One example - why I believed strongly in a secular India.

Like it did in Israel, South Korea, Singapore etc.
@Nilgiri (I hope I can tag you like this?) @Joe Shearer Can you elucidate how we were different than above mentioned countries?

Yes tagging me like this is most appropriate (specific query and alongside people that arent on ignore from me).

On your proposal to "ban communism" (at the earliest juncture independent India had) as it would have been "beneficial" in the long run....I must protest and disagree.

A) It would have been unconstitutional (or are you saying we should have written the constitution way differently?)

B) It is always best to air out all political ideologies (as long as they are legal ones i.e respect and operate under the republican + democratic setup) and let them rise and fall on their merit. This is important so we know what works and what doesn't...otherwise imagine if people today simply could blame that X was banned, and thus must be promoted today because it never got any chance at all.

C) Large reason of communism/socialism failure long term was not really known at the time of early - mid 20th century, it was on great ascendancy at that time. I do not blame lot of elites too much for setting about subscribing to it and promoting it. Hindsight is 20/20

D) The problems systemic to India are something communism could have fixed (just like right wing or centrist or regional parties also could have)...it just depended on figuring out the priorities of development (public + merit goods and services if you want to read further in economics realm) and how to enshrine their promotion institutionally.

Like it did in Israel, South Korea, Singapore etc.

How did Israel ban it? You know what a kibbutz is? The whole early aegis of Israel was on somewhat staunch left wing principles and ideals starting out (if you read up on Ben Gurion, Golda Meir etc).

South Korea, Singapore and Taiwan did so as part of being US vassals essentially. It is not appropriate principle for country like India to follow which by very size is a mid to long term rival/threat to US, USSR, Europe etc.

What else do you call 10 rupees a month hostel fees in the heart of delhi for jholachhaps

Because many of these JNU students ( or in Hyderabad University ) come from poor background who will not be able to afford the tuition plus hostel fees at these elite institutions.

But why should any student pay at all to get educated ? Why can't high quality education be free for all ?

Do tell me, and I have asked you this before, what has been the contribution of those middle-class students from those fancy engineering universities like the 600-acre campus of Lovely Professional University or Amrita University etc and what is the output of all those coaching centers from that accursed town of Kota ?

What about free electricity, water, bus, metro

Where ? In cities all of those things have to be paid for.

Free loans to farmers promised by politicians before every election

Those loans for farmers have to be repaid. And many times because of Nature's vagaries ( rain, drought, hail stone, flood ) the farmers cannot repay.

I have made posts about how agriculture is unscientific in India but I think I should make a thread about scientific agriculture.

The free mixer grinder and TV schemes in TN

Demagogue measures.

---
@Soumitra, about free farm loans in Haryana :
A FARMER taking a crop loan worth Rs 60,000 to Rs 3 lakh per acre from any nationalised or cooperative bank will not be charged any interest, but under three conditions, proposed Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar as he read out the state Budget on Friday.

The conditions are — the farmer should repay the loan within the stipulated time; declare details of all cooperative loans taken by him/her on the ‘Meri Fasal Mera Byora’ portal; and the payment of the purchased crop will be directly deposited by the purchase agency into the account of the institution from which the farmer has taken the loan.

The interest free loan facility was earlier available only on loans taken from cooperative institutions and the limit was Rs 1.5 lakh.

Because many of these JNU students ( or in Hyderabad University ) come from poor background who will not be able to afford the tuition plus hostel fees at these elite institutions.

But why should any student pay at all to get educated ? Why can't high quality education be free for all ?

I told you in an earlier thread that taxpayers should fund research if and only if it directly benefits the nation. Same with housing. There should be a strict time limit on hostel stay and it should be contingent on meeting academic standards and attendance requirements.

Yahaan khairaat nahin bat rahi hai. It should be strictly performance based and by performance I don't mean Azaadi slogans and Dharna Pradarshan.

Many of these JNUiets use this free housing to study for competitive exams.

They don't have money for hostel but full money for cigarette, alchohal, condoms, movie tickets etc.

Do tell me, and I have asked you this before, what has been the contribution of those middle-class students from those fancy engineering universities like the 600-acre campus of Lovely Professional University or Amrita University etc and what is the output of all those coaching centers from that accursed town of Kota ?

