Whatever

Are you saying that @SvenSvensonov could be our very own Viking 007 ? :o:

I'm saying I don't believe that he was simply a United States Navy electronic warfare specialist - he's multi-lingual, intelligent and knows a lot more about the workings of life than I would expect him to:

maxresdefault.jpg

:lol:I don't really know what to think about Sven honestly.

I'm saying I don't believe that he was simply a United States Navy electronic warfare specialist - he's multi-lingual, intelligence and knows a lot more about the workings of life than I would expect him to:

maxresdefault.jpg

Dunno ma'am; all I know is that @SvenSvensonov is my vegetarian viking friend here on PDF ! :)

In real life he can be the Queen of England for all I care ! :whistle:

Though I think hes even thinner than the Queen ! :tongue:

In real life he can be the Queen of England for all I care ! :whistle:

:ashamed:

I'm saying I don't believe that he was simply a United States Navy electronic warfare specialist - he's multi-lingual, intelligent and knows a lot more about the workings of life than I would expect him to:

maxresdefault.jpg

:lol:I don't really know what to think about Sven honestly.

Don't blow my cover, I'll be reassigned to trolling internet forums:pissed:. Submarines do conduct intelligence gathering though, and EMSEC deals with counter-espionage, especially when the NRO or NSA are involved, so you and @Armstrong are kind of right.

Maybe:partay:.

Are you saying that @SvenSvensonov could be our very own Viking 007 ? :o:

Mitt namn är Svensonov , SvenSvensonov:lol:

Thank You for that splendid explanation, @Transhumanist ! :)

My explanation was a bit short on actual linguistic principles, sorry, I'm not too good with that stuff. But I did manage to find a list of mutually intelligible languages:

Mutual intelligibility

Danish, Swedish and Norwegian - as I can demonstrate if you'd like, are mutually intelligible. But German is only so with Dutch.

Interestingly, Japanese isn't on the list. Doesn't it share commonality with other regional languages, or is it too unique and thus understanding other regional languages is difficult for a native Japanese speaker without knowledge of said other languages?

Japanese has a common link with the Altaic languages; Korean, Turkish, Tungusic, Mongol.

In regards to tonation, i would deign to say that Korean is very close. :)

Altaic languages - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

... enough to seduce @Armstrong or @levina ? :bunny:
Anyway,Zindabad everything! :chilli:
Excusez moi??

Btw that reminds me that I use a few blessed words from french :angel:, which come handy when somebody pushes me to the wall (on the forum). I use words like baudet and troduc. Thats how I use french to my rescue. :devil:

Sue me for telling the truth ? Well thats a first ! :unsure:
Truth??
You liar!! :pissed:
How many times have I proven you wrong??? :confused:
I'm 56kgs...capisce amigo??? 8-)
I weigh a lot more than 20 kgs over you....more like 40 kgs ! :ashamed:
:blink: :blink:
Do you really weigh 96kgs??? Was that really you in those pics that you had shown me?? :blink:
96 kgssss???
fainting-smiley.gif

But its all muscle ! :smokin:
No sweetie...thats FAT....pure desi ghee and makhannn. :rofl:

Bichari !! , Din pe bhi Sapne Dekti hai :(
Din me toh aap sapne dekhte ho. :haha::haha::haha:

LOL @jamahir, you just proved my point …
a smart cat would know better than to discuss a lady's weight ( and a smooth one wouldn't at all ). :cuckoo:

:laugh: Tay.

Japanese has a common link with the Altaic languages; Korean, Turkish, Tungusic, Mongol.

In regards to tonation, i would deign to say that Korean is very close. :)

Altaic languages - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

So can you understand Korean without actually being familiar with the language? Swedish and Norwegian have different words, but the same syntax and semantic rules and pronunciation - thus if you know one you can understand the other. The words are similar too.

Norwegian:
Coastguard - kystvakt
Meatloaf - kjøttpudding
Highway - hovedvei
Oil - olje
Snow - snø
It's cold outside - det er kaldt ute
I think you're cute - Jeg tror du er søt
:ashamed:

Swedish:
Coastguard - kustbevakning
Meatloaf - köttfärslimpa
Highway - huvudväg
Oil - olja
Snow - snö
It's cold outside - det är kallt ute
I think you're cute - Jag tror att du är söt

Similar, but not identical. Still, their similarity is close enough that a speaker of one can understand the other, even if you don't actually know the language.

Of the three Nordic languages (discounting Icelandic which is most similar to Faroese), Danish is the most unlike the others, it has different words but also some different syntax and semantic rules, speakers of either Swedish or Norwegian can still understand it though.

If you took a random Japanese and a random Korean person who didn't know each others language could they understand each other if asked to converse?