Metro: If it was done correctly.

war&peace

Modern and cheap transportation distinguishes developed cities from the rest. Metro or city bus is a specifically designed bus that has or lacks certain feature which it make suitable for transport in the city. List a few
  1. Lower ground clearance: Metro buses are closer to the ground so as the facilitate a rapid ride on and off
  2. Wider doors for entry and an extra door at the mid of body
  3. Accessibility for wheel chairs & prams. For example, tilt system, wider doors etc
  4. Wider passage-ways and support for standing up
  5. Lower speed. The top speed of metro buses is normally around 70 km because they don't need to go faster since mostly the speed limits are 30, 40, 50 and 60 kph. Thus they are very squarish design
  6. Regenerative breaking recovers a lot of energy as bus has to make a lot of stops.
Metro Bus Image
iu

Ordinary Inter-city bus

iu

Metro bus run on the roads in the city and often have a dedicated lane in crowded cities or or at least dedicated stops. But it runs on the same road.

iu

iu

Stockholm Metro System
But, only in Pakistan dedicated & elevated tracks are built which not only
  1. increases the cost of the project/service multiple times,
  2. but severely limits its reach
  3. increases the project development time multiple times
  4. construction causes trouble for residents
  5. many buildings are destroyed
  6. construction work increase pollution level

Lahore
hqdefault.jpg

Rawalpindi/Islamabad
iu

Multan
iu

BRT Peshawar
Signal-free-corridor-at-jail-road1.jpg

which basically kills the purpose of a universal, inexpensive and quick transport system for urban areas.

The reason behind this approach are kickbacks and nepotism e.g. in case of Lahore metro, the construction work was given to Habib engineering owners of which have relations with the ruling family, lack of vision and incompetence.

@Dubious @Oscar @Indus Pakistan

Dedicated track is not unique to Pakistan and it was necessary as we have people who don't give way to even Ambulance so expecting them that they would have give way to these buses is foolish, however elevated track was unneeded in most of places.

I think the Elevated track was proposed as existing roads could not be widened into 3-4 lanes
One possible solution was to buy homes of people around the roads and demolish them and widen the tracks however that was not ideal

So elevated track approach was used

I personally do not favor that approach

My approach would have been
81-passenger-1.jpg

1 - Import 4,000 Double Decker buses (Air Condition Service)
2 - Morning Ban on Motor cycle between 6am and 6pm
3 - Force people to take Buses for work and school
4 - Allow people to exchange motor bikes for 1 year Bus pass

Depending on Need import more buses till population size and supply demand graph meets

• Cost for High Quality Buses would have been 400 Million Dollar

Dedicated track is not unique to Pakistan and it was necessary as we have people who don't give way to even Ambulance so expecting them that they would have give way to these buses is foolish, however elevated track was unneeded in most of places.
Then the problem is not with the roads or metro bus rather with the people, you need to implement laws and discipline them instead of spending billions on new road. If it is like treating the knees for the problem of heart.

We did'nt even need it in the first place ... useless spending , Sharifs build it for political gains so that they can have something to show ,if somebody questions them ... hell , we need common facilities like education and health

Then the problem is not with the roads or metro bus rather with the people, you need to implement laws and discipline them instead of spending billions on new road. If it is like treating the knees for the problem of heart.

As I said, Dedicated tracks are not unique for Pakistan.

upload_2019-5-19_11-20-23.png

upload_2019-5-19_11-27-37.png

Harmoni_Central_Busway_Transjakarta_1.JPG

Best of luck with disciplining people who don't even bother to wear helmet or seatbelts despite that it's actually for their own safety and lives despite campaigns, fines etc.

We did'nt even need it in the first place ... useless spending , Sharifs build it for political gains so that they can have something to show if somebody questions them
There are 3 things Pakistani cities need urgently.
1. Proper and large scale underground sewage systems
2. Mass large scale public transportation, to reduce pollution and traffic
3. F$king cleaning

Modern and cheap transportation distinguishes developed cities from the rest. Metro or city bus is a specifically designed bus that has or lacks certain feature which it make suitable for transport in the city. List a few
  1. Lower ground clearance: Metro buses are closer to the ground so as the facilitate a rapid ride on and off
  2. Wider doors for entry and an extra door at the mid of body
  3. Accessibility for wheel chairs & prams. For example, tilt system, wider doors etc
  4. Wider passage-ways and support for standing up
  5. Lower speed. The top speed of metro buses is normally around 70 km because they don't need to go faster since mostly the speed limits are 30, 40, 50 and 60 kph. Thus they are very squarish design
  6. Regenerative breaking recovers a lot of energy as bus has to make a lot of stops.
Metro Bus Image
iu

