‘New wine shops, conspiracy to destroy youth’

They are sold at "special wine shops" already.

I don't smoke even though it's sold openly everywhere even with incentives (which is illegal). I choose not to. Nothing will force you to drink either.

There are more than enough reasons to legalize it already.

Sparkling the thing is Cigerette shops are every where u can get them very very easily so here is my point opening wine shops will just bring easiness for the people to get use to this sh*t.

and btw just tell me wht kind of favour opening of these shop can bring to Karachi or Pakistan.

Are you even paying attention? It's been stated time and again (by me of course:)) that it was a political move by ZAB to appease Islamist elements since PNA was chanting Islamic slogans. By an executive order Alcohol and Gambling were declared illegal.

In the views of most pro-prohibitoners here, our grandparents were some sort of lesser muslims since they did not object to the sale of alcohol since they had a brain that could reason and use logic to guide them.

Well, dang. Those Islamists were 21 years late.

I guess the "islamic" in "islamic republic" is only a decoration.

Sparkling the thing is Cigerette shops are every where u can get them very very easily so here is my point opening wine shops will just bring easiness for the people to get use to this sh*t.

and btw just tell me wht kind of favour opening of these shop can bring to Karachi or Pakistan.

The same kind of boost that legalizing Marijuana in the United States will give to the US.

Jamaat e Islami thinks youth welcoming the New Year on beaches is corrupt. Men and women sitting on the same benches on campuses is corrupt. Valentine Day is corrupt....

Historically, in Pakistan these religious parties get the lowest percentage of votes in all Muslim countries and yet Pakistan's 'social scene' resembled that of KSA, Yemen and the likes of such countries for over a decade.

Legalised alcohol can be a a great source of revenue for our government, attend an elite party in a Pakistani city and you will see alcohol flow like the rivers of Babylon.

I know many who drink and they import some very expensive stuff, it would be best to legalise it.

We get well revenue from alcohol for it huge demand in elite and middle class people everyday. Perhaps, this is the most difficult to me to hate it.

LoL, if our police catch anyone with beer or liquor then they take off those to drink by themselves. Here it's legal to the Muslims with license.

My opinion is it can be legalized with high tax. I know how young people abuse the chance if they get alcohol in low price.

Jamaat e Islami thinks youth welcoming the New Year on beaches is corrupt. Men and women sitting on the same benches on campuses is corrupt. Valentine Day is corrupt....

Historically, in Pakistan these religious parties get the lowest percentage of votes in all Muslim countries and yet Pakistan's 'social scene' resembled that of KSA, Yemen and the likes of such countries for over a decade.

zardari has got elected and made a history, you want to learn from pakistan's history, be my guest!!

we dont have occasions like valentines day, april's fool, haloween?? its there culture not ours

do they celebrate eid?? just for an example, sacrifice animal??

zardari has got elected and made a history, you want to learn from pakistan's history, be my guest!!
What is the relevance here? Couldn't keep personal dislike out of a sane discussion?

we dont have occasions like valentines day, april's fool, haloween?? its there culture not ours

Don't celebrate it. It's that simple. However, don't waste money sending billions of SMS telling people it's haraam either.

The biggest cramps I get are on Mother's Day when my friends start crying that every day is Mother's Day for muslims. Yes it is, but celebrating it reminds many people who're away and don't usually make it upto their mothers.

Trying to resist cultural amalgamation vehemently is akin to economic protectionism. Both are flawed and yield only losses.

do they celebrate eid?? just for an example, sacrifice animal??
Religious and not cultural.

