Are we celebrating Prophet's B'day or making others life Hell?

However.. praise for the prophet is not Biddah(where it does not cross the lines of decency and what is forbidden in interpretative religion). Naat, and other forms of praise for the prophet have been around since the earliest days of Islam.

May this be taken as a challenge, but please do reference a "naat" which is praise for prophet.

As to why the Prophet's birthday is "celebrated" is for association, since we should then also not have any celebration or remembrance of 14th August, 23rd March, 6th Sep.. or any of the like.
After all.. why not have Pakistani flags fluttering throughout the year and national anthems all day?
It is a way to associate ourselves with our identity as Pakistani's.
We are Muslims and our Prophet is Mohammad Ibn Abdullah Ibn Shaybah(also known as Abd-al-Muttalib) S.A.W.

To keep our identity strong with Islam we were given 5 pillars.
But please do find arguments which prove this inventive processes of aligning identity.
I am contesting any form of ritual which is invented after the prophet.

Unfortunately.. we have lost our claim of following the middle road.. and either shun the prophet entirely by degrading him to a common man as those "scholars" following the Najdi school do.. or praise him inappropriately as those mentioned by the thread Starter do. Both have severe consequences.. the former is partially responsible for the loss of unity in the Muslim world(amongst other damages) and the latter leads to Biddah.

It is always better to take a single teacher when trying to investigate religion.. but one must choose wisely.. as the empty mind is vulnerable to being inspired by all sorts of Bigots and Hizbs..false and shallow ideologies masquerading as "pure" or "revolutionary. Like all diciplines.. one must be careful.. and sometimes fortunate to look for the proverbial MIT and hope that one has found the Massachusetts Institute of technology and not Mughalpura Institute of Telecommuncations.
When one spends so much time investigating universities, their programs.. their reputations.. and their peer reviews.. and their alumni
it would be sin not to do the same when on a quest to learn about religion.

The common man theory is debatable.
Some have used this very theory for a completely new religion....
Do tell me more about it, WAS the prophet s.a.w a human like you and me ? was WAS he super human.

Hazrat Jarair bayan farmatey hain key Rasol Allah ney irshad farmaya key jo shakhs Islam mien kisi achey tariqey ko raig karey ga to us ko apney raij karney ka bhi sawab miley ga aur un logon key amal ka bhi jo us key bad is tariqey par amal karien gey aur amal karney walon key sawab mien kami na hogi aur jo Islam mien kisi burey tariqey ko raij karey ga to us ko us key raig karney ka bhi gunah miley ga aur un logon key amal karney ka gunah bhi jo us key bad s tariqey par amal kartey rahien gey aur amal karney walon key gunah mien kami nahi hogi

Tirmizi jild 4 number 2686

cant translate it sorry ( lazy man i am )

Haven't you people learnt yet that arguing about religion gets you nowhere. Whats allowed, whats not and most of you will nod and say yes when the person who says it is part of your group.

Individual thinking people.

since beard is order of allah.(as per a few). Can they list out a few practical adv of beard. Because there must be some.

May this be taken as a challenge, but please do reference a "naat" which is praise for prophet.

To keep our identity strong with Islam we were given 5 pillars.
But please do find arguments which prove this inventive processes of aligning identity.
I am contesting any form of ritual which is invented after the prophet.

The common man theory is debatable.
Some have used this very theory for a completely new religion....
Do tell me more about it, WAS the prophet s.a.w a human like you and me ? was WAS he super human.

Invented during the time as well.. As there are documented instances(two referenced in Tafseer-e-Usmani and Tafseer-Siddiqui).
One involving a small girl who sang to praise the prophet.

Was he of the same level as you and me?
Did he sin? Lie? etc... that is common man is it not?

