Six new nuclear attack submarines

acid rain

48076634.cms

While India has traditionally shied from commenting on its nuclear fleet, the Navy said it was confident of executing the order with a brand new design.
NEW DELHI: In a rare, official comment on the Indian nuclear attack submarine project, Vice-Chief-Admiral P Murugesan, told ET that work had started on a new class of vessels after the government go-ahead two months back and the target was to shorten the development time to under 15 years. "The government has given approvals for six new SSNs ( nuclear attack submarines) earlier this year. We have started the work, but it's still at the pento-paper stage," Murugesan told ET.

While India has traditionally shied from commenting on its nuclear fleet, the Navy said it was confident of executing the order with a brand new design.

Murugesan expressed confidence in the abilities of the Navy's submarine design bureau to come out with a new class of vessels in less than 15 years. "These things take time, but we will be able to improve on the timelines that the pioneers (nations) have set, which typically took over 15 years for such a project."

http://m.economictimes.com/news/def...-undersea-operations/articleshow/48076623.cms

. . . . . . .
So these 6 new SSNs are over and above what India intended to build ? Why is it still in pento-paper stage when the news of new SSNs have been floating around in the media for a good 2-3 years now ?

cheen se ye diesel electric khareed re, ssn/ssbn is next level game.. vo ni milti itni asani se

pata hay yaar aaj nahi magar kal cheen degaa they want the puppet state to use against us

So these 6 new SSNs are over and above what India intended to build ? Why is it still in pento-paper stage when the news of new SSNs have been floating around in the media for a good 2-3 years now ?

No - It was in February 2015 that anything about these SSN's came out - The Cabinet committee on security (CCS) approved the construction of these six nuclear-powered attack submarines early this year after which the Indian Navy's Naval Design Bureau began work on these SSN's. Those attack submarines whose news have been floating in the media for some time are the Project 75I & 76 conventional diesel-electric attack submarines or P75I and P76 SSK's which are also being designed at IN's NDB.

nuclea_032715115323.jpg

Govt approves construction of 7 stealth frigates, 6 nuclear-powered submarines - The Times of India

abey yahan washroom ki baat nahi ho rhi nuke ki ho rhi hai ... tu kya kr raha hai yahan ..???

2 bare mout rahe hon tou beech mein munh ni dhooote... tameez ni sikhai kisi ney ???

Lo parh looo ab zaleel hone k bad

Pakistan To Buy 8 Submarines From China

You realize those are Type 041 Yuan-class diesel electric attack submarine or SSK's? - here we are talking about nuclear-powered attack submarines or SSN's.

Well,
Recent info regarding India wanting to lease a Yassen class SSN from Russia, actually fits with this.
We will probably study the Yassen class SSN, and develop our own SSNs.
This also Debunks DRDOs Idea of modifying Arihant class design to serve as SSN.

I think this is the bigger Subs. First 2 are smaller subs- about 6000 T, the next 4 (looks like 5) will be bigger subs (I think 12 K tons). The second sub is right now under advanced stage construction, so after that rolls out the others will start rolling off. I think it'll keep increasing in tonnage after each sub rolls out.

SSBN's are under construction. These are SSN's.