Let me for one minute say that these students don't contribute anything. Even then they are studying on their own money not taxpayers money like the jholachhaps

Where ? In cities all of those things have to be paid for.
images (21).jpeg

Those loans for farmers have to be repaid. And many times because of Nature's vagaries ( rain, drought, hail stone, flood ) the farmers cannot repay.
Politicians promise to waive farm loans to win election. This actually disincentivices the honest farmer.

Don't take a loan if you can't afford to pay it back. If you don't pay you must suffer the consequences.

For crop failure, draught, flood etc there is crop insurance. Farming is a business and you must take the risk

Let me for one minute say that these students don't contribute anything. Even then they are studying on their own money not taxpayers money like the jholachhaps

So you agree that these LPU, BITS Pilani, Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham type of engineering universities are useless.

Give me one reason why they not be demolished.

And so what if these students are "studying" on their own money ? Their contribution to the world is zero. N.R.Narayana Murthy himself had a similar sentiment in 2015 :
There has not been a single invention from India in the last 60 years that became a household name globally, nor any idea that led to "earth shaking" invention to "delight global citizens", IT czar N R Narayana Murthy said on Wednesday.

"Our youngsters have not done much impactful research work despite being equal to their counterparts in intellect and energy in Western universities," he said delivering the convocation address at the Indian Institute of Science in Bengaluru. (Read his full speech here)

Listing out 10 major inventions that Massachusetts Institute of Technology has created in the last 50 years that includes Global Positioning System, Bionic Prostheses and Microchip, Mr Murthy said these happened because students and faculty at MIT "walked the untrodden path, asked the unasked questions and used their intellectual prowess to take huge leaps".

"They demonstrated unusual courage to achieve the plausibly-impossible. The story is similar at many other western institutions of higher education," he said.

He said almost all inventions such as cars, electric bulb, radio, television, computers, Internet, Wi-Fi, MRI, laser, robots and many other gadgets and technology happened, "thanks to the research by Western Universities".

He added: "On the other hand, let us pause and ask what the contributions of Indian institutions of higher learning, particularly IISc and IITs, have been over the last sixty-plus years to make our society and the world a better place?

"Is there one invention from India that has become a household name in the globe? Is there one technology that has transformed the productivity of global corporations? Is there one idea that has led to an earth shaking invention to delight global citizens?"

I will give you a simple logic from my current field - computing. If a civil engineering student is expected to be able to help construct a building after his studies, if a film technician is expected to be able to assist in the making of a film, similar for an irrigation engineer, why shouldn't a computing student be expected to be design, be it in a team, an operating system and a microprocessor in his professional life ?

and by performance I don't mean Azaadi slogans and Dharna Pradarshan.

What's wrong in demanding freedom for the country from hunger and capitalism ?

Many of these JNUiets use this free housing to study for competitive exams.

Kanhaiya and Shehla did not do that. They are now into political activism. Same for Umar.

They don't have money for hostel but full money for cigarette, alchohal, condoms, movie tickets etc.

You really believe in that BJP leader's assertion of "3000 used condoms found in JNU campus" ?

That is in Delhi. So let us all support an umbrella movement that has all Left and Center-Left groups ( like AAP ) to rule all states.

Don't take a loan if you can't afford to pay it back. If you don't pay you must suffer the consequences.

That is a non-empathetic statement.

For crop failure, draught, flood etc there is crop insurance.

Please give me data about farmers who faced crop failure, not committing suicide because they had crop insurance.

Farming is a business and you must take the risk

No, farming should be seen as a scientific undertaking, just like medicine, nursing and meteorology.

In some days I will create a thread on this.

So you agree that these LPU, BITS Pilani, Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham type of engineering universities are useless.
I never agreed that these are useless. I said that even if your stupid theory is true they are studying with their own money and nobody can question that.
What's wrong in demanding freedom for the country from hunger and capitalism ?
Demand whatever you want but don't do it while being subsidized by taxpayers money. You are being paid to study. If you want to waste time either stop studying or study with your own money.
Kanhaiya and Shehla did not do that. They are now into political activism. Same for Umar.

And they all failed in that. Remind me by how many votes did Kanhaiya win a CPI(M) safe seat in one of the poorest region of the country.

Anyway these are just 3. There are thousands of freeloaders in that hellhole.