However.. praise for the prophet is not Biddah(where it does not cross the lines of decency and what is forbidden in interpretative religion). Naat, and other forms of praise for the prophet have been around since the earliest days of Islam.
As to why the Prophet's birthday is "celebrated" is for association, since we should then also not have any celebration or remembrance of 14th August, 23rd March, 6th Sep.. or any of the like.
After all.. why not have Pakistani flags fluttering throughout the year and national anthems all day?
It is a way to associate ourselves with our identity as Pakistani's.
We are Muslims and our Prophet is Mohammad Ibn Abdullah Ibn Shaybah(also known as Abd-al-Muttalib) S.A.W.
Unfortunately.. we have lost our claim of following the middle road.. and either shun the prophet entirely by degrading him to a common man as those "scholars" following the Najdi school do.. or praise him inappropriately as those mentioned by the thread Starter do. Both have severe consequences.. the former is partially responsible for the loss of unity in the Muslim world(amongst other damages) and the latter leads to Biddah.

It is always better to take a single teacher when trying to investigate religion.. but one must choose wisely.. as the empty mind is vulnerable to being inspired by all sorts of Bigots and Hizbs..false and shallow ideologies masquerading as "pure" or "revolutionary. Like all diciplines.. one must be careful.. and sometimes fortunate to look for the proverbial MIT and hope that one has found the Massachusetts Institute of technology and not Mughalpura Institute of Telecommuncations.
When one spends so much time investigating universities, their programs.. their reputations.. and their peer reviews.. and their alumni
it would be sin not to do the same when on a quest to learn about religion.

Yes indeed praising Muhammad SAW is not Biddah but it depends in what manner you praise Muhammad SAW. Praise him like Companions RA did, as a role model, as a ruler, as a Prophet, most of all as a pious man of Allah SWT. But i will not agree that that praising like NAAT is from early days of Islam. i would like to see one Hidith or riwaya regarding people or Companions RA Praising Muhammad SAW in such a way. i know you may give me an example when Muhammad SAW migrated to Madina then people started singing for Muhammad SAW. Thats another story.

Celebrating other National days as you have given example, came after very long long time. Just give me an example that Muslims ever celebrated the day of Fatah makkah, Jang e Baddar, victory over Persia n Jerusalem Etc. etc. These things are invented long long after early days of Islam.
There is no such an example in Islam for remembering such a day.

Remembering of Muhammad SAW is not for one day bro. our personality should represent Muhammad SAW Sunnah. your Dad wont be so happy to see that u celebrate his birthday every year until you fulfills his wishes and you make him proud. your praising wont effect your teacher, no matter how sweet and lovely that is, until u do you homework on time, learn your lesson and pass exam with good position.

i do agree that we must choose wisely for Islamic teaching or else you will find your self being used by Mullana Sb's for his own benefits. But how can one choose any thing without knowing the basics or without having any idea regarding that field. A common Muslim must have a little knowledge regarding Quran and Sunnah and this can only happen by regular studding.

As for Beared is concern, it is a must part of Islam depends on a Muslim's belief. if we force a young or week Muslim to have beard then he might not be able fulfill its demands. A beards kept by heart have more values then a beard by force. So when a Muslim that truly follows the Islam (a Momen), realizes that Sunnah is actually the order or Allah SWT, then he grow his beard because Muhammad SAW liked it the most.

Regards

There are various ahadith of Rasulullah in which the keeping and lengthening of the beard have been ordered. We will just mention a few that prove the above claim.

1) Imam Bukhari (Rahimahullaah) reports on the authority of Imam Nafi' [ra] who narrates from Sayyiduna Abdullah ibn Umar, Radi-Allahu anhu, that Rasulullah said, 'Oppose the Mushrikeen (polytheists); lengthen the beards and trim the moustaches.'

Imam Nafi' (RA) further states, 'And ibn Umar, Radi-Allahu anhu, during Hajj or Umrah used to hold on to his beard with his fist and cut off whatever was in excess of that.' (Bukhari vol.2 pg.875; Kitab-ul-Libas no.5892)

Note: This hadith has also been narrated by Sayyiduna Abu Huraira [Radhiallaahu anhu] and he is also reported to have trimmed his beard beyond one fist.

