SC Orders Arrest of PM Raja.P.Ashraf

Bhaio no need to panic, ppp has no shortage of candidates for pm.....the next goon to lead the country will be pervaiz ellahi.....

As per Salman akram Raja, Raja Parvez can't be disqualified until convicted.

Qadri in ISB, SC orders arrest of PM.... so the cat is finally outta BAG....

My friend why are you so angry.?

No angry, the said gent is a political mouth piece; I have corrected him several times before but he just won't see the light.

just like the person in your DP made sure that Bhutto legacy will continue to haunt us (by making him a Shaheed) this act will make Bilawal a hero forever :(

Nahi Jani, that won't happen.
To declare Billy boy a leader and his daddy a shaheed, they need more "leaders" like themsleves. ( Bhola Sharif calling MOHTARMA benazir SHAHEED)

Why do you think Bhola sb will be spared when Zardari is sent to the gallows ?

Meri Jan, aap ko, aur aapki party aur oun ke leaders ko bhi "behead" karna ka hai !

No Qadri is fast becoming a force in Pakistan, He is saying the revolution has began in Ayatollah Khomeni fashion and wants to be a strong force to recon in future of Pakistan politics. I think he chalked out a way to get some mass support.

His political ambitions are not known but his popularity will definitely grow in the coming days.

nothing will happen. The CJ march was bigger than his

As per Salman akram Raja, Raja Parvez can't be disqualified until convicted.

I know that, innocent unless proven guilty, ppp will drag the issue as muchas they can.....and hopefully 2 months will go like that

poor chap.. no respite even after writing letter to swiss govt..:lol:

Hmm... Supporters of a traitor and perhaps the most loyal U.S. tout's supporters shall 'correct' me now. Nice one.

Rental power case: SC orders arrest of PM Ashraf

494267-RAJAPERVAIZASHRAFAFP-1358242145-486-640x480.jpg

ISLAMABAD: The Supreme Court ordered the arrest of Prime Minister Raja Pervaiz Ashraf in the Rental Power Plants case on Monday, reported Express News.

The court also ordered all other respondents in the case to be arrested, and gave 24 hours deadline to the authorities to implement the orders.

The court maintained that National Accountability Bureau (NAB) will be responsible if any of the respondents manage to escape.

“The chief justice ordered that all concerned, regardless of their rank, who have been booked in the case be arrested and if someone leaves the country, then chairman of NAB will be held responsible along with his investigating team,” lawyer Aamir Abbas told AFP.

“The sixteen include Raja Ashraf,” said Abbas, adding that Ashraf had not been referred to by name by Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry.

Abbas, who represents NAB, said the defendants had been ordered to appear before the Supreme Court on Thursday.

In Pakistan’s financial capital, the Karachi Stock Exchange fell sharply as reports of the order flashed across local television news channels.

The KSE 100 index lost 453.46 points, or 2.74 per cent, in little over half an hour, to stand at 16,633.18 just before 3:00pm– 559.74 points down on opening.

The Supreme Court’s order came at a time when Minhajul Quran International (MQI) chief Tahirul Qadri was leading a long march in Islamabad to demand electoral reforms.

Participants of the march were seen celebrating while chanting “Long Live Supreme Court” when Qadri mentioned the court’s decision during his speech.

PM Ashraf was given the title of Raja Rental after he was accused of receiving kickbacks in the rental power projects. He was also accused of buying property in London from money earned through corruption in various scams.

He has been defending himself in the Supreme Court.

On March 30, the apex court had directed the National Accountability Bureau to proceed against those who were in the post of minister for water and power from 2006 till the next general elections. As a result, on April 20, NAB issued arrest warrants for 33 persons, including Ashraf.

Case background

Earlier last year, the court directed NAB to proceed against all government functionaries involved, including the ministers for water and power during whose tenure the RPPs were approved or set up, and the minister and finance secretary holding charge when down payment for RPPs was increased from 7% to 14%.

Liaquat Jatoi and Raja Pervaiz Ashraf were water and power ministers in 2006 and 2008, respectively, while Shaukat Tareen was the finance minister in 2008, when down payment was increased.

Of the 19 RPP deals signed initially, only nine were allowed to function after a damning Asian Development Bank evaluation report. Subsequently, six of those nine RPPs were discontinued.

Rental power case: SC orders arrest of PM Ashraf – The Express Tribune

Nahi Jani, that won't happen.
To declare Billy boy a leader and his daddy a shaheed, they need more "leaders" like themsleves. ( Bhola Sharif calling MOHTARMA benazir SHAHEED)

Why do you think Bhola sb will be spared when Zardari is sent to the gallows ?

Meri Jan, aap ko, aur aapki party aur oun ke leaders ko bhi "behead" karna ka hai !

you ppl thought the same before killing bhutto

and last line : Good save us from this craziness !!!!

The nation has already welcomed the 'heroes' that promise to rid country of all evils too many times. (Nation had to be rescued for each of such hero eventually). Current government has completed most of its tenure. Let the current incumbents lie natural political death at the upcoming polls. If SC does not have a political agenda (today's event shows that they probably do), they will let a couple of months go by and let us (the voters) determine what we want for our future instead of some invisible (& sometimes too visible) hands.

I know it is be the most popular thing to say but I hope that sanity prevails and SC lets Raja stay for another couple of months.

Sharjeel memon on ary news....he is on fire and speaking against cj...he was quiet on arsalan case but when it comes to ppp they issue warrant first and investigation later

Yes you are right so would you agree with me if a say CJ should have done this after interim Govt was formed so elections could be held on time and PPP was not made a martyr party.???

What about 180 Million people victims of this supposed martyr party? May be you understand it and this time it has been done on right time. Everybody knows who are martyrs, a person involved in millions of corruption or a nation eradicated from all facilities of life.