Pakistan’s nuclear arsenal could become world’s third-biggest: report

Having 10 or 500 nukes is completely pointless. You just need to have enough to let someone else know that if they attack you, you will at least take them down with you.

No country will ever start a nuclear war, especially with another nuclear power. In fact nuclear weapons prevent large scale conflicts and both India and Pakistan are the prime examples.

In fact...Pakistan is increasing its nuke arsenal because of India' ABM, so as to increase their chance of striking India if in fact some of their nukes are countered by India's ABM. Their strategy is to overwhelm India's ABM with sending huge number of nuke. Our best strategy is to perfect ABM.

Sorry, you will die without you wish fulfilled. By the way things are going in Pakistan, even your Allah is on our side.

And our job is to increase our arsenal and to make more capable missiles and a good triad

We are on our way

India's arsenal has crossed over well 300 for some time. Basic known production rates of strategic missiles shows that India has over 850 strategic missiles in its ever growing inventory, even if only 40% of the missiles are slated for nuke warheads, we are looking at 340 warheads . There seems to be serious misconception in the west that for some reason we are using most of annual production for energy. China by now would have well over 1000 warheads, some rumors claiming over 2000-3000 as well. Either way for Pak, India only need 100 warheads max. The rest are needed for China. For China, India will need at least 300-500 warheads. Today I believe India already has the 4th largest nuke arsenal following US/Russia/China.

This is all that Really Matters :

India has far larger stockpiles of plutonium -- which is needed to produce high-yield warheads – than Pakistan does. But the report says India appears to be using most of its plutonium to produce domestic energy.

Now that is something to be proud of, after all Nukes 100x or 1000x wont matter ( even 1 Nuke will do unimaginable damage ) , the Bulbs in a common man's house will.

Like India, Pakistan too needs Electricity far far far...more than Nukes( which they already have ).

India knows ( Like France, Israel and China , It doesnt need any more nukes ) this, when will Pakistan Realize the Same ?

On a Serious Note, In 2015, what really matters is the DELIVERY of the weapon rather the NUMBER of weapons. This is why Israel, China and India are now focusing on R&D in Deliveray systems like Subs and MIRVs.

India with Nuclear SSBNs , Air Launched Supersonic Missiles and Next Generation Agni IV, MIRV Capable Agni V, is much better position to conduct an ACCURATE , PIN POINTED , RETALIATION ( NFU ).

The Only Logic that does go in favor of having more Nukes for Pakistan is the Deployment of Indian BMD system.
Estimates of Pakistan's rate of growth of nuclear warheads are often exaggerated in the West and blindly quoted by some by Indian analysts as well. The main thing to understand about estimates of the number of nuclear bombs is that no one outside the respective governments will really know how many weapons have been assembled. And the government people are not likely to talk. Most estimates by non-governmental think-tanks and analysts are just unverifiable hearsay. The only responsible outside estimates are based on nuclear fissile materials production and stocks.

Pakistan has set up 3 plutonium producing reactors at Khushab and a fourth is in the making. But these are heavy water reactors of about 50 MWth capacity.

Such reactors typically produce, at 65 per cent efficiency, about 7 kg of Pu each per year. At best the three reactors can together produce only 105 kg in five years, which can fuel about 21 warheads.

Moreover, once the Pu is produced in the reactors it is not immediately available for making bombs. The fuel rods have to be cooled for a couple of years and then reprocessed to have the weapon-usable Pu extracted. So the actual production of assembled weapons will be much less.

The current arsenal as quoted is supposed to be about 110 weapons. So even if that is correct and they add 21 more in the next five years, Pakistan cannot reach 200 warheads by 2020 let alone 350 in the next 5-10 years.

Earlier Pakistani weapons used highly enriched uranium produced by A Q Khan's centrifuges - but it's domestic supply of raw uranium is limited and can barely feed the four Khushabh reactors. So there is unlikely to be much left for enrichment by centrifuges. The estimate of Pakistan's arsenal comes around 130 warheads or less by 2020 let alone 350 in the next 5-10 years.