The verdict of the growing of the beard being wajib (obligatory) is deduced from this hadith. That is because any explicit command of Rasulullah will be regarded as wajib, if there is no apparent, clear reason/proof which states that that particular command is for istihbab (preference). This is an established fact in usool-ul-fiqh (principles of jurisprudence). Rasulullah has commanded the Ummah to lengthen the beards. Allah Ta'ala has mentioned in the noble Qur'an, 'Those who disobey his (Rasulullah - Sallallaahu Alayhi Wasallam) should beware of a trial or painful punishment that will afflict them.' (Surah Noor 63)

Allamah Nawawi (RA) has explained that this hadith has been reported with various wordings:

The word, 'Waffiroo' is mentioned in Sahih Bukhari (Hadith5892). In another narration of Bukhari. The words 'Ufoo' is mentioned (Sahih Bukhari Hadith5893). The word 'Arkhoo' is mentioned in Sahih Muslim (Hadith602). The word 'Awfoo' is mentioned in Sahih Bukhari (Hadith5892) and Sahih Muslim (Hadith601). All these words imply the same meaning and that is to lengthen and to increase the growth of the beard. (Fathul Bari vol.10 pg.429, 431; Sharh al-Nawawi ala Saheeh Muslim vol.2 pg.143)

Hafiz ibn Jareer al-Tabari (ra) has stated that some Ulama have totally disliked that one trim his beard at all, while others have permitted trimming beyond a fist length. (Fathul Bari vol.10 pg.430)

2) When the two messengers of Kisra (Khusru - the Persian King) came to Rasulullah , they had long moustaches and shaved beards. Rasulullah [sallallaahu alayhi wasallam turned his face away in disgust and asked them, 'Who commanded you to do this (despicable deed)?' They replied, 'Our Lord, (i.e. King)' At this, Rasulullah mentioned, 'But my Lord has commanded me to lengthen my beard and shorten my moustache.' (Tabaqaat ibn Sa'ad vol.1 pg.147; Taareekh Tabari vol.2 pg.267-266; Bidaaya wan Nihaaya)

3) In this narration, Rasulullah has stated that to lengthen the beard is in fact the command of Allah Ta'ala Himself.

Furthermore, the Wujoob is further emphasized by the fact that Rasulullah did practice this in his entire life. Know well that Rasulullah did not trim his beard in his life. In fact, the beard of Rasulullah was dense and almost covered his blessed chest. (Shamaail Tirmidhi Hadith8; Dalaail al-Nubuwwah of Imaam Bayhaqi vol.1 pg.235)

Actions of the Sahaba [radhiallaahu anhum] The narrator (Ibn Umar, Radi-Allahu anhu, himself trimmed his beard beyond a fist's length, this implies that the wujoob of keeping a beard is up to a fist length only (this will be explained shortly).

Furthermore, this (trimming beyond a fist length) has also been reported from Sayyiduna Abu Huraira, Radi-Allahu anhu, and other Tabi'een. (Tamheed of ibn Abdul-Barr al-Muntaqaa and Fathul Baari vol.10 pg.430). Bear in mind that Sayyiduna Abu Huraira [radhiallaahu anhu] has also narrated a hadith wherein we are commanded to lengthen the beards. (Sahih Muslim Hadith602)

Moreover, for the benefit of your knowledge, the sayings and actions of the Sahaba (Radhiallaahu Anhum) are a Hujjah (proof). This is also an established principle in usool-ul-fiqh.

---------- Post added at 08:06 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:05 AM ----------

Book 004, Number 0993: (Sahih Muslim)

Ibn 'Abbas reported: The Messenger of Allah (may peace be upon him) had been commanded to prostrate on seven (bones) and forbidden to fold back hair and clothing.
This should be enough, its makrooh to do it, salam

And

Sahih al-Bukhari: Volume 1, Book 12, Number 773

Ibn Abbas (radiAllahu anhu) narrates that the Messenger of Allah (sallAllahu alaihi wa aalihi wa sallam) was ordered to prostrate on seven parts and not to tuck up the clothes or hair [while praying]. Those parts are: the forehead [along with the tip of nose], both hands, both knees, and [toes of] both feet.[end]

hope its enough , When hadiths say it than you should avoid it

salaam.

isnt this supposed to mean not to mess about with your clothes and hair when you are in the actual act of praying. ie when you are actually in namaz. if it was meant at all times then it would mean we cant fold (comb over?) our hair at all other times as well which isnt true. also the hadith says clothes and does not actually mention the izar.

besides, there are other hadith regarding keeping the trousers above the ankles.....

