Hazrat Umar Farooq RA Shahadat day

Islamic history is most distorted history, that's why we have hell of differences.

Bhai just stick to the Koran & you'd realize it doesn't even mention more than half of the things we've attributed to Islam which begs one to ask - Either God wasn't paying attention when he wrote the Book or we've made most of it all up ! :unsure:

I think God is Infallible & he put everything in the Koran so that means we've made most of the other things up !

Unfortunately I wasn't - I found what a Shia & what a Sunni is, in Class 3 - Pehleiii tou naaam bhiii nahin suneiii theiii so I don't know much about the doctrinal or historical differences except that which I've read in a few History Books on Islam written by some Western Oriental Historians !

Well when it comes to these matters i live in a place full of conflicts, not that those conflicts are voiced its a perfect example of how Shias and Sunnis can coexist very peacefully. So even if i didn't read about such things earlier my surroundings made me aware of such issues.

Butt. sb - ap waisay kah dain kah ap mujhay crane kay sath latka daikhna chahtay hain :cray:

Sirrr chaleiii phir yeh tou bataiin keh aaap neiii Maulvi Sahib ko thoriii bootiii Punjabi tou sikhaiii hooo giii naaa ! :azn:

Ya wahaan bhiii durrr gaiii ? Kitnii ghalat baaat haiii aaaap keiii aba-o-ijdaaad mein Gama Pehalvan thaaa woh kitnaa disappoint hovaa ho gaaa ! :disagree:

Bhai just stick to the Koran & you'd realize it doesn't even mention more than half of the things we've attributed to Islam which begs one to ask - Either God wasn't paying attention when he wrote the Book or we've made most of it all up ! :unsure:

I think God is Infallible & he put everything in the Koran so that means we've made most of the other things up !

I decided to stick to Quran long time ago, but your grand mufti has thrown me out of Islam and labelled me as enemy of God :(

Kaun Saa Grand Moftii ? :unsure: 
Karbala is a part of Islam.. mr yazid.

I thought it was a part of Iraq ! :unsure:

Joke kar rahaa hunnn mariiin maaat ! :fie:

Of course Karbala & the message that Hussain (PBUH) gave has a very important place in Islamic History & the message of Islam !

Yaaar Khan ghusaaa chooor deiii tuuu naraaaz hiii ho giyaa haiii ! Does a disagreement between Brothers turn them against one another or does it stay an Academic Disagreement ? Tuuu meraa Bhai haii meraa Apnaa haii & nothing can change that ! :)

Sirrr chaleiii phir yeh tou bataiin keh aaap neiii Maulvi Sahib ko thoriii bootiii Punjabi tou sikhaiii hooo giii naaa ! :azn:

Ya wahaan bhiii durrr gaiii ? Kitnii ghalat baaat haiii aaaap keiii aba-o-ijdaaad mein Gama Pehalvan thaaa woh kitnaa disappoint hovaa ho gaaa ! :disagree:

tumhara kya khaial hai pahlwano ka opar ka khana khali hota hai? :p:, I avoid religious clerics read my signature :) --- aik he dafa baat hoe thi, aur woh sahib Pak, AF or IR ko aik mulak bananay kay chakar main thay, so main nay os ka idea copy kar lia aur greater punjab ki boundry increase kar di :partay:

Read about what in detail ? :unsure:

I think its said by all & sundry & disputed by no-one that Hussein (PBUH) took the women & children to Kufa along with him to oppose the wrongful accession to the Caliphate of Yazid & that along the way when they - his Caravan - was told that Muslim ibn Aqeel was killed & that the people of Kufa are no longer with them he continued on with the journey before they were intercepted by Yazid's Army at Karbala & no one was left alive !

No one can say that what Hussein (PBUH) did was wrong for it was right to oppose a Caliph like Yazid & the actions of Muawiya that had turned the Caliphate from a Democracy into a Monarchy but Hussein (PBUH) should've left the women & children in Mecca or Medina instead of taking them with him & then later he should've dispersed them to elsewhere or sent them back (if possible) when he found out that the Kuffans have betrayed him & Yazid's Army is coming for them ! 

