Pakistani Models And Actresses

The 7 biggest winter trends this season, according to Pakistan's top stylists

Celeb stylists spill their secrets.

5e05dfd02c795.jpg

Celeb stylists spill their secrets.

Winter isn't coming, winter is here!

Summer fashion is easy, breezy but winter style can be a little tricky; keeping up appearances isn't so simple when it's practically freezing, but don't let the dreary weather spoil your jam.

In fact, the endless layering possibilities that come with the chill of winter kick the sartorial part of our brain into high gear. In case you need some advice, here's what Pakistan's top celebrity stylists think you should be wearing this winter season:

Mavi Kayani approves of gender-fluid fashion
5e05d9d33b862.jpg

Ayeza Khan's denim-on-denim look has our attention, but we're also really digging those oxford loafers on Iqra Aziz (R)

Mavi Kayani, who's styled the bigwigs like Meesha Shafi and Ayesha Omar, to name a few, says she sees androgynous cuts being big this season... which means you can totally steal pieces from your dad/brother's closet and make them work. Sometimes you want to wear a dress and sometimes, you just want to wear loose pants and a button down and call it a day.

For those who might be confused about what androgynous style might be, it's fashion that aims to avoid gender stereotypes. The best thing about it? Clean lines, simple cuts and bye bye skin-tight clothing.

"The most important tip with this style is to just be comfortable and confident," she adds

Speaking of androgynous style...

Haiya Bokhari says go big or go home
5e05d9d34f45d.jpg

You can pair it with a fancy blouse like Kiran Malik or a crop top like Sana Javed depending on the occasion

We love boxy blazers so we're immensely glad celebrity stylist Haiya Bokhari — known for her edgy editorials — suggested those.

"The one winter trend I find timeless is the blazer. It's extremely versatile, can be worn in a myriad of ways, can look everything from professional to mysterious (long, dark, pop collar, paired with oversized sunnies) to sexy (mid-thigh blazer, cinched at the waist paired with knee-high boots and oodles of attitude) to cozy (oversized, layered with a scarf or a turtleneck)," she shared.

"Whether you opt for solid colours or an old*school houndstooth, or whether you choose one in wool or velvet, a well-cut blazer will always be polished and have your back, literally!"

Mehek Saeed is living for layering
5e1074230d47f.jpg

Blazers on blazers or a jacket with a hint of tulle at the bottom are all unexpected combos and very stylish.

More specifically, unusual layering.

"I think unexpected layering is eye-catching, whether it’s hoodies under blazers, blazers under sweaters, blazers on blazers or sweaters tied or draped on top of sweaters," divulged fashion stylist and journalist, Mehek Saeed.

We're totally onboard with this one considering how cold it's gotten this year — 10/10, would recommend.

Rao Ali Khan wants you to step out of your comfort zone with animal prints
5e05d9d5af550.jpg

Amna Ilyas (L) keeps in mind that a little goes a long way. Obviously the rules don't apply to Eman Suleman; she can pull off anything.

Rao Ali Khan, whose clientele includes Mehwish Hayat and Mawra Hocane, reveals leopard print is having a moment this year. We know, we know. This one is easy to go OTT with but when styled right, it can look chic and classy.

"Use one thing at a time; for example, if you do a cheetah hairband or bag, then don't incorporate other prints or more of cheetah print anywhere else in your outfit. I would suggest a top or shoes, and leave the rest of it muted," he explains.

Vardah Aziz shares it's all about keeping it simple
5e12d0dac6e19.jpg

Knitted separates are extremely effortless.

Vardah Aziz, film and television stylist — she also did the wardrobe for Laal Kabootar — thinks it's time to cozy up in some wool

"One winter style trend that I think is best for this year and have also seen a lot of people carry is definitely the knitted dresses and matching separates of solid colours. You can wear it casually or formally, you can pair it up with sneakers, or you could couple it with heels and cinch it from the waist to fancy it up," she explains.

"You can add nice accessories, like chunky earrings or shoes. If it's solid colours, tie your hair. To add layers, you can add a nice trench coat, plaid jacket or coat or even a leather jacket."

Tabesh Khoja and Alishay Adnan are all about that neon
5e05d9d7d30d1.jpg

You can start with neon shoes like Alicia Khan (L) and work your way up to a statement sweater like Sadaf Kanwal.

