No country for brave men

You don't remember or ever came across basic Islamic teachings in all facets of out society, home, school, masjid, dawaats etc where life and teachings of Prophet (pbuh) were/are discussed and the role of the four kaliphs or other respected sahabas and there is always mentioned a munafiq or kafir who showed disrespect toward the prophet (pbuh) and swords of sahabas came out to silence the infidel or munafiq.

I fail to understand why this example needs to be followed or is even logical, those times have come and gone. Those are the times when we killed first and asked questions later.

We can do without that now. Islam got stronger then with such swift actions, Islam is looking bad, by such actions today.

If there is a benefit to the religion of Islam or to the human race or simply to Pakistan, in slaying down someone in the rasool's gustakhi, please let me know. There has to be a reason.

Pakistani scholars say mourning slain governor risky

Five hundred Pakistani religious scholars have warned that anyone who expresses grief over the assassination of a senior ruling party official who opposed the country's blasphemy law could suffer the same fate.

Salman Taseer, a liberal politician close to President Asif Ali Zardari, had no day-to-day role in the central government. But his killing in broad daylight at a shopping centre in Islamabad reinforces the sense that the government is incapable of stabilising the Muslim country of 170 million.

The Punjab province governor was killed on Tuesday by one of his guards, who was apparently incensed by the politician's opposition to the blasphemy law, in a parking lot at the block of shops popular with foreigners.

Human rights groups say the law is often exploited by religious conservatives as well as ordinary people to settle personal scores.

But the law has widespread support in a country that is more than 95 percent Muslim, and most politicians are loath to be seen as soft on the defence of Islam. Taseer, however, was an outspoken critic.

The Jamaat-e-Ahl-e-Sunnat Pakistan group of scholars making the veiled threat is actually from a moderate school of Islam in Pakistan. It is a vocal critic of Taliban militants who are violently opposed to the government and its ally the United States.

The group is one of the largest representing scholars from the mainstream Barelvi sect of Sunni Muslims. Although moderate, they have been leading protests in favour of the blasphemy law.

The hardline stand taken by the moderates illustrates how difficult it can be for Washington which sees Islamabad as indispensable in its war on militancy, to persuade Pakistani leaders to crack down harder on religious extremism.

"More than 500 scholars of the Jamaat-e-Ahl-e-Sunnat have advised Muslims not to offer the funeral prayers of Governor Punjab Salman Taseer nor try to lead the prayers," the group said in a statement.

"Also, there should be no no expression of grief or sympathy on the death of the governor, as those who support blasphemy of the Prophet are themselves indulging in blasphemy."

"A LESSON"

Taseer's killing has deepened a political crisis in Pakistan, a nuclear-powered South Asian country which is a front-line state in the war against militancy in Afghanistan.

It came two days after a main partner in Prime Minister Yusuf Raza Gilani's coalition bolted for the opposition in protest over fuel price policies, leaving him without a parliamentary majority and struggling to save his government.

The blasphemy law came under the spotlight after a court in November sentenced a Christian mother of four, Asia Bibi, to death in a case stemming from a village dispute.

Jamaat-e-Islami, one of Pakistan's main Islamist political parties, also said Taseer's assassination was justified.

"If the government had removed him from the governorship, there wouldn't have been the need for someone to shoot him," it said in a statement shortly before Taseer was buried in the Punjab capital, Lahore.

While Pakistan's pro-Taliban religious parties don't win significant votes in elections, they have the capability to stir emotions and street protests.

Interior Minister Rehman Malik said the bodyguard who killed Taseer, identified as Malik Mumtaz Hussain Qadri, confessed and had been arrested.

"Salman Taseer is a blasphemer and this is the punishment for a blasphemer," Qadri said in comments broadcast on Dunya television.

The group of scholars also noted the "courage" and religious zeal of Taseer's killer, saying his action has made Muslims around the world proud.

It also said that the "so-called" intellectuals, ministers, politicians and television anchors who oppose the blasphemy law and support those committing blasphemy should learn a lesson from Taseer's death.

Taseer was shot 14 times from a distance of about six feet (2 metres), said Khawaja Waseem Ahmed, a spokesman for the hospital where he was treated.

Taseer had visited Bibi in prison in a campaign for her release. He wrote on his Twitter page last Friday: "I was under huge pressure sure 2 cow down b4 rightist pressure on blasphemy. Refused. Even if I'm the last man standing."

(Additional reporting by Faisal Aziz and Kamran Haider; Editing by Robert Birsel)

He was so happy and smiling in his picture yesterday. such a sick man.

The question here isn't about the blasphemy law at all. Whether you are for it or against it, the matter should be decided peacefully through referendums, elections and peaceful demonstations.

Exactly...A referendum is the right way to go .. Thanks to the "Bravery" and "outspokenness" of a certain person,a large sect of muslims "Barailviis" who were until now laid back and peaceful..have been aggravated and now stand in the same line as the previously notorious sub sects of Deobandiis..

Thankyou very much

---------- Post added at 06:06 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:05 PM ----------

No wrong all the male virigins in adiyala prison

Grose but funny
:rofl::rofl:

Will his assassination help or damage the PPP in any way in the next general election?