What nonsense ? Did Hussein (PBUH) not take women & children to Kufa with him & even continued on with the journey when they were told that the Kuffans are no longer with them ?

He was right to oppose Yazid but I don't think he should've taken defenseless women & children with him when anyone could see & know, including himself, that Yazid isn't going to let this go !

O’ Fatimah! Every eye shall be weeping on the Day of Judgment except the eye which has shed tears over the tragedy of Husayn (A.S.) for surely, that eye shall be laughing and shall be given the glad tidings of the bounties and comforts of Paradise.—
Holy Prophet ( s.a.w)

Bihar al‑Anwar, vol. 44 pg. 193.

The holy uprising of Imam Husain (a.s.) has two dimensions: 1. Martyrdom. 2. Accomplishing a Mission.

The primary role of the women can be seen in the second dimension. Of course the women did have a role in upbringing and encouraging the warriors that participated in the battle, but their main role was in delivering a message.

All of the actions of Imam Husain (a.s.) were done for a reason and calculated, and even though he was aware of the dangers of travelling, he still took his family members with him to Kufa, saying: “Verily, Allah wishes to see them as captives.”[Bihar al-Anwar, vol. 44, p. 314]

So, by doing this the Imam (a.s.) wanted them to be his propagators in the different cities and in the heart of the enemy’s land. The women of Karbala, and in particular Seyidah Zainab (a.s.) were very influential in continuing with the uprising of Imam Husain (a.s.) and were able to change the stance of many people in opposing the Bani Umayah government. They counter-attacked the anti-Shi’a propaganda, and exposed the corruption and evil doings of the Yazid government.

The following details can assist in further understanding the important role the women of Karbala had in the uprising:

1. Delivering a Message: The history of Islam shows us many examples of primary roles women had in the Mission of spreading Islam. Events where a female was there hand in hand with the male. Seyidah Khadijah (a.s.) was beside the Prophet (s.a.w.), Fatimah al-Zahraa (a.s.) was with Imam Ali (a.s.), and both these women had many responsibilities and duties. In the uprising of Imam Husain (a.s.) it was Seyidah Zainab (a.s.) who continued with this legacy and played a major role in the revolution.The uprising of Imam Husain (a.s.) was fighting and martyrdom all the way till the afternoon of ‘Ashura, and it was him that led this battle. After him, the role of Imam al-Sajjad (a.s.) and Seyyidah Zainab (a.s.) commenced.The amount of widespread propaganda against Ahlul Bayt (a.s.) from the time of Mu’awiyah, and in particular in the area of Shaam, had a great influence on how the people felt towards Bani Hashim, and if the uprising had stopped there on that afternoon, the message would not have continued and made the universal impact it has achieved. The advertising and propagation and publicising that the captives had during their captivation did not allow the enemies to continue on with their atrocities, and they corrected the views and ideology of the masses of people.

2. The Propaganda of the Enemy losing its effect: Shaam at that time was under the power of the likes of Khalid ibn Walid and Mu’awiyah ibn Abi Sufyan. The people of this land had not heard anything from the teachings of the Prophet (s.a.w.) and had very filtered and limited information about Islam. People had thought that Islam was represented through Bani Ummayah, and they were forced to accept Muawiyah as the Caliph. Mu’awiyah ruled Syria for up to 42 years, and this explains what kind of environment its people grew up in. The government was not shy in holding back their outward animosity and hatred towards the Ahlul Bayt (a.s.) and their followers.
Seyidah Zainab (a.s.) stood in front of all of this after Karbala and exposed their corruptions, religious, social and political. Their plots and schemes were not able to survive and their claws of power were losing grip.