Well Said. However, The most notable fact is that Numbers are sufficient on both sides. Using them is out of equation and if used, the Delivery systems play a far important role.

If you use a weapon and miss delhi, the retaliation will me massive with accurate weapons. So the focus now shoudl be to develop more accurate missiles and delivery platforms.

Miniaturisation is another Area for consideration, but I dont feel we need more than what we already have. Cant comment over Pakistani status.

both countries are yet to declassify the full extent and results of their nuclear tests, the tests ( in my opinion) being more symbolic than scientific.

However .... hmare passsss zyaadaaaa bomb hain :P aur tmhara b koi superior bomb ni hai agar dabba ni hai tou

Ghuma Fira k Bolne se, Line badal nahi Jati Shahid Mia. Muh band rakh k Thoda Nuclear test ki data dekh lo. Its Quite Public and the required relevant info regarding tests is there . Agar, Jawab dene ki Aukat na ho, Insan ko Muh Band rakhna Chaye.

India's Nuclear Weapons Program - Operation Shakti: 1998

And our job is to increase our arsenal and to make more capable missiles and a good triad

We are on our way

You don't have money...the only thing is you can increase your arsenal to 300. Then what...by the time you increase your arsenal to that number, ABM will become perfect. Don't think Indians are fools to leave our country to Pakistan's mercy.

congratulations to Pakistan but we're ok with our hundred odd, which are enough for both you, China and any third or 4th party :coffee:

Hmm American Think Tanks?

From which sources have they come up with this figure?
Just by estimating the combine Plutonium or Uranium out put?
Going by this, India may become the largest nuclear weapon holder or why not China?
We know, how much US, India and a "M.E Country" is interested in Pakistani nuclear program. And they dont know more then internet surfers about true depth and volume of Pakistan's nuclear arsenal. Such reports do come up regularly once every 2 months, so nothing new.

Sick of hearing nukes. Nukes are for deterrence and only mentally retarded will think for using it. case closed.

Well Said. However, The most notable fact is that Numbers are sufficient on both sides. Using them is out of equation and if used, the Delivery systems play a far important role.

If you use a weapon and miss delhi, the retaliation will me massive with accurate weapons. So the focus now shoudl be to develop more accurate missiles and delivery platforms.

Miniaturisation is another Area for consideration, but I dont feel we need more than what we already have. Cant comment over Pakistani status.

Ghuma Fira k Bolne se, Line badal nahi Jati Shahid Mia. Muh band rakh k Thoda Nuclear test ki data dekh lo. Its Quite Public and the required relevant info regarding tests is there . Agar, Jawab dene ki Aukat na ho, Insan ko Muh Band rakhna Chaye.

India's Nuclear Weapons Program - Operation Shakti: 1998

the data attached in link is released by Indian Sarkar ????

The Data based on Seismic Events is enogh to understand the Magniitude and "Success" of a Nuclear Test.
That is all thats needed to refude your "Dabba" Claim.

Ab Suraj Garam hai.. ye Suraj p Ja kar Check nahi Karenega na ?

Good Job. Pakistan should aim for 1000 active warheads.

And 20 Crore Muslim will be killed... What kind of Muslim Nation Pakistan is... Killer of Muslim?? WHat your God al-aha(real name of Moon God who was later called as allah by Muhammad) will say if you reach heaven???

Taliban is eyeing your mango.. If Pakistan Fauj gives one mango to Taliban, Taliban will use that Mango at Peshawar..

@Irfan Baloch @Jango I don't get it why an ignorant has to drag religion or ALLAH into Pakistan vs India nuclear debate?

We need enough nuke to cover whole india . i support the mentality of "Ham nahi to tum bhi nahi" .

Don't bother...we have ABM..do you think Indians are fools that will leave India's security to Pakistan's mercy..but who, in retaliation, is going to save Pakistan from Indian nukes...
isreal have the great layers of air defence as compared to their size .hence it cant save him from 80's missiles fired by hizbullah .

Best of luck. :)