‘New wine shops, conspiracy to destroy youth’

Last time i read Pakistan's official name was "Islamic Republic of Pakistan" if you have problem please report to the government and if they changed it i will happily be calling my country with a new name.

As I stated, I have a problem with using cheap-shots to make arguments. If something is indeed the right decision, you can back that up with logical reasoning, reasonable arguments, scientific evidence and experimental evidence. Using "Islam" time and again and "this is Islamic country" does not make any point since it's firstly pointless to assume a religious dictation without reasoning and secondly because a large number of countries with predominant muslim populations do not illegalize alcohol keeping in mind the negative effects of such bans.

I hope you'll ignore the **** comments and take the real value of the op-ed.

Giving in to temptation
By Irfan Husain
Saturday, 17 Jul, 2010

The only difference alcohol prohibition has made is that the substantial revenue the state once earned by taxing alcohol now goes to smugglers and bootleggers. –Photo by AFP

Being human and fallible, we are all prey to temptation, and in this, I rather tend to be with Oscar Wilde when he said: “I can resist everything except temptation.”

It would seem that our DNA is programmed to lust after whatever is prohibited, and what is supposed to be bad for us. Thus, we smoke, drink, gamble, eat and indulge in sex to excess whenever we get a chance. Pious individuals, holy texts and interfering governments have tried their best to restrain our baser drives, but we are determined to find our own way to an early grave, and possible perdition.

In a recent special section on gambling, the Economist estimated the total amount spent on this vice at around $335bn per year. Nearly 10 per cent of this sum is wagered online, and you can bet your bottom dollar that a fair share of this comes from Muslims for whom gambling is supposed to be haram.

When Zulfikar Ali Bhutto banned gambling, nightclubs and drinking in Pakistan in 1977 in an attempt to appease his rightwing opposition, he could not have known how much hypocrisy he was unleashing in the Land of the Pure. In a tract called If I Am Assassinated written during his last days in prison, Bhutto expressed his regret for imposing prohibition.

Since then, the drinking class has ruined its collective liver by ingesting a huge volume of illicit liquor that is distilled on farms, or smuggled in from India and the Gulf. The only difference prohibition has made is that the substantial revenue the state once earned by taxing alcohol now goes to smugglers and bootleggers.

Ditto for gambling. While horseracing is legal, no betting is permitted. Whenever I have gone to the racetrack in Lahore, it is business as usual for the bookies, except that they no longer have to pay any tax on the wagers they collect. Of course, there is no protection for the punters, but it would be a foolish bookmaker who does not pay out on a winning bet.

Despite the overwhelming evidence linking smoking to lung cancer, millions of people around the world continue puffing away. Kids sneak a fag whenever they can as young people experiment compulsively with the forbidden. Many of them are then hooked to nicotine. Luckily, I kicked the habit over 20 years ago, and have little doubt that I would not be alive today had I not.

The point is that people are going to do what’s bad for them whether the state tries to stop them or not. If religious or social edicts prohibit natural behaviour, individuals will go on enjoying the forbidden under a burden of guilt.

In Pakistan, where a cloud of hypocritical religiosity hovers permanently over the landscape, we loudly proclaim our laws that prohibit a wide range of normal human pleasures. Unfortunately, we are not better human beings as a result. What these laws have done is to drive these activities underground, and allowed criminals to make fortunes.

Several readers have sent me a recent story from Fox News that illustrates the kind of hypocrisy that now permeates our society. Titled No 1 nation in sexy web searches? Call it Pornistan, the report informs us of the findings of Google Trends, a site that monitors searches on its search engine by country. Apparently, Pakistan tops the world in searches per person for certain sex-related content.

The report goes on to remind us that Pakistan temporarily banned Facebook for carrying one blasphemous page (out of millions), as well as content from a number of other popular websites. Fox News quotes Gabriel Said Reynolds, professor of Islamic Studies at the University of Notre Dame: “The country’s punishment for those charged with blasphemy is execution, but the question remains what — if anything — can be done about people who search for **** on the Web.”

When a society is segregated by gender — as most Muslim countries are — normal interest in the other sex is replaced by obsessive curiosity. This results in the kind of secretive Internet searches of deviant websites in Pakistan that Google Trends has reported. It also results in a high incidence of rape, as well as child molestation. When normal human urges are suppressed, they all too often express themselves in violent acts.

States tend to act like the morality police, legislating on modes of behaviour they considers harmful to their citizens. Thus, the United States passed a law prohibiting the manufacture, sale and consumption of alcohol on its soil in the 1920s. This led to illegal distilling, smuggling and bootlegging on a huge scale. Finally recognising that its attempts to change the behaviour of its population had failed, and that trying to enforce prohibition was too costly in manpower, its legislators repealed the law.

Given the environment in the country politicians and military rulers such as Musharraf regardless of their personal practices obviously didn’t want to legislate.

The problem with having laws that are blatantly ignored is that the state loses credibility when it connives in widespread rule-breaking. Cops know better than to take a drunken legislator to jail. A tipsy businessman whose car is flagged down at night simply hands across a few hundred rupees to a policeman, and is soon free to weave his way home.

