BBC News Navigation
Sections

ADVERTISEMENT

BBC Trending

'Wake up bloody civilian': Pakistan army video provokes backlash
By BBC TrendingWhat's popular and why
  • 16 September 2016
Media captionPoliceman being manhandled
The military is probably the most stable and revered institution in Pakistan. But a mobile video that allegedly shows army officers assaulting police who had stopped them for suspected "reckless driving" has provoked a rare public backlash.

Video Journalist: Ahmen Khawaja

For more videos subscribe to BBC Trending's YouTube channel. Or find us on Facebook.

Subscribe to our podcast

First of all is it related to the CLAIM which you have made about the Provincial Expenditures ....???

Secondly one of incident is all to prove your ignorance and hatred .... do you know what happen to that Army Officer after the incident .... ???

So plz leave all off-topic agenda based posting first only prove your INITIAL CLAIM about ALL 4 PROVINCIAL EXPENDITURES COMBINED are less than Military pension

Homepage
Accessibility links
Sign in
Search

News
BBC News Navigation
Sections

ADVERTISEMENT

BBC Trending

'Wake up bloody civilian': Pakistan army video provokes backlash
By BBC TrendingWhat's popular and why
  • 16 September 2016
Media captionPoliceman being manhandled
The military is probably the most stable and revered institution in Pakistan. But a mobile video that allegedly shows army officers assaulting police who had stopped them for suspected "reckless driving" has provoked a rare public backlash.

Video Journalist: Ahmen Khawaja

For more videos subscribe to BBC Trending's YouTube channel. Or find us on Facebook.

Subscribe to our podcast

Are you a f...moron? first, you made totally false claims and now when you couldn't find anything else you posted this. Where are the moderators????

View attachment 641456

Military Pensions alone is more than the entire expenditure of all 4 provinces combined. Let that sink in for a moment. Just the pension !. What kind of a nation are we? Why do we continue to put up with this crap when there are millions of people inside Pakistan dying of hunger , diseases and unemployment. At this point I can only think of North Korea which is similar in this regard.

this awam chose to not help themselves and like to enjoy free stuff.
all they do is make kids and blame everybody but themselves for the plight they are in.
governments dont build nations, people build nations and pakistani awam are in another dimension.

View attachment 641456

Military Pensions alone is more than the entire expenditure of all 4 provinces combined. Let that sink in for a moment. Just the pension !. What kind of a nation are we? Why do we continue to put up with this crap when there are millions of people inside Pakistan dying of hunger , diseases and unemployment. At this point I can only think of North Korea which is similar in this regard.

u are a nation where majority of u are complainers, wieners, corrupt, tax chaur, narcissists and run amucks

sorry, its all your own fault for allowing corrupt to run

First of all is it related to the CLAIM which you have made about the Provincial Expenditures ....???

Secondly one of incident is all to prove your ignorance and hatred .... do you know what happen to that Army Officer after the incident .... ???

So plz leave all off-topic agenda based posting first only prove your INITIAL CLAIM about ALL 4 PROVINCIAL EXPENDITURES COMBINED are less than Military pension

You claimed to show you proof of the claim 'bloody civilian' . I did show it to you. US who is a superpower and has a 22 trillion economy has a budget of 3.4 % of their GDP. Pakistan a developing country has the highest percentage of defence spending as % of their GDP. Last year it was more than 4 %. This year with the depreciation in rupee it is likely to be more.

More than half of this country's economy is undocumented. Why? No documentation means no taxes. This chor awam doesn't want to document and pay taxes and targets military expenditure.

Pakistan needs a military we must get over it. You can also blame the military govts for not expanding the economic pie enough, but if you dont want a digitally documented economy, keep going this way.

You claimed to show you proof of the claim 'bloody civilian' . I did show it to you. US who is a superpower and has a 22 trillion economy has a budget of 3.4 % of their GDP. Pakistan a developing country has the highest percentage of defence spending as % of their GDP. Last year it was more than 4 %. This year with the depreciation in rupee it is likely to be more.

What are you even talking about? We are facing multiple enemies from all sides. Afghanistan and Indian require us to keep constant vigil and spend more. Were you happy when Taliban were running crazy? You need resources to fight money and that takes money. We are spending less of GDP compared to some very rich countries and even Israel.

Rank Country % of GDP
23px-Flag_of_Saudi_Arabia.svg.png
Saudi Arabia 8.8[a]
23px-Flag_of_Oman.svg.png
Oman 8.2[c]
23px-Flag_of_Algeria.svg.png
Algeria 5.3[c]
23px-Flag_of_Kuwait.svg.png
Kuwait 5.1
23px-Flag_of_Lebanon.svg.png
Lebanon 5.0[a]
23px-Flag_of_Armenia.svg.png
Armenia 4.8
23px-Flag_of_Jordan.svg.png
Jordan 4.7
21px-Flag_of_Israel.svg.png
Israel 4.3
23px-Flag_of_Pakistan.svg.png
Pakistan 4.0
23px-Flag_of_Russia.svg.png
Russia 3.9
23px-Flag_of_Ukraine.svg.png
Ukraine 3.8[a]
23px-Flag_of_Azerbaijan.svg.png
Azerbaijan 3.8
23px-Flag_of_Bahrain.svg.png
Bahrain 3.6
23px-Flag_of_Uzbekistan.svg.png
Uzbekistan 3.6
23px-Flag_of_Namibia.svg.png
Namibia 3.3
23px-Flag_of_Colombia.svg.png
Colombia 3.2

Indians spent " However the actual expenditure exceeded the estimated amount and final spending of defencefor 2019-20 stood at ₹448,820 crores (US$62.71 Billions). WiKi

compared to $8 Billion we spent fighting enemies on multiple fronts.
Try using your brain....

you are liar as well all of your post is filled with just lies prove any single thing you have posted in this post about Pakistan's defence budget

You claimed to show you proof of the claim 'bloody civilian'
Again a lie this is my stance from FIRST POST of mine in this thread
what an absurd argument can you post the provincial government expenditures .... from their respective official source here ..... ???

Ever since the budget has been announced in the parliament and some news channels have compared the figures of defense spending with that of education budget in a twisted fashion, a good portion of Pakistan's netizens have started to criticize the defence budget. I am writing few lines in order to bring up some valid arguments which I hope will help in rectification of certain misunderstandings.

The size of Defence Budget primarily depends upon two factors,

1: The acuteness of threat environment
2: The economic capacity of state

Pakistan being one of major hot spots of power struggle has to deal with multitude of threats. These threats primarily exists due to arch rivalry with India which has hegemonic intentions and seeks to suppress all its neighbors. Despite of suffering economic decline, India is still expanding its defence budget (currently $65.86 Billion) and is currently among top weapons purchaser in the World.

The security requirements of Pakistan dictates a minimum budget requirement of approximately $20 Billion. However due to poor economic support, Pakistan is restricted to spend below $8 Billion on its defense and has to comprehensively revise its defence planning process to accommodate the security requirements with in figures much lower than requisite benchmark. By keeping economic conditions into account, armed forces voluntarily requested not to increase the defense budget in year 2019-20.

The Military's requirement for Defence Budget in year 2020-21 was $9.08 Billion. However, again, after mutual understanding with GoP, the budget was reduced to mere $7.83 Billion.

The increment in Defence Budget is mere $260 Million instead of initially planned $1250 Million. The reduction will cost several important projects, many of which will either face delays while rest may suffer cancellation. And when ever a project is cancelled, it creates a void in capability which might be exploited by enemy in peace and war alike and can cause damage beyond comprehension.

The criticism on defence budget should be steered towards the debt payments which are consuming roughly 45% of National budget and have ruined the national economic growth. How Pakistan ended up in such debts? It's a matter of separate debate.

For sustainment of regional balance of power, maintaining minimum military capacity (which we are barely doing) is crucial. A major decline in defensive capabilities will collapse the deterrence and will lead to Indo Pak conflict. Henceforth, defence spending, either any idealistic person agrees or not, is crucial for thwarting wars and keeping the state intact so that other institutes can work within a well defined system within frame of National law & order.

Shown below is rough comparison of Indo-Pak net defence budgets in past three years.

Via #Tipu7

View attachment 641449

No point in comparing Indo-Pak defence budgets. You have to think in the context of your country. Our education budget is a mere 4 billion, we need to make compromises. Sure, military section is important but there should be a balance!

Having a budget for education of a mere 83* billion RS, and 25* billion for Health comparing to military budget of 1100+ billion is a joke.

all pakistanis who are criticising defence budget must be told that next time they should go to LOC and bring down indian jets with slingshot.

All Pakistani's defending the defence budget should be told to not cry about a bad future because you failed to educate your youth and give them a quality education, while people produce like rabbits. We're in this cycle because no one considers 40% illiteracy and stunted growth as an emergency! They consider it a joke, just like you people.

Let's stick with the original conversation.....so tell me something about the provincial revenues and expenses.....I hope you know the bloody difference between the federal government employees (civilians AND the armed forces ) and the provincial government employees (no armed forces). Who pays the pensions now?
The federal government under 18 th amendment transfers the amount to run the government and federal transfers for the projects. So what happens to all the taxes, duties, and revenues provinces generate? who pays for the provincial employees and their pensions?

wrong figure just check the budget document again ....

Thank you for correection;

Education - 83 billion
Health - 25 billion

Army - 1100+ billion without pensions.

That fixes everything. Our education has been saved. /s

Where's the balance? Is education and health less important than the Army?

wrong figure just check the budget document again ....

from that 83 billion, higher education has been allocated 34 billion.

science and information projects have been allocated a meagre 20 billion.

All Pakistani's defending the defence budget should be told to not cry about a bad future because you failed to educate your youth and give them a quality education, while people produce like rabbits. We're in this cycle because no one considers 40% illiteracy and stunted growth as an emergency! They consider it a joke, just like you people.
you are right. we need to spend more on development of the nation but we have to maintain a large military . we cant survive without them. army is deployed across the country from siachin to gwadar. even army is deployed for fighting locusts, floods, earthquakes, making quarantene centre at taftan and in many other cities, removing debris of air crash or a collapsed building. to bhae ya kam koe free main to nahi karay ga.
the lack of funds is not the main problem in pakistan its the misappropriation of funds and corruption that are reposnsible for our miseries.