Lahori food from the eyes of a Karachiite

Lahore is a Punjabi city, Karachi is a Pakistani city
Chal bhai Bhatta, uncultured gaon wala nahin tu @Armstrong

@HRK @LoveIcon - Didn't anyone tell him that Punjab is Pakistan ! :sarcastic:

Sindh is Shumaliii Punjab, Baluchistan is Shumal-Maghribi Punjab, KP is Maghribi Punjab and GB + AJK is Buttistan ! :smokin:

@HRK @LoveIcon @A.Rafay - If I call @Oscar as Altaf Bhai's Maaalshiyaa (masseuse) tou aaap ko lagtaa hai woh mind tou nahin karega ? :unsure:

Aaakhir yeh bhi tou acheiii bhaleiii Butt ko Bhatta banaa leitaa haiii ! :mad:

Sindh is Shumaliii Punjab, Baluchistan is Shumal-Maghribi Punjab, KP is Maghribi Punjab and GB + AJK is Buttistan ! :smokin:

At this comment I officially start the Karachi Independence movement to create a new country for Karachi dwellers. All those outside of Karachi are to be considered Shudras and not worthy of sharing a Nehari with.

Who in their right minds would eat Karachi's Nihari anyhow ! :bad:

The best Nihari in the whole world is made at Anarkali in Androon Shehr Lahore ! :smokin:

Karachi Nahari

007.jpg

@HRK @LoveIcon @A.Rafay - If I call @Oscar as Altaf Bhai's Maaalshiyaa (masseuse) tou aaap ko lagtaa hai woh mind tou nahin karega ? :unsure:

Aaakhir yeh bhi tou acheiii bhaleiii Butt ko Bhatta banaa leitaa haiii ! :mad:

Butt sahib shumal ko english main north kehte hain, ap ne Pakistani ki sari geography ki maa behan kar di

@ Topic : Many of observation of author are right but being Karachitii he/she has shown bias

Butt sahib shumal ko english main north kehte hain, ap ne Pakistani ki sari geography ki maa behan kar di

@ Topic : Many of observation of author are right but being Karachitii he/she has shown bias

Ooooohhhhh ! :ashamed:

Janoooob kehnaa thaaa...janooob ! :rofl:

Never tried food from Lahore, so not really going to judge. But being a Karachiite I will be bias and say Karachi has better food varieties then Lahore. :p:

Antipasto platter at Cosa Nostra, Smoked Chicken & Pesto Pizza on a Whole Wheat Crust at Cosa Nostra
like Okra, Pompeii, Aylanto, Flo and China Kitchen, Lahore has its fair share of eclectic cuisine as well. There’s Udon House for Korean food, Opium for Thai, Cosa Nostra for gourmet Italian food, Dumpukht Lounge for Afghani and Nisa Sultan for Turkish
grilled to perfection 'Angus Steak' at Cosa Nostra with its array of fancy condiments
Puddle Cake' at Polo Lounge
5399574.jpg

But it is the back to basics desi food, specifically the street food that truly defines Lahore — steaming bowls of 'Hareesa', and 'Phajje kay Paye' at Laxmi Chowk; fried tawa machlieaten while shivering inside a woollen shawl in the chilly Lahore winter; the crispy 'Katlama' or the 'Desi Pizza'; bubbling pots of 'Murgh Cholay'; Khan Baba’s signature karhai made from fresh desi murghi; and of course the famous 'Butt ki Karhai' at Laxmi Chowk.
ye+hui+na+baat.jpg

love to try me some genuine Pakistani/Lahori style foods.. many of the embassies here in dilli run a kitchen/membership to a smallish eatery but probably not Pakistan, though.. but I'll look around

Lahore and its Culinary Delights!

Every Lahori loves to eat. It is embedded in their double-helical DNA. Rather, they love to eat WELL, and would rather face the dire consequences of diabetes (aka 'shoogar'), high blood pressure ( aka 'bulud') and obesity (aka healthy). There is so much good food in Lahore and it is the one place where you get food free as well, thanks to a place called Data Durbar. A few of the places and traditions I want to mention are as follows:

Gawalmandi Food Street

Gawalmandi itself is actually a part of Lahore, often regarded as the cultural centre of Lahore. The famous Food Street of Lahore is located here, which is crowded with families and extended-families and even more extended families. (Yes, nobody TRULY believes in 'do bachay hi achay' trans. 'Two children are good'). Although the food street has been destroyed

Tooba kay Cholay (Tooba's chickpeas)

OMG. This is the ultimate lentil dish you will have and beats the juiciest meat in the world. They are found in front of Odeon Cinema on Abbott road. The cholay are laden with oil and that only goes on to prove that all good things are either fattening or sinful!