You really believe in that BJP leader's assertion of "3000 used condoms found in JNU campus" ?

Watch Buddha in a Traffic Jam.

That is in Delhi. So let us all support an umbrella movement that has all Left and Center-Left groups ( like AAP ) to rule all states.

I want this cancer to end, not spread. You asked me where you get free electricity, water, bus, metro. I told you your CH2SO4 (Ch**tiam Sulfate) Kejriwal gives it

That is a non-empathetic statement

I think we have both established by now that I don't empathize with losers

Please give me data about farmers who faced crop failure, not committing suicide because they had crop insurance.
Not going to spoon feed you. I have no time to research about losers
No, farming should be seen as a scientific undertaking, just like medicine, nursing and meteorology.
A scientific undertaking can be a business for example Pharma

Watch Buddha in a Traffic Jam.

A film made by that idiot Vivek Agnihotri ? No thanks.

I never agreed that these are useless. I said that even if your stupid theory is true they are studying with their own money and nobody can question that.

They are useless. Doesn't matter if they "study" with their parents' own
"hard earned" money. They are useless. Simple.

You should ask these "students" and their "teachers" to tell N.R.Narayana Murthy their achievements.

In the field of computing I claim superiority over them and their yearly graduating 200,000+ computer science colleagues.

Remind me by how many votes did Kanhaiya win a CPI(M) safe seat in one of the poorest region of the country.

His opponent was a BJP senior - Giriraj Singh. And Kanhaiya was standing in election from there for the first time.

But as many in the forum know I speak of revolutionary change. I don't judge a politician based on how many votes a person wins or loses. To me, the Parliamentary Democracy system is not true democracy. A majority people can be wrong.

Anyway these are just 3. There are thousands of freeloaders in that hellhole.

If JNU is a hellhole what is LPU ?

Not going to spoon feed you. I have no time to research about losers

Then I will not believe you.

In the field of computing I claim superiority over them and their yearly graduating 200,000+ computer science colleagues.
Good that you believe it. In reality you are a failure who couldn't complete his education and who got fired from his job because he was more intrested in Union baazi.

You are a hypocrite who publicly claims to hate capitalists but in private begs them to invest in your hare-brained ideas.

But as many in the forum know I speak of revolutionary change. I don't judge a politician based on how many votes a person wins or loses. To me, the Parliamentary Democracy system is not true democracy. A majority people can be wrong.

Sure, everyone knows you worship that dictator Gaddafi who died a dog's death.

If JNU is a hellhole what is LPU ?

Somewhere you couldn't get admission

In reality you are a failure who couldn't complete his education

I suppose the possibility didn't strike you that I did not want any degree-shigree stuff. I proudly and openly state this. Do you know the pressure such a decision puts on a person in a degree-obsessed country like India ?

But your statement cannot hide the fact the hundreds of thousands of computer engineers in India have been unable to design an operating system and microprocessor. They are failures.

and who got fired from his job because he was more intrested in Union baazi.

Not fired. Resigned. You were not there.

Somewhere you couldn't get admission

Like I was desperate for admission there. :rolleyes:

And look at what China got out of it, they are now friends with both Russia and trade with the US. What did we get by being the good 'friend' of the USSR? A bull crap Socialism that didn't get us anywhere but a mass that loves freebies. Whatever be the reason, since independence, we tried our romance with Socialists, Nehruvian, or Indira. The worst years of our nation, but can't blame them, they probably had no choices but we are now struggling from those poor choices.

Of course Joe sb, please give me the link.

Oh we are eternally grateful for "opening up the economy". Wish I could say "**** you" for saving us after watching us drown for a decade.
Agreed- The last decade of congress rule is why they were fucked out of power. Time to say **** you to BJP/RSS now.

And bring who? Khichadi, Pappu, Pappuni, 5G Vadra Gandhi?
Did I say Congress? - By the way- could be multiparty coalition and the leader can be anyone that can beat Modi.
Jokes apart- India needs a unified real opposition party, its good for democracy to establish checks and balances.

Did I say Congress? - By the way- could be multiparty coalition and the leader can be anyone that can beat Modi.

So Khichadi with a mythical face. Good luck with that

Jokes apart- India needs a unified real opposition party, its good for democracy to establish checks and balances.

I agree with you on this