Raymond Davis Case: Developing Story

iPhone,

Thanks for the response----so far the only victim was the one run over by the car---the other two---not victims yet---. And you are right---my first thought would be revenge---I don't deny it---. But then what after that---.

What I want to say is that the moment Davis was taken into custody---there should have been a blanket put on any news leakage---and every thing should have been hushed up---.

Do you for a moment think that such a thing has not happened in the U S---where operatives from another country have not taken out american police officers and people from the agency----but you never hear about them----because there is no reason to rile up the public---do you think that it has never happened in russia or britain or germany or france. Yes it has---the police and the agencies take over----the news media gets a blackout---.

It is a normal practise in the rich cities and townships not to report news of robberies---minimize the news of horrendous murders---where the body parts have been cut apart.

My boy---I apologize---I keep forgetting that I am talking to my countrymen who have harldy been out of the country---and even if they do---they have no exposure of the outside.

This is not a matter of taking cash credit or benefits but in a way it is---remember the explosion of the chemical plant in india---where there were tens of thousand poor souls died of gas leakage and at that time chairman of the company was visiting india---there was a public outrage to arrest him and hang him---but he was let go---.

My goodman---first the nation needs to develop some character---then they can move ahead.

iPhone,

Thanks for the response----so far the only victim was the one run over by the car---the other two---not victims yet---. And you are right---my first thought would be revenge---I don't deny it---. But then what after that---.

What I want to say is that the moment Davis was taken into custody---there should have been a blanket put on any news leakage---and every thing should have been hushed up---.

Do you for a moment think that such a thing has not happened in the U S---where operatives from another country have not taken out american police officers and people from the agency----but you never hear about them----because there is no reason to rile up the public---do you think that it has never happened in russia or britain or germany or france. Yes it has---the police and the agencies take over----the news media gets a blackout---.

It is a normal practise in the rich cities and townships not to report news of robberies---minimize the news of horrendous murders---where the body parts have been cut apart.

My boy---I apologize---I keep forgetting that I am talking to my countrymen who have harldy been out of the country---and even if they do---they have no exposure of the outside.

This is not a matter of taking cash credit or benefits but in a way it is---remember the explosion of the chemical plant in india---where there were tens of thousand poor souls died of gas leakage and at that time chairman of the company was visiting india---there was a public outrage to arrest him and hang him---but he was let go---.

My goodman---first the nation needs to develop some character---then they can move ahead.

All those things what you have written about putting a blanket on to the crime are right to some extent, but tell me how can you to hide it from public when the murder took place in front of public. when the public knew, before even the state get to it, that the murderer is an American national..

It's the case when the police themselves don't know the reality about the murderer , whether he's a diplomat, a spy or just a foreign national... How can you hide in such a situation.

All those things what you have written about putting a blanket on to the crime are right to some extent, but tell me how can you to hide it from public when the murder took place in front of public. when the public knew, before even the state get to it, that the murderer is an American national..

It's the case when the police themselves don't know the reality about the murderer , whether he's a diplomat, a spy or just a foreign national... How can you hide in such a situation.

I am partially agree with Mr.MastanKhan. All countries do that .... blanket on all things which they don't want to share with public.

But in todays world with mobile phone in every hand .. it is difficult to hide something in big city like Lahore. But still GOP can dilute the news up to very much extent..like they are hiding about civilian death in drone attacks.... Gov. agencies have enough power to show big things really small ...

I am partially agree with Mr.MastanKhan. All countries do that .... blanket on all things which they don't want to share with public.

But in todays world with mobile phone in every hand .. it is difficult to hide something in big city like Lahore. But still GOP can dilute the news up to very much extent..like they are hiding about civilian death in drone attacks.... Gov. agencies have enough power to show big things really small ...

O come on we all know about civilian deaths in drone attacks but we couldn't see that on tv coz they are highly remote areas.. it's very difficult to even reach there.. You cannot hide it when the crime is being done in front of almost a thousand witnesses, It's really difficult and and with a media like that in Pakistan it makes it further difficult to put a blanket on the bloody crime.

He was a spy and we want him hanged right there in the middle of qartaba chowk where he killed 3 civilians.

He was a spy Let court decide that...

hanged right there in the middle of qartaba chowk where he killed 3 civilians don't get sentimental ... try your best as citizen to get justice for murder of your fellow citizen from outsider....
But some times we don't have choice and power to do something right ....(even I dream to get those all billions $$$ from swiss bank and hand it over to poor people of India , but I can't) . Even I felt same when 26/11 happened in my beloved city Mumbai...

May be your heart is with those victim .. but from mind we all knows that David is going out of Pakistan sooner or later...

I support is with you People in this case

BREAKING NEWS:

Look how Davis was treated after he was arrested. .

Members who don't understand urdu or don't want to watch the video;

When Raymond was arrested he had a camera in his shoes and he thought of video taping the attitude of Punjab Police towards him.
But it turned out that instead of a harsh investigation which Raymond was expecting, the Punjab Police took very easy on him and was'nt the usual criminal investigation. .