Phajje ke Paye

Paye are the feet of goats. The real name of Phajje I believe is Fazl e Haq. He started his restaurant in Hira Mandi, the Red light district. Now, if you want to have dinner, you should wait in the line at 6:00 pm since there is a long queue of people waiting with hungry eyes for the sticky, gooey meat of goat feet. For most goras, I advise you to eat the Paye and not get into the details about what it is or how it is cooked, because although it is extremely delicious, it is laden with oil. However, it is supposedly an aphrodisiac (maybe due to the proximity of the Red Light area), and what is better than desi viagra.

I heard recently that Phajja has expanded his business and his famous, (or infamous) paye are sold in the Fortress stadium, Gawalmandi, Red light district, Model town, and a few more places that I am not aware of.

The real Phajja is however near the Taxali gate and you should go there to get the real deal. It is very close to the Badshahi Mosque.

Taka Tak and Gurday Kapooray

As much as I'd hate to admit this, but Pakistanis eat cooked kidneys (gurday) and testicles (kapooray). Don't be so grossed out. These are cooked and so well done that you can never guess from there looks what they are. Often, this cooked dish is called Taka Tak, which refers to the sound made by the chef while cooking the meal. For those who find this post disgusting, I assure you that you can pick and choose which parts to include in your serving (so you can decide not to choose testicles, ok). It is DELICIOUS.

One of the best places to get Taka tak is Lakshmi chowk, Gawalmandi. It is located right next to another famous place called Butt Karahi. You will be seated next to uncooked kidneys and testicles to keep you company.

There’s no end to the culinary delights Karachi has to offer. The city famous for it’s food can please any palette and tempt any tongue. Deep-sea diver, food enthusiast and host of Something Fishy on Karachi’s Masala TV Aamir Basrai selects his favourites to help you get started:

Nihari
taj-nihari-masala-karachi-pakistan%2B1152_13007726125-tpfil02aw-29597-400x261.jpg

Nihari is a winter breakfast food that’s supposed to keep colds, coughs and congestion at bay. The mouth-watering curry is available almost around the clock all over the city. Javed Nihari is one of the most popular nihari places, and uses camel meat in its signature curry. Roll up your sleeves and sprinkle lemon, garam masala, ginger, mint leaves, and hot oil over your plate and banish the winter blues for good.

A must try!

Bun Kebab
Bun-Kebab-400x246.jpg

Bun Kebabs are a traditional, and addictive, Karachi specialty. Of all the Bun Kebab vendors scattered across the city, the most famous are on Pakistan Chowk, Burns Road, Bahadurabad and Gizri. Hanif Bun Kebab on Pakistan Chowk is one of my favorite stops, and the daal and anda mix or the beef patty with aloo and anda with green chillies and onions create an explosion of taste in your mouth. You’ll regret it if you don’t eat at least two.

Kebab Fry
Waheed.jpg

For succulent beef mince fried in pure, desi butter Waheed Kebab House on Burns Road is the place Karachiites of all ages flock to.
But don’t expect these kebabs to come in neatly shaped patties. What you’ll get instead is a traditional stainless steel plate laden with mildly-spiced, finely-shredded beef mince floating on butter along with some green chutney and chopped red onions. It’s no surprise that a restaurant with a modest ambience that provides newspaper squares as napkins and lacks central air-conditioning can still attract eager diners from every corner of this cosmopolitan city.The buttery meat sells itself.

Do Darya
Kolachi-Do-Darya-400x268.jpg

Do Darya isn’t a dish, but a dining hotspot along the seafront where you can sample most of the city’s best food.
With endless restaurant options to choose from, my personal favourite is Kolachi, located towards the end of the strip, where I always order Buffalo Wings and Nachos before delving into Peshawari Mutton Karhai (the best I’ve found anywhere). With great food, a lovely view, and a relaxing atmosphere, it feels almost sinful to eat anywhere in Do Darya, but who cares? Bon appetit I say!