Volume 7, Book 72, Number 678:
Narrated Abu Huraira:
The Prophet said, "The part of an Izar which hangs below the ankles is in the Fire."

Volume 7, Book 72, Number 679:
Narrated Abu Huraira:
Allah's Apostle, "Allah will not look, on the Day of Resurrection, at a person who drags his Izar (behind him) out of pride and arrogance

Volume 7, Book 72, Number 675:
Narrated 'Abdullah bin 'Umar:
The Prophet said Allah will not look, on the Day of Resurrection at the person who drags his garment (behind him) out of conceit. On that Abu Bakr said, "O Allah's Apostle! One side of my Izar hangs low if I do not take care of it." The Prophet said, 'You are not one of those who do that out of conceit."

Volume 7, Book 72, Number 681:
Narrated 'Abdullah bin 'Umar:
Allah's Apostle said, "While a man was dragging his Izar on the ground (behind him), suddenly Allah made him sink into the earth and he will go on sinking into it till the Day of Resurrection."

Yes, but in Pakistan 95% are naats, what about hamds and other nasheeds? hamd is more important than naat or any other nasheed isn't it?

Unfortunately.. we have lost our claim of following the middle road.. and either shun the prophet entirely by degrading him to a common man as those "scholars" following the Najdi school do.. or praise him inappropriately as those mentioned by the thread Starter do.

قل إنما أنا بشر مثلكم يوحى إلي أنما إلهكم إله واحد

there is a good discussion going on but IMO we should start a campaign through social networking on creating awareness among ppls & govt as well that thease kind of things are creating negetive image of our Country & our Religion Govt should take strict actions on those who celebrate this on roads .....but unfortunately i have seen police providing them with securities even when it hurts normal ppls so badly.

Sir because stopping them with force will create a law and order situation for a really long time

yes, but not when common ppls are aware of it that its is unlawful in both ways (country & islamic) we should use this social media for betterment of our society instead of becoming weak like egypt.

Why you want to cut-off the mutton and roti (sorry, bread and butter) of the commercial maulvees who misinterpret the religion as they wish / as their leaders wish to get hold of worldly gains and have made almost the whole nation a bunch of fools.

cz its our duty as a Muslims,

BTW when i was creating this thread i was thinking tht ppl will be up to me & will abuse me for talking like tht but am so much happy tht we Pakistanis are moderate ppls & we (majority) knows wht our religion says & can also tolerate other's views.
but unfortunetely tht minority is being used for political gains so sad.

cz its our duty as a Muslims,

BTW when i was creating this thread i was thinking tht ppl will be up to me & will abuse me for talking like tht but am so much happy tht we Pakistanis are moderate ppls & we (majority) knows wht our religion says & can also tolerate other's views.
but unfortunetely tht minority is being used for political gains so sad.

The majority are illiterate who have not been provided the right sources for educating themselves and are kept to think just within the lines of the triangle - food, cloth, shelter - so that they can be used always for political gains.

If that majority will be educated about the religion in the right way all those people who are dependent on the daily mutton and roti due to the wrong interpretation of the religion spread by them or due to the dirty politics in Pakistan will surely be dieing of hunger and eventually will lead to the well being of the nation, as a person correctly educated in religion will also choose the right person to represent him on national/international levels.

The majority are illiterate who have not been provided the right sources for educating themselves and are kept to think just within the lines of the triangle - food, cloth, shelter - so that they can be used always for political gains.

If that majority will be educated about the religion in the right way all those people who are dependent on the daily mutton and roti due to the wrong interpretation of the religion spread by them or due to the dirty politics in Pakistan will surely be dieing of hunger and eventually will lead to the well being of the nation, as a person correctly educated in religion will also choose the right person to represent him on national/international levels.

You are exectly right, The religion spreded by this mullahs is not islam where they say the physical thing is more important than humanity but in Islam Rights of Man are even more important than Huqooqullah, & we have seen the example of that brainwashing in this thread ppl who think beard & shalwar is more important means Amal is more important than Niyat but we know tht in Islam Niyat is important & than Amal.,