It is shielded for simple reasons----once the american public finds out what pak wants to do with that guy and the momentum catches up just like the new york mosque---they would want pakistani blood----.

Pakistanis can only brag about what they will do to him---the americans will do it real time to pakistan---pakistan and pakistanis are just digging a deeper grave for themselves---.

Out of habbit, pakistanis are playing with fire that they will have no control over once it starts to spread deep and wide.

And a free human born free wont take all his life to be a slave.

its time we should start playing with fire once and for all.

You can't speak yesterday's language to the concerns of today.
Control the controllable

BREAKING NEWS:

Look how Davis was treated after he was arrested. .

Members who don't understand urdu or don't want to watch the video;

When Raymond was arrested he had a camera in his shoes and he thought of video taping the attitude of Punjab Police towards him.
But it turned out that instead of a harsh investigation which Raymond was expecting, the Punjab Police took very easy on him and was'nt the usual criminal investigation. .

Professionally why they did not check his shoes ? they should stripped him for a thorough checking for any espionage equipment

Davis may also face espionage charge

The Express Tribune

Davis may also face espionage charge
By Qaiser Butt
Published: February 9, 2011

Pakistani police escort arrested US national Raymond Davis (C) to a court in Lahore. PHOTO: AFP/FILE

ISLAMABAD: In an interesting twist to the Lahore double murder involving a US ‘diplomatic official’, prosecutors have recommended that an espionage case be also registered against him, sources said on Tuesday.

Raymond Davis is already facing charges for killing two Pakistani motorcyclists in a busy marketplace of Lahore on January 27.

“Keeping in view the nature of the case it is strongly recommended that a case of espionage be registered against Davis,” the prosecution branch of the Punjab police has written in an official letter to the investigation branch.

“During the course of investigation, police retrieved photographs of some sensitive areas and defence installations from Davis’ camera,” a source told The Express Tribune requesting anonymity. “Photos of the strategic Balahisar Fort, the headquarters of the paramilitary Frontier Corps in Peshawar and of Pakistan Army’s bunkers on the Eastern border with India were found in the camera,” the source added.

The police had recovered a digital camera, a Glock pistol and a phone tracker along with a charger from Davis after his arrest. The Punjab government considers Davis a security risk after the recovery of the photos of sensitive installations, said the source.

The Obama administration has been pressuring Pakistan to release Davis who, according to it, “is a member of the administrative and technical staff of the mission” and therefore enjoys diplomatic immunity under the Vienna Convention.

“But Punjab Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif has told American diplomats that the matter is sub judice and only the Lahore High Court (LHC) would decide whether or not Davis was entitled to diplomatic immunity,” an official source told The Express Tribune.

Sharif made the statement at a recent meeting with the US diplomats who sought Davis’ immediate release.

Citing a letter written by Interior Minister Rehman Malik to the Punjab government, the diplomats said that Davis had diplomatic immunity.

Sharif, however, denied his government had received any letter from the interior minister, according to the sources. Sharif advised the diplomats to wait for the LHC ruling on the diplomatic status of Davis.

A security official told The Express Tribune that Davis’ name did not figure on a list of US diplomats presented by the American embassy to the ministry of foreign affairs on Jan 25. But interestingly, his name figured prominently on another list submitted by the embassy to the ministry on Jan 28.

Diplomatic source told The Express Tribune that the foreign ministry’s viewpoint would be presented before the LHC whenever asked by the court.

Published in The Express Tribune, February 9th, 2011.

Davis may also face espionage charge – The Express Tribune

It is shielded for simple reasons----once the american public finds out what pak wants to do with that guy and the momentum catches up just like the new york mosque---they would want pakistani blood----.

Pakistanis can only brag about what they will do to him---the americans will do it real time to pakistan---pakistan and pakistanis are just digging a deeper grave for themselves---.

Out of habbit, pakistanis are playing with fire that they will have no control over once it starts to spread deep and wide.

No pain no gain... I wouldn't say this is our habit. Our habit is more like cowering to America's demands. It is a wrong assumption that Pakistanis want to do this n that to Raymond. No official person, has said that. Heck we are even okay with him being released. But it should be an order of the court, not a demand of the USG.

We have a habit of thinking like "Oye America kya kardega? Hum yeh kareinge toh America woh kahay ga, phir hum yeh kaheinge, toh woh, falana kahega, phir hum yun karne ki koshish kareinge toh America toh yeh yeh kardega".

This is against the natural order of human beings, they have to be free to voice their protests.

Munh aayi baat na rehndi ae
What’s on the tongue must be said
Jhoott aakhaan kuch bachda ae
I speak falsely and I get something
Sach aakhaan paambar machda ae
I speak the truth and there are explosions
Donhaan galaan toun ji jachda ae
I am afraid of both outcomes
Jach jach ke jibhaan kehndi ae
Apprehensively my tongue quivers and says
Munh aayi baat na rehndi ae
What’s on the tongue must be said

Fine America is strong, but its not God We won't be casted into hell for having a problem with what it always does.