You can put it in 2 different ways, a sympathy vote to PPP as a help, and hate vote against PPP from religious groups as damage.

Aaj bazaar main pa ba jolan chalo

Chashm-e-nam, jaan-e-shoreeda kafi nahin
Tohmat-e-ishq-posheeda kafi nahin

Aaj bazaar main pa-bajolan chalo
Dast afshan chalo, mast-o-raqsan chalo

Khak bar sar chalo, khoon badaman chalo
Rah takta hai sub shehr-e-janaan chalo

Hakim-e-shehr bhi, majma-e-aam bhi
Teer-e-ilzam bhi, sang-e-dushnam bhi

Subh-e-nashaad bhi, roz-e-naakaam bhi
Unka dum-saaz apnay siwa kaun hai

Shehr-e-janaan main ab baa-sifa kaun hai
Dast-e-qatil kay shayan raha kaun hai

Rakht-e-dil bandh lo, dil figaro chalo
Phir hameen qatl ho aain yaro chalo

[Faiz Ahmad Faiz]

What is the reason our people can't bear any gustakhi against the Rasool?

Nobody is asking anyone to like it, but at least tolerate it to the point, where you don't go violent...

You can't forcibly stop others, if you keep killing them one day they will deem you worthy of death as well.

Why is it that the liberals are so obsessed with this law? The whole law in Pakistan is a cheap copy of British laws and there are loopholes in some that you can drive a double decker bus thru them... yet liberals choose to target this law only... This gives the impression that it is not about sorting out the problems of the people/Pakistan rather it is a shot at Islam itself... If only our politicians had the decency and sensitivity in the matter considering the Prophet saw has been insulted across the western world in recent times... It disturbs people, creates disharmony and the result is what we are seeing in Pakistan today...

All sorts of criminals get away with their crimes using loopholes in Pakistani laws... The only thing wrong that the secularists can see however, is the blasphemy law... Praise be to God... and God save us all...

btw this question is not directed at you Asim... its just a general point in the discussion carrying on from what you were saying... cheers

I fail to understand why this example needs to be followed or is even logical, those times have come and gone. Those are the times when we killed first and asked questions later.

We can do without that now. Islam got stronger then with such swift actions, Islam is looking bad, by such actions today.

If there is a benefit to the religion of Islam or to the human race or simply to Pakistan, in slaying down someone in the rasool's gustakhi, please let me know. There has to be a reason.

I can understand what you are saying there... There is also the risk of stifling of all debate and discussion and people accusing others of blasphemy at the drop of the hat... however

Please understand that the Sahabah on orders from Rasool Allah saw did kill people who insulted Muhammad saw... It is a different matter now that we need some sanity so that we can distinguish between gustakhi and criticism... It is not difficult to detect a gustakh and the one who only criticize for the sake of debate and learning...

Execution will make this guy a Shaheed and a hero in the eyes of Mullah lovers and bigots, if that happnes, trust me it wont be good for pakistan!! Put him in jail for life, that is the best thing.

I was talking figuratively when I said put a bullet in the beast's head and even then I wasn't refering to this guy, he's a just a puppet of an ideology. The real culprit here is the extreme mullah ideology which we either fight or surrender to.

And by fight I don't mean going out and putting bullets in each and every mullah's head, no, but rather through denouncing mullah ideology and showing through our own demeanor a path of love, tolarence and acceptence.

Sure these words sound fancy and in country like ours where illiteracy and poverty rates are through the roof one only sounds like a foolish idealist uttering such words, and I'm quiet past that early 20's age of idealistic views. These words can be implemented into our society if everyone does their part and our political leader and the rich of the society have a huge part to play.

For too long the rich and the elite have taken from the country and gave back very little or nothing at all. They are just as responsible for this extremist mullah ideology. They left the poor of the country to the extremist ideology and went their way thinking it wont follow them. But societies don't function that way. One group of society cannot completely isolate itself from the other.

If these leaders and rich class still want to remain selfish and refuse to give back and help out the poor they should realize that the poor are in their houses doing their menial work, driving them to and from work and schools, guarding their houses and whatnot. Rich are just as dependent on the poor as poor are dependent on the rich.

Sir I am also very perplexed at the heights of Pakistani intolerance. Discussing Blasphemy laws at the morning chai in the morning today, a colleague came really close to threatening me too for just debating issue why its not okay to kill no matter what is being said.
Details, please - especially how you defended your position.

sorry to say this incident has really exposed pakistan as an intolerant and barbaric country only in pakistan would a MURDERER be praised as hero any other place in the world would be repulsed even if he was unpopular no wonder we are considered a backward country and considered as extremists.
we are a nation of jahils extreme times call for extreme measures abu zolfiqar is right the only way these people will learn is with an iron fist pakistan needs to them a big slap and scrap the law regardless of what they think .We need to take a stand and no longer fear the mullahs or religious parties they are not above the law and should not be allowed to call for violence if they get rowdy then beat some sense into them the only thing they understand is force give them a taste of their own medicine it's the only way.