Swachh Bharat: Modi's promise of cleaning Varanasi doesn't appear to be an empty one

I want people to interact to river. Bathing religious ceremony etc. just don't dump waste. Even those organic matters.

If people won't relate to river,it will die because lack of attachment or existence in social fabric. Let there be bathing boats and puja. It's flowing river those won't harm. Only that treated water should be give back to river if you want your water to be dumped.

how about this...

1. like those island resort five star hotel swimming pools set beside the sea, at 500 meters distance from the river, have a artificial ( but natural-looking ) waterfall area where purified river water pours down from the height on the pilgrims gathered below.

2. these pilgrims must have arrived clean.

3. the water in the waterfall pool must be taken to a underground purification plant from where it is released from the river side-wall.

4. having bathed, the pilgrims be taken a hours-long tour of the river... this boat should be a big river-ship with facility of toilet and food... there should be a fleet of such boats.

5. there should be a point in the river where a pipe arrangement receives ash of dead people... the pipe should almost touch the river bed... the boat should stop at this point and the pilgrims allowed to pour the ash of their relatives into this pipe.

of course, the conditions for the above should be...

1. no more burning of the dead by the river side.
2. no more special coming to varanasi to die there and be burned there.
3. electric crematoria for the citizens of varanasi.
4. complete removal of structures by riverside upto 500 meters to the riverside, to be replaced by the waterfall complex described above.
5. complete clean-up of the riverside.
6. quota of only 20,000 pilgrims per year... surely, if this river is so sacred then someone can wait a year or two to carry the ash of their family members to varanasi... they surely can wait.

Work at Assi Ghat on progress.
CB-fwJhUsAARuAH.jpg

CB-fwXhUEAEuCOw.jpg

CB-fxeAVEAAenA_.jpg
Ahh Ranjeet bhai,good to see you back in this forum:-).This time i really thought that the mods had banned you for life but i am happy to admit that i was wrong:D.Anyways good to have you back among us:cheers:

thank you bhai .. welcome back from the ban to you too :cheers:

how about this...

1. like those island resort five star hotel swimming pools set beside the sea, at 500 meters distance from the river, have a artificial ( but natural-looking ) waterfall area where purified river water pours down from the height on the pilgrims gathered below.

3. the water in the waterfall pool must be taken to a underground purification plant from where it is released from the river side-wall.

4. having bathed, the pilgrims be taken a hours-long tour of the river... this boat should be a big river-ship with facility of toilet and food... there should be a fleet of such boats.

5. there should be a point in the river where a pipe arrangement receives ash of dead people... the pipe should almost touch the river bed... the boat should stop at this point and the pilgrims allowed to pour the ash of their relatives into this pipe.

4. complete removal of structures by riverside upto 500 meters to the riverside, to be replaced by the waterfall complex described above.
6. quota of only 20,000 pilgrims per year... surely, if this river is so sacred then someone can wait a year or two to carry the ash of their family members to varanasi... they surely can wait.

This study was done in 2009

Varanasi has 227 slums spread all over the city, either on government or private lands. Maximum percentage of people living in the slums is employed with the Varanasi Municipal Corporation (VMC) as safai karamcharis. Labourers employed with the handloom industry account for the second highest concentration followed by rickshaw-pullers, which account for nearly 10% to 15% of the slum population.

Slums are spread all over the city with major concentrations in the Old City area near the ghats, small-scale industries (as a high percentage of slum-dwellers are weavers working in handloom industry) as well as in the Rajghat area. The main factor attributing to this concentration is proximity to work place. In case of the Old City area, the employment generation due to religious and tourist traffic and in case of Rajghat area, the availability of open land has led to indiscriminate squatting.

The total population of slums is concentrated mainly in central city (50%) and peripheral area (37%). The number of BPL families comprises nearly 20% of the total slum population while the number of Economically Weaker Section (EWS) household is more in central city than peripheral areas. The total number of slum households is nearly 56,652 covering approximately 1372.6 hectares (approximately 17%) in the city.

According to the detailed study of slums conducted by DUDA in Varanasi, nearly 59.5% of the population in these slums belongs to the SC category. The report contains the details of available basic infrastructure and civic amenities including drinking water supply, sewage, drainage, garbage dumping, individual and community toilets and other facilities.