Between the two of them, they've probably styled every Pakistani celebrity under the sun. And they seem to agree on the hottest trend right now. One word: neons!

Alishay Adnan reveals: "It's been showcased on the runway by some of the most influential designers, locally and internationally and makes winter (which normally has a dark or neutral colour palette) exciting and fun."

Elaborating on how to style neons, Tabesh Khoja adds, "Neons can easily be mixed with minimal pieces; you don't want to overdo it. Or if you're feeling daring, they can also be put together with tie-dye pieces, which has been another big trend this year!"

Amal Qadri loves leather weather
5e106ef720186.jpg

Mahira Khan and Nausheen Shah are always ahead of the curve

Amal Qadri, known for her quirky looks and out-of-the-box combos, confirms that when it comes to leather pants, there's a new silhouette in town. Say goodbye to the tight legging-like leather pants and say hello to their slouchy version.

Don't be afraid to go large; leather falls a lot flatter than other fabrics so it'll keep you looking slim despite the extra cloth. Our favourite way to style this is with a white button down, blazer and sneakers or with a graphic tee and high heels but if you're feeling daring, you can do leather on leather as well just like Mahira Khan and Nausheen Shah.

594513_1143813_sanam_updates.jpg

Sanam Jung

594492_5397802_mehwish_updates.jpg

Mehwish Hayat receives love from celebs and fans on 37th birthday

Mohsin Naveed Ranjha’s bridal collection is an ode to love and affection reminiscing on the happiness the bride feels on her wedding day. The collection comprises deep rich hues, doused in the beauty of vintage gold and intricate silver Sindhi embellishments. Maya Ali exudes grace in these gorgeous pieces by MNR Design Studio

5-1570048729.jpg

Maya is a real head turner in this intricately worked lengha paired with a peplum top. The heavily embellished two toned dupatta adds to the grace of this bridal outfit. The perfect look for a summer or mehndi bride!

2-1570048697.jpg

One cannot go wrong in this exquisite deep red ensemble. The heavily embellished piece is classic yet timeless and can be passed down generation after generation.

1-1570048684.jpg

Make a statement in this timeless combination of vintage gold with deep maroon. The ensemble compromises heavy embellishments that add grace and elegance to the overall look.

3-1570048708.jpg

Dreamy mix of contemporary and classic, the heavy pastel bridal shirt paired with a traditional gharara with details of gotta and kora dabka in a flowery pattern adds elegance to this dress. The vibrant chatapati dupatta takes the look up a notch.

4-1570048719.jpg

Beauty secrets from the Earth

By Sumeha Khalid

With 2020, we all aspire to go organic by making use of natural products. This week You! talks to Noor Mandviwalla, the brainchild behind the recently launched hair, beauty and personal well-being organic brand in Pakistan...

Beauty

The idea of beauty is not cliché anymore; it means anything or everything. Similarly, when it comes to hair, there are a million ways to work on. However, they both also come with personal well-being and that too in the right manner. With 2020, we all aspire to transform our hair and beauty regimen and the idea of it; we aspire to go organic by making use of natural products. In Pakistan, a very few hair and beauty brands are there which offer natural beauty products. Keeping this in mind, Saeeda Mandviwalla of TONI&GUY, after decades of experience in hair and beauty, decided to collaborate with her daughter Noor Mandviwalla for a special venture! This week You! talks to Noor to find out what it is...

593454_4355442_Untitled-2s_magazine.jpg

Having completed her studies, Noor Mandviwalla decided to take on what her mother had started years ago. Having watched Saeeda from the sidelines, Noor took the centre stage with Saeeda’s ‘Future Foundation’, a show which they took to different cities of Pakistan. After the success of the show, the duo got down to launching their latest venture - ‘Spa Ceylon’ which is a Sri Lankan brand producing organic products for hair, beauty and personal well-being. Luckily, the brand is making its way to Pakistan by the efforts of the mother-daughter duo; to give women a new hair and beauty experience for their personal well-being.

593454_30386_Untitled-1x_magazine.jpg

Regarding the inception of their newly launched brand, Noor divulges, “It just so happened that my mother Saeeda wanted to start a new business, and I was around to help her. That ‘volunteering’ eventually turned out to become a full-time job because it was so exciting for me!”

