Naswar Corner

Hammad Bhai a bank is a financial intermediary which means they can operate, within the limits set by the regulatory body, however way they see it fit ! All of those Financial Instruments are 'investments' after all...bank koii Allah wasteiii kaa touu loan nahin deitaaa ? And so they've managed their portfolio in a certain way & had certain agreements in the beginning.

Mein tou keh rahaa hunn that its a bit more ethical ! But a few months ago I was auditing an engineering company & around 300 or finance leases going well into millions of Rs. was given to me to look into & as part of that I had to go through the bank schedules, the contracts, the payments etc. - Ownership agreement aur Liability in case of default ke ilawaa there was no difference between an Ijara Lease & a Finance Lease from others !

Jahan eik Markup kehtaa haii tou dosraa Interest kehtaa haii as part of a rental payment !

Yar....if you find it suitable share some material of this case it will be learning for me....... Interest is charged on capital.....but in Islamic financing no benifit could be charged on loan amount.......Rent ke liya Tangible asset hona Zaroori hai......so If you share an asset with someone you have to show ownership of that asset in your books......and have to pay tax on it as well......if you buy same thing with the conventional loan......it will increase your liability.....and eventually decrease the tax amount..... :azn:

one of my customer prefer conventional loan over Islamic financing because of this reason.......

@Armstrong @HAMMAD REHMAN KHAN :I thought serious topics are no no in this thread... :)

Hum kon si serious discussion kar rah hai.......banking and financing KHEL RAH HAI........:laugh:

@Armstrong sou ja armstrong sou ja warna ghar walon se jutiyan parain gi phir kahay ga ma pdf chor raha hon ...6 page ka drama shuro hoga aur wohi emotional blackmailing marshallaw b peechay lag jayegi

why is interest unethical? My hindu (bania?) buddhi says its perfectly ethical as long as both parties entered in to agreement with free will. Most of the time it is less hassle and more profitable than alternatives available.

Because it leads towards.....concentration of wealth.......and create social imbalance......in alternative both have to share profit and lose so......all portion of society gain and lose collectively......

I love interest ! :smitten:

Don't you @Hyperion ? :D

Interest in whom...... :azn:

"sub ko ho rahi hai......Khabar magar chup ke chup ke....." :whistle:

Because it leads towards.....concentration of wealth.......and create social imbalance......in alternative both have to share profit and lose so......all portion of society gain and lose collectively......

Interest in whom...... :azn:

"sub ko ho rahi hai......Khabar magar chup ke chup ke....." :whistle:
No it does not lead to concentration of wealth, rather it helps enterprenureship.
If somebody can give me money at 10% interest and I can make 11% out of it, I am richer.
Most of the time, people who take money in interest gain much more than the interest they pay. We all are rational people not stupid.

BTW what if a poor person gives money on interest to rich people, will that be ethical then?

What is the alternative being offered, a part of business? that will never be acceptable to an enterprenure who really believes in his/her business, may be risk averse people who dont have confidence will like such arrangement.

@Hyperion @HAMMAD REHMAN KHAN @A.Rafay @Marshmallow : What are your thoughts on the construction of the Kalabagh Dam & what are the thoughts of the people in your area ?

Yara You know im from a sindhi Background Even My father is against it! But not me!! Kalabagh Dam Should get built, It was Musharafs biggest mistake to not build it! We should think Altogether About Pakistan, Those people of Sindh and KPK are brainwashed and this issue has become political tool against each other! Its a shame that India is building dams and we are fighting among each others! Now I think If IK comes to power, The decision of building Kalabagh dam should be taken Its in the interest of whole Pakistan.

No it does not lead to concentration of wealth, rather it helps enterprenureship.
If somebody can give me money at 10% interest and I can make 11% out of it, I am richer.
Most of the time, people who take money in interest gain much more than the interest they pay. We all are rational people not stupid.

Dear......loan financing is JUST ONE portion of Equity, entrepreneurship does not stop here nor begin with it.....there are other sources also available......Risk Sharing is one of them......

