Pakistan to build a Nuclear submarine

You know why india has high atmosphere temperature because people are burning with jealousy about pakistani projects . Aray bhai yeh tou samandary project hai
:rofl: Nice one yaar...have to give it to you....

i am sure that if Pakistan builds Nuclear Powered Sub, it will be SSBN

As of now Pak is at serious disadvantage as INS Chakra is operational and INS Arihant will be operational in 2 to 3 years followed by Arindham and at least 2 to 3 more subs

Pak can build and maintain 1 or 2 such subs ( as my understanding Suggests)

Ignore PakSoldiers.com
They are wannabe ISPR.

As for this program, contact any Naval officer and he will not confirm the news. Majority of the development is kept classified. Period.

Here's a DefenseNews report on Pakistan's rumored nuclear submarine project:

...Mansoor Ahmed, a lecturer at Islamabad’s Quaid-e-Azam University who specializes
in nonconventional weapons and missiles, believes the reports are the result of a
calculated leak by the Navy, and that a message may be being sent to India.

“This news … appears to be some kind of signaling to the Indians seeing as they are taking delivery of a new nuclear-powered
submarine from the Russians as well as their own Arihant Class SSBN,” he said.

“So Pakistan is signaling to the Indians that they are mindful of these developments and taking due measures in response.”

Ahmed said he has for some time believed Pakistan was working on a nuclear propulsion system for submarine applications and that Pakistan already has a functional submarine launched variant of
the Babur cruise missile.

The Babur cruise missile is very similar to the U.S. BGM-109 Tomahawk, and perhaps derives at least some technology from Tomahawks which crashed in Pakistan
during U.S. strikes on al-Qaida training camps in Afghanistan in 1998. It can be armed with conventional or nuclear
warheads.

Ahmed believes Pakistan is now gearing up to build its own SSN/SSGN flotilla as a way
of deterring India and maintaining the strategic balance in South Asia.

However, in the long term in order to fully ensure the credibility of its deterrent Ahmed said he believes Pakistan should
build ballistic missile submarines.

Pakistani Navy to Develop Nuclear-Powered Submarines: Reports | Defense News | defensenews.com

Good luck !

Has PN personal started training to use one to get well-versed with operating one?

A boomer (ballistic missile submarine) is way beyond our economic and technological reach.

We don't have home-made nuclear reactors; let alone fitting them into a submersible.

A boomer (ballistic missile submarine) is way beyond our economic and technological reach.

We don't have home-made nuclear reactors; let alone fitting them into a submersible.
Don't sweat over the finances..... As for a ''Nuclear Reactor" in a sub..... If you believe that non of our land based reactors are home made, then just like them we will acquire the one, which fits into a sub. :smokin:

I do sweat over the finances but not over an Indian nuclear submarine.

The news was leaked on purpose ... Remember the Babur , Raad and Nasr were disclosed only after the complete development and testing ! ... A100 was confirmed only when we saw it in Azm-Nau 3 exercise !

DOD: New Nuclear Subs Will Cost $347 Billion To Acquire, Operate
Inside the Pentagon, Feb. 17, 2011 -- Buying and operating a dozen new nuclear ballistic missile submarines will cost the Defense Department $347 billion over the life of the boats, according to a memo signed this month by the Pentagon's acquisition chief.

The cost projection, included in a Feb. 2 acquisition decision memorandum signed by Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition, Technology and Logistics Ashton Carter, is much higher than estimates DOD has previously cited for the development and procurement of the 12 SSBN(X) subs slated to replace 14 Ohio-class boomers.

An independent cost estimate -- developed by the Pentagon's cost analysis and program evaluation (CAPE) shop -- projects the department will spend $347.2 billion in then-year dollars for "development, production, operations and support, and disposal for 12 submarines with 16 87-inch diameter missile tubes," Carter writes in the "for official use only" memo addressed to Navy Secretary Ray Mabus. Inside the Pentagon reviewed a copy of the memo, which directs the Navy to fund the program to CAPE's estimate.

Yes they are figures for the new US subs but it gives you an idea of what a project like this costs. So who is going to pay for it, can Pakistan really afford a nuclear sub and is it really cost effective?

DOD: New Nuclear Subs Will Cost $347 Billion To Acquire, Operate

Pakistan's economy state...

Oh Please ! Enough of this bull **** ... We never had finances for the F16's , JFT , Al Khalid , Raad , Nukes , Babur , Nasr , A100 , Agostas , Shaheen , Ghauri etc too ! ... So dont we have them ?

I am unable to understand the Indian way of thinking ... When they buy or test something , we go to their threads and congratulate them but when we do the same , they will come here and sweat about the economy and everything ... Simply childish ! Try to understand this simple thing ...

When there's a will , there's a way ... We can always increase the defense budget and build or acquire it just like our previous purchases or developments ... Whats the problem ?

Do you think that PN , ISPR or Pakistani High Command are fools to disclose something like that and never had thought about the financial aspect ? The plans for Nuclear submarine and other missiles ( Shaheen 3 or SLBM ) were drawn in the Musharraf era ... What makes you think that we haven't progressed far enough or that we cant afford them that too in 10-15 years ?

Stop living in denial mode ...