Allah Maafi!
ast.gif

I am strictly against Wine......... like it or not but i am!!!
This is not just you are destroying yourself but also the whole society and we all read that in most rape cases the rapist is drunken....... better keep it as it is........ let those peoples drink "illegally" whomsoever wants to drink. Its only going to contribute little in our country's economy and better keep it banned to avoid other social problems we r expecting to face

The reason why i m against wine is becuase i don't want to see already corrupted society being more corrupt. First take care of other matters, i don't wanna see our childrens drinking wine at the every corner of the street like in Europe. There was a time when cigaratte was considered like a curse in our Pakistani society but after the green signal it is very common in our subcontinent and considered just Normal. By permitting wine it will also be just like a cigaratte........... just as normal as cigarrate and will effect the society in long term

I have doubt that alcohol can make people bad. To me, bad people is always bad and good people is always good and alcohol has no relation with that. Alcohol can not turn good people into bad. I used to be drunk in past a lot. Did I rape, or anything bad? No. A rapist will rape even he does not drink.

But, yes, there is a chance of stealing money for buying drink. Also I agree that since it is banned in Islam then it's some bad consequences but I do not think that it can make a good soul into a bad soul.

ROFL...... Would it change anything?

Alcohol is easily available even to the poorest thanks to our christian fellows who sell it n our Muslims who BUY it.

I have doubt that alcohol can make people bad. To me, bad people is always bad and good people is always good and alcohol has no relation with that. Alcohol can not turn good people into bad. I used to be drunk in past a lot. Did I rape, or anything bad? No. A rapist will rape even he do not drink.

But, yes, there is a chance of stealing money for buying drink. Also I agree that since it is banned in Islam then it's some bad consequence but I do not think that it can make a good soul into a bad soul.

Well said yaar, but i have witnessed peoples myself who really did not want to rape anybody did "rape" just because he was over-drunk. Obviously good peoples are good and bad are bad but promoting Alcohol which is not just bad for your health but for the whole soceity (if over-dozed) will only bring a lot of problems in Islamic Republic of Pakistan.

well well well nobody is legalizing it so this discussion is useless anyway

@sweet members
yes continue criticizing me if you didn't like my posts :lol:

Well said yaar, but i have witnessed peoples myself who really did not want to rape anybody did "rape" just because he was over-drunk.

Why were you there and did you report it?

Obviously good peoples are good and bad are bad but promoting Alcohol which is not just bad for your health but for the whole soceity (if over-dozed) will only bring a lot of problems in Islamic Republic of Pakistan.

Who is promoting it? Making it legal has economic benefits and will curb underground and black market sales, reduce profits to criminal gangs, provide one less opportunity for bribing the police and will reduce greatly the dozens of deaths that occur weekly due to poisonous liquor. Hypocrisy is rampant, let those who want to drink without any shame. Moreover, drinking in public is banned in many countries.

Also, please avoid using "Islamic Republic of Pakistan" to make your point. If something is right, absolutely or relatively, it can be proven to be so using logic and reason and should not have to rely on slogans like "this is Islamic Republic", "Pakistan ka matlab kia" blah blah... (besides the fact that Pakistan ka matlab kia is a work of historical fiction)

well well well nobody is legalizing it so this discussion is useless anyway

Bhandara attempted in the past assembly. Sher Afgan supported him.

I hope they legalize it.

yes continue criticizing me if you didn't like my posts :lol:

Oh, I'll do at least :)

ROFL...... Would it change anything?

Alcohol is easily available even to the poorest thanks to our christian fellows who sell it n our Muslims who BUY it.
sure it will solve water problem of pakistan.then india bhi khush aur pakistan bhi

Why were you there and did you report it?
oh actually he was son of my uncle's friend and we were gathered somewhere for a party. Some of us (not me) also drank alcohol as it is very common in our society and after being over-drunk he caught a girl in the toilet and raped her there (inside toilet). Later on she complained to the police and he was senteced for 3 years. His sentence is over now and i met him couple of weeks ago.
Also, please avoid using "Islamic Republic of Pakistan" to make your point. If something is right, absolutely or relatively, it can be proven to be so using logic and reason and should not have to rely on slogans like "this is Islamic Republic", "Pakistan ka matlab kia" blah blah... (besides the fact that Pakistan ka matlab kia is a work of historical fiction)

Last time i read Pakistan's official name was "Islamic Republic of Pakistan" if you have problem please report to the government and if they changed it i will happily be calling my country with a new name.