Noor recounts how this beauty brand was launched in Sri Lanka. “It was started by two brothers, Shalin Balasuriya and Shiwantha Dias in May 2009; they both had a deep rooted background in the field of natural health and beauty products because of their mother’s company Janet Lanka (one of the pioneers of the beauty-care retail industry in Sri Lanka). This brand takes the concept of traditional Ayurveda, a 5000-year-old healing science, and presents it in the form of Luxury Ayurveda. Shalin and Shiwantha, during the conceptualisation of the brand, went back into the old library archives and researched ancient Sanskrit texts which laid out various herbal healing remedies. In redefining the idea of traditional Ayurveda, and utilising Sri Lanka’s rich natural resources, the brand has had great success within Sri Lanka as well as overseas.”

593454_399163_Untitled-1s_magazine.jpg

The brand is unique as it is not too far removed from the beauty techniques and regimes used in ancient rituals practiced in the grand palaces of Ceylon. The importance of this cannot be overstated because with all the pollution around us, and all the impurities in the food we consume in modern life, it is extremely crucial to maintain internal and external well-being. The home-made Ayurvedic remedies aim to improve overall well-being and emphasises the expunging of toxins from the body. With this, benefits abound and healing is truly all encompassing, restoring balance, providing inner peace and calming the mind, body and soul.

593454_5960463_Untitled-1f_magazine.jpg

“Formulated with only the purest natural ingredients, the high-performance products are enriched with powerful Ayurveda herbs, certified organic essential oils, precious natural minerals, extra-virgin coconut oil, rich ocean salts and the finest spices from Ceylon. I always tell customers who walk into the store ‘you give me a concern, and I’ll give you a product!’, because we have extremely diverse product ranges. We have about 30 ranges, from products dealing with anti-aging to rubs for muscle pains as well as a home aroma range,” informs Noor.

593454_7414560_Untitled-1d_magazine.jpg

The entrepreneur reveals that the brand’s precise production and quality assurance procedures incorporate traditional herbal prescriptive with modern dermatological science, to protect and deliver the God-given herbal benefits of our all-natural ingredients in the high performance formulae. Besides promoting glowing beautiful skin and hair, the products also help people with sleep issues. “Our best-selling ranges are Sleep and De-stress. The sleep range consists of intense pacifying and purifying blends of powerful Ayurveda herbs, and potent essential oils to promote dreamy restful sleep. The key ingredient here is Lavender, which helps to soothe the senses to promote tranquil, calm and restful sleep. The De-stress range consists of a very key ingredient known as Frankincense (Lobaan in Urdu), which is extremely effective in calming one’s nerves,” details Noor.

593454_2947617_Untitled-1t_magazine.jpg

Having become excessively conscious about the benefits of Ayuverdic products, the brand’s fair maidens have been making a Beeline to get their hands on this wonder product. “Because there isn’t quite anything like this in Pakistan at the moment, the response has been overwhelmingly positive. I truly feel that the product, once used, speaks for itself because not only does it smell and feel amazing on your body but you can noticeably see changes in your skin /hair/face over time as you keep using Ayurvedic products,” she adds.

Spa Ceylon stands for what the modern day consumer is looking for. Now the world is moving away from chemical-based dermatology; and we are going back to the Earth’s resources for our beauty rituals because at the end of the day that is what is most effective. Additionally, with the current climate crisis unfolding, brands like this stand out from others as being a brand that cares about the preservation of the Earth’s resources as the brand philosophy is built upon taking natural remedies from the Earth!

596465_1808720_Nazish-Jahangir-Mag_magazine.jpg

One recent addition to new faces on television is actress Nazish Jahangir, who has caught attention in recent months for her acting prowess.

Flash Your Style

January 12, 2020

Trending this week

596526_1455700_TNS-47_tns.jpg

The ‘Winter Festive Season’, which is a bona fide thing now, continues to reign strong over our calendars as icy cold winds also continue to blow through the country. Nothing can dissuade the young and the restless from celebration and therefore the song and dance continues, with high fashion and high spirits intact. Our celebrities certainly are living things up; they have amped up their glamour by flaunting some stunning outfits here and there. We’ve rounded up some of our favourites, which may inspire you too…

Mira Sethi
The actress showed off wedding season panache in a simple yet stunning custom green outfit by Honey Waqar; Mira wore the long, tubular shirt with a super long dupatta in a different shade of green. She accessorised her look with an ethnic statement necklace, while she styled her hair in a low bun and kept her makeup natural and fresh. It was old school, charming and regal.

