(Live) Chandrayaan-2: India's historic moon mission lost its communication-Mission Failed

US also thinks that Pakistan used its space program to further its missile program.. even right now SUPARCO is headed by serving general.. make a wild guess for the reason why isn't under civilian control like our neighbours? study local politics and strategic situation.
So what, since test of Ghuari -1 USA already knows that Suparco is involved in various military BM avionics and guideness program, there is/will be no way that USA will try to sanction our space program, (TUMHARE WAHIM KA KOI ILLAG NAHI HAI BHAI) @MM_Haider
between 2025 and 2030.. and optimistically by 2025 .. save this!!
this is part of master plan of CPEC.
are chairman CEPEC project for Pakistan you're just assuming, LV and its infrastructure development project is soly Pakistan project if China want to help it will just gives us tech and nothing else, in my opinion 2035 will be more realistic year to Launch First Pakistani indigenous LV and fully indigenous Satellite to space @MM_Haider

Lol Im not happy indians failed. Im only satisfied looking at those idiots who were saying we are at moon and Pakistan is stuck on Kashmir.
Keeping millions of Kashmiri folks without food, water, liberty etc. and torturing them in inhuman ways won't bring any Khair and Bereket for Hindustan!!! Whatever Modi & his gang touch will turn into a failure...

8-)

Aur lads, have they landed on the moon yet? Some of you boys were ready with flower garlands for the returning "South Asians".

:rofl:

Bangalore (India) (AFP) - India lost communication with its unmanned spacecraft Saturday just before it was due to land on the Moon, in a blow to the country's lunar ambitions as the world takes renewed interest in Earth's satellite.

While Prime Minister Narendra Modi looked on in the mission control room at the southern city of Bangalore, India had hoped to become just the fourth country -- after the United States, Russia and China -- to successfully land on the Moon.

But following several tense minutes as the expected landing time of about 1:55 am in New Delhi (2025 GMT) lapsed, Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) chairman Kailasavadivoo Sivan announced that communication had been lost with the lander.

"The 'Vikram' lander descent was (ongoing) as planned and normal performance was observed," until an altitude of 2.1 kilometres (1.3 miles), Sivan said.

"Subsequently the communication from the lander to the ground station was lost. The data is being analysed," he said, surrounded by grim faces of scientists and observers in the control room.

Modi told scientists after Sivan's announcement that "what you have done (already) is not a small achievement".

"Ups and downs keep coming in life. Your hard work has taught us a lot and the entire country is proud of you," he added.

"If the communication (with the lander) starts again... hope for the best... Our journey will carry on. Be strong. I am with you."

ISRO had acknowledged before the landing that it was a complex manoeuvre, which Sivan called "15 minutes of terror".

"It is like suddenly somebody comes and gives you a newborn baby in your hands. Will you be able to hold without proper support?," he told news channel NDTV.

"The baby will move this way, that way but we should hold it," Sivan said.

The lander, named after Vikram A. Sarabhai, the father of India's space programme, aimed to the first to reach the region lunar South Pole region.

Indian scientists were eyeing more than just national pride from the mission.

The lander was carrying rover Pragyan, wisdom in the Sanskrit language, which was due to emerge several hours after touchdown.

The rover was expected to explore craters for clues on the origin and evolution of the Moon, and also for evidence on how much water the polar region contains.

The orbiter remains in operation and will continue to study the Moon from afar for about a year.

- Low-cost -

According to Mathieu Weiss, a representative in India for France's space agency CNES, analysing the South Pole was vital to determining whether humans could one day spend extended periods on the Moon.

And if people can survive on the Moon, then this means it could be used as a pitstop on the way to Mars, the next objective of governments and private interests such as Elon Musk's Space X.

Asia's third-largest economy also hopes to secure lucrative commercial satellite and orbiting deals in the competitive market.

The Chandrayaan-2, or Moon Chariot, mission also stood out because of its low cost of about $140 million. The United States spent the equivalent of more than $100 billion on its Apollo missions.

India is also preparing Gaganyaan, its first manned space mission, with the air force announcing Friday that the first level of selection of potential astronauts was complete.

In April, Israel's attempt at a moon landing failed at the last minute when its craft suffered an engine failure and apparently crashed onto the lunar surface.

During a live videocast of that mission, control staff could be heard saying that engines meant to slow the craft's descent and allow a soft landing had failed and contact with it had been lost.

Moon landing or landing on planet is no easy feat. Even mighty ESA Russia and Europe project failed on Mars. So as highly intelligent Israel lunar moon landing. So it's no surprise India will failed too....