Of course anything taken to excess is bad, but the state has no means to enforce its writ in the living room or the bedroom, and just as well. It would be far better if legislators recognise the reality of human behaviour, and while enacting laws that curb excess, take care not to drive simple pleasures underground.

HAHAHAHA...... In our country distilleries r running and making hell alot of profit... And few LEGAL bars or shops will hurt????

if u want to legalize, sex, alchol, etc etc etc then why the hell make one pakistan, this is the only country which was based on the principles of islam, countries are made by geographical reasons and not religion, if u want to criticize, why pakistan doesnt follow western norms, then criticise its foundation instead, why some people here in PDF act like two faced hypocrites??

why make a country out of british india in the first place.

when they dont find anything to support their propaganda, by sarcasm they start saying mullah, jihad, extremist, taliban, alquaida, religious bigotry, what crap is that??

i was just labelled by a mod to have sent a billion SMS regarding haram?? yes i send a billion SMS so whats the problem??

cant get the reality into your throats??

find any pakistani and he will be 100% against this war which is killing pakistanis,its a pakistani experience but who the hell have made some people in PDF to represent what pakistanis think?? internet doesnt represent the real pakistan??

so, calling Pakistan with its official name is wrong :woot:
funny! - i just called Pakistan with its official name
Hillarious post!!!

Btw i have read that article in the morning and also well aware of the history
Peace

Wow way to show your class and level of education your parents must be proud.

why dont you answer it straight away, you speak against mullahs, are you against shia mullahs in iran??, you should not sneak away from a question like that!!

next time you dont answer i would take it as a yes

No brother the problem is if u open up the shops, then u are inviting the uninviteds .Like now they really dont have any problem in getting the wine , but before these shops they atleast have to try hard to get it illegally.

A)So since you live in Sweden and alcohol shops are all over the place there i take it you are forced to go there and have some because its available.

OR

B)You are a devout Muslim you go on your way to do your business eats halal only other wise fries and ketchup(unless U take food from home) and for drinks TEA or coffee and at the end of the day drink a glass of warm milk before going to bed.

so which one is it A or B if its B are you telling me you are the only one out there who knows how to control your self and others should be controlled by the government as they can't be trusted.

why dont you answer it straight away, you speak against mullahs, are you against shia mullahs in iran??, you should not sneak away from a question like that!!

next time you dont answer i would take it as a yes

Surprised to see you are aware of the word Straight since i am sure you are a member of JUI and probably a boy toy for some Taliban Being Gay would be the only thing you are aware of.

Last time i read Pakistan's official name was "Islamic Republic of Pakistan" if you have problem please report to the government and if they changed it i will happily be calling my country with a new name.
arey naam main kya rakkha hai janab kisi bhi naam se bula lo.pani ko jal or water kahane se paani to nahi badal jata na.

Surprised to see you are aware of the word Straight since i am sure you are a member of JUI and probably a boy toy for some Taliban Being Gay would be the only thing you are aware of.

and this reflects your education, i havent got personal, damn you are just insulting yourself here..

you just need to say "roger that" i am, dont need to step to a low level.

The people who drink, drink anyway and the ones who would not want because of their faith will be able to refrain from doing so even if everyone around them was drinking.

We were an Islamic Republic even when Alcohol was legal and we never had the amount of problems we have today. Perhaps if you read the amount of Alcohol poisoning that occurs in our society, you will be shocked to say the least.

Alcohol is readily available in Pakistan, saying that it might lead is problems for us is false, as the avid drinkers already lurk in our society.

These wine shops will be opened and these JI miscreants will just go on about their conspiracies for some time with no results.

and this reflects your education, i havent got personal, damn you are just insulting yourself here..

you just need to say "roger that" i am, dont need to step to a low level.

Here is you not getting personal .

do u kiss mullah arse in iran, speak the truth!!, do u like mullahs in iran, do u like khomaini??

LOL Typical JUI Member LIES AND DENIES on the same spot as i said before your parents must be proud.:wave:

The people who drink, drink anyway and the ones who would not want because of their faith will be able to refrain from doing so even if everyone around them was drinking.

We were an Islamic Republic even when Alcohol was legal and we never had the amount of problems we have today. Perhaps if you read the amount of Alcohol poisoning that is prevalent in our society, you will be shocked to say the least.

Alcohol is readily available in Pakistan, saying that it might lead is problems for us is false, as the avid drinkers lurk in our society.

These wine shops will be opened and these JI miscreants will just go on about their conspiracies for some time with no results.

legalizing a crime is nothing??? and legalizing a crime will solve problems??

This crime, if you call it that would save us from bigger crimes and other social problems. Criminals sell alchohol in our society and they raise money this way to commit crimes. The Taliban as you might be aware sold alchohol to raise funds.

Similarly if it was legal, we would not be faced with increasing amount of health problems that occur when people buy from dubious sources or ones made at home.

There is reasoning for everything, we cannot and must not remain bound by mindset of a few.