Kiran Malik
We can always trust Kiran Malik for a schooling in style. She proves time and time again that her discerning aesthetics and unusual accessorization are the mark of a style savant. From the elasticated, white collared crop top, reminiscent of the classic button down but edgier, to the pleated high waisted pants, highlighted by a Chanel brooch, the entire ensemble sets our chilly hearts on fire. Kiran keeps the look clean by slinging a two-toned blazer over her shoulder with strappy red heels and an envelope clutch.

Sadaf Kanwal
Model turned actress, Sadaf Kanwal looked beautiful in an embellished royal blue customised formal gown by designer Zainab Chottani – a perfect choice for chilly nights. She paired her look with jewels from Allure by MHT. As for her makeup she went with smudged smokey eyes and a distinct coral lip colour. For her hairstyle, she opted for a centre parting and neat bun.

Mushk Kaleem
Mushk Kaleem, who walked the ramp for Italian designer Stella Jean at Milan Fashion Week last year, has the ability to pull off both traditional and contemporary looks with finesse. For a festive night out, she opted for a bright red Sana Safinaz gown which she paired with smokey eyes, nude lips and sleek straight hair, looking effortlessly glam.

Good:toast_sign:.

But number 10 looks like a tranny, bro. Remove it.
Flash Your Style

January 12, 2020

Trending this week

596526_1455700_TNS-47_tns.jpg

The ‘Winter Festive Season’, which is a bona fide thing now, continues to reign strong over our calendars as icy cold winds also continue to blow through the country. Nothing can dissuade the young and the restless from celebration and therefore the song and dance continues, with high fashion and high spirits intact. Our celebrities certainly are living things up; they have amped up their glamour by flaunting some stunning outfits here and there. We’ve rounded up some of our favourites, which may inspire you too…

Mira Sethi
The actress showed off wedding season panache in a simple yet stunning custom green outfit by Honey Waqar; Mira wore the long, tubular shirt with a super long dupatta in a different shade of green. She accessorised her look with an ethnic statement necklace, while she styled her hair in a low bun and kept her makeup natural and fresh. It was old school, charming and regal.

Kiran Malik
We can always trust Kiran Malik for a schooling in style. She proves time and time again that her discerning aesthetics and unusual accessorization are the mark of a style savant. From the elasticated, white collared crop top, reminiscent of the classic button down but edgier, to the pleated high waisted pants, highlighted by a Chanel brooch, the entire ensemble sets our chilly hearts on fire. Kiran keeps the look clean by slinging a two-toned blazer over her shoulder with strappy red heels and an envelope clutch.

Sadaf Kanwal
Model turned actress, Sadaf Kanwal looked beautiful in an embellished royal blue customised formal gown by designer Zainab Chottani – a perfect choice for chilly nights. She paired her look with jewels from Allure by MHT. As for her makeup she went with smudged smokey eyes and a distinct coral lip colour. For her hairstyle, she opted for a centre parting and neat bun.

Mushk Kaleem
Mushk Kaleem, who walked the ramp for Italian designer Stella Jean at Milan Fashion Week last year, has the ability to pull off both traditional and contemporary looks with finesse. For a festive night out, she opted for a bright red Sana Safinaz gown which she paired with smokey eyes, nude lips and sleek straight hair, looking effortlessly glam.
looks like the ‘normal’ spoiled talentless middle class young women swanning around with their drivers buying expensive ice cream, going to stupid Lahore / Karachi fashion shows where there’s no real talent. Trying to be Bollywood stars in Pakistan which has no ‘Pollywood’ . And even if Pollywood existed they would be shot in face by some mad mullah gang. Okay I’m bitter and twisted , so what?

Here’s a list of celebs we loved watching in 2019 and who, in 2020, we continue to have high, high hopes from.