And a free human born free wont take all his life to be a slave.

its time we should start playing with fire once and for all.

You can't speak yesterday's language to the concerns of today.
Control the controllable

People outside of Pakistan, still wants us to be a slave--
Its the people inside Pakistan-- that wants change-- they are the ones who are dealing and suffering with it every day-- they should be listened too- they are the real stake holders-- they want out! of this slavery and begging business-- they dont want to feel that their blood is cheap-- Die like unknowns and no body cares-- American Drones can kill them-- Even Afghan forces can kill them-- TTP terrorists can kill them-- and now even some sick diplomat can kill them-- and get away with it-- At least if we have to Die one way or another-- we want to die with Honor and Dignity-- not like Beggars--

The time is now or never-- Prosecute him and punish him according to the laws--

People outside of Pakistan, still wants us to be a slave--
Its the people inside Pakistan-- that wants change-- they are the ones who are dealing and suffering with it every day-- they should be listened too- they are the real stake holders-- they want out! of this slavery and begging business-- they dont want to feel that their blood is cheap-- Die like unknowns and no body cares-- American Drones can kill them-- Even Afghan forces can kill them-- TTP terrorists can kill them-- and now even some sick diplomat can kill them-- and get away with it-- At least if we have to Die one way or another-- we want to die with Honor and Dignity-- not like Beggars--

The time is now or never-- Prosecute him and punish him according to the laws--
OK! Our people want change. One should ask them that what have they planned for 'setting a stage' for the change they demand?

A large portion of population is illiterate. This portion has no proper sense of right and wrong and can be easily manipulated. This portion continues to vote corrupt people. And then we have parhe likhe jahil too. Problem is that our nation is filled with emotional fools and does little planning to address issues plaguing it.

We have developed a 'false sense of security and hope' in our minds. What we could not become; we like to boast about such capabilities with words. We are in a state of denial.

The most important thing for us is to educate the masses and destroy vadera-ism. Who will want this to happen? A visionary leader. So how will such a person come to power? Any strategy?

We want change and justice, right? How?

WE are responsible for what is happening to us today: Drone Attacks, guys like Davis roaming in Pakistan, leaders like Zardari & Co, wide spread corruption, TTP, bullying of America etc...

Despite of our extreme level of pathetic-ness, you expect outsiders to respect our customs and not meddle in our affairs?

iPhone,

We can’t make comparison between India & Pakistan more over not wise to leave a person who killed Pakistan men unless looking at India which released the killer of thousands of their people. May be they can but we can’t & we will not allow them step in freely & fire over people. We have not to arrange tea party for him and see off on airport.

US ought to learn who to live in Pakistan and respect people.

It is best chance to stand and step toward independent economic growth. We have to push their problems in their own land but not let them play in our ground.

Media roll is appropriate and people respectively acted as they must be. We are developing and we will develop but till we did best in progress, it is not the license to do everything as they like.

Best way to overcome problem is put a stopper or act when problem on its initial stage.

As someone said “It’s better to Cry once than cry for ever”

Davis did a crime so he has go through court trails and face verdict, give lesson to our ally what are our priorities.

My post upset you---seems like it did---. Should I respond in the same coin as you did and decalre you a traitor---because you want to cause unrest and unstability amongst the citizen in these desperate time---when there are two major enemy armies right across from our borders---ready to avail any oppurtunity---.

If you are asking for agitation and not calmness then you are also instigating an enemy attack---that enemy attack may effect the position and integrity of our sensitive assets as well---now why would a good pakistani want to do something like that.

Why would a good pakistani citizen participate in creating a scenario that might jeopardize our asets in these tumulous times---I understand pride, honour and dignity---but at what price---.

If you lose your sovereignity---you got nothing left---if you lose your major assets---you have nothing left except for pride---and you know what----pride is for fools---you can only swallow it but can't eat it.

Yaar Mastaan... I generally admire your fair comments and insight... but you are now becoming a bit silly... you do come across pro Americana here...

Pakistan should simply hang this man till he dies and send his body back to US in an American flag... If anyone here proposes that America will start some sort of a war over that, they need to get their heads examined...

Yaar Mastaan... I generally admire your fair comments and insight... but you are now becoming a bit silly... you do come across pro Americana here...

Pakistan should simply hang this man till he dies and send his body back to US in an American flag... If anyone here proposes that America will start some sort of a war over that, they need to get their heads examined...

RD is not worth billions of dollars that might be stuck in a chocked pipeline owing to his death penality!

That apart, because it wont come to Pakistan´s triple A economy - ALLAH-ARMY-AMERICA - 3 pillars of Pakistan.

Take one pillar (America) away and Pakistan starts crumbling.

Pakistan has been receiving free arms since 60 years from the US. Starting from saber jet, patton tanks and what not, now you got frigates for free.

RD is not worth above, you know this.

As for honour and diginity - stop drones first, then we shall talk.

Time is not right/ripe for Pakistan to act like that.

Only when a tree has grown can you tie your cow to it.