But, in the absence of detailed information regarding housing conditions in all slums, analysis of housing scenario was done on the basis of 109 slums. Out of 109 slums, 64% of slums had pucca houses, 22% had semi-pucca followed by 14% jhuggi jhopri. The housing is made up of make shift material like sandstone tiles, thatches. In view of the same, outcomes of the study report major emphasis was given on housing for urban poor.

There are going to be flats like this around Varanasi ghats for EWS

'Housing for All by 2022' is among Prime Minister Narendra Modi's pet projects. Photo shows flats built by the Delhi Urban Shelter Development Board for the economically weaker sections.
30TH_HOUSING_2357223f.jpg

thank you bhai .. welcome back from the ban to you too :cheers:
Btw Haryana mein sab thik thak hain na:P??I mean Manohar Lal Khattar ke sarkar kaam toh thik tarah se kar rahi hain na:azn:??Just yesterday i heard on the news that some farmers in Hissar aren't happy at all with this new BJP Govt. because of the tiny compensation package that they got for their destroyed crops:undecided:

Sab thik hai bhai, rain has played a spoil sport but things are getting better.

Guys... can we stop
Oh well, seems like people will only do their job when PM Modi Ji jumps on their heads personally to do them.

Excellent. Now we'll ask him to contest 2019 elections from Gangtok. We want to be the Zürich of India. Jobs plus nature plus development. :D.

Looks like he's the only one who can do it.

Pick up some brooms and start cleaning my friend.

I was part of this
Embassy Cessna Park Spotfix! | Facebook

Before:

After:
10417774_901625103180926_4676217516143380283_n.jpg

Planning again soon

Sab thik hai bhai, rain has played a spoil sport but things are getting better.
Waise Bangal ka haal aajkal kuch thik nehi hain:(!!Sala,jidhaar dekho udhaar maarpit ho raha hain.Ruling party ke gunde sab vipakshio ko kutte ki tarah pure state mein maar rahi hain aur hamare Police chah kar bhi kuch kar nehi paa rahi hain kyun ke unke bhi haath baandhe huye hain:tsk:.Sometimes i wish that i were never born in this fcuked up state,sale these fcukers are actually ruining the names of all those Bengali nationalists and freedom fighters who sacrificed their everything for India:hitwall:!!

Koi ni bhai ... just brave the storm. Things will be better soon.

This study was done in 2009

But, in the absence of detailed information regarding housing conditions in all slums, analysis of housing scenario was done on the basis of 109 slums. Out of 109 slums, 64% of slums had pucca houses, 22% had semi-pucca followed by 14% jhuggi jhopri. The housing is made up of make shift material like sandstone tiles, thatches. In view of the same, outcomes of the study report major emphasis was given on housing for urban poor.

why was this study even done??

The report contains the details of available basic infrastructure and civic amenities including drinking water supply, sewage, drainage, garbage dumping, individual and community toilets and other facilities.

instead of making this unnecessary report, the idea should have been to resettle the slum dwellers five kilometers away from the river.

There are going to be flats like this around Varanasi ghats for EWS

that is a ridiculous idea, if i may be so bold... the idea should be to clean varanasi, especially the river area, permanently... retaining the ghats will not clean varanasi and its river until india exists... simple as that.

what i presented in my previous post is a logical solution that takes care of ecology as well as cultural sentiment.

'Housing for All by 2022' is among Prime Minister Narendra Modi's pet projects. Photo shows flats built by the Delhi Urban Shelter Development Board for the economically weaker sections.
30TH_HOUSING_2357223f.jpg

the entire middle-class of india is ews.

and when modi says "housing for all", who are these "all" and will this be free good quality housing, socialism-style??

Because of the concern of Economically Weaker sections of Varanasi.

instead of making this unnecessary report, the idea should have been to resettle the slum dwellers five kilometers away from the river.

It would be more good to improve the living standards of those people and settle them.

that is a ridiculous idea, if i may be so bold... the idea should to clean varanasi, especially the river area, permanently... retaining the ghats will not clean varanasi and its river until india exists... simple as that.

86 Ghats are there and for this time is needed. Work has been done on Assi Ghat and more is needed. Hope Government will prepare the report and call press conferance on this Ghats the work has been done.

why didn't modi declare start of providing free housing for all?? good quality free housing, socialism style... where no one need ever take bank loan ( interest-based ) to construct a stupid 30x40 plot or buy a flat... where no one tranfers his stupid small house to their children... where no one will own land but can use as long they wish.