Iqra Aziz in Ranjha Ranjha Kardi

5e1c4f8baffa6.png

2019 was definitely the year of Iqra Aziz: from the sassy and funny Jiya in Suno Chanda to Ranjha Ranjha Kardi’s down-and-out Noori, in every role she took on, Iqra Aziz displayed an incredible mastery over her line delivery, facial expressions, comedic timing and body language in a seriously unprecedented way.

“The journey from Suno Chanda to Ranjha Ranjha Kardi has been difficult but undoubtedly a very adventurous one. The beauty of both characters [gave] me something precious that will remain with me for the rest of my life,” Iqra Aziz told me recently.

“If choosing from the two, I would have to say Ranjha Ranjha Kardi’s Noori has been my favourite to play... she was such a challenging, complex and intriguing character. Playing her truly showed me where my strengths and abilities lie.”

So, there you have it, folks. The harder the role, the more Iqra Aziz is there for it. Don’t let that doe-eyed innocence and petiteness fool you because I predict Iqra Aziz is only just getting started.

Saba Qamar as Mannat in Cheekh

5cee5b8c0f5df.png

Saba Qamar as Mannat was proof that the woman is the quintessentially fully-loaded package: brains, beauty and badass acting abilities.

Even though she doesn’t need prove a damn thing to any of us (because, frankly, at this point, she could pick up a phone book, read it to us for an hour and we’d happily hand over all the awards), Cheekh was a great reminder of how lucky we are to have Saba in our industry.

When she was asked what drew her to Cheekh (especially since she had only recently wrapped up Baaghi, another serial featuring a force of nature, powerhouse-type of female lead), Saba Qamar’s response is matter-of-fact. According to her, we need to be talking about these sorts of issues because we are facing them in our daily lives and if we aren’t the ones to talk about the tough things, who will?

Saba Qamar goes onto say that she put her heart and soul into Mannat. And, man oh man, does it ever show.

Indeed, so raw and unfiltered was her portrayal of Mannat that, more than once, I was moved to tears because of the stunning way she communicates Mannat’s rage and determination to avenge her friend’s murder (and then her mother’s death, husband’s death, etc.).

To quote her fan and friend Sarmad Khoosat: “Aik hi piece hai aisa. Koi aur shaakh nahi hai inki.” (She’s one of a kind and has no branches).

Sajal Aly as Chammi in Aangan

5e1c51bb178ba.png

The last few years have been major for Sajal Aly. She made an impressive Bollywood debut, found love with Pakistan’s current crush, Ahad Raza Mir, blew us away with her singing and dancing skills and, on the small-screen, everything she touched turned to gold.

Regardless of how you felt about the loud-mouthed firecracker that was Chammi’s character, you couldn’t resist watching the seemingly effortless way Sajal Aly carried herself on screen with a fluid, old world charm, with mannerisms so reminiscent of olden day actresses and feistiness that was equal parts impressive and alienating. Did or could such women exist in those days? I wish I knew.

Sajal Aly is confident in her work ethic, saying she aims to improve herself with every role she takes on. She’s also quick to point out that with every role, she becomes her own competition.

Sajal is also not shy about her ambitions, saying she wants to take Pakistani television to greater heights, in a new direction.

Well, wherever you are headed, Sajal, please take us with you.

Smothered in velvet
By A. Jafri

Tue, 01, 2020

GulAhmed recently launched its Royal Velvet collection, ‘Noor-e-Chasham’ with a grand evening of glamour and fashion in Karachi.....

597937_2948260_p4_magazine.jpg

shopping

When the harsh winds and frigid evenings make their entrance, it can be hard to conjure up visions of going-out looks that won’t leave you frozen. You may think of embellished booties, ethnic shawls, and bright statement coats galore. But, velvet might not be your top choice.

597937_7724352_gulahmed2_magazine.jpg

This January, Pakistan’s ace choreographer and show director Imran Kureishi completed 40 years in the fashion world.

597928_1103983_fashion_magazine.jpg

597928_1066653_asian_magazine.jpg

597928_9817731_fashion-box_magazine.jpg

600019_1047216_Ayeza-others-selfie_updates.jpg

Hira Mani, Ayeza Khan, Adnan Siddiqui, Humayun Saeed’s selfie goes viral

A selfie of Pakistani stars Ayeza Khan, Hira Mani, Humayun Saeed, Adnan Siddiqui and Ahmad Ali Butt is making rounds on the social media and winning the hearts of their fans and followers