The unreasonable criticism on Pakistan's defense budget

Answere to this criticism should be another hike in defence budget mid year and buy some flashy gear

75% of pensions are for military personnel. This is in a country with no social security and no medicare

For the record I do not know if the figures are correct. Negative rating does not change the reality
You have to ask the question - what the hell is your army trying to defend ?

Don't get into the liberal patwari arguments, the civilian governments had lots of chances to develop a strong economy and infrastructure but they failed and the military has been able to build their own really well.

One pillar of developing a strong economy means trading with your neighbors. Do not tell me the Pakistani military has allowed that

Furthermore Education is Provencial subject & defence is federal, as per 18th Ammendment, so comparison untill all 4 provunces budget allocation.

Let's see how much in total amounts for education.

you are right. we need to spend more on development of the nation but we have to maintain a large military . we cant survive without them. army is deployed across the country from siachin to gwadar. even army is deployed for fighting locusts, floods, earthquakes, making quarantene centre at taftan and in many other cities, removing debris of air crash or a collapsed building. to bhae ya kam koe free main to nahi karay ga.
the lack of funds is not the main problem in pakistan its the misappropriation of funds and corruption that are reposnsible for our miseries.

Well then it's time to realign our priorities and compromise where needed. The effects of this lack of respect for education will show a couple decades from now when more idiots are elected, and more idiots come to the political scene, while all the people who actually worked hard are drained to west because science and higher education is given zero shit.

A never ending cycle.

Answere to this criticism should be another hike in defence budget mid year and buy some flashy gear

Yes, that's the solution. I say we end health

Thank you for correection;

Education - 83 billion
Health - 25 billion

Army - 1100+ billion without pensions.

That fixes everything. Our education has been saved. /s
again wrong and agenda based posting .... don't live in 1980s or 1990s its 2020

First of all 25 billion is the budget just for Federal Health Ministry, plz note other Federal Ministries also allocate funds related to Health form their respective budgets you can just see it yourself from Budget documents .... so over all figure of Federal Health budget is higher than Federal Health Ministry Budget

Secondly you must aware that after 18th amendment Education and Health is provincial subject ..... so all the provinces allocate their budget for Health and Education separately; I don't remember the exact figure but for example combine budget for Education of all 4 Provincial Government plus Federal Government was more or less equivalent to Federal Defence Budget, you can yourself check previous budget documents

Well then it's time to realign our priorities and compromise where needed. The effects of this lack of respect for education will show a couple decades from now when more idiots are elected, and more idiots come to the political scene, while all the people who actually worked hard are drained to west because science and higher education is given zero shit.

A never ending cycle.

who is denying the importance of education and health but zinda raho gay to ya kam karo gay na.

Ever since the budget has been announced in the parliament and some news channels have compared the figures of defense spending with that of education budget in a twisted fashion, a good portion of Pakistan's netizens have started to criticize the defence budget. I am writing few lines in order to bring up some valid arguments which I hope will help in rectification of certain misunderstandings.

The size of Defence Budget primarily depends upon two factors,

1: The acuteness of threat environment
2: The economic capacity of state

Pakistan being one of major hot spots of power struggle has to deal with multitude of threats. These threats primarily exists due to arch rivalry with India which has hegemonic intentions and seeks to suppress all its neighbors. Despite of suffering economic decline, India is still expanding its defence budget (currently $65.86 Billion) and is currently among top weapons purchaser in the World.

The security requirements of Pakistan dictates a minimum budget requirement of approximately $20 Billion. However due to poor economic support, Pakistan is restricted to spend below $8 Billion on its defense and has to comprehensively revise its defence planning process to accommodate the security requirements with in figures much lower than requisite benchmark. By keeping economic conditions into account, armed forces voluntarily requested not to increase the defense budget in year 2019-20.

The Military's requirement for Defence Budget in year 2020-21 was $9.08 Billion. However, again, after mutual understanding with GoP, the budget was reduced to mere $7.83 Billion.

The increment in Defence Budget is mere $260 Million instead of initially planned $1250 Million. The reduction will cost several important projects, many of which will either face delays while rest may suffer cancellation. And when ever a project is cancelled, it creates a void in capability which might be exploited by enemy in peace and war alike and can cause damage beyond comprehension.

The criticism on defence budget should be steered towards the debt payments which are consuming roughly 45% of National budget and have ruined the national economic growth. How Pakistan ended up in such debts? It's a matter of separate debate.

For sustainment of regional balance of power, maintaining minimum military capacity (which we are barely doing) is crucial. A major decline in defensive capabilities will collapse the deterrence and will lead to Indo Pak conflict. Henceforth, defence spending, either any idealistic person agrees or not, is crucial for thwarting wars and keeping the state intact so that other institutes can work within a well defined system within frame of National law & order.

Shown below is rough comparison of Indo-Pak net defence budgets in past three years.

Via #Tipu7

View attachment 641449
Bhai, PDF walay to samajhtay hain,

Jo nai samajhtay, Wahan pohanchaen ye sab !!!

Very informative and excellent read

What are you even talking about? We are facing multiple enemies from all sides. Afghanistan and Indian require us to keep constant vigil and spend more. Were you happy when Taliban were running crazy? You need resources to fight money and that takes money. We are spending less of GDP compared to some very rich countries and even Israel.

Rank Country % of GDP
23px-Flag_of_Saudi_Arabia.svg.png
Saudi Arabia 8.8[a]
23px-Flag_of_Oman.svg.png
Oman 8.2[c]
23px-Flag_of_Algeria.svg.png
Algeria 5.3[c]
23px-Flag_of_Kuwait.svg.png
Kuwait 5.1
23px-Flag_of_Lebanon.svg.png
Lebanon 5.0[a]
23px-Flag_of_Armenia.svg.png
Armenia 4.8
23px-Flag_of_Jordan.svg.png
Jordan 4.7
21px-Flag_of_Israel.svg.png
Israel 4.3
23px-Flag_of_Pakistan.svg.png
Pakistan 4.0
23px-Flag_of_Russia.svg.png
Russia 3.9
23px-Flag_of_Ukraine.svg.png
Ukraine 3.8[a]
23px-Flag_of_Azerbaijan.svg.png
Azerbaijan 3.8
23px-Flag_of_Bahrain.svg.png
Bahrain 3.6
23px-Flag_of_Uzbekistan.svg.png
Uzbekistan 3.6
23px-Flag_of_Namibia.svg.png
Namibia 3.3
23px-Flag_of_Colombia.svg.png
Colombia 3.2

Indians spent " However the actual expenditure exceeded the estimated amount and final spending of defencefor 2019-20 stood at ₹448,820 crores (US$62.71 Billions). WiKi

compared to $8 Billion we spent fighting enemies on multiple fronts.
Try using your brain....
Official paper defense nse spending is 2.8%
Including pensions and paramilitary forces it hit 4.0%
However that is misleading as paramilitary is mostly doing policing job ..
So number is probably around 3.5%

A never ending cycle.

Health is on what app now. Whole nation is eating senna makki