Lol.
Why do you not feed your poor and spend this money on these failed missions..
This mission is cheap, claimed by Indians. Compare to other lunar moon landing.

Bangalore (India) (AFP) - India lost communication with its unmanned spacecraft Saturday just before it was due to land on the Moon, in a blow to the country's lunar ambitions as the world takes renewed interest in Earth's satellite.

While Prime Minister Narendra Modi looked on in the mission control room at the southern city of Bangalore, India had hoped to become just the fourth country -- after the United States, Russia and China -- to successfully land on the Moon.

But following several tense minutes as the expected landing time of about 1:55 am in New Delhi (2025 GMT) lapsed, Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) chairman Kailasavadivoo Sivan announced that communication had been lost with the lander.

"The 'Vikram' lander descent was (ongoing) as planned and normal performance was observed," until an altitude of 2.1 kilometres (1.3 miles), Sivan said.

"Subsequently the communication from the lander to the ground station was lost. The data is being analysed," he said, surrounded by grim faces of scientists and observers in the control room.

Modi told scientists after Sivan's announcement that "what you have done (already) is not a small achievement".

"Ups and downs keep coming in life. Your hard work has taught us a lot and the entire country is proud of you," he added.

"If the communication (with the lander) starts again... hope for the best... Our journey will carry on. Be strong. I am with you."

ISRO had acknowledged before the landing that it was a complex manoeuvre, which Sivan called "15 minutes of terror".

"It is like suddenly somebody comes and gives you a newborn baby in your hands. Will you be able to hold without proper support?," he told news channel NDTV.

"The baby will move this way, that way but we should hold it," Sivan said.

The lander, named after Vikram A. Sarabhai, the father of India's space programme, aimed to the first to reach the region lunar South Pole region.

Indian scientists were eyeing more than just national pride from the mission.

The lander was carrying rover Pragyan, wisdom in the Sanskrit language, which was due to emerge several hours after touchdown.

The rover was expected to explore craters for clues on the origin and evolution of the Moon, and also for evidence on how much water the polar region contains.

The orbiter remains in operation and will continue to study the Moon from afar for about a year.

- Low-cost -

According to Mathieu Weiss, a representative in India for France's space agency CNES, analysing the South Pole was vital to determining whether humans could one day spend extended periods on the Moon.

And if people can survive on the Moon, then this means it could be used as a pitstop on the way to Mars, the next objective of governments and private interests such as Elon Musk's Space X.

Asia's third-largest economy also hopes to secure lucrative commercial satellite and orbiting deals in the competitive market.

The Chandrayaan-2, or Moon Chariot, mission also stood out because of its low cost of about $140 million. The United States spent the equivalent of more than $100 billion on its Apollo missions.

India is also preparing Gaganyaan, its first manned space mission, with the air force announcing Friday that the first level of selection of potential astronauts was complete.

In April, Israel's attempt at a moon landing failed at the last minute when its craft suffered an engine failure and apparently crashed onto the lunar surface.

During a live videocast of that mission, control staff could be heard saying that engines meant to slow the craft's descent and allow a soft landing had failed and contact with it had been lost.
The only reason for it to lost contact is , it had a bad crashed landing and broken into thousand of pieces... Ask Israel.

India's Chandrayaan-2 Moon Landing. Isro loses contact with lander Vikram

https://twitter.com/i/web/status/1170080372819992576

Ch Fawad Hussain

✔@fawadchaudhry

https://twitter.com/fawadchaudhry/status/1170080372819992576

Modi g is giving Bhashan on Sattelite communication as he is actually an astronaut and not politician, Lok Sabha shld ask him QS on wasting 900 crore Rs of a poor nation... https://twitter.com/ndtv/status/1170078074290860032 …

NDTV

✔@ndtv

"This is not a small achievement. Nation is proud of you. Hope for the best": PM Modi to ISRO Scientists #Chandrayaan2

Live Updates: https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/chandrayaan-2-live-updates-moon-mission-to-land-on-lunar-surface-tonight-2096457 …

https://twitter.com/i/web/status/1170070679250714624

Cees Bassa@cgbassa

· 3h

Replying to @cgbassa and 5 others
Uh oh.... the signals have disappeared...

Cees Bassa@cgbassa

It looks like the @isro #Chandrayaan2 Vikram lander has crashed. After the rough braking phase the Doppler curve from @radiotelescoop shows some wiggles, and then, at 20:20:01UTC the signals disappeared...

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has left the Isro centre in Bengaluru that is tracking Chandrayaan-2's progress. PM Modi left after the Indian Space Research Organisation lost contact with Chandrayaan-2's Vikram lander.