BTW what if a poor person gives money on interest to rich people, will that be ethical then?

Modern Banking is the example as you suggested less wealthy people money is lended to more rich people or organizations.......

Yar....if you find it suitable share some material of this case it will be learning for me....... Interest is charged on capital.....but in Islamic financing no benifit could be charged on loan amount.......Rent ke liya Tangible asset hona Zaroori hai......so If you share an asset with someone you have to show ownership of that asset in your books......and have to pay tax on it as well......if you buy same thing with the conventional loan......it will increase your liability.....and eventually decrease the tax amount..... :azn:

one of my customer prefer conventional loan over Islamic financing because of this reason.......

Hum kon si serious discussion kar rah hai.......banking and financing KHEL RAH HAI........:laugh:

Hammad Bhai, as far as I remember the company owed a 'rental amount' to the Bank & every 4 months or 6 months the rental payment was revised to reflect a change in the KIBOR rates. Now the rental payment was made up of two parts :

(a) Principle Amount (the Price of the asset, usually a car or equipment, was listed on the Contractual Agreement)

(b) Mark Up (the Mark Up was calculated as per the Internal Rate of Return as stipulated in each revised Bank Schedule)

Touu Interest aur Mark Up mein kiyaa farq hovaaa ?

Jahan tukk Liability kii baat haiii I dunno what tax breaks would be available for that but for the purpose of accounting an asset is booked in your Financials due to 'control' & not 'ownership' jisss kii wajaa seh each of those 200-300 leased assets were shown in their Financial Statements with corresponding Current & Long Term portions of Lease Liabilities.

I don't like it, however, am not opposed to it. No one can afford to detach themselves from the 'system'. I work with complex derivatives and it's ALL loads of suppositions, bets and mitigation of risk etc etc etc. None of which is allowed ethically or morally.

So from my "ethical" point-of-view, a "fixed" interest is the least evil of all those practices, and can actually be beneficial to the borrower.

You don't even want to guess the games we play with 9 zeros, and at other investors expense. Most of the financial havoc you are looking at is due to this betting / hedging / futures trade.......

I love interest ! :smitten:

Don't you @Hyperion ? :D

Congratulations, you speak just like my accountants @ KPMG! :D

Hammad Bhai, as far as I remember the company owed a 'rental amount' to the Bank & every 4 months or 6 months the rental payment was revised to reflect a change in the KIBOR rates. Now the rental payment was made up of two parts :

(a) Principle Amount (the Price of the asset, usually a car or equipment, was listed on the Contractual Agreement)

(b) Mark Up (the Mark Up was calculated as per the Internal Rate of Return as stipulated in each revised Bank Schedule)

Touu Interest aur Mark Up mein kiyaa farq hovaaa ?

Jahan tukk Liability kii baat haiii I dunno what tax breaks would be available for that but for the purpose of accounting an asset is booked in your Financials due to 'control' & not 'ownership' jisss kii wajaa seh each of those 200-300 leased assets were shown in their Financial Statements with corresponding Current & Long Term portions of Lease Liabilities.

Yara You know im from a sindhi Background Even My father is against it! But not me!! Kalabagh Dam Should get built, It was Musharafs biggest mistake to not build it! We should think Altogether About Pakistan, Those people of Sindh and KPK are brainwashed and this issue has become political tool against each other! Its a shame that India is building dams and we are fighting among each others! Now I think If IK comes to power, The decision of building Kalabagh dam should be taken Its in the interest of whole Pakistan.

Do you think if the Kalabagh Dam is made in four parts it would be more acceptable to people :

(a) Dam Construction

(b) Some measures are used to stop sea water coming in to Karachi's coastal areas like what the Dutch have managed to do

(c) Construction of 3-4 smaller barrages on the Indus River in the province of Sindh to ensure that there is greater water storage there.

(d) Making an independent & autonomous body that governs the functioning, the water distribution, the royalty distribution etc. of the Kalabagh Dam instead of the Punjab Government with equal representation on its Board of Directors from all the Provinces.

Do you think the above measures would be able to break the dead-lock ?