Ordinary Inter-city bus

iu

Metro bus run on the roads in the city and often have a dedicated lane in crowded cities or or at least dedicated stops. But it runs on the same road.

iu

iu

But, only in Pakistan dedicated & elevated tracks are built which not only
  1. increases the cost of the project/service multiple times,
  2. but severely limits its reach
  3. increases the project development time multiple times
  4. construction causes trouble for residents
  5. many buildings are destroyed
  6. construction work increase pollution level

Lahore
hqdefault.jpg

Rawalpindi/Islamabad
iu

Multan
iu

BRT Peshawar
Signal-free-corridor-at-jail-road1.jpg

which basically kills the purpose of a universal, inexpensive and quick transport system for urban areas.

The reason behind this approach are kickbacks and nepotism e.g. in case of Lahore metro, the construction work was given to Habib engineering owners of which have relations with the ruling family, lack of vision and incompetence.

@Dubious @Oscar @Indus Pakistan

Necessary in Pakistan. Won't work otherwise. You should visit Pakistan, you will get a better image. Been to Karachi ever?

Now the goal should be set the Ticket / Pass price to realistic value so the project money can be recovered and loans can be paid
I don't think this project will generate enough revenue
There are 3 things Pakistani cities need urgently.
1. Proper and large scale underground sewage systems
2. Mass large scale public transportation, to reduce pollution and traffic
3. F$king cleaning
yeah but they also need educated people if you want cleanliness, and for that we need to build good schools ...

We did'nt even need it in the first place ... useless spending , Sharifs build it for political gains so that they can have something to show ,if somebody questions them ... hell , we need common facilities like education and health

Yeh aap unsai puchiya jo yeh metro bus ko istemal kartai hein kai agr yeh useless spending hai.

Infrastructural development is welcome wherever. Punjab mein tou roads wageira orr infrastructure acha banaiya hua hai, at least in north. Kabhi Karachi ya Sindh aakhai dekho, hudhi pata chal jai ga kai kitni "useless spending" hai.

I don't think this project will generate enough revenue

yeah but they also need educated people if you want cleanliness and for that we need to build good schools ...
They don't need educated people, they need harsh rules and regulations. Those educate even the most stupid people. When you realize that your actions have grave consequences, you would refrain from misconduct.

Btw, the education your talking about (universities, and schools) is different from the issues of public transportation. People need to realize this and stop bsing.

Oh why does the army have such a large budget when we dont have schools. Oh why does the president drive around in a bulletproof car when we dont have schools. This nonsense needs to stop and people need to realize that correlation doesnt imply causation

Bhai sahb i am from Karachi and i know what a shithole it is , but metro ki bajaye agar hospitals aur schools hoty tu ziyada acha tha ...
Correlation DOES NOT IMPLY CAUSATION. You are talking about 2 different issues

I think the Elevated track was proposed as existing roads could not be widened into 3-4 lanes
One possible solution was to buy homes of people around the roads and demolish them and widen the tracks however that was not ideal

So elevated track approach was used

I personally do not favor that approach

My approach would have been
81-passenger-1.jpg

1 - Import 4,000 Double Decker buses (Air Condition Service)
2 - Morning Ban on Motor cycle between 6am and 6pm
3 - Force people to take Buses for work and school
4 - Allow people to exchange motor bikes for 1 year Bus pass

Depending on Need import more buses till population size and supply demand graph meets

• Cost for High Quality Buses would have been 400 Million Dollar
Those busses have bigger problems relating to other infrastructure when it comes to old Pakistani cities, that have the same layout since the 10th century

As I said, Dedicated tracks are not unique for Pakistan.

View attachment 560832
View attachment 560833

Harmoni_Central_Busway_Transjakarta_1.JPG

Best of luck with disciplining people who don't even bother to wear helmet or seatbelts despite that it's actually for their own safety and lives despite campaigns, fines etc.
Does not make much sense given Pakistan's economy to replicate the model from an oil rich country.