost? That's important we can buy paint from Pakistan when we can't make paint for our rupee printing how do we trust it for such highly advance jet?

contradiction in your post is quite evident .

Just as you correctly mentioned that our Primary threat from Pakistan emanates from US supplied F-16s which were essentially supplied under pretext to help Pakistan to fight against terrorism despite it being well known fact that it will be actually used against India....
Us has directly and indirectly armed Pakistan against India. we must not forget that . Now it may be ready to trade weapons with India to counter China . But its policies and stance can change quite overnight . We have seen that well with Devyani affair , how much US really cares about any such strategic relationships...

India should not make mistake of entering US trap .

whole world may buy equipment from US but we should not unless US intrusive policies and restrictive regulations change !

There is no contradiction there. US sold F-16s to Pakistan, because that's what arms suppliers do. Russia has sold plenty of military ware to China, does that make Russia unreliable? What's good for the goose...