3. Exposing the essence of the tyrant rulers: Another reason for the presence of the Imam’s (a.s.) family was to show the face of the bloodthirsty, inhumane, and merciless person Yazid and his government. An effective element that made people accept the Message of Imam Husain (a.s.) and let the uprising have its effect was that people saw how oppressed they were. The human being by nature opposes oppression and stands against tyranny, and people came to see the reality when they witnessed the atrocities committed.In the event of Karbala, true oppression occurred, along with the sacrifice that Imam Husain (a.s.) and the other martyrs made. The women and children who were without weapons were attacked, they were hit, their jewellery was snatched from them, their tents were burnt, a six month infant was killed, and all were thirsty for water in the plains of Karbala.

The global message of Imam Husain (a.s.) was successful because of the many dimensions it had, and a very effective aspect of this uprising is the presence of the women of Ahlul Bayt (a.s.) at Karbala.

Answered by: Sheikh Zaid Alsalami

Imam Hussain (as) received a letter from people of Kufa with these words: “We invite you to come to Kufa as we have no Imam to guide us. Through you Allah will unite us on the path of truth.”

Imam Hussain decided to send Muslim bin Aqeel (as) to Kufa and said :

“Muslim, the whole world knows that you are one of the bravest warriors. It is just possible that seeing you in Kufa some people may think that our intention is to fight Yazid. Take your two sons Muhammad and Ibrahim with you. When they see you with such young children, they will know that our intentions are peaceful.”

Imam Hussain AS realized that the Islamic case cannot gain victory except by the excellence of sacrifice he make. So he insisted with intention and faith to give the finest sacrifices. He gave himself and shades his pure blood in order to raise the banner of the right, and to raise the word of Allah on Earth.

Also he the Father of Martyrs AS gave the greatest sacrifice which is that no social reformer gave before on earth. He presented his children, his family and his companions as redemption for what his conscience sees of mainstream of Justice and to rumor the true and good between people.

He sacrificed his sons, his brothers and companions AS. He was watching those elites -who are the noblest among human when it comes to loyalty to the right- while they were competing to death between his hands. And he was watching the stars among his family and sons -who are still children and at their prime of youth- while their bodies are being shredded by swords and spears.

The world was shocked for the grandeur of this sacrifice which represents the honor of faith, the highness of intent, and the greatness of the principles that he fought for it. And it is with no-doubt will remain standing forever to light the road for people and support them with the best lessons about sacrifice for the sake of right and duty.

I dont think this is the appropriate thread to discuss Yazid.. So plzz discuss Yazid elsewhere.. Yazid is nowhere related to Hazrat Umar(R.A)'s era...so y are we discussing Yazid in this thread? Plz I would like this thread to remain exclusive for Hazrat Umar(R.A) and his achievements.. Mods plzz take notice @Aeronaut.. Plzz delete or take notice of offtopic posts related to Yazid in this thread..before it becomes a troll fest

Please Stick to the Topic Everyone....This thread is about Umar Farooq (RTA) not About Yazeed....

Yazid can not be explained without properly understanding the circumstances of Hazrat Usman's shahadat.

If you understand why and how Hazrat Usman was murdered, you will understand the role of Yazeed.

Remember, Umar was 2nd Caliph, whereas Yazeed's role comes into play after Usman. you need to put the pieces Chronologically right.
Exactly what happened to Hazrat Usman RA was one of the reason Hazrat Muawayia didn't wanted khilfafat to go out of his tribe he belonged to same tribe of USMAN RA 
Plus Omer (PBUH) was also the best administrator of the 4 Caliphs ! :tup:

Osman (PBUH) was the one with the greatest grip on Economics but not as good an Administrator as Omer & Abu Bakr (PBU them both)

Abu Bakr (PBUH) was the gentlest of the lot with a remarkably strong resolve in very testing times !

Ali (PBUH) was the bravest of them all & a great Scholar of Islam ! Unfortunately he wasn't a very good administrator !

I wish that Ayesha (PBUH) had succeeded Osman (PBUH) as the new Caliph - Would've been something to have her as Our Leader !
Hazrat Ali was great administrator but he was also questioned this thing that why their are problems in your time but their were no problems in time of first two he replied because first two were ruling on people like me but I am ruling on people like you