Shortly before leaving, PM Modi interacted with Isro's scientists and asked them to "be courageous". "There are ups and downs in life... the country is proud of you," PM Modi told the Isro scientists.

02:21 AM IST
Contact lost, data being analysed: Isro
Alright, we know more now. The Indian Space Research Organisation chief K Sivan has confirmed that contact with Chandrayaan-2's lander has been lost. The Isro chief said that the lander Vikram was descending on to the lunar surface as planned and that until 2.1 kilometres above the lunar surface, its performance was normal. But them, "lander to ground station was lost," Sivan said. "Data is being analysed."

02:18 AM IST
Isro confirms contact with Vikram lost
Isro chief K Sivan has confirmed that communications with Chandrayaan-2's Vikram has been lost.

02:16 AM IST

What we know so far
Okay, so what we know is that the India Space Research Organisation lost contact with Chandrayaan-2's Vikram lander minutes before it was to land to on the lunar surface. Since then, the mood at the Isro centre in Bengaluru has been extremely tensed.

Isro scientists have been seen conferring amongst each other, but there has, more or less, been a pin-drop silence at the Isro command centre that is tracking Chandrayaan-2's progress. It has now been more than 30 minutes since the lander Vikram began its descent on to the lunar surface. The procedure was supposed to take 15 minutes.

chandrayaan_landing_live_updat-647x363.jpeg

Chandrayaan-2 Moon Landing Live Updates: Isro loses contact with lander Vik

India's Chandrayaan-2 Moon Landing. Isro loses contact with lander Vikram

https://twitter.com/i/web/status/1170080372819992576

Ch Fawad Hussain

✔@fawadchaudhry

Modi g is giving Bhashan on Sattelite communication as he is actually an astronaut and not politician, Lok Sabha shld ask him QS on wasting 900 crore Rs of a poor nation... https://twitter.com/ndtv/status/1170078074290860032 …

NDTV

✔@ndtv

"This is not a small achievement. Nation is proud of you. Hope for the best": PM Modi to ISRO Scientists #Chandrayaan2

Live Updates: https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/chandrayaan-2-live-updates-moon-mission-to-land-on-lunar-surface-tonight-2096457 …

https://twitter.com/i/web/status/1170070679250714624

Cees Bassa@cgbassa

· 3h

Replying to @cgbassa and 5 others
Uh oh.... the signals have disappeared...

Cees Bassa@cgbassa

It looks like the @isro #Chandrayaan2 Vikram lander has crashed. After the rough braking phase the Doppler curve from @radiotelescoop shows some wiggles, and then, at 20:20:01UTC the signals disappeared...

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has left the Isro centre in Bengaluru that is tracking Chandrayaan-2's progress. PM Modi left after the Indian Space Research Organisation lost contact with Chandrayaan-2's Vikram lander.

Shortly before leaving, PM Modi interacted with Isro's scientists and asked them to "be courageous". "There are ups and downs in life... the country is proud of you," PM Modi told the Isro scientists.

02:21 AM IST
Contact lost, data being analysed: Isro
Alright, we know more now. The Indian Space Research Organisation chief K Sivan has confirmed that contact with Chandrayaan-2's lander has been lost. The Isro chief said that the lander Vikram was descending on to the lunar surface as planned and that until 2.1 kilometres above the lunar surface, its performance was normal. But them, "lander to ground station was lost," Sivan said. "Data is being analysed."

02:18 AM IST
Isro confirms contact with Vikram lost
Isro chief K Sivan has confirmed that communications with Chandrayaan-2's Vikram has been lost.

02:16 AM IST

What we know so far
Okay, so what we know is that the India Space Research Organisation lost contact with Chandrayaan-2's Vikram lander minutes before it was to land to on the lunar surface. Since then, the mood at the Isro centre in Bengaluru has been extremely tensed.

Isro scientists have been seen conferring amongst each other, but there has, more or less, been a pin-drop silence at the Isro command centre that is tracking Chandrayaan-2's progress. It has now been more than 30 minutes since the lander Vikram began its descent on to the lunar surface. The procedure was supposed to take 15 minutes.

chandrayaan_landing_live_updat-647x363.jpeg

Chandrayaan-2 Moon Landing Live Updates: Isro loses contact with lander Vik

It crashed....

Indians have mastered the arts of crashes on Earth. Now they are doing same on the moon as well.
I still remember Indian members bragging when they are doing the 2 orbit moves, they thought they are 99% away from success... Actually, the landing part is 98% difficulty of the whole mission. Launching lander and the 2 orbit are just pieces of cake which constitute 2% of the whole mission only.