If all our money comes back from Swiss banks then we can do that.

Blackmoney: Swiss banks seek fresh undertakings from Indians - timesofindia-economictimes
PTIMar 29, 2015, 01.00PM IST
Recently, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley had said that all efforts are being made to bring to book those who have been named in the HSBC bank list of black money holders and there are evidence against them.

There were as many as 628 names in the HSBC list.

"We have in this process found that the total income which is evaded is to the extent of Rs 3,250 crore for which there is a tax impact. That assessment has been completed," Jaitley had said about the HSBC list.

"In more than 200 of those cases, assessment have been completed, demands have been placed on them. In some cases recovery have been made... Additionally, in about 77 of those cases, criminal prosecution have already been finalised. The details of each one of them are with us," Jaitley had told the Rajya Sabha this month.

Meanwhile, the Swiss government is slowly moving towards automatic exchange of tax information with various jurisdictions, including India.

Earlier this month, Swiss government said talks on automatic exchange of tax information with India would begin at the "earliest" once the domestic procedures are in place.

Citing discussions between officials of both sides last October, a Swiss Federal Department of Finance spokesperson had said talks on automatic exchange of tax information would start at the earliest once the domestic procedures are completed in Switzerland.

@Georgeclark

what do you think of my solution for the varanasi clean-up issue ( Swachh Bharat: Modi's promise of cleaning Varanasi doesn't appear to be an empty one | Page 15 )??

i made suggestion keeping in mind protection of ecology and consideration of cultural sentiments.

this issue relates easily to your contract with andhra government.

It would be more good to improve the living standards of those people and settle them.

it is the other way around... resettle them into high-quality free single-storey houses within a nicely-planned aesthetically-pleasing residential area ( parks, no dogs, no thela hawkers of vegetables, enforced quietness etc ) and their living standards are automatically improved.

86 Ghats are there and for this time is needed. Work has been done on Assi Ghat and more is needed. Hope Government will prepare the report and call press conferance on this Ghats the work has been done.

janaab, the whole problem are the ghats... they must be replaced with the suggestion/solution i presented at the top of the page ( Swachh Bharat: Modi's promise of cleaning Varanasi doesn't appear to be an empty one | Page 15 ).

otherwise, you and i, and the clean-up project, will be going around in circles.

If all our money comes back from Swiss banks then we can do that.

it will be a start to redirect the massive spending of the indian military and the income from the services industry towards welfare.

without socialism, the "swiss bank money", if ever obtained, will go towards the indian military yet again and never towards real welfare of the indian populace.

Swach Bharat needs to devote several Antilia's worth of $$ for the planting and maintaining of grass. Grass will lock soil down making India cleaner and reducing air pollution.

that is a ridiculous idea, if i may be so bold... the idea should be to clean varanasi, especially the river area, permanently... retaining the ghats will not clean varanasi and its river until india exists... simple as that.

what i presented in my previous post is a logical solution that takes care of ecology as well as cultural sentiment.

and when modi says "housing for all", who are these "all" and will this be free good quality housing, socialism-style??
Free mein ?

Socialism is bheekh?

how about this...

Ok bro read it fully, one thing any designer takes care is of Never break the belief of people and take care of all Rich or Poor. Thats the main thing. So we cannot make them not bring dead to varanasi, instead there can be ghat made a bit away from the city itself which can have its own dharamshala for people to stay specially for this propose. The water in which they put in hte ashes etc or sometimes a whole body can be a accumulated one means its an Artificial river bed, which is cleaned by oxygenates to, which will keep the rest of river clean and not allow the decomposed material flow into the river. Then about the waterfall as said Varanasi is a holy place and not a commercial extravaganza city :) India wants it as a Cultural Capital and the city of gods, what we can do it, clean all the short lanes, and all the people who set up tents shops etc on ghats can be organised into some mal road type system which we see in hills, which won't effect the poor too, and also will clean all the small lanes. Then about ghat area, the ghat where people bath and take dip in could be also covered means the water in it only comes in but does not go out, and has a separate purifier. Then boating thing is good we can help the people who drive boats by giving them funds etc, organised them. Plus one main thing is get the mandirs etc cleaned everything should look different and not a mess. This way we can help clean varanasi I will prepare a whole lay out and post it soon. :) At the end the rules need to tough like people throwing puja materials, washing clothes etc